St. Bonifacius, MN 
Crown College Share
Uploaded By: emiller3 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 297ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Scenic, Open Course

5+    8/5/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course in maintained quite well, with nice tee pads and quality baskets. The course offers some nice elevation change, along with many long, open holes to grip and rip. The elevation changes, rolling hills, and wide fairways on Holes 7,8, and 9 provide some awesome views and chances throw some long drives. There is also water to deal with on Holes 2, 9, and 18. Holes 2 and 18 play directly over the water, although you really don't have to worry too much about clearing it on 18. Hole 9 on the other hand, has water behind the hole, and can definitely come into play with your approach shot. Lastly, Holes 11-16 are pretty wide open, but the tall rough is definitely something to watch out for. There are not any holes in the woods, although many of the holes have large trees to contend, which create plenty of opportunities for different shooting lanes. The course is also quite scenic and remote, which makes it unique.
Cons: The fairways are well groomed, but the rough gets very long. By mid-summer, you need spotters on many "open" holes to insure that you don't lose your disc in the long stuff. Crown can also be very tough to play on a windy day. The course can also be quite busy at times since it is located on a college campus.
Other Thoughts: Considering that this course is not pay to play, it is in awesome condition. I also wish the course offered a few more holes in the woods, but overall it is fun and worth the drive to get to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a private college, and seems to be pretty clear of any other activities. There is one hole that plays near a pond with benches, but other than that, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Constant elevation changes here; the whole campus has hills in almost every spot. #7 is a big downhill valley shot, #8 another deep valley, and #9 is a big downhill bomber. #3, #5, #10, #13, are all downhill of a varying degree, and #1, #4, #6, #11, are all uphill. Also some interesting hole layouts like a shot over and down a hump on #15, a steep up and down valley on #14, and a bowl shot that slopes left on #12. Nearly every single hole has some sort of elevation change.
- Most of the course is out in the open, but there are trees and rough in spots that make things tricky. #5 has a low ceiling due to low branches, #6 is an uphill dogleg right, with a gap thru the trees that must be hit. #10 and #17 have more low ceilings, and #18 has a gap to hit off the tee. Nothing too difficult, but it definitely makes things interesting.
- Tall grass/nasty rough is another hazard here, with some spots being seriously thick. #7's valley shot has terrible trouble all along the right side, and #8 is a valley shot over very thick rough/bushes/trees. #16 has a mowed fairway, along with a lot of holes in that section of the park. The holes are more or less wide open over there, so the tall grass is the only real hazard.
- Water present in a few spots, and can definitely swallow discs. #2 is a hyzer over the pond, there is a large pool of water behind #9's basket, and #18 shoots over the pond off the tee. Must keep clear of these hazards.
- Very nice teepads, signs and baskets. Dual teepads on every hole, which is nice. A map in the front of the course helps, there are a few spots where the navigation is a little tricky. A bit of a walk from #2 to #3, #6 to #7, and #9 to #10.
Cons: - Biggest con here is a lot of open holes on the back half. There are good elevation changes, and tall grass/rough to worry about, but there is pretty much no line shaping needed. And, a lot of the holes with trees aren't that tricky either, for an experienced player.
- Layout is a little funky in parts; the three long walks between a few holes kind of hurts, and some baskets are kind of close to each other. Not a big deal, as the course probably never gets that busy. Some holes are also very close to the road, which is always a distraction.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course that uses the hilly terrain extremely well. Lots of downhill and valley shots to rip drives, uphill holes to test raw distance, holes with trees to get under/around, and some nasty hazards like dense rough and water. Two sets of tees make it a good course for beginners and intermediate players; more advanced players mught find it a little too easy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Which Crown College Course Should I Rate?

1    7/28/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Crown College Disc Golf Course baskets are visible as soon as you turn into the 215 acre campus drive. It's a lovely sprawling, green campus with rolling hills and mature oak trees with a small pond in the center of the course.
The course has great amenities with dual concrete teepads, DGA baskets and wonderful signs with all the needed information.
I was really enjoying the first seven holes. It was like playing on a ball golf course, fairly open on lovely, green mowed lawns with enough trees to add to the challenge. Then after # 6 , you walk around the Christian Ministries building to get to hole # 7 and the wilderness part of the course commences. Throw right here on your disc is a goner. On # 8, I launched an essential disc into woods and it was gonzo. See Note in Other Thoughts:

The next 5-6 holes played through an area where anytime you get off the fairway, you're in danger of losing a disc in the extremely high grass. On # 15, I threw an long approach which landed only 10 feet off the mowed area. We looked forever and never found it.
The two short throws over water were fun and entertaining.
Cons: Navigation would be difficult for the first time player here. Luckily, I was guided by someone who had played the course before. The extreme rough on 7 and 8 and narrow mowed fairways combined with the long grass on many of the following holes are never favorites of mine. It's easy to say, just stay on the fairway and everything will be all right. I don't stay on fairways, most players don't, and I don't like losing, or spending long periods of time searching for my favorite discs in 6 foot high elephant grass.
Some of these longer holes just seemed long for no apparent reason. I don't mind some distance but long, flat holes with no obstacles like # 16 are just boring.
Other Thoughts: I would give the first 7 holes of this course about a 4.5 rating. I loved them. The middle wilderness holes would get about a 2 from me. Sorry, I didn't much care for them.

Note continuted from above: A couple of weeks after playing Crown I received a call from a wonderful lady in Minnesota who had found my disc and she mailed it to me in Washington. I gladly mailed her two discs back in appreciation for her kind gesture. When someone finds my Valkyrie in the tall grass on # 15 (I think????) call me and I'll mail you a couple discs in return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What A Beauty!!

5+    6/12/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: Vetiver1978
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very scenic with elevation changes-
some very long holes on back 9 to test your driving and mid range game-
nice use of water (comes into play on holes 2, 9, and 18) also some swamp to avoid on holes 12, 13, 16-
an overall great mix of both technical and long bomber holes
I've never had any problems with crowds here
Cons: the rough on some of the bomber holes can become really thick through out the summer months. If you're playing with atleast one other person I would recommend using a spotter on holes 9, 15, and 16-

also beware when playing this course on hot and humid days. some holes have little to no shade relief and have you hiking up and down rolling hills. bring water!! (comparable to Elm Creek as far as hills go)
Other Thoughts: being as I live an hour west of the twin cities this course is perfect for me as far as location is concerned. Is great exercise, great scenery, and great layout upon the sprawling landscape. the rolling hills and sheer vastness of this course coupled with the feeling of isolation is what draws me in (also scored my first and only ace of my life on hole 8 on top of the BIG hill).........stay on the fairways and the rough wont be a problem for you. dont let that detur you from experiencing this great course. PLAY IT!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    4/30/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a little something for everyone. I was pleasantly surprised to discover several holes that are 300ft + which is nice for those looking to utilize your extra long range drivers. I also really like that several holes have relatively dramatic elevation changes for a MN course. There's water, trees and plenty of trouble to get into which makes it all the more challenging and rewarding for a great tee shot.
Cons: There are a handful of baskets well below regulation height as you'll find yourself throwing down to the basket as a few of them are literally a handful of inches off the ground.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray and LOTS of it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course & Fun to play

5+    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Wattenphul-2009
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2011
Pros: First, the area is beautiful. The giant oak trees that dot the landscape are somewhat majestic and different from other courses I have played, which only have small trees and brush.

Secondly, there is a good variety of holes on a challenging hilly landscape. The water hazard comes into play on three holes #2, #9 & #18. This is a great course to get out your distance drivers and put them to good use on the many long holes.

Thirdly, It provides a good workout. The college campus is 215 acres and the disc golf course takes up about half of that. Make sure you bring a bottle of water!

Lastly, the people at the college are really friendly. If you have a question about something they are always ready to help.
Cons: At times the grass on the back 9 get high. Nonetheless, there is a great deal of tall grass and weeds on the back 9. Stay on the fairway and you'll be fine.

There are a lot of long holes on the back 9. Some golfers see it as uncreative, but the use of elevation justifies the amount of long holes. Also, I think it's nice to use my distance drivers more than just a couple times on a course.

There could be some markers to give direction to the next hole in a few places. Specifically, it's a little confusing going from hole #2 to #3, and from hole #9 to #10. A couple of direction markers would be helpful.

A course map would be beneficial. I think the front desk in the college's main building has some, but the reception desk doors are not always open.

Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course with good challenges regarding elevation, distance, trees and water. This course will give you a great workout and a greater appreciation of the game of disc golf. The scenery is beautiful here. I strongly recommend trying out this course. You can check in to the course on foursquare here https://foursquare.com/venue/27144595

 I'm going to Clown College

1    6/26/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice teeboxes and baskets. Longer holes. Good use of nature, good use of elevation. A very fun course.
Cons: Odd layout, lots of walking from basket to the next tee with no directions given. Back 9 gets a bit boring. Just big throws up and down hills with no real risk except for long grass.

Needed a mow crazy bad when we were there. Like the grass was waist high on me. WIth a good mow I think the course is closer to a 3.5 or 4.
Other Thoughts: Fun course on the west of the twin cities. CGood challenge, good holes. Desperately needed a mow, and really is in bad need of a more unique back 9. The front is great, using lots of old huge trees, but from like 7-16 there is no real tree coverage, it's all open and boring. Not sure they could have done much more with it than that, but it really is just long and open for half the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Long and Open

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. I haven't actually been in the college itself, but I hear it has bathrooms, there's a map available and there's plenty of parking.

Avoid the Crowds. I've never had to wait, there's usually a handful of groups playing but never crowded.

Tees. Dual concrete tee pads offer a change of distance while keeping the lines fairly similar.

Signage. Beautiful signs at the pro tee show a map, hole number and distance to hole.

Well Maintained. Occasionally the fairways get a bit overgrown, but the campus maintenance usually keeps the fairways crisp and the course is almost always looking clean and nice.

Length. A decent variety of hole lengths offer a decent challenge, from a couple of short ace runs to many grip and rip long bombs. Most holes required a distance drive from me at about 400 feet or so.

Beautiful. The course always looks nice, with several nice ponds, one with a fountain in the middle of hole two, and some nice views of the surrounding wooded areas.

Elevation. The course makes decent use of the elevation, with several blind shots over hills, valley crossings, some downhill bombs and a few uphill crushers.
Cons: Trash Cans. Only one trash can on hole 4 results in trash being left at many tee boxes, campus maintenance must clean this up fairly regularly, as it usually ends up well kept.

Navigation. Without a map, and not having paid enough attention to these reviews - I skipped holes 7-9 the first two times I played the course, I'll mention it again because I was lost - hole 7 is just before the "Christian Ministries" building on the left right when you enter campus. Hole 1 is way down to the right of the first parking lot where I usually park, and hole 3 is across the road from hole 2.

Thick Rough. Several holes have thick brush, watch out on the right of hole 7, that's one area that eats discs. But the worst is the thick grass that is over my head on several holes. Be prepared to spend time searching for discs, the worst offender is hole 16 - schedule a half hour of searching just for this hole, this hole eats discs for breakfast.

Variety of Shots. Most of the holes require no line shaping or technical shots, mostly I reached for my destroyer and threw it as hard as I could, not too challenging. Holes 1-6, 10 and 17 were the only holes that required any thought, but not really any difficult line shaping skills, a high hyzer or a straight low shot was all that was really required.

Water. I like water on the course, I just think it could have been used better - none of the water was a threat to me, except maybe the small pond behind hole 9 if you overthrow. The other water looks nice but would require a horrible shank to lost a disc. If you did happen to land a disc in the ponds, it is some nasty schwag - good luck getting it back out.
Other Thoughts: A great enjoyable course that I claim as my "local" course, come check it out - it's definitely worth a play if you're in the twin cities area, I'd go out of my way to play this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Hardly Known Disc Course

5+    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Whywaitforit
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great picture-esque shots. I've never really had to wait for people on this course. I've never seen it full. Not a small confined course. Huge open driving shots. A few holes with trees. A couple great downhill driving shots for huge bombs. Lot's of up and down walking + shots. And did i mention it's NEVER over-filled with people!
Cons: The College is religious but that's never turned out to be a problem.

Another reviewer said there were a lack a trash cans and bathrooms. Trash cans are there, just not every hole. And there are plenty of wooded area's for the mens bathrooms. Women aren't quite so lucky.

Course is definitely tough to figure out the first time. Just ask some else playing. People in the college won't know where to go.
Other Thoughts: Someone in another review also said you need a chaperone or a student with you. That's just not true.

Also you do shoot over water on a few but it's usually not an issue.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Remote Gem

5+    11/2/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Dual Cement Pads
-Well labeled signs
-Mach III Baskets
-Well Mowed
-Plenty of parking (northwest of main building)
-Holes 1-6, 8-10,17, and 18 are very nice holes and worth playing the course for
-Course loops around back to start area
-Good use of water and elevation
-Hard to lose a disc
-Very clean course, well maintained.
-Beautiful scenery, pond with bridges are very nice touch
-If you have a big arm, you will love the back 9
-Seems to be a very quiet course
-Restrooms in main building near parking
-Course is a little out of the way for the Twin Cities area which leads to less crowding and allows for a peaceful round with out having to deal with riffraff. This is a huge plus for me.
Cons: -Holes 7 and 11-16 are very open long bombs. There is no real line shaping required here. This can be good for practicing your drives or can be a nice challenge with wind. Hole 16 is the worst offender with flat land and no obstacles.
-Some difficulty navigating first time through. Map supplied in main office only shows the original 9 hole configuration. Hole 3 is north across the driveway from 2 and 7 is west of the building that you passed on the drive in.
-Did not notice trash cans, this did not seem to be much of a problem, seeing as there was no litter problem.
Other Thoughts: -Only one basket seemed especially short to me (hole #5), however considering the hole layout, it may add chances for skip aces.

-Holes #11-16 are more open than I would prefer, they do allow some nice practice for large drives thou. If there were more risk/reward scenario on these holes I'd like them more. If you feel the need to have a more technical game you can skip from hole 6 to 10 to 17 very easily, this is the original 9 hole configuration.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.