Oak Park Heights, MN 
Brekke Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket at end of fence to left



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Merely average, too short

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good wooded holes
-Benches at mostly every hole
-Baskets in good shape
-Ample parking
-Other park facilities on site
-Good use of what elevation changes are available
-Good, long cement tee pads
Cons: -Most holes require the same type of shot (fade to left at the end)
-Only shorter course I've played is Wabun Picnic Area, this course is incredibly short
-Erosion will become a problem soon
-Most tee signs are missing
Other Thoughts: I wanted to like this course more than I did because it has some nice wooded holes that force you to make accurate throws. That being said, the course is just too short for it to really matter. You can make a terrible tee shot and still have a relatively easy time getting to the basket for a 3. The course is so short that you will not need any disc other than your putter. Don't get me wrong, the course isn't bad as there aren't a lot of courses in the area and it is at least a little different than a lot of the short suburban courses; but it's not a course I would go to more than a handful of times.
The park itself is decent; there's some other facilities on site and ample parking. There is a bench at the tee pad for every hole and also a post for a sign. I recall only seeing two signs up, the rest were missing. I don't know if this was due to vandalism or they simply weren't up; but either way it's not terribly important. You can easily see every basket from the tee so there shouldn't be any questions as to where you need to throw. There are no signs dictating where the next hole is but it was easy enough to follow the trodden path to the next hole. The baskets themselves were in decent enough shape, none were showing excessive wear and tear. There was some garbage strewn about on the course, but it wasn't excessive by any means. I've seen much worse. There were some teenagers (the types that have a tendency to vandalize and otherwise ruin a course) hanging around, but it didn't seem to be a problem there so I guess they don't follow the stereotype. Always a positive.
The holes themselves mostly fade to the left at the end, so it's an easy fit for most throwers. This is a good course to practice some of your shorter, more accuracy driven approach shots; although you'll be doing it from the tee pads because of the shortness of the course. If you're looking for more variety of shots required I'd find a different course as you'll find yourself needing nothing but a normal RHBH throw. The teepads are in very good shape, they are nice level cement pads with more than enough length. There is a little bit of erosion here and there on the course but nothing that is out of control...yet. Some work will have to be done eventually to keep it from becoming bad, but it's not at that point yet. There is a little bit of elevation change that is utilized on several of the holes to add some variety. There are a couple of holes that are a bit close together which could become a safety issue if the course is busy. All in all, this was a very average course that makes good use of the very minimal space devoted to it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shorter than a kneeling midget

2-4    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Very nice tee pads and baskets. +1 star each. Very cool pine smell as you walk through the pine forest. +1 star. Nice use of elevation, and very tight lines. +1 star.
Cons: Shorter than a kneeling midget, seriously only 1 hole is over 200' long (and I think it clocks in at a solid 210'). -1 star. Tee signs are there on most holes, but have been knocked down. Some of the teepads put you in the line of fire on the next hole. -1 star.
Other Thoughts: Not a terrible course for putter work. Couple left turns, couple right turns. Nothing long, nothing really special. Not worth a long drive to play, but if you are in the area, and want to play a putter only round it will give you something to do.

 Short but fun

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets with blue paint on them. Gives this course its own feel.
-Good signage on the holes that haven't been vandalized.
-Lots of trees for a challenge but there are always a lane or two to throw down. The trees are mature and they look good. The course is aesthetically pleasing.
-Benches on a few holes but you really shouldn't need a break, this course is short
-Lots of other stuff to do at the park.
-Solid parking lot
-Many ace and birdie ops
-A decent mix of shots needed. Like I said it is fairly wooded so you don't always get to choose what you are going to throw. The lanes may force a shot or two.
-A good intermediate course. It is a pretty easy course but the trees might make it frustrating for the beginners. This would be a good course to learn precision though.
-I thought the basket placement one hole one was a little annoying. I don't like the use of fences as an obstacle.
Cons: -Some signs missing most likely due to vandalism
-Have to watch out for other park users, especially the bike/walking path that crosses a few holes
-This course is short. As long as you hit the right line you should be able to drive every hole. Hole 5 might be the exception.
-Could be very busy and this is also causing erosion on parts of the course
-Could be buggy, not when I went but other reviews mention it.
Other Thoughts: Other than this course being very short, I loved it. Even the shortness didn't bother me. I would rather have a course be too short than too long. This gives you much excitement as you aim for aces and putt for birdies. I thought this course was fun and pretty well kept overall. They could use some erosion control and new signs on the missing ones. I would recommend this course if you are in the area but it's not really a destination course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but small

1    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Grape Drank
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good use of available space
- Variety of cover
- Fast course
- Course flow is good for the most part
- Most holes have signs
- Low traffic
Cons:
- Vandalism
- Very very short
- Aging course
- You WILL hit trees
Other Thoughts:
For a park this size, this is a great course. Especially considering there is a playground, pavillion, basketball court, baseball and soccer fields and an ice rink also located in Brekke. When entering the parking lot the first hole is on the right side, the last hole ends on the left side.

Hole #1
I don't like the basket placement. It is right behind a chain fence, if it were moved 10 feet back it would be fine.

Hole #2
Anhyzer is the best shot here, but there might be people in the way if they are playing basketball.

Hole #3
Long and narrow fairway lined by tall pines. No matter what tree you hit though this is easily a 2 par hole.

Hole #4
Anhyzer shot works perfect, you will need to thread the needle if you want to throw a hyzer. Cinderblocks and boards are used to make a few benches at this hole. Sign mising

Hole #5
This is probably the longest shot, and it's angled so you will not be very likely to land very close to the basket. A nice change from the other holes.

Hole #6
This is a really dinky hole. Short and uphill, there are tree stumps everywhere. This is probably the worst hole.

Hole #7
Basket is near the tee for hole 6 so don't peg anyone. Tucked behind woods nicely, hard to get a shot through.

Hole #8
This is on the edge and you have the road behind you. Another really short hole. Straight forward shot will get you there, although there are a few trees blocking the way.

Hole #9
Only break-down of the flow, it is further away from the rest of the holes. There are pretty worn paths between the holes but still could use a next tee sign. Short hole with some tree cover. Scored my first ace on this hole!

I would've rated this a 2.5 if I hadn't gotten my first ace here I think. It is a nice place to improve your short game. As always, make it a stop if you're around but don't drive out of the way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a Brekke . . . Live Long and Propser

1    3/11/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) DGA Signs do the job for the most part on this self explanatory short course. Hole #, distance, par, and the obstacles are shown.

2) Rules sign at the first tee is always good to see.

3) Mach baskets with the number plate facing the tees. The basket itself is painted blue for some reason (not sure if it helps visibility or not, just worth noting).

4) There are benches in a few spots and garbage cans along the way.

5) This is a really quick play . . . I played all 9 in 19 minutes.

6) Moderate elevation changes on a couple holes.

7) #3 is like a mini (recreational)
version of Blue Ribbon Pines #4.

8) Very nice trees on this course ranging from some hardwoods to very mature Pine trees that factor in your shot making.

9) The park has plenty of amenities including a portopotty, hockey rinks, baseball, soccer, a pavilion, etc.

10) Beginner friendly course that still challenges first timers. The woods are some tough shots, but short enough beginners can recover from an errant shot.

11) #9 has the biggest directional sign I have ever seen making sure you don't miss your next tee. It makes the awkward walk to the tee more enjoyable.
Cons: 1) The course does not see much distance variation, with holes in the 120-240' range. Those are all mid-range shots for anyone with experience in the game.

2) Wood framed gravel tee-boxes are better than turf but still not equal to concrete.

3) There are a couple places where an errant disc might be dangerous for someone else on another hole. Hole #2 also might be dangerous for other park users depending on the time of year (hockey or basketball areas). Hole #1 might also require a shot over the corner of a soccer field. A turned over disc might go into one of the nets!

4) I generally just don't like unnatural obstacles and the fence along #1 is not my favorite . . . but it does do the job of forcing a particular shot. It is worse because it makes the basket completely blind. I just threw to the end of the fence with a hyzer and parked it (blindly).

5) Not enough variety in shot shaping here, it is generally the hyzer shot.
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed this course and if I didn't already have plans on a bunch more courses during the day I would have played another couple rounds because it takes a little getting used to each hole here and I bet the scores can go way down.

It isn't the most glamorous, or the most challenging, but there are a lot of fun holes to throw out here. Truthfully even though they are short, there isn't a weak hole out here in my opinion. They all have something different about them and challenge you to execute your shot. Because it is almost always a mid-range there isn't much chance you will be hurt by going for the basket. You really should always be able to recover for a 3 . . . almost always!

It was the perfect way for me to warmup before going to a few more courses on the day. Very enjoyable even though it is short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    9/1/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good use of elevation changes
- fun layout on a few holes
- very quick play, and not busy
- creative layout for such a small park
- beginner friendly, but still a fun challenge for others as well
Cons: - nothing longer than about 240 ft
- some holes feel forced due to limited space
- tree stumps sticking up are hazardous
- no need for anything longer than a midrange for sure
Other Thoughts: we are from out of state, and happen to be in the area. we looked this course up online and stopped by for a quick round. very fun little course just to goof around and practice the short game. if you are in the area and have an hour, swing by and play a couple of rounds, it is a fun little course. Not worth driving much out of your way though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brekke

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good Layout--You generally know where to go for the next tee. Only #9 is a bit of a walk, but it has a sign.

--They make do with what they have. The course is shoehorned into a small park, but they still have good variety of shots.

--Baskets are well protected by trees, I think only #2 and #8 are the only ones with open ace runs.

--Baskets are nice and in good condition.

--Plenty of trees to work around, have to shape your shots.

--Hardly any underbrush, so you can spot your disc easily if it goes off the trail

--Can play very quickly.

--Hole 3 reminds me of BRP number 4, a hallway shot through pines. This one is more forgiving though. :)

--Good use of the elevation.

--Great chances for aces on almost every hole.
Cons: --Short. I only used a midrange once the whole course.

--Hole 4 is frustrating. No lines to the basket, you just throw and hope the disc somehow makes it through all the trees. Hole 7 is similar.

--Teeboxes are wood rectangles with dirt filling them in. Not a big deal, but the teeboxes hold water and get muddy. They also aren't very big, but you don't need a run up on this course.

--Poison Ivy--I got a little bit while I was there, I think in between holes 3 and 4.

--9 very short holes get old pretty fast. I was bored after 4 quick rounds, and I don't think I'll be going back soon.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course considering what they had to work with. Good for some quick rounds and some ace runs. I got my first ace on #2, which was fun. Not very challenging, the only hard holes are difficult because of all the trees in the fairway. One or two "thread the needle shots and you could walk away with an 18. Like another reviewer said, it's too bad that the Stillwater/OPH area only has this course. Hopefully they get another course built soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Putter

2-4    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: timj5304
Played: 105  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is not really a place for someone above beginner level to play. I would say a great place to take a girl on a date or girlfriend learning how to play. The longest hole is about 225 feet down hill. I played with my putter in the low 20's for all 3 rounds I played. No traffic, can play 3 rounds in 45 minutes.
Cons: Short, no concrete tee pads, garbage all over the place.
Other Thoughts: Too bad that a place like stillwater does not have a better course to offer, there is disc golf lacking in this area and I hope they put a 18 out there some place like Hudson or Stillwater.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/7/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good use of the tiny space allotted. some of the holes make up for the shortness with tree obstacles
Cons: very short, more of a practice course for most but a good one to work on midrange skillz.

Tees are very small, most throw from beside them.
Other Thoughts: I only go there because it is very close by.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Frosty
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
Pros: - A short enough course that I can go through 3 rounds in under an hour
- Not a very busy area
- Nice mix of woods and elevation
- An easy starter course for beginners
Cons: - Trash is left on the course even when their are trash cans around
- A hangout for some hooligans
Other Thoughts: A course with a nice blend of hills and trees. An excellent course for newer players.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.