Dunedin, FL 
Hammock Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9A
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  AN EXCELLENT COURSE!!

5+    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Spectral
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is compact, so you won't have to do alot of walking. Can finish 18 holes in an hour. It offers a variety of different challenges, from open 350' bombs, to 140'-175' control shots through difficult throwing lanes at times.
Located close to 2 other courses, so you can make a day of it, Clearwater area courses are Ken Climo's stomping grounds!!
Cons: During the summer months the mosquitos can get a bit unruly, may want to have a can of OFF deep woods or the like.
Could also use a front restroom facility near the parking area, instead of walking to hole 3, but if you're a guy there are plenty of woods.
Other Thoughts: At first I didnt think all that highly of this course, but its one of those courses that grows on you for sure! Being an event coordinator for this course, improvements are steadily bringing this course up to par with its neighboring courses of Cliff Stephens & Coachman Park. I believe the negative reviews of this course are obviously from 1 or 2-time players here, who dont like technical courses.
With the new alternate tee pads, recent landscaping, & a club in the works, this course is one of my favorites, of the 12 or so I've played. If you like technical courses this one's for you!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly quick and fun

5+    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet, clean course. They have installed a frequency generating device which eliminates bugs. This is a REAL bonus. Plenty of shaded area to beat the heat, and the course is laid out so that you have a variety of shots. Particularly liked holes 3, 5, and 7.
Cons: No restroom facilities that I could find. Ants were a bit of a problem. Needs signage, schule removal and better defined tees. 9 holes is a con for me
Other Thoughts: Had a fun time on this course, some creative technical shots. Only took about an hour to play, perfect for a quickie or warm up

Update: (6/19/2011): Course has been expanded to 18 holes by way of using alternate tees for existing 9 hole course. Add's some variety, but nothing earth shattering. Allows you to mix it up if you're tired of the existing 9, or you can play a full 18. I personally only used the more difficult tee's and played about 12 holes total.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the last 3 holes would be welcome on most any DGC.
# 7 was very cool as it had a few tight holes that one needed to thread in order to have their drive near vallet parking area. I also love the 2 10" plus mounds of soil that was present in the fairway.

# 9 was another cool hole as you drove down a narrow fairway with a small channel of water near the turn of the dogleg. The basket was tucked deep past the turn and behind a large tree.

Kiosk with a map of the course present near hole # 1.

Cool oak trees, as branches we're almost like ground cover.

Nice neighborhood. And within walking distance of Saint Andrews Links DGC.
Cons: First 3 holes needed cleaned out more as the other reviewer have stated, a disc can be easily lost on a shot within 20 ' of the basket
Other Thoughts: It's rare to find a "9" hole DGC this challenging. Abeit the last 3 holes. With a little pruning this "9" holer could be a real gem.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Passable Little Course

1    1/6/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quaint little course in a nature preserve type park. There is a very good map that is posted on the announcement board near the first tee. It is the same map that is linked on this site. I had the map page up on my iPhone during the round and it helped immensely. The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There is no defined tee area for any hole. There is a post with each tee number, but the actual tee area is a bit nebulous. The map shows distances for two tee locations, but I couldn't find any real markings for the closer position. The first three holes are in some serious vegetation.
Other Thoughts: In spite of the earlier reviews, which are more than 4 years old, I enjoyed my round at this course. I parked in a different parking lot by the baseball fields so I had a very long walk to through the nature preserve to get to the course. There is a parking lot right by the course, you just have to find it. Once I got to the park, it took me a little while to figure out the first couple of holes. The basket for #1 is not marked and it is so close to the tee that I had a hard time believing that it was really hole #1. The hole can't be more than 150 feet. Even though it was very short with the basket visible, I lost my disc not more than 20 feet from the hole. There is a lot of vegetation around it. Hole #2 is just as treacherous and woodsy. There is really no window, just a shot through or around a lot of overgrowth with hazards on each side. I spent about 15 minutes looking for my tee shot in spite of the fact that I knew exactly where it landed. Hole #3 is also in the woods, but there is a very narrow window to shoot through. The basket is in the middle of an outdoor amphitheatre. Hole #4 and the rest of the course is out in the open area of the park and much more enjoyable. Holes 4-9 offer some good variety and challenge without the risk of losing a disc. Hole #7 was my favorite. It is a woodsy type tee shot to the basket on a 10 foot tall mound. There are at least three good paths to the hole with good risk/reward for each. Hole #9 is also a challenge with the tee shot heading into the parking lot. I'm not sure if the local rules play the paved parking lot as out of bounds or not, but if it is, there is a very small landing area before the approach shot heads into the woods. It would take a very long anny shot to make it to the hole.

The course was getting a lot of use on the day I was there with at least five groups of golfers on the course. Now that I know that layout, subsequent rounds will be even more enjoyable. The course is lacking the basics and amenities that would allow it to get a higher rating and I was torn between 1.5 and 2, but the variety of shots and the park itself lead me to give it the benefit of the doubt and go with the 2 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is not a disc golf course

1    2/8/2006   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good place to practice if you live close.
Cons: The "course" is not navigatable without a local or wandering around for a long time. There is heavy schule near most of the baskets that can easily result in lost discs for beginners.

Definitely not room for a disc golf course at this location. It shouldn't have gone in the ground.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 North Pinellas Practice Course

8/5/2003   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot mixture required - a couple moderately long, couple unique touch shots too
Other Thoughts: Hammock Park is a junior member of Pinellas County's great line-up of courses. This one plays short and mostly in the open in a basic municipal park. Hammock Park lacks the amenities of many courses, with only wooden stakes to mark tees (and a couple are missing), only stickers to mark the baskets, and no tee pads at all.

The Hammock Park course does feature some variety, however. Three holes require moderate but very well placed drives to have a reasonable approach at well protected baskets. Another, #2, is a unique challenge, short but requiring a precise shot through the palms, with a canal on the right, water just behind the basket, and a forboding palmetto thicket to the left. And finally, three other holes do require relatively long drives with obstacles to avoid.

Without the help of locals, you'll need to scout this course extensively before throwing. Standing at #1 for instance, you'll see three baskets that seem like reasonable targets (and you'll see five of the nine baskets on the course), but the correct basket is hooked back in the palms on the left, not visible from the first tee. But the course is so small, this scouting shouldn't take long. Otherwise, this course would be good for beginners or practice before stepping up to the more typical challenge of Coachman or Taylor Lake, the unique and unforgiving Tocobaga, or the groomed, beautiful, and challenging Cliff Stephens.

#2 - unique touch hole, short toss at right height through palms and palmetto thicket, avoiding water to right and just behind basket.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.