Layout Extinct

Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 One of my faves

1    9/10/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: Spectre742
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: - Great new course layout
- Great mix of holes
- Nice use of land and elevation
- Uncrowded
- Nice alternate basket placements
- Disc golf only on most of the course
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- A little confusing on your first time thru
- Don't land in the ditch. lol
- Parking lot pretty full during the school day
Other Thoughts: I like the natural feel of this course and play it weekly. It provides a more rugged hiking oriented round of disc golf minus the crowds and joggers etc. that u encounter at other local courses. 2 or 3 rounds make for a satisfying day of discin'

 It could be so much more

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: fireodie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: A Short course that is fun with a mid range disc only (and a putter if you want one)
Cons: Very difficult to navigate the course, tee boxes are very difficult to find esp # 7, 8, and 9 (which I guessed on after finding the basket and wandering around to what seemed like a possible tee.
Other Thoughts: Lots of room to expand, and the potential is there for a good short course if they improved the tee boxes and made a map or signs pointing to the next hole.

 comes up short....

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 9 holes that vary in variety so this is a big plus for the course. Great terrain variety as well.

Good mix of open shots and tree shots to allow you to work your short game on each hole. My opinion is that this course favors a finesse player who isn't worried so much about airing it out on every hole. While you have the opportunity to do it a few times, the course is more about accuracy than shear power.

Very helpful students on campus to help navigate the few holes I was unable to determine where to go. Students actually asked me if I needed help (I must have looked really confused on a couple of occasions....)
Cons: Needs some ongoing care. My biggest dissappointment was lack of signage and the frustration of navigating the course. It was just very poorly taken care of and my hope would be that a couple of locals could hit the school maintenance crew up for some 4x4 posts and get the course tees numbered! It really would help for out of town players and not so frequent visitors.


Other Thoughts: From a purist DG perspective:

This course can be played with only a mid-range and a putter and I would encourage more experienced players to take the challenge. I played it with a ROC and a WIZARD and found it a great experience working shots around the trees when applicable. We tend to think we need a driver off every tee box because it's in the bag, but this is a course where the distance just does not really warrant a driver at all (except for 1 hole and I could argue you are better off with a midrange throw at 300' with an approach throw of 150' - but that's just me)

This course is fun to play, but should not be a "wish list" course for the area unless you really have now way to get to another course. There are way too many better courses that are worth the additional drive time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Average Course

1    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: tcumpton
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This was a short and sweet corse that gave me my fun round of disc golf that I wanted. Baskets were easy to see and out in their own areas so people weren't throwing disc towards you. In a very nice location with very nice college kids hanging around.
Cons: Gravel pads which were very easy to slip on and no maps at the beginning to show where you were throwing. Bring bug spray because there are a lot of weeds and asmall creek near by that attract the knats.
Other Thoughts: I had to ask another college student where the next basket was a couple of times and after I got done he told me to go in and get a map if I were to play another round. I would advise you to go in and try to find one before starting.

 So Much Potential

2-4    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course with amazing potential. Holes 3 and 9 have the ability to be phenomenal holes, and the rest could certainly be top notch. However, this is not the current case. Hole 3 is a downhill shot going across a valley, and finally landing on top of another hill. Hole 9 is an awesome hole which warrants any style of shot that you want. However, you must be very accurate as most of the entire fairway is shrubs and trees. Hole 7 requires you to shoot through a semi-tight corridor, which is always fun.

This course has a good mixture of open grass/dirt, and good sized trees. When you're standing at the tee boxes it is easy to see other even better shots that could be made on the same pin. The course also does a quality job of utilizing the small plot of land they have. It is great to see a disc course here, next to a bunch of flat grasslands.
Cons: DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS COURSE WITHOUT A MAP. That is, of course, unless you want to just play some safari disc. Most tee pads are incredibly hard to find, even with the map provided on DGCR. This course is pretty much a rambling mess. It has SO MUCH untapped potential… but it seems to stay a massive jumble. You will find yourself a bit confused and underwhelmed by the lack of quality and maintenance of this course. It almost looks like they had no course designer. It is as if some pins were placed out in the field by somebody at some point… and nothing has been done since then. This course is also very susceptible to wind. The wind usually comes from the west, giving massive challenge one of the best holes on the course (hole 3)


INFO FOR FIRST TIMERS:
-Hole one goes from the disc golf course sign, over the half pipe, and into the trees
-Hole two tee is back near the road and does a slight hyzer across the grass field
- Hole 3 is an elevated tee pad and goes across the mini-valley to the pin on top of the hill
-Hole 4 requires you to walk west and downhill, you will see a patch of dirt that resembles a tee-pad. Hole 4 is short and goes uphill.
-Hole 5 tee box is directly north of the Hole 4 basket, and the basket is partially blind, about 300 feet (or more) to the SouthEast
-Hole 6 tee-box is right next to Hole 5 basket, and Hole 6 basket is South of Hole 4 basket and has a faded orange cone on top.
-Hole 7 tee is to the south of basket 6. Throw uphill through a medium sized corridor.
-Hole 8 tee requires you to walk down the road next to the building, and throw back just south of Hole 7 tee.
- For Hole 9, continue walking west (past hole 8 basket) for around 200 feet. There is a bare dirt area that resembles a tee pad. The basket is completely blind, and requires a nice throw (of any kind) over a large area of trees and shrubs.
Other Thoughts: This place seriously has so much potential. As of now, it was almost hard to rate it a 2/Reasonable, but the few good holes on this course certainly make it more than 1.5/Passable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  misnumbered

2-4    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: runninggolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good course with trees and blid throws..
not too busy..
close to my house..
Cons: baskets are numbered wrong..so if you do not know the course you will be confused...
Other Thoughts: cops and security watch you like a hawk..so behave

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a map

1    11/17/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Fun course with some varied shots.
-Has distance and a blind shot that make things interesting
-Not too busy
-If you know where you are going this is a lot of fun
Cons: -Parking can be a pain if you go during classes
-You need a map. I would have had no idea where to go without one.
-No signs
-Tee boxes are gravel or nonexistent

Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course, but it is close to work and I can go on my lunch break, so it is worth while.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Mix of Holes

1    9/1/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Elevation changes, trees, open shots, bootlegs to left a right. Some good thumber shots. Cool mountain views and met some cool people on the course.
Cons: Only a couple signs showing the way and no numbers on top of the baskets. Dirt tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I added a map to the links page which was readily available on the College website. Make sure you print this and take it or you'll definitely have trouble. With the map its easy.

I almost didn't play this course because of some of the other reviews but that would have been mistake. Nice short 9 hole right off the highway and didn't take long to play it. Enjoyed the course and would recommend it and its a good idea to play it with someone who has played it because some tees are out of sight or hard to see.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot day

1    7/14/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The few pros to this course would be the dedicated students who helped me somewhat find my way around the course.
Cons: Outside of that, the course was only marked in two places, and you basicaly have to guess your way through the only nine hole that is unmaintained enough to lose a disc. There is litter in many places including a traffic cone resting on one basket. The tee pads are not marked. They are simply patches of gravel. I have never thought so poorly of a course before. There are many places that would make for very logical pin locations that they simply avoid, i.e. #2. The pin could've been stretched out over the open field, but instead it was a short left handed hole. Difficult, but not very interesting. Until this course gets a major face lift, only students here should have a reason to come and play it.
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, it was over 100 degrees which added to the unpleasantness.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Mediocre Course at a Great Location

1    7/8/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain of this course is fantastic, playing over a group of hills and bordering a deep ravine by #9. The area and views are great playing at the base of the Rockies, and the DGA baskets are in great shape. There is a decent amount of foliage throughout the course, and used well on #7 and the redone #9.

BEST HOLE/S: #7
Cons: Navigation is the biggest problem you'll face here. There are signs on #2 and #3 tee boxes, but they are laminated paper, so don't expect them to last past the summer season. I ended up playing what I believed to be the correct and most current course design, but it's different from the original layout.

Here's my logical pattern: #2 tee box plays to #3 pin. #3 plays the short distance to the crest of the hill at #4 pin. #4 tee box plays up the hill to pin #5, and #5 tee box plays around the hill in the blind to #2 pin. Number #6 plays normally and #7 back up through the trees. #8 plays along the building and #9 is a blind back over towards #8. However, if you're adventurous, I chose to play some safari on #9 and played it across the ravine and up under the walkway towards the hill. It's a much cooler look and would make for a better epic ending rather than the current weak substitute.

Besides the major navigation issues, the boxes are barely marked and possibly marked incorrectly. They are a mix of concrete walkways and uneven gravel base that makes for poor footing. It basically looks like this is a course lost in time and falling from glory in the redone layout.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: This is great place to have a course, however - it's has too many glaring issues to consider it a top nine hole course in the area. I didn't mind the layout I played and enjoyed the elevation changes and overall distance through the trees. But even a fun layout is killed when you have to spend most of your time determining if you're playing the correct hole. My suggestion is play some safari golf and make up your own layout until someone decides to put in some more TLC and figure out how to mark a course properly. Then hopefully they'll post a map too.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.