Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Mix of Holes

1    9/1/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Elevation changes, trees, open shots, bootlegs to left a right. Some good thumber shots. Cool mountain views and met some cool people on the course.
Cons: Only a couple signs showing the way and no numbers on top of the baskets. Dirt tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I added a map to the links page which was readily available on the College website. Make sure you print this and take it or you'll definitely have trouble. With the map its easy.

I almost didn't play this course because of some of the other reviews but that would have been mistake. Nice short 9 hole right off the highway and didn't take long to play it. Enjoyed the course and would recommend it and its a good idea to play it with someone who has played it because some tees are out of sight or hard to see.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gone are the days

5+    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DGWookie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is more of an update to make mention of the course changes

#1 plays the same. The long #2 and #3 holes across the open field are no more. #2 tee pad is a painted portion of sidewalk that plays over to the old #3 basket. #4 that went across the gully is now #3. New #4 is a way too easy filler hole. 5 - 8 play the same way. #9 has been changed also. The basket is now a little east of the old tee pad and you play it blind from behind trees and scrub.
Cons: Signature #9 hole is gone. No more tomahawks over the roof or drives under the walkway :(

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ready For Change

1    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets are probably the best thing about this course. There are some good holes that have a good amount of risk and reward. The weeds were mowed on the holes off of grass. There is a good varience in lengths and you will be asked to throw several different types of shots. The special features of this course and the use of the land make it a good and unique experience. The course is located near the heart of this community college campus offering some nicer ameneties. And apparently there is somewhere that you can pick up a map of the course.
Cons: The longer holes are all wide open taking away some difficulty that could have been there. There is only nine holes right now. The tee pads are marked only by a post in the ground with a number offering no information as to where the hole is or where the actual teeing line is. Based on the worn paths in the dirt people have attempted to move tees closer to holes than were origionally intended. This course plays around a nice community college but the current layout could force the course to close for school events. When school is in session I would imagine that this course will get busy, especially with first timers. The regular crowd that appeared to be there when I was there was not what I would call your typical disc golf crowd and not in the positive sense. Unless you know the course you will have to rely on inconsistently worn paths to find your way around without a map.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this course for the first time with jroll from DGCR who has played this course before. It made the negatives about this course really not matter as much. The best news that I got from this round is that they are planning on making this course an 18 holer in the nest couple of months using land that you can see from the current coruse that looks great for DG. The sad news behind this is that a few of the signature holes will be cut from the course in all likelihood. I say this mostly in reference to hole 9 which goes under an indoor pedestrian walkway with lots of cement posts to miss. There is great potential for this course when it changes but get out and play in now before it does.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course!

5+    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with a little mix of terrain that makes it interesting. I am biased because I only live 10 minutes away, but I really like this little course. You don't need to be overly powerful to play well here. #4 and #9 are both very fun holes that I will sometimes play over and over when there's not many people around.
Cons: It's a little on the short side and can have a high amount of pedestrian traffic with the school. I've never had this issue, but I could see it happening. I also wish this course was 18 holes. They appear to have the space to do it, but I'm not sure they will.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoy this course, I wouldn't drive too far out of my way to play it, but there's enough disc golf out this way, you could easily play 3 courses in an afternoon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable

2-4    4/22/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are many different types of holes in the course. You have some straightaways free of obstacles and some that have many trees lining the fairway. This course offers elevation changes. The grounds are well maintaned. Bakset to tee box walk is a good flow. Most holes are easy to find after the completion of the previous hole. Hole 9 makes for a very intersting and challenging shot through a big bank of trees and under a tight bridge. I enjoyed the 4th hole and the 6th hole. This course has opportunites for every type of shot. This course is good for tag plays and a nice place to enjoy the sun setting over the Rocky Mountains as you band the chains.
Cons: The tee pads seemed a little worse for the wear. I can only assume that the snow and rain in the past few weeks has cause the crushed gravel tee boxes to wear away. The tee boxes could have better signage as to which hole and which way you are throwing. No huge cons other than I wish it were an 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of wildlife in this park. I would be careful for larger wildlife in the dusk and early evening hours out here. The Community College has done a good job at making a nice little course. The makes use of different shots and ways to get out of situations. A very solid three course. I imagine it is the biggest recreation draw on campus because the halfpipe near hole 1 is sad.

I just learned today that the school would prefers golfers to use the new tee area for hole #9. This tee is on the other side of the ditch area. Cross under the bridge and it is to your right side.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/25/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: jroll
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great quick course for someone without a lot of time or a group doing a tour of the three small courses in the area (2 people, 2 rounds = 1 hour), nice and technical for most of the round. Love hole 4 when I don't overthrow it. # 9 under the bridge is fun and frustrating at the same time. Great course for someone looking to learn the game. I only wish it was 18. there is potential for expansion at some point. Bathrooms and water refills available
Cons: Short, hole # 9 bending your plastic, hole 2 and 3 are long and wide open with zero obstacles. the occasional gigantic group of new players.
Other Thoughts: There are a few spots with amazing views and overall is a nice clean course. great for the occasional quick round or the students but that's about it

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

2-4    3/18/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little course with not a lot of pedestrian traffic. A couple of really nice layouts with lanes though the trees and elevation changes. Being on a college campus, this course is kept up nicely. Not too easy, but not that challenging either. Good for a lazy day in a moderate foothills setting. Decent gravel tees with nice baskets. The student center has a course map, bathrooms and a water fountain to fill up your bottle. There is a lot of open space beyond where the course turns around to potentially put in a second nine holes, which could make this course very nice. Fun, but if you have a full day, you would probably be better off going to the Badlands or Bird's Nest.
Cons: A few of the holes are just straight shots in open fields with not many obstacles. Most of the holes are pretty short. The tees aren't marked very well, but you can find your way around easily enough. Every once in a while you will come up on a very big group who are just there to party with little interest in the actual game. The ninth hole is the course's signature hole and shoots under a bridge. While fun the first couple of times, it feels a little like a gimmick and can be very frustrating once you bend your disc on the concrete.
Other Thoughts: A fun, short course with just a hint of technical in spots. For regular golfers, you can easily walk away under par. Great for those new to the sport. It lists the pars for the course on the map, but they are not regulation, I play everything as a par 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great nine hole course

2-4    3/15/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this course. The views of the Foothills and Table Mountain are great. The course has a variety of hole types: short with trees, wide open over grass and some over mountain vegetation. It requires a lot of thought and shot types for only nine holes. The baskets are good quality and the tees aren't too bad. They are level, big and a few have benches. The location is convenient and easy to get to from I-70, C-470 and Hwy 6.
Cons: The tee markers could use some very basic upgrades. Currently they are simply 4x4s sticking up 3-4 ft from the ground. Most of them have the hole number marked on them. A sign with arrows to the basket and to the next tee box would help for first time players. We thought that the #6 and #8 tee pads were shared until we saw other players using the #8 tee up next the building. Hole #9 is confusing. There is a cardboard sign on the ground next to what we assume was the old tee. It said the tee had been moved and to follow the markings on the ground. However, we couldn't find markings. I can see why they moved it considering the danger of breaking a window.
Other Thoughts: Hole number four seems be the signature hole. With the gulch on three sides and the mountains in the background it is very difficult to judge the distance. In addition, the wind plays a huge role as well. It is listed at 296, but the elevation change makes it play around 265. I threw a fairway driver and needed to keep it very low to lessen the wind impact. Overall, I really liked this course. It is not as nice as Johnny Roberts or Bird's Nest, but it is probably the best nine hole course I have played in the metro area. I will definitely play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good little 9 hole course but College stuff can get in the way!

5+    9/11/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole lengths are variable not just 180-260 of the other close by 9 hole courses. Get to play over watered Grass and natural front range vegetation. Par or better on the 9th hole is a mystery to me, tight threw the trees on the first shot, second shot under the bridge, third shot out from under the bridge, fourth shot approach, fifth shot putt. My only par came from errant throw in the ditch. 2nd shot completely through the tunnel... 2nd hole a perfect RHBH is over the top of a building! Takes me about 40 minutes to play! 11/20/08 - new Pin location takes building out of play... They must have been getting too many people crawling on the roof to get discs...
Cons: Campus police like to park in front of the 8th tee. Sprinklers turn on 1st tee at 6:30. Missed the sprinklers at 2nd and 3rd fairways. I bet they come on around 6pm. Biology class on 5th hole caused me to skip it, but they moved to the 9th hole so I could play the 5th, then they went inside so I could play the 9th! Today May28-2009 they turned on the small sprinklers in front of the pavilion at 7:30. But the Big sprinklers that cover most of the grass in Front of the pavilion came on at 8:30pm causing a few groups to quit DG for the night!
Other Thoughts: A lot more fun than the Driver-Approach-putt at Schaefers, or the Approach-Putt at Ken Caryl. 4th Hole over the gully is a great Risc-reward hole. 7th a clean throw through the trees could have Eagle possibilities. The Tee on the 9th hole has been moved. Coming from the 8th pin walk toward the tunnel under the building. When you get to the end of the gully almost to the tunnel walk away from the building on the other side of the gulley. Sometimes this is well marked, and sometimes you have to know where it is. The Tee is marked by a brown brick and an arrow, not the 4x4s and kitty litter type gravel on the other tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.