Layout Extinct

Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Camgolfer Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Lots of Potential

2-4    3/18/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little course with not a lot of pedestrian traffic. A couple of really nice layouts with lanes though the trees and elevation changes. Being on a college campus, this course is kept up nicely. Not too easy, but not that challenging either. Good for a lazy day in a moderate foothills setting. Decent gravel tees with nice baskets. The student center has a course map, bathrooms and a water fountain to fill up your bottle. There is a lot of open space beyond where the course turns around to potentially put in a second nine holes, which could make this course very nice. Fun, but if you have a full day, you would probably be better off going to the Badlands or Bird's Nest.
Cons: A few of the holes are just straight shots in open fields with not many obstacles. Most of the holes are pretty short. The tees aren't marked very well, but you can find your way around easily enough. Every once in a while you will come up on a very big group who are just there to party with little interest in the actual game. The ninth hole is the course's signature hole and shoots under a bridge. While fun the first couple of times, it feels a little like a gimmick and can be very frustrating once you bend your disc on the concrete.
Other Thoughts: A fun, short course with just a hint of technical in spots. For regular golfers, you can easily walk away under par. Great for those new to the sport. It lists the pars for the course on the map, but they are not regulation, I play everything as a par 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great nine hole course

2-4    3/15/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this course. The views of the Foothills and Table Mountain are great. The course has a variety of hole types: short with trees, wide open over grass and some over mountain vegetation. It requires a lot of thought and shot types for only nine holes. The baskets are good quality and the tees aren't too bad. They are level, big and a few have benches. The location is convenient and easy to get to from I-70, C-470 and Hwy 6.
Cons: The tee markers could use some very basic upgrades. Currently they are simply 4x4s sticking up 3-4 ft from the ground. Most of them have the hole number marked on them. A sign with arrows to the basket and to the next tee box would help for first time players. We thought that the #6 and #8 tee pads were shared until we saw other players using the #8 tee up next the building. Hole #9 is confusing. There is a cardboard sign on the ground next to what we assume was the old tee. It said the tee had been moved and to follow the markings on the ground. However, we couldn't find markings. I can see why they moved it considering the danger of breaking a window.
Other Thoughts: Hole number four seems be the signature hole. With the gulch on three sides and the mountains in the background it is very difficult to judge the distance. In addition, the wind plays a huge role as well. It is listed at 296, but the elevation change makes it play around 265. I threw a fairway driver and needed to keep it very low to lessen the wind impact. Overall, I really liked this course. It is not as nice as Johnny Roberts or Bird's Nest, but it is probably the best nine hole course I have played in the metro area. I will definitely play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 pretty good for what they had...

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: logansal
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice view of the rockies. Lots of different shots and good variety for a 9 hole course. Hole 4 is a challenge, if you go in any direction but straight you are in serious trouble and could roll a couple hundred feet into a ditch.
Cons: Lots of people walking around. only 9 holes. They didn't have much room to begin with but were able to fit these 9 in nicely. After hole 9 you have to walk around the school to get back to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Interesting course. has it's pros and cons. Perfect for all the kids attending school there, but as far as traveling, i would go somewhere else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good little 9 hole course but College stuff can get in the way!

5+    9/11/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: McMarkD
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole lengths are variable not just 180-260 of the other close by 9 hole courses. Get to play over watered Grass and natural front range vegetation. Par or better on the 9th hole is a mystery to me, tight threw the trees on the first shot, second shot under the bridge, third shot out from under the bridge, fourth shot approach, fifth shot putt. My only par came from errant throw in the ditch. 2nd shot completely through the tunnel... 2nd hole a perfect RHBH is over the top of a building! Takes me about 40 minutes to play! 11/20/08 - new Pin location takes building out of play... They must have been getting too many people crawling on the roof to get discs...
Cons: Campus police like to park in front of the 8th tee. Sprinklers turn on 1st tee at 6:30. Missed the sprinklers at 2nd and 3rd fairways. I bet they come on around 6pm. Biology class on 5th hole caused me to skip it, but they moved to the 9th hole so I could play the 5th, then they went inside so I could play the 9th! Today May28-2009 they turned on the small sprinklers in front of the pavilion at 7:30. But the Big sprinklers that cover most of the grass in Front of the pavilion came on at 8:30pm causing a few groups to quit DG for the night!
Other Thoughts: A lot more fun than the Driver-Approach-putt at Schaefers, or the Approach-Putt at Ken Caryl. 4th Hole over the gully is a great Risc-reward hole. 7th a clean throw through the trees could have Eagle possibilities. The Tee on the 9th hole has been moved. Coming from the 8th pin walk toward the tunnel under the building. When you get to the end of the gully almost to the tunnel walk away from the building on the other side of the gulley. Sometimes this is well marked, and sometimes you have to know where it is. The Tee is marked by a brown brick and an arrow, not the 4x4s and kitty litter type gravel on the other tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.