Placerville, CA 
Finnon Reservoir DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4
3 / 480ft.   3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    5/10/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Par6
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and challenging. Only made it through Hole 10 as I got tired. The shortest hole was 330 ft. The > 600 ft holes are extremely challenging due to the vegetation (tall grass, lots of bushes) and elevation.
Cons: LOTS of Poison Oak. The tees are natural, and not very even. Not a lot of course maintenance.
Other Thoughts: People should pack out their trash that they pack in. There are very few trash cans and people should be aware and pack it out.
The little cafe at the start of the course has good food, reasonable prices and a very friendly staff.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course totally took me by surprise. I'm actually still between a 4.0 and a 4.5 on this. The design of the course is EXCELLENT with a variety of challenging par 3's and 4's (and even a couple of par 5's thrown in!).

Punishing rough ensures that poorly thrown shots will actually cost strokes while the shrubs and trees IN the fairway are quite pruned back so unlucky shots will still have ample space for recovery.

Course mixes in plenty of RHBH and LHBH shots although it seemed a touch righty friendly on the whole.

My favorite aspect of this course is that there are myriad holes where several routes are plausible. This allows returning players the chance to "learn" the course and figure out which lines produce the best score output.
Cons: Teepads are the main drawback here and when we played in early May, the course was already looking a touch scraggly with long grass and some overgrown trees. I'm sure to be back later this summer but I have a hunch this course is best saved for the late fall and winter months.
Other Thoughts: Keep a heads up for ticks as my dog picked up several during our round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Black Friday outing

1    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical shots, long shots, weather, terrain, landscape. Baskets easily found; bright yellow. Water tower hole is AWESOME. Random wild horse running around toward the end holes.
Cons: The drive in makes this a course to play on occasion. Wouldn't play after a storm or rain, could get muddy. Poison oak everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Would play this course once or twice per year. Take water, $6 to play, easy to navigate from the pictures provided at each hole. Be prepared to hike, elevation can be taxing on a hot day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course great mix of challenges

1    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Gravediggerjason
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Diverse holes with several different challenge a unique topography and a nice little restaurant with great service and course knowledge
Cons: Some tee pads are placed a great distance from the prior basket.
(I'm reaching though it's great fun)
Other Thoughts: Lake water was low a horse was wandering the course (take water it's along walk)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Challenging Beautiful Course

5+    4/14/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes. New signs next to every tee with hole layout, pin positions, distances and par (different pin positions = different par on some holes). Some new rubber tees. Multiple pin positions on most holes. New well placed "next tee" signs and green flags next to trails leading you from pin to next tee. Tons of distance and elevation change throughout the course. Very challenging course with extremely unforgiving rough and danger lurking everywhere (yes, this is a pro in my book). Good variety of shot types required and most holes are quite long. Very beautiful landscape and surroundings with picturesque holes. Extremely secluded and peaceful. Lots of wildlife. Very, very low traffic. Great views throughout the course. Nice scorecards with updated course map. Cafe and camping on site. Some garbage cans throughout the course. Nice DiscCatcher baskets. Fairly easy to navigate (only recently has this been true). Good course design and flow. Little to no congestion. Hole 1: Long par 3 shooting over a low valley/ravine then up a hill to a basket between mature trees. Hole 2: Long downhill "top of the world" shot with trees in the fairway to weave through; longer than it may seem from the tee. Hole 3: Very long uphill par 4 or 5 (depending on pin position) that shoots through a tight window at about 300', then up a hill to the basket. Two fall away green pin positions on this hole. Hole 6: Long par 4 shooting uphill for about 250' to a row of tall trees and then it makes a sharp right downhill turn to a well protected basket. Hole 7: Long par 4 or 5 shooting slightly uphill to a row of trees about 350' out, then there is a little opening and from there tight lines are required to get near the basket which is still 200' to 350' away. Hole 8: nice 270' shot that plays slightly uphill and shoots over a ravine to a well protected basket. One of the few real birdie holes on the course, but still not easy. Hole 9: long uphill 430' par three shooting over a ravine to a basket atop a hill with a thick row of trees splitting the fairway. The trees are trimmed up to about 12' though so if you land in the middle you may still have an open shot to the basket. Hole 10: 240' downhill shot with very thick and unforgiving manzanita on both sides of the fairway. Hole 12: 240' left fade shot with tight window and low ceiling to basket. Hole 13: Signature downhill shot teeing from inside an old water tower that has been renovated and has a nice built in bench. The basket on this hole is covered with black spay-on truck bed liner which actually stands out great on the hillside (better than the yellow; this would not be true for other holes). Inside the water tower is a great place to take a break out of the sun. Hole 15: 670' par 4 with left and then right turns, but the pin is basically straight out from the tee. Very tight lanes down this fairway require you to hit your line. Hole 18: 640' heavily wooded par 4 shooting slightly uphill for the first 450', then slightly downhill to the basket. Hole 20: 690' par 5 with first 400' shooting over a ravine and up a hill with a narrow window to shoot through. From the hill at 400' the fairway slopes down and to the right to a very well protected basket with a fall away green. Eagle-able with a great drive and upshot, but potential for lost discs and very high scores with any mistakes.
Cons: Mostly natural tees. Very little course maintenance. Long grass and lot of poison oak throughout the course. Little uphill hike from 1's basket to 2's tee. Pay to play ($6 per car per day). No season passes (yet). The drive to the course is intimidating if you're not familiar with backwoods mountain roads.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course in a very beautiful area that has recently been redesigned and had gotten some TLC. It is most definitely not a course for beginners. Eat your wheaties and bring your big boy or big girl arm because this course is huge. If you are allergic to poison oak, be very cautious of it if you play here because as of now (Spring 2013) it is everywhere, even in the middle of fairways. The recent course redesign makes it more appealing to the masses with more birdie opportunities and an easier to follow course layout, but it still is an advanced/professional caliber course. When arriving at the course, pay in the cafe if it is open or in the drop box if it is closed. Walk left out of the parking lot behind the cafe along the reservoir wall to hole 1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Finnon update

5+    3/10/2013   11/15/2012
Review By: Hangtownie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is improving - Tee signs are up and 4 tee matts have been installed on the worst tees. Baskets have been renumbered. Stolen basket 12 has been replaced with a new alt. pin placement. Maps/scorecards are in the cafe. Navigation should be much easier for new players. Course is better suited for experienced players. Plays best from October to about May. Hot as hell in the Summer and depending on how much weedwacking has been done - stickers and grass can get tall. Frank in the cafe cooks up some good after golf grub. Lake is about half refilled after the new dam but looks swimable. Last year the water looked like chocolate milk. As a local I would recommend a guide for first timers not just for navigation reasons.
Cons: Not perfect yet - very large course which requires tons of work and only a handful of people willing to do it and all funds come from Hangtown Disc Golf Club. So thing like replacing stolen baskets takes away from things like new tees. Also Poison Oak is about everywhere so make sure you know what it looks like even in the winter. We've removed tons from the main part of the course but still need more work and if you land off the fairway good chance your near some.
Other Thoughts: The parking fee is because they have to have a federal inspector inspect the dam every year at the sum of $6,000. - Why the Black Basket? Linex sponsered that hole. Unfortunitly The pictured hole had to be moved.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Drive Here Is Epic! # 13 Is Epic! Course Is Not Epic!

1    8/24/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow, This is another of those courses where the opinions are all over the place, everything from 0s to 4.5s. I'll be somewhere in the middle. The drive out here is memorable in the fact that I didn't know anywhere in California was that far removed from civilization! And when I finally arrived, the cafe was closed and the gate was closed. Luckily???? I had printed an on-line map. So I put my $ (in the wrong paybox on the wrong end of the cafe I later figured out) and drove through the gate.
Even with the map, I never really found # 1. I guess I started on # 6. As others have stated, this is not a course to play by yourself without spotters. I soldiered on. I found some little laminated signs without distances. Speaking of distances, # 6 was like 700'. Luckily the basket was an Innova with the yellow rim.

# 7 was a very cool toss over a valley. Then # 8 was a long but very interesting top of the valley shot through the trees. Close to an epic hole.
But the # 13 hole really stands out to me as the signature hole on this course and as one of the most unique holes I've ever played on my 475 + courses. You climb up into an old water tower approx 16' across. There are benches in here to rest on. It's nice and cool and shady. It's a great break from the elements. So you're throwing from this elevated water tower to a basket maybe 300-350' out in the distance. For some unknown reason, the # 13 basket is painted flat black, like a pick-up bedliner. It's makes it very difficult to see from the water tower. What's up with this? Kinda spoils the wonderful ambiance of this hole.

There are water and bathrooms available shortly after the water tower hole.
Cons: The course is long, rugged, hot, dry, dusty,is poorly marked, has basically no teepads, and has acres of nasty rough to throw your discs into. Without ever playing the previous, seemingly easier, for lack of a better term setup, I think I'd like it better. On a hot August day, this course was a little overwhelming for me. I didn't find the hike particularly beautiful, I found it more hot, dry and on the tedious side.
Other Thoughts: On # 12, I teed off into a horse and I had to shoo him away in order to play my second shot. A million acres out here and me and this horse get face to face. I imagined myself getting bitch kicked by this crazy horse out here in the boonies with no cell reception and lying here at night while the night critters feed on my rotting dead carcass.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The potential for greatness...

5+    8/4/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to be a championship level course if someone would take care of it. There are par 4's and 5's, to go with the par 3's. There are some big downhill shots and some big uphills as well. There's a cool shot out of an old water tower, with nice benches instaled in it, making it a great spot for a break on the course. The cafe on site has good food and cold beer making it a good stop before or after a round.
Cons: This course badly needs signs both on the tees and to show you where to go. With all the redesigns that have happend it makes it hard to find your way around. The tee pads are all dirt except for the shot out of the old water tower. Most of the course is so overgrown that finding your disc can be a pain in the butt. It seems like with the 6$ / car to park fee it seems like there would be some more care taken of this course.
Other Thoughts: Spring is the nicest season out here in my opinion. Remember that right now the baskets are all not numbered corectly, so it's probably good to find a guide to play with out here. High fire danger in the summer. Make sure to stop in at the cafe for some food and to stock up on cold beers for the round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/6/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Leeb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has lots of room, makes for a very nice hike.
Excellent use of available terrain! Unique aspect, use of an old water tower converted into a tee pad!
Many opportunities to let fly with a variety of throws.
Cons: More 'raw' than 'refined'.
Navigation was iffy in spots.
Stray discs can be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Reaching the course is almost as fun!!
Excellent and friendly help available from the proprietor (Frank?) of the Rock Creek Cafe!
Other course local is Pinocchio, the long ago abandoned horse.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Find Finnon

2-4    5/26/2010   5/3/2011
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Outrageous course. Just getting there is half the battle. Very diverse and raw terrain. Will take lots of work to tame this property. If you like a challenge you will love this course.
Cons: Watch out for poison oak, and need spotter on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Camping right on site and great food at Rock Creek Cafe. It is quite the drive out to the course. Remote area but worth it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.