Orland Park, IL 
Doogan Park Share
Uploaded By: gsmit Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Short And Easy But Draws Plenty Of Players!

1    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
Pros: Doogan Park DGC sits in a small city type park. This lovely little park sits on a hillside which helps keep the players involved and interested. There are some fun throws to be had here. With four wholes playing over 220' and two of those are uphill, I wouldn't classify Coogan as a pitch and putt. I see it more as an easy recreational course.

The course has nice large rubber tee pads. Some are engineered and raised up. There is a simple course map at the start. The tee signs are small and basic. There is a nice Disc Golf Rules Sign which explains how the game is played.
Cons: OK, It's short and only nine holes. I think that's fine as this is a small park

The hole design is fairly straightforward. Course designers didn't have much to work with here.
Other Thoughts: Regular players always complain about these simple, short courses. I always defend them. I think they're a great asset to our game. They always seem to have players playing on them. As I was leaving the course today about 4:30, three cars pulled in the lot. And there was already two groups playing.

Beginners, kids, seniors or the players who show up with one disc, this is a perfect course for you. You'll embrace it.

 Fun place to get some time on the course

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: brewstermusic
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good facilities
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good rubber tees
Cons: - Pretty basic
Other Thoughts: Other reviews are detailed enough to get you the idea. I can't add anything so instead I'll compliment the nice park. It's got it's share of long and short drives with good use of the trees. Not a particularly tough course but a real good practice/recreational outing.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan

1    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole course this was pretty good. The holes are well groomed and easy to locate the next tee when you finish a hole. The anxiety level while playing there is low because of the ease of the course. Granted, it was only 9 holes and short, but good for a quick game or two.
Cons: Only 9 holes is a negative thing about Doogan, so I found myself playing it through again. Also there is very little variety in each hole - throw it straight at the hole that is open and in front of you about 250 feet. Most of the holes were much shorter and I found myself tossing a Buzzz (mid range disc) on many of the holes and being just fine for distance.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course to visit and I will surely play there again. It's one of those courses that you really enjoy despite the lack of need for trick shots and pressure putts too often.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan Park

5+    9/1/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 92  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -It was a nice open course that was very clean.
-It was short enought that it can be played though very quickly if you do not have much time to burn but still wanna frolf.
-The tees and baskets are very nice along with some very good signage.
-It was easy to navigate and there was not that much walking between holes.
-every hole is birdiable
Cons: -At some points it lacked variety and I found myself throwing with a midrange disc on every throw.
-almost every hole is open and straight and not long enough to make it challenging
-every hole is birdiable
-lately it seems like it is always wet so wear bad shoes
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play if you do not have much time but if you are really serious about frolf this is not really a course for you.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.