Orland Park, IL 
Doogan Park Share
Uploaded By: gsmit Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Walk in the Park

2-4    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - All tee boxes are well-built, with rubber mats and wooden posts with a picture of the hole and distance.
- A few holes (1, 6 and 8) offer a decent challenge for beginners and show some good design choices.
- Course is in an area of the park that is dedicated to disc golf, except for walking / bike trails.
Cons: The course is not well-designed and contains many unusual / annoying features:
-- Hole 1's tee is not located near the parking lot, so you need to walk past at least one other tee to get to Hole 1.
-- The tees for many holes are not close to the previous hole and/or require you to backtrack. I completely missed Hole 6 on my first play through because the tee was so far from basket 5.
-- Many of the holes are too short or too open to offer a decent challenge for even an intermediate level player.
-- Rubber tees get uneven with use and are VERY slippery when wet or in cold weather. I'd say this course is mostly unplayable in the Winter due to the slick tees.
-- Hole 9 finishes far from the parking lot and farther from Hole 1's tee, so it's not convenient to play two consecutive rounds.
Other Thoughts: If you're someone who lives close to this course and want to try the sport, it's not a bad place to throw some discs. But if this was your only exposure to disc golf, I don't think you'd be inspired to go buy more discs. It's a good course to work on up shots and midrange/putter drives and would probably be a fun place to jog through on a warm day. But if you want to play a challenging round of disc golf, I'd suggest a drive to The Oaks or one of the better courses in the Joliet area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "SAFARI HOLES" Listed in other thoughts.

5+    8/17/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, good upkeep and a water fountain.
Cons: REALLY SHORT. To remedy this, my friends and I have altered how we play this course to challenge ourselves. SEE OTHER THOUGHTS.
Other Thoughts: We do things a little differently to keep this course interesting, and at the risk of looking stupid by over-using capital letters, DO NOT attempt the following on crowded days, or at least without paying attention to your surroundings.

--To beef up the "front" 9, play from the following altered tee pads (dangers to consider will be noted).

1) Play from the sidewalk, behind the tee to the left, from the "Davidson Construction" stamp (beware street on wayward shots)
2) its essentially the middle of the first fairway, 40 ft from the basket, there's a little patch of dirt
3) play from behind and the the right of the basket, near another small patch of dirt that looks like a run up.
4) on the path near the water fountain
5) around the bush behind hole 4, play from under that telephone wire support (careful of people crossing path)
6) use the path to the right of teepad and step back a few yards (train tracks are a risk as usual)
7) no long tee, nowhere to put it. enjoy the ace run.
8) stand back on the path behind the pad, and move to the left, there will be a broad opening in the trees, just center the basket up there.
9) play from the top of the hill on the northwest edge of the huge circle (appears to be an alien landing site).


--"Back" 9
(it should be noted that these holes go ALL over the place. be careful not to drive into any other players, and give them the right of way when playing these holes. do NOT do this on busy days).

10) played from behind the 9th hole (near 2 concrete structures) to hole 1. It's LONG.
11) played from the area on the left side of the first fairway, about even with the lone tree. eye out the 3rd basket, until its right in the middle of a tree that makes a V shape (can't miss it). Throw to 3. It is long. be careful about throwing into the yards
12) use the 3rd tee to play to the 4th hole
13) use the 5th tee to play backwards at the 2nd hole
14) walk to the top of the hill to the left of the 3rd pin near that cluster of trees by a fence. throw at hole 7.
15) teepad of 8 to hole 6
16) teepad of 6 to hole 8 (sorry about the walk)
17) my personal favorite: 7th tee to hole 9. WATCH OUT for path-walkers/other disc golfers
18) walk back to the 9th teepad and play to hole 2, another distance test with a rough approach.

this is probably only going to be fun for people used to playing the oaks, but if we can't get out there and it's not a great day out, we can usually finish these 18 holes in less than 2 hours. Enjoy, and once again, be safe!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Pitch and Putt

1    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a smaller course, I was really impressed with all the little things this place offers... course map, nice tee signs, portapotty, garbage cans on some tees, nice landscaping, etc. My favorite part about this course was the raised tee pads that make playing possible even after long periods of rain... I wish some of the bigger courses would make the same investment because these things really were awesome.

The course is in a DG only area of the park, with only a bike path winding past some of the middle holes as a possible hazard on an errant drive (although it'd have to be a pretty awfuil drive).

The course is scattered with mature trees that offer plenty of shade, and serve as obstacles on a few holes -- especially the first two.
Cons: While the park/ammenities are very nice, this is pretty much just a slightly nicer version of the average suburban pitch and putt. As most reviewers have noted most of these holes are very short, and experienced/intermediate players probably won't need to take a driver out of their bag on any of these holes.

Besides the short distance most of the shots are straight shots on flat terrain with few or no obstacles in the way. Some challenge would have made this course more interesting.

The flow was ok, but you have have to back track across the fairway from 3 to 4 which seemed like a lack of foresight by the designers.
Other Thoughts: If you live close by or are interested in just checking the place out, it's a nice little nine holer in a nice park. If you're an experience player expecting anything more than a duece or die, look elsewhere, but for new or young players this is a great course to learn the game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Heaven

2-4    9/5/2009   2/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good looking park
-Nice, mature oak trees
-Some elevation change
-Nice rubber pads
-Good Signage
Cons: -Very short (No holes over 300', about half are under 200')
-It seems like there would have been room for longer holes if things were laid out differently
-Poor flow (often the walk between holes feels longer than the hole itself)
Other Thoughts: A lot of work went into creating a beautiful course, but some thought should have gone into the design. The layout is frustrating, sometimes requiring you to walk back along the side of the fairway you just played to get to the next tee. Hopefully long tees are worked out at somepoint, otherwise this place is beginner heaven.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan Park Dud

1    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Logical flow, you only have to double back once.
2. First course in Orland Park.
3. Nice rubber tees, good signs, trash cans, lava rock placed around tees and pins so mud shouldn't be too big a problem. In other words, the actual elements of the course are pretty good.
4. I think you could get a hole-in-one on every hole.
Cons: 1. Very short holes (often less than 200 feet). It's in a relatively small space but the space isn't utilized as well as it could be.
2. Few obstructions. Most pins are in plain view with nothing in the way, making the short holes a bit of a bore. Many of the holes seem like they could be significantly more challenging.
3. Tee placements don't make much sense. Making up your own tees would make this course much more interesting, as there is decent blend of terrain (trees, slight uphill, shrubbery, open spaces, etc.).
4. Most holes (6 or 7 out of 9) require you to shoot west, which is the most common direction for a headwind.
5. Close to houses, parking lots and a baseball field - could be problematic if your disc gets away from you.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure who this course is for - it could be for kids, but that seems unlikely. If that's the case, it's perfect, and could introduce a bunch of younger people to the game. If you've played disc golf for any reasonable amount of time (as in > 6 mo.) this course will be very (and I mean EXTREMELY) easy. I was 9 under on my first time playing it!

This course is probably worth checking out if you live in the area. You'll be better off playing through it once and then getting a feel for where you could put alternate tees - this course has definite potential but as it is it's just too easy to warrant playing it more than once or twice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.