St. Bonifacius, MN
Crown College Share
Uploaded By: emiller3 Hole #17 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Scenic, Open Course

5+    8/5/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course in maintained quite well, with nice tee pads and quality baskets. The course offers some nice elevation change, along with many long, open holes to grip and rip. The elevation changes, rolling hills, and wide fairways on Holes 7,8, and 9 provide some awesome views and chances throw some long drives. There is also water to deal with on Holes 2, 9, and 18. Holes 2 and 18 play directly over the water, although you really don't have to worry too much about clearing it on 18. Hole 9 on the other hand, has water behind the hole, and can definitely come into play with your approach shot. Lastly, Holes 11-16 are pretty wide open, but the tall rough is definitely something to watch out for. There are not any holes in the woods, although many of the holes have large trees to contend, which create plenty of opportunities for different shooting lanes. The course is also quite scenic and remote, which makes it unique.
Cons: The fairways are well groomed, but the rough gets very long. By mid-summer, you need spotters on many "open" holes to insure that you don't lose your disc in the long stuff. Crown can also be very tough to play on a windy day. The course can also be quite busy at times since it is located on a college campus.
Other Thoughts: Considering that this course is not pay to play, it is in awesome condition. I also wish the course offered a few more holes in the woods, but overall it is fun and worth the drive to get to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a private college, and seems to be pretty clear of any other activities. There is one hole that plays near a pond with benches, but other than that, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Constant elevation changes here; the whole campus has hills in almost every spot. #7 is a big downhill valley shot, #8 another deep valley, and #9 is a big downhill bomber. #3, #5, #10, #13, are all downhill of a varying degree, and #1, #4, #6, #11, are all uphill. Also some interesting hole layouts like a shot over and down a hump on #15, a steep up and down valley on #14, and a bowl shot that slopes left on #12. Nearly every single hole has some sort of elevation change.
- Most of the course is out in the open, but there are trees and rough in spots that make things tricky. #5 has a low ceiling due to low branches, #6 is an uphill dogleg right, with a gap thru the trees that must be hit. #10 and #17 have more low ceilings, and #18 has a gap to hit off the tee. Nothing too difficult, but it definitely makes things interesting.
- Tall grass/nasty rough is another hazard here, with some spots being seriously thick. #7's valley shot has terrible trouble all along the right side, and #8 is a valley shot over very thick rough/bushes/trees. #16 has a mowed fairway, along with a lot of holes in that section of the park. The holes are more or less wide open over there, so the tall grass is the only real hazard.
- Water present in a few spots, and can definitely swallow discs. #2 is a hyzer over the pond, there is a large pool of water behind #9's basket, and #18 shoots over the pond off the tee. Must keep clear of these hazards.
- Very nice teepads, signs and baskets. Dual teepads on every hole, which is nice. A map in the front of the course helps, there are a few spots where the navigation is a little tricky. A bit of a walk from #2 to #3, #6 to #7, and #9 to #10.
Cons: - Biggest con here is a lot of open holes on the back half. There are good elevation changes, and tall grass/rough to worry about, but there is pretty much no line shaping needed. And, a lot of the holes with trees aren't that tricky either, for an experienced player.
- Layout is a little funky in parts; the three long walks between a few holes kind of hurts, and some baskets are kind of close to each other. Not a big deal, as the course probably never gets that busy. Some holes are also very close to the road, which is always a distraction.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course that uses the hilly terrain extremely well. Lots of downhill and valley shots to rip drives, uphill holes to test raw distance, holes with trees to get under/around, and some nasty hazards like dense rough and water. Two sets of tees make it a good course for beginners and intermediate players; more advanced players mught find it a little too easy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    4/30/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a little something for everyone. I was pleasantly surprised to discover several holes that are 300ft + which is nice for those looking to utilize your extra long range drivers. I also really like that several holes have relatively dramatic elevation changes for a MN course. There's water, trees and plenty of trouble to get into which makes it all the more challenging and rewarding for a great tee shot.
Cons: There are a handful of baskets well below regulation height as you'll find yourself throwing down to the basket as a few of them are literally a handful of inches off the ground.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray and LOTS of it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Long and Open

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. I haven't actually been in the college itself, but I hear it has bathrooms, there's a map available and there's plenty of parking.

Avoid the Crowds. I've never had to wait, there's usually a handful of groups playing but never crowded.

Tees. Dual concrete tee pads offer a change of distance while keeping the lines fairly similar.

Signage. Beautiful signs at the pro tee show a map, hole number and distance to hole.

Well Maintained. Occasionally the fairways get a bit overgrown, but the campus maintenance usually keeps the fairways crisp and the course is almost always looking clean and nice.

Length. A decent variety of hole lengths offer a decent challenge, from a couple of short ace runs to many grip and rip long bombs. Most holes required a distance drive from me at about 400 feet or so.

Beautiful. The course always looks nice, with several nice ponds, one with a fountain in the middle of hole two, and some nice views of the surrounding wooded areas.

Elevation. The course makes decent use of the elevation, with several blind shots over hills, valley crossings, some downhill bombs and a few uphill crushers.
Cons: Trash Cans. Only one trash can on hole 4 results in trash being left at many tee boxes, campus maintenance must clean this up fairly regularly, as it usually ends up well kept.

Navigation. Without a map, and not having paid enough attention to these reviews - I skipped holes 7-9 the first two times I played the course, I'll mention it again because I was lost - hole 7 is just before the "Christian Ministries" building on the left right when you enter campus. Hole 1 is way down to the right of the first parking lot where I usually park, and hole 3 is across the road from hole 2.

Thick Rough. Several holes have thick brush, watch out on the right of hole 7, that's one area that eats discs. But the worst is the thick grass that is over my head on several holes. Be prepared to spend time searching for discs, the worst offender is hole 16 - schedule a half hour of searching just for this hole, this hole eats discs for breakfast.

Variety of Shots. Most of the holes require no line shaping or technical shots, mostly I reached for my destroyer and threw it as hard as I could, not too challenging. Holes 1-6, 10 and 17 were the only holes that required any thought, but not really any difficult line shaping skills, a high hyzer or a straight low shot was all that was really required.

Water. I like water on the course, I just think it could have been used better - none of the water was a threat to me, except maybe the small pond behind hole 9 if you overthrow. The other water looks nice but would require a horrible shank to lost a disc. If you did happen to land a disc in the ponds, it is some nasty schwag - good luck getting it back out.
Other Thoughts: A great enjoyable course that I claim as my "local" course, come check it out - it's definitely worth a play if you're in the twin cities area, I'd go out of my way to play this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: joe7784
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Crown College is a nicely groomed course. It recently turned into an 18 hole course. The course is still under a little construction, but all 18 holes are playable. Water/marsh comes into play on several holes. There are a couple of bridges and a fountain in one of the ponds. This course also has a lot of elevation changes with oppurunies for big rips. This course used to be private up until 2007 and then they opened it up to the public. In the fall of 2008 they installed the back 9.
Cons: For some reason the new baskets on the back 9 are a little shorter in height than the origial ones, it might have been a mistake...
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this is a championship course. I fell in love wih it the first time I played it. A must see!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.