Layout Extinct

Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Average Course

1    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: tcumpton
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This was a short and sweet corse that gave me my fun round of disc golf that I wanted. Baskets were easy to see and out in their own areas so people weren't throwing disc towards you. In a very nice location with very nice college kids hanging around.
Cons: Gravel pads which were very easy to slip on and no maps at the beginning to show where you were throwing. Bring bug spray because there are a lot of weeds and asmall creek near by that attract the knats.
Other Thoughts: I had to ask another college student where the next basket was a couple of times and after I got done he told me to go in and get a map if I were to play another round. I would advise you to go in and try to find one before starting.

  misnumbered

2-4    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: runninggolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course with trees and blid throws..
not too busy..
close to my house..
Cons: baskets are numbered wrong..so if you do not know the course you will be confused...
Other Thoughts: cops and security watch you like a hawk..so behave

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a map

1    11/17/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fun course with some varied shots.
-Has distance and a blind shot that make things interesting
-Not too busy
-If you know where you are going this is a lot of fun
Cons: -Parking can be a pain if you go during classes
-You need a map. I would have had no idea where to go without one.
-No signs
-Tee boxes are gravel or nonexistent

Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but it is close to work and I can go on my lunch break, so it is worth while.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

5+    7/14/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: progolfer33
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For students of the college, this is a great way to waste a little time by playing a very decent 9-hole course. There is a good mixture of long and short, power and finesse.

This course is rarely busy, especially during the day, so sometimes I find myself using the holes for putting practice
Cons: My two favorite holes here play across a soccer field, but these holes also cause the course to close regularly for events.

I also wish that the course was 18-hole, but they did the best with what they had.

My only grip with the course itself is the 9th hole. It may be the most memorable, but it is also my least favorite. I have heard that they plan on changing the hole, so kudos to that.
Other Thoughts: I just recently learned that I was playing the wrong tee on the 9th hole. Make sure you don't play the first one and that you make the trek across the creek to the much better one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with hills

1    5/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most memorable hole on this course plays under a pedestrian catwalk that connects two buildings on the campus. It plays slightly up hill and forces you to take a low line. The others play up and down a hillside with sparse trees mostly the short types you would find in the prairie as you near the mountains. The natural setting parts of the course are pretty fun. When the course gets out of the trees it compensates by either being long or having tricky elevation changes.

I was able to gain access to the main building and use the washroom like a normal human being. If not a golfer will have to make plans before hand because there isn't any other places nearby to use. This course is pretty fun. When I played, on a weekend it was not very crowded. Pretty and scenic piece of land that overlooks the city and has a front row seat to the mountains. A good smattering of birdie opportunities and being able to walk a natural setting made the course fun for me.
Cons: I was not a big fan of the holes that just traverse across a giant group of soccer fields. Plus I imagine that when they are in use they are unplayable. On the plus side, these two holes are quite long which always somehow makes up for being wide open. I could see bumping the score up if it had the amenities such as signs and cement tee pads that lessor pieces of land have at other courses.
Other Thoughts: I'm unsure of how the course is with from basket to next tee issues because I played with a great tour guide. I really enjoyed having a stress free round that I was waiting in line to throw. If I weren't so tired from playing another course that day I sure I could have played this course two or three times in a row. Being right in the foothills imagine that wind can be a common issue. I got to play this course in the summer and there were not many students around, I can only imagine how different of a scene this courses is when school in full session.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 pretty good for what they had...

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: logansal
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice view of the rockies. Lots of different shots and good variety for a 9 hole course. Hole 4 is a challenge, if you go in any direction but straight you are in serious trouble and could roll a couple hundred feet into a ditch.
Cons: Lots of people walking around. only 9 holes. They didn't have much room to begin with but were able to fit these 9 in nicely. After hole 9 you have to walk around the school to get back to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Interesting course. has it's pros and cons. Perfect for all the kids attending school there, but as far as traveling, i would go somewhere else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center