Orland Park, IL 
Doogan Park Share
Uploaded By: gsmit Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Short And Easy But Draws Plenty Of Players!

1    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 921  Reviewed: 865  Exp: 38.1 Years
Pros: Doogan Park DGC sits in a small city type park. This lovely little park sits on a hillside which helps keep the players involved and interested. There are some fun throws to be had here. With four wholes playing over 220' and two of those are uphill, I wouldn't classify Coogan as a pitch and putt. I see it more as an easy recreational course.

The course has nice large rubber tee pads. Some are engineered and raised up. There is a simple course map at the start. The tee signs are small and basic. There is a nice Disc Golf Rules Sign which explains how the game is played.
Cons: OK, It's short and only nine holes. I think that's fine as this is a small park

The hole design is fairly straightforward. Course designers didn't have much to work with here.
Other Thoughts: Regular players always complain about these simple, short courses. I always defend them. I think they're a great asset to our game. They always seem to have players playing on them. As I was leaving the course today about 4:30, three cars pulled in the lot. And there was already two groups playing.

Beginners, kids, seniors or the players who show up with one disc, this is a perfect course for you. You'll embrace it.

Doogan Park

5+    6/7/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: discvalet
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design shows efficient use of the land, mature oaks, nice neighborhood, good course signs
Cons: Rubber tee pads slippery when wet, course is often muddy/soggy except during prolonged dry spells
Other Thoughts: For skilled players almost every hole is an easy deuce opportunity with a putter/midrange off the tee. The longest holes are #4 and #6 and they are both righty back hand holes where skilled players would probably still use a midrange disc, perhaps a fairway driver on #4 (290' but uphill).

I play this course a lot because it's close to home. I keep a log and my average is -6 (all par 3). Doogan is certainly not the greatest challenge but I enjoy DGing regardless of where I am so if you're the same then you'll have fun here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Court Doog

5+    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: Bruddy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small Course so it is perfect for newer players and multiple rounds. Perfect for working on skills.
Cons: Small Course with little variation to the holes making each hole repetitive. Course does not handle water well and the tee pads and whole holes become extremely wet and annoying to play on.
Other Thoughts: It is my home court and I love it dearly and would recommend to any player I could.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good practice course

2-4    8/28/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 57  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained and manicured, clean
-easy to navigate
-great beginner course
-good teepads and hole maps on posts at each tee
-most holes make for good ace runs
Cons: -very short couse with little variety of throws and discs
-feels cramped into the area between houses and baseball fields
-little excitement, no driver holes
Other Thoughts: This is a decent 9 hole course. If you go here expecting stunning holes and wanting to throw all your discs, you will be disappointed. Doogan park is great to work on the midrange and short game. If you are looking for a quick easy round, grab your mids and putters and give it a shot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

2-4    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 69  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - All tee boxes are well-built, with rubber mats and wooden posts with a picture of the hole and distance.
- A few holes (1, 6 and 8) offer a decent challenge for beginners and show some good design choices.
- Course is in an area of the park that is dedicated to disc golf, except for walking / bike trails.
Cons: The course is not well-designed and contains many unusual / annoying features:
-- Hole 1's tee is not located near the parking lot, so you need to walk past at least one other tee to get to Hole 1.
-- The tees for many holes are not close to the previous hole and/or require you to backtrack. I completely missed Hole 6 on my first play through because the tee was so far from basket 5.
-- Many of the holes are too short or too open to offer a decent challenge for even an intermediate level player.
-- Rubber tees get uneven with use and are VERY slippery when wet or in cold weather. I'd say this course is mostly unplayable in the Winter due to the slick tees.
-- Hole 9 finishes far from the parking lot and farther from Hole 1's tee, so it's not convenient to play two consecutive rounds.
Other Thoughts: If you're someone who lives close to this course and want to try the sport, it's not a bad place to throw some discs. But if this was your only exposure to disc golf, I don't think you'd be inspired to go buy more discs. It's a good course to work on up shots and midrange/putter drives and would probably be a fun place to jog through on a warm day. But if you want to play a challenging round of disc golf, I'd suggest a drive to The Oaks or one of the better courses in the Joliet area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to get some time on the course

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: brewstermusic
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good facilities
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good rubber tees
Cons: - Pretty basic
Other Thoughts: Other reviews are detailed enough to get you the idea. I can't add anything so instead I'll compliment the nice park. It's got it's share of long and short drives with good use of the trees. Not a particularly tough course but a real good practice/recreational outing.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 447  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a moderately hilly park that has some trees here and there. Kind of close to a walking path at times, but there shouldn't be much else going on here.
- Although there aren't a lot of trees here, they are used pretty well. #1 forces a hyzer, other holes take away any sort of hyzer route (short of a spike hyzer); there is some thought required at the very least. #8 has a tree right in the middle, forcing a left or right curve. A forest borders one hole to snag RHBH shots that hyzer too much as well.
- Elevation is a constant factor here, in some way. The longest hole has the biggest uphill slope, to make it tougher. #8 is also noticeable uphill, with a sloping green by the woods. Other holes are slightly downhill which makes running the aces all the easier. #9 has a sloping fairway that will let high hyzers scoot pretty far from the basket.
- Good teepads (When dry at least), good baskets, and great signs. Map in front, navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Apart from a handful of trees, there is really nothing to any of the holes. True beginners may have a tough time getting a deuce with a blocked hyzer route, but that is about the extent of it. Part of the challenge is not overthrowing the holes for most players.
- Very short hole lengths overall; people breaking 300' will have no chance to air one out unless it's a putter.
Other Thoughts: - An awesome course for beginners to learn the ropes on shaping basic lines and dealing with some elevation changes. More experienced players can work on the basics, too, with slower discs of course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan

1    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole course this was pretty good. The holes are well groomed and easy to locate the next tee when you finish a hole. The anxiety level while playing there is low because of the ease of the course. Granted, it was only 9 holes and short, but good for a quick game or two.
Cons: Only 9 holes is a negative thing about Doogan, so I found myself playing it through again. Also there is very little variety in each hole - throw it straight at the hole that is open and in front of you about 250 feet. Most of the holes were much shorter and I found myself tossing a Buzzz (mid range disc) on many of the holes and being just fine for distance.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course to visit and I will surely play there again. It's one of those courses that you really enjoy despite the lack of need for trick shots and pressure putts too often.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "SAFARI HOLES" Listed in other thoughts.

5+    8/17/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, good upkeep and a water fountain.
Cons: REALLY SHORT. To remedy this, my friends and I have altered how we play this course to challenge ourselves. SEE OTHER THOUGHTS.
Other Thoughts: We do things a little differently to keep this course interesting, and at the risk of looking stupid by over-using capital letters, DO NOT attempt the following on crowded days, or at least without paying attention to your surroundings.

--To beef up the "front" 9, play from the following altered tee pads (dangers to consider will be noted).

1) Play from the sidewalk, behind the tee to the left, from the "Davidson Construction" stamp (beware street on wayward shots)
2) its essentially the middle of the first fairway, 40 ft from the basket, there's a little patch of dirt
3) play from behind and the the right of the basket, near another small patch of dirt that looks like a run up.
4) on the path near the water fountain
5) around the bush behind hole 4, play from under that telephone wire support (careful of people crossing path)
6) use the path to the right of teepad and step back a few yards (train tracks are a risk as usual)
7) no long tee, nowhere to put it. enjoy the ace run.
8) stand back on the path behind the pad, and move to the left, there will be a broad opening in the trees, just center the basket up there.
9) play from the top of the hill on the northwest edge of the huge circle (appears to be an alien landing site).


--"Back" 9
(it should be noted that these holes go ALL over the place. be careful not to drive into any other players, and give them the right of way when playing these holes. do NOT do this on busy days).

10) played from behind the 9th hole (near 2 concrete structures) to hole 1. It's LONG.
11) played from the area on the left side of the first fairway, about even with the lone tree. eye out the 3rd basket, until its right in the middle of a tree that makes a V shape (can't miss it). Throw to 3. It is long. be careful about throwing into the yards
12) use the 3rd tee to play to the 4th hole
13) use the 5th tee to play backwards at the 2nd hole
14) walk to the top of the hill to the left of the 3rd pin near that cluster of trees by a fence. throw at hole 7.
15) teepad of 8 to hole 6
16) teepad of 6 to hole 8 (sorry about the walk)
17) my personal favorite: 7th tee to hole 9. WATCH OUT for path-walkers/other disc golfers
18) walk back to the 9th teepad and play to hole 2, another distance test with a rough approach.

this is probably only going to be fun for people used to playing the oaks, but if we can't get out there and it's not a great day out, we can usually finish these 18 holes in less than 2 hours. Enjoy, and once again, be safe!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan Park

5+    9/1/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 71  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It was a nice open course that was very clean.
-It was short enought that it can be played though very quickly if you do not have much time to burn but still wanna frolf.
-The tees and baskets are very nice along with some very good signage.
-It was easy to navigate and there was not that much walking between holes.
-every hole is birdiable
Cons: -At some points it lacked variety and I found myself throwing with a midrange disc on every throw.
-almost every hole is open and straight and not long enough to make it challenging
-every hole is birdiable
-lately it seems like it is always wet so wear bad shoes
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play if you do not have much time but if you are really serious about frolf this is not really a course for you.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.