Orland Park, IL
Doogan Park Share
Uploaded By: gsmit Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Walk in the Park

2-4    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All tee boxes are well-built, with rubber mats and wooden posts with a picture of the hole and distance.
- A few holes (1, 6 and 8) offer a decent challenge for beginners and show some good design choices.
- Course is in an area of the park that is dedicated to disc golf, except for walking / bike trails.
Cons: The course is not well-designed and contains many unusual / annoying features:
-- Hole 1's tee is not located near the parking lot, so you need to walk past at least one other tee to get to Hole 1.
-- The tees for many holes are not close to the previous hole and/or require you to backtrack. I completely missed Hole 6 on my first play through because the tee was so far from basket 5.
-- Many of the holes are too short or too open to offer a decent challenge for even an intermediate level player.
-- Rubber tees get uneven with use and are VERY slippery when wet or in cold weather. I'd say this course is mostly unplayable in the Winter due to the slick tees.
-- Hole 9 finishes far from the parking lot and farther from Hole 1's tee, so it's not convenient to play two consecutive rounds.
Other Thoughts: If you're someone who lives close to this course and want to try the sport, it's not a bad place to throw some discs. But if this was your only exposure to disc golf, I don't think you'd be inspired to go buy more discs. It's a good course to work on up shots and midrange/putter drives and would probably be a fun place to jog through on a warm day. But if you want to play a challenging round of disc golf, I'd suggest a drive to The Oaks or one of the better courses in the Joliet area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun place to get some time on the course

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: brewstermusic
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good facilities
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good rubber tees
Cons: - Pretty basic
Other Thoughts: Other reviews are detailed enough to get you the idea. I can't add anything so instead I'll compliment the nice park. It's got it's share of long and short drives with good use of the trees. Not a particularly tough course but a real good practice/recreational outing.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a moderately hilly park that has some trees here and there. Kind of close to a walking path at times, but there shouldn't be much else going on here.
- Although there aren't a lot of trees here, they are used pretty well. #1 forces a hyzer, other holes take away any sort of hyzer route (short of a spike hyzer); there is some thought required at the very least. #8 has a tree right in the middle, forcing a left or right curve. A forest borders one hole to snag RHBH shots that hyzer too much as well.
- Elevation is a constant factor here, in some way. The longest hole has the biggest uphill slope, to make it tougher. #8 is also noticeable uphill, with a sloping green by the woods. Other holes are slightly downhill which makes running the aces all the easier. #9 has a sloping fairway that will let high hyzers scoot pretty far from the basket.
- Good teepads (When dry at least), good baskets, and great signs. Map in front, navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Apart from a handful of trees, there is really nothing to any of the holes. True beginners may have a tough time getting a deuce with a blocked hyzer route, but that is about the extent of it. Part of the challenge is not overthrowing the holes for most players.
- Very short hole lengths overall; people breaking 300' will have no chance to air one out unless it's a putter.
Other Thoughts: - An awesome course for beginners to learn the ropes on shaping basic lines and dealing with some elevation changes. More experienced players can work on the basics, too, with slower discs of course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan

1    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole course this was pretty good. The holes are well groomed and easy to locate the next tee when you finish a hole. The anxiety level while playing there is low because of the ease of the course. Granted, it was only 9 holes and short, but good for a quick game or two.
Cons: Only 9 holes is a negative thing about Doogan, so I found myself playing it through again. Also there is very little variety in each hole - throw it straight at the hole that is open and in front of you about 250 feet. Most of the holes were much shorter and I found myself tossing a Buzzz (mid range disc) on many of the holes and being just fine for distance.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course to visit and I will surely play there again. It's one of those courses that you really enjoy despite the lack of need for trick shots and pressure putts too often.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 "SAFARI HOLES" Listed in other thoughts.

5+    8/17/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, good upkeep and a water fountain.
Cons: REALLY SHORT. To remedy this, my friends and I have altered how we play this course to challenge ourselves. SEE OTHER THOUGHTS.
Other Thoughts: We do things a little differently to keep this course interesting, and at the risk of looking stupid by over-using capital letters, DO NOT attempt the following on crowded days, or at least without paying attention to your surroundings.

--To beef up the "front" 9, play from the following altered tee pads (dangers to consider will be noted).

1) Play from the sidewalk, behind the tee to the left, from the "Davidson Construction" stamp (beware street on wayward shots)
2) its essentially the middle of the first fairway, 40 ft from the basket, there's a little patch of dirt
3) play from behind and the the right of the basket, near another small patch of dirt that looks like a run up.
4) on the path near the water fountain
5) around the bush behind hole 4, play from under that telephone wire support (careful of people crossing path)
6) use the path to the right of teepad and step back a few yards (train tracks are a risk as usual)
7) no long tee, nowhere to put it. enjoy the ace run.
8) stand back on the path behind the pad, and move to the left, there will be a broad opening in the trees, just center the basket up there.
9) play from the top of the hill on the northwest edge of the huge circle (appears to be an alien landing site).


--"Back" 9
(it should be noted that these holes go ALL over the place. be careful not to drive into any other players, and give them the right of way when playing these holes. do NOT do this on busy days).

10) played from behind the 9th hole (near 2 concrete structures) to hole 1. It's LONG.
11) played from the area on the left side of the first fairway, about even with the lone tree. eye out the 3rd basket, until its right in the middle of a tree that makes a V shape (can't miss it). Throw to 3. It is long. be careful about throwing into the yards
12) use the 3rd tee to play to the 4th hole
13) use the 5th tee to play backwards at the 2nd hole
14) walk to the top of the hill to the left of the 3rd pin near that cluster of trees by a fence. throw at hole 7.
15) teepad of 8 to hole 6
16) teepad of 6 to hole 8 (sorry about the walk)
17) my personal favorite: 7th tee to hole 9. WATCH OUT for path-walkers/other disc golfers
18) walk back to the 9th teepad and play to hole 2, another distance test with a rough approach.

this is probably only going to be fun for people used to playing the oaks, but if we can't get out there and it's not a great day out, we can usually finish these 18 holes in less than 2 hours. Enjoy, and once again, be safe!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan Park

5+    9/1/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It was a nice open course that was very clean.
-It was short enought that it can be played though very quickly if you do not have much time to burn but still wanna frolf.
-The tees and baskets are very nice along with some very good signage.
-It was easy to navigate and there was not that much walking between holes.
-every hole is birdiable
Cons: -At some points it lacked variety and I found myself throwing with a midrange disc on every throw.
-almost every hole is open and straight and not long enough to make it challenging
-every hole is birdiable
-lately it seems like it is always wet so wear bad shoes
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play if you do not have much time but if you are really serious about frolf this is not really a course for you.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty but boring

1    5/8/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very pretty neighborhood park with some holes in a stand of scattered mature trees, and the rest on mostly open small hills with small trees dividing the fairways of a few holes. The small elevation is used well to make some more interesting uphill and downhill shots. There are some short ace runs here, and some where you have to pull out a mid to reach them.

The park is impeccably maintained. The grass is well-mowed, there is no trash or vandalism, and all the course equipment is in great shape. The baskets seemed to be pretty much new and caught well. The tee signs were basic, but informative with distance and hole layout. There is a course map at the parking lot, but the flow is fine so you won't really need it with all the tees easily visible from the previous hole. The tee pads are rubber over some kind of crushed stone in nice wooden boxes so they were very level and made for good footing.
Cons: The course just doesn't have much going on design-wise. All the holes are short and straightforward, with no real obstacles to define any lines. The holes in the mature trees are still pretty open and are reachable on many different lines, and the holes out in the open are just short and straight ahead.

There are some minor safety issues here, with holes close to the road, parking lot, houses and a baseball field. Most are out of play unless you really shank a shot, but it certainly is possible to bring them into play.
Other Thoughts: This is another entry on the list of short and boring 9 hole courses around the Chicago area. It's a very pretty park and the course is very nicely maintained, but it's just not challenging or interesting to throw. It's a good course for beginners to try the sport, with some trees but short and straightforward holes. Anyone else will find the course lacking in any kind of difficulty or variety, so don't bother with this one unless you just want to add it to your personal list.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Pitch and Putt

1    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 62  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a smaller course, I was really impressed with all the little things this place offers... course map, nice tee signs, portapotty, garbage cans on some tees, nice landscaping, etc. My favorite part about this course was the raised tee pads that make playing possible even after long periods of rain... I wish some of the bigger courses would make the same investment because these things really were awesome.

The course is in a DG only area of the park, with only a bike path winding past some of the middle holes as a possible hazard on an errant drive (although it'd have to be a pretty awfuil drive).

The course is scattered with mature trees that offer plenty of shade, and serve as obstacles on a few holes -- especially the first two.
Cons: While the park/ammenities are very nice, this is pretty much just a slightly nicer version of the average suburban pitch and putt. As most reviewers have noted most of these holes are very short, and experienced/intermediate players probably won't need to take a driver out of their bag on any of these holes.

Besides the short distance most of the shots are straight shots on flat terrain with few or no obstacles in the way. Some challenge would have made this course more interesting.

The flow was ok, but you have have to back track across the fairway from 3 to 4 which seemed like a lack of foresight by the designers.
Other Thoughts: If you live close by or are interested in just checking the place out, it's a nice little nine holer in a nice park. If you're an experience player expecting anything more than a duece or die, look elsewhere, but for new or young players this is a great course to learn the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

2-4    9/5/2009   2/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good looking park
-Nice, mature oak trees
-Some elevation change
-Nice rubber pads
-Good Signage
Cons: -Very short (No holes over 300', about half are under 200')
-It seems like there would have been room for longer holes if things were laid out differently
-Poor flow (often the walk between holes feels longer than the hole itself)
Other Thoughts: A lot of work went into creating a beautiful course, but some thought should have gone into the design. The layout is frustrating, sometimes requiring you to walk back along the side of the fairway you just played to get to the next tee. Hopefully long tees are worked out at somepoint, otherwise this place is beginner heaven.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 C- = a little below average for a 9 holer

1    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D (It is basically impossible not to get at least a par 3 on every hole - no punishment, no decisions)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+ (Too short to be rewarding for me and not enough obstables forcing one to throw any particular line.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C- (There is slight shot shaping required on several holes and some slight elevation variation, but below average.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (This is by far the most impressive aspect of this course. Nice mature oak trees at the beginning, beautiful shrubs and small white birches sprinkled around, nice grass, new rubber tee pads built up with well constructed 8x8's, very nice tee signs with hastas planted at the bases - very nice touch! Seclusion is not great, but you do feel pampered to be sure!)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.