Placerville, CA 
Finnon Reservoir DGC Share
Uploaded By: Skwirly Hole #5 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 290ft.   4 / 718ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/6/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has lots of room, makes for a very nice hike.
Excellent use of available terrain! Unique aspect, use of an old water tower converted into a tee pad!
Many opportunities to let fly with a variety of throws.
Cons: More 'raw' than 'refined'.
Navigation was iffy in spots.
Stray discs can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Reaching the course is almost as fun!!
Excellent and friendly help available from the proprietor (Frank?) of the Rock Creek Cafe!
Other course local is Pinocchio, the long ago abandoned horse.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Find Finnon

2-4    5/26/2010   5/3/2011
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 35.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Outrageous course. Just getting there is half the battle. Very diverse and raw terrain. Will take lots of work to tame this property. If you like a challenge you will love this course.
Cons: Watch out for poison oak, and need spotter on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Camping right on site and great food at Rock Creek Cafe. It is quite the drive out to the course. Remote area but worth it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

DIAMOND in the ROUGH

5+    1/10/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: Shuie
Played: 749  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - nice innova basket with the yellow chasity belt.
- great use of elevation, almost every hole has at least a slight change, with the exception of two.
- awesome use to trees, boulders and the lake.
- Rough is punishing if u go off the fairway(disc placement and selection is key)
-Championship Caliber course(Has true par 4's and 5's)
- nice beautiful hike(bout 3 hours)
-Rock Creek Cafe is on site(bathrooms, refreshment and even grub)
-Camping is available on site(Holes10-13 are next to the camp grounds)
- 3 ace run( all are around 275')
-Usually have to whole course to yourself
Cons: -No consistant tee pad(some have rubber pad or leveled off ground.
-Navigation is a bit tricky on ur first time(follow the home depot flags)
- its a course were pants/ lower leg protection is a must, a bit rustic(its in the foot hills of the Sierra Nevadas)
Other Thoughts: Finnon is an amzing course, its hard for me to get lower than a plus 6 on the course and i have shot 9 over at Winter park from the gold and blue combination. u really gotta bring ur A game....
UPDATE(4/2013) Finnon has now been redesigned to 20 holes!!! Most holes have rubber tee pad but a few have very level natural tee pads. All holes have tee signs as well as a few next tee signs(green home depot flags mark the way) The course is finally getting the love it needs but with that being said they did take out a few really awesome holes but for the most part the layout is the same as the old. i really like the Water tower shot, i've played 447 courses to date and have yet to play another hole like that one. I know finnon is drive from any city but that what makes this course so beautiful, the epic drive to Swansbro and then you get up there and you got this awesome lake surround buy epic rolling hills and massive digger pines!!!!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Finnon reservoir

1    9/16/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: kombidude
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great hiking course with pant's. nice views, great eleavation changes and drops.
Cons: hard to find hole 11 and 15. lots of brush no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I will paly again. I heard they are going to start charging $6 bucks a car and that seams very steep for whats offered. but for free great course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play some where else.

2-4    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: cjskier
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2012
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its has baskets.
Cons: -No signs.
-No tee pads.
-No clear paths.
-Weeds 2-3' tall over entire course, which have stickers.
-Insane amount of Poision oak on each and every hole.
-Hornets/yellow jackets live in under ground nests.
-Mosquitoes when you get near the pond.
-Impossible to find your disc, even on great shots.
-Poor lay out.
-MILES of walking.
-Ugly area with insane fire danger.
-Terrible place to drive to.
-If you have even one bad shot, say good by to that disc. The "rough" are bushes that line what are supposed to be a fairways. These bushes are over 12' tall and IMPOSSIBLE to push threw.
-I have been to courses installed in a weekend the week prior to me playing it, and they are 100's of times better then this one.
Other Thoughts: Its amazing how the term "not a beginner course" gets thrown around. This is not even an "expert" course. No real expert disc golfer would want to play here. You will find many of the previous high rated reviews for this course are from those who installed the course. They are WAY over rating this course. I play lots of course and ALWAYS review honestly. Honestly, avoid this course at all cost would be my suggestion. Only reason you would want to play here is because you just want another course under your belt. I give it a half star for the sole fact that they have baskets.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Finally

1    4/24/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: GCroc
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The people who built this course have put a lot of work in. They should be proud and commended.
- A real challenge. Not for the beginner.
- Great use of terrain.
- WIDE variety of shots.
Cons: - Unless it's well patrolled, this is snake territory in the summer.
- Some long holes seem repetitive.
- Not advisable to play solo. (Need a spotter)
Other Thoughts: My friend told me I would either love or hate this course. I love it. Yes, it is easy to lose a disc but having cut my teeth on DeLaveaga this is nothing new. For those players that have not endured learning on a challenging course like DeLaveaga, this course will test your will and desire to play the game of disc golf. Yes, you need to be able to drive to play well on this course. Yes, there is a lot of rough including walls of thickets and poison oak. Yes, you need a spotter. Yes, hole 3 is a real challenge but by far not the hardest hole on this course. Yes, the drive is long and up a one lane mountain road at times. But you know what? It is totally worth it. So if you're an amateur or are happy playing a Rocklin type course for the rest of your life, then stay away. Come back when you're ready for a real challenge.

Other notes: The restaurant is decent, I recommend the burgers. The locals are very friendly but just remember they live in the mountains for a reason. PRIVACY. So respect the course and the surroundings. The campsites are of average quality and sit right on a Finnon Reservoir. Great spot to camp with friends and play a few rounds of golf. Scorecards available in the restaurant (closed Monday and Tuesday). If you do not get a scorecard you will need a map or guide.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Monster course

1    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice new DISCatcher baskets.
Beautiful hike around the lake.
Flags to guide you from hole to hole.
Not a simple Par 54 course.
Cons: Thorns. Lots of them all over.
Dirt tees.
Some silly basket placements.
Other Thoughts: This is a monster of a course. If you're not up for an actual hike I would avoid this place. I loved it. The scenery was beautiful even if the thorns got on my nerves.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it or Hate it

1    1/29/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: renotahoedg
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Beautiful Setting with the lake visible from many holes. Very secluded and quiet.
* Camping on sight. Restaurant near Tee #1.
* Direction to next tee marked with landscaping flags. Was easy to navigate.
Cons: * No signage (I assume that this will change given time)
* Dirt tee boxes
* VERY thick undergrowth in some areas
* Because the course is long, there are several drives that are blind.
Other Thoughts: I believe that this is a course that you will either really love or really hate. It is longer than any course that I've seen. What I mean by this is that a majority of the holes are longer than 'standard' and the scorecard has them listed as par 4 or par 5. So, if you can throw long, and/or like the idea of holes longer than par 3, you will love this course. If you cannot throw long and prefer the 'traditiional' par 3 course, you will hate this course.

I hated this course and stopped playing after unsuccessfully searching for my disc in the thick growth on hole 4 for over 20 minutes, although I did followe through with my dgcoursereview duty and continued taking pics to upload.

As others have pointed out, the drive to get here is insane. The mileage listed from other courses is deceiving and it will take you longer than you think.

Still, you should definately give it a go for yourself to decide if you will love it or hate it.


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  epic course!

1    1/4/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: chad duga
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily the most spread out and dynamic course I've played (barring De La Vega). Hole 1 is 650 ft and hole 12 is 813ft! Lot's of elevation and terrain change. This is a recently renovated (completely re-laid) course so as another reviewer says it's still a work in progress
Cons: No t-pads yet!! kind of a bummer. Undergrowth is thick with blackberry bushes and recently cut and cleared terrain. So it takes a bit of extra time to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: it's crucial that you get the map and score card from Frank at the cafe on the course. Without proper t pads this is the only way to figure the course out. He is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. This will be a truly great course in time. One last thing for first time visitors here, I recommend a time saving complete walk though first, otherwise during gameplay you'll be walking up down and all around trying to figure out the layout what with the huge distances. The course wraps around the entire lake with no repeating terrain. The signage is poor verging on non existent. Tee 1 is at the beginning of the bridge and it is simply a set of two orange flags in the ground.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is awesome! Im not pro and I love it. It makes you play golf!!! Many challenging holes but plenty of easy pars and some easy birdies as well if you play within yourself. Most people I konw that didnt like the 1st time loved as time went on and they learned how to play the course . The new course needs pics up all the pics are of the old course which was bland. the new one has epic shots and views!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Its new and needs time to develop but with time will be the best course in norcal. Poison oak and heavy ground cover at times of the year are the only real complaint
Other Thoughts: Must have Frank cook you a meal why your there you wont regret it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.