Layout Extinct

Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 comes up short....

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 9 holes that vary in variety so this is a big plus for the course. Great terrain variety as well.

Good mix of open shots and tree shots to allow you to work your short game on each hole. My opinion is that this course favors a finesse player who isn't worried so much about airing it out on every hole. While you have the opportunity to do it a few times, the course is more about accuracy than shear power.

Very helpful students on campus to help navigate the few holes I was unable to determine where to go. Students actually asked me if I needed help (I must have looked really confused on a couple of occasions....)
Cons: Needs some ongoing care. My biggest dissappointment was lack of signage and the frustration of navigating the course. It was just very poorly taken care of and my hope would be that a couple of locals could hit the school maintenance crew up for some 4x4 posts and get the course tees numbered! It really would help for out of town players and not so frequent visitors.


Other Thoughts: From a purist DG perspective:

This course can be played with only a mid-range and a putter and I would encourage more experienced players to take the challenge. I played it with a ROC and a WIZARD and found it a great experience working shots around the trees when applicable. We tend to think we need a driver off every tee box because it's in the bag, but this is a course where the distance just does not really warrant a driver at all (except for 1 hole and I could argue you are better off with a midrange throw at 300' with an approach throw of 150' - but that's just me)

This course is fun to play, but should not be a "wish list" course for the area unless you really have now way to get to another course. There are way too many better courses that are worth the additional drive time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Potential

2-4    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course with amazing potential. Holes 3 and 9 have the ability to be phenomenal holes, and the rest could certainly be top notch. However, this is not the current case. Hole 3 is a downhill shot going across a valley, and finally landing on top of another hill. Hole 9 is an awesome hole which warrants any style of shot that you want. However, you must be very accurate as most of the entire fairway is shrubs and trees. Hole 7 requires you to shoot through a semi-tight corridor, which is always fun.

This course has a good mixture of open grass/dirt, and good sized trees. When you're standing at the tee boxes it is easy to see other even better shots that could be made on the same pin. The course also does a quality job of utilizing the small plot of land they have. It is great to see a disc course here, next to a bunch of flat grasslands.
Cons: DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS COURSE WITHOUT A MAP. That is, of course, unless you want to just play some safari disc. Most tee pads are incredibly hard to find, even with the map provided on DGCR. This course is pretty much a rambling mess. It has SO MUCH untapped potential… but it seems to stay a massive jumble. You will find yourself a bit confused and underwhelmed by the lack of quality and maintenance of this course. It almost looks like they had no course designer. It is as if some pins were placed out in the field by somebody at some point… and nothing has been done since then. This course is also very susceptible to wind. The wind usually comes from the west, giving massive challenge one of the best holes on the course (hole 3)


INFO FOR FIRST TIMERS:
-Hole one goes from the disc golf course sign, over the half pipe, and into the trees
-Hole two tee is back near the road and does a slight hyzer across the grass field
- Hole 3 is an elevated tee pad and goes across the mini-valley to the pin on top of the hill
-Hole 4 requires you to walk west and downhill, you will see a patch of dirt that resembles a tee-pad. Hole 4 is short and goes uphill.
-Hole 5 tee box is directly north of the Hole 4 basket, and the basket is partially blind, about 300 feet (or more) to the SouthEast
-Hole 6 tee-box is right next to Hole 5 basket, and Hole 6 basket is South of Hole 4 basket and has a faded orange cone on top.
-Hole 7 tee is to the south of basket 6. Throw uphill through a medium sized corridor.
-Hole 8 tee requires you to walk down the road next to the building, and throw back just south of Hole 7 tee.
- For Hole 9, continue walking west (past hole 8 basket) for around 200 feet. There is a bare dirt area that resembles a tee pad. The basket is completely blind, and requires a nice throw (of any kind) over a large area of trees and shrubs.
Other Thoughts: This place seriously has so much potential. As of now, it was almost hard to rate it a 2/Reasonable, but the few good holes on this course certainly make it more than 1.5/Passable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Mediocre Course at a Great Location

1    7/8/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain of this course is fantastic, playing over a group of hills and bordering a deep ravine by #9. The area and views are great playing at the base of the Rockies, and the DGA baskets are in great shape. There is a decent amount of foliage throughout the course, and used well on #7 and the redone #9.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: Navigation is the biggest problem you'll face here. There are signs on #2 and #3 tee boxes, but they are laminated paper, so don't expect them to last past the summer season. I ended up playing what I believed to be the correct and most current course design, but it's different from the original layout.

Here's my logical pattern: #2 tee box plays to #3 pin. #3 plays the short distance to the crest of the hill at #4 pin. #4 tee box plays up the hill to pin #5, and #5 tee box plays around the hill in the blind to #2 pin. Number #6 plays normally and #7 back up through the trees. #8 plays along the building and #9 is a blind back over towards #8. However, if you're adventurous, I chose to play some safari on #9 and played it across the ravine and up under the walkway towards the hill. It's a much cooler look and would make for a better epic ending rather than the current weak substitute.

Besides the major navigation issues, the boxes are barely marked and possibly marked incorrectly. They are a mix of concrete walkways and uneven gravel base that makes for poor footing. It basically looks like this is a course lost in time and falling from glory in the redone layout.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: This is great place to have a course, however - it's has too many glaring issues to consider it a top nine hole course in the area. I didn't mind the layout I played and enjoyed the elevation changes and overall distance through the trees. But even a fun layout is killed when you have to spend most of your time determining if you're playing the correct hole. My suggestion is play some safari golf and make up your own layout until someone decides to put in some more TLC and figure out how to mark a course properly. Then hopefully they'll post a map too.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, fast course.

1    4/29/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Placed on a college campus with parking next to the first tee. For only 9 holes, there is good variety here. Hole two is long and open and there are a few that are crowded with trees. Baskets are in great shape. Teepads range from dirt to gravel to sidewalk. Teesigns on most of the holes. Great views of the surrounding mountains, this might actually be the best thing about the course.
Cons: Nothing too exciting here. Nothing too long to challenge the better players. A fairway driver and putter is probably all you need. Navigation issues on the course as to where to go to next. This is really a problem on some of the holes as I accidentally threw on the wrong baskets. I parked in the lot right next to the course, I think you need a permit or something to park there so you might want to watch that.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick course to play. If you were a student there you could easily play between classes. Short and quick that provides a good fix. If looking for a relaxing time, then hang out here, if you need to challenge your game, probably want to go someplace else. I could see it as getting rather boring for a beginner in no time at all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not What It Used To Be

2-4    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: bookmunkie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For me it's within walking distance of home and for the many students at Red Rocks Community College it's extremely convenient. Rumor has it that the course will be expanded to 18 holes.
Cons: In my opinion the course is poorly maintained. For a school campus I am shocked by the amount of alcohol bottles and cans littering the course and the lack of appropriate receptacles. The tee markers were never sunk into the ground deeply enough and have consequently been pulled up, knocked over, and thrown around, and have never been put back. The first change made to the course in the time I've been playing there was moving the 9th tee but the sign notifying players was flimsy cardboard that didn't last long and the old tee marker was never removed which confused new players.

I also think the transition to the new layout has been handled rather poorly. The school has apparently made maps, but they're impossible to get a hold of. The holes haven't been renumbered where needed, which is as simple an undertaking as putting stickers on the baskets. The worst part is the redone 9th hole and the new 4th hole. The 4th hole is too short to be any sort of a challenge and the 9th hole is short and requires a blind throw over trees making it easy to lose a disk or hit players flowing you on the course.
Other Thoughts: If it weren't the only course within walking distance of my apartment I would quit playing at this course until the rumored expansion to 18 holes.

Also, a quick note, I selected 2-4 for number of times played; that's just since the changes made. I've played at this course at least once a week for about a year now

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 okay...

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: P_eye
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Mountains nearby. Elevation changes. Pretty girls walking by.
Cons: Short and boring. Lack of signs.
Other Thoughts: Not sure why this gets 3 stars? People scoring this a 3 messes up the grading scale. I played Johnny Roberts right after playing this and it was waaay better. It scores a 3.5...

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center