Gainesville, VA 
The Eagle's Claw Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 188ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Average middle school course

1    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Bigpan50
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a decent one to check out if you live close. There are actually 18 tee positions for 9 baskets. The back nine tees are about 50 feet longer on average.
Cons: Not very challenging or long of a course. Most holes are wide open and relatively short. There are a lot of storm drains around that look like they could easlily swallow up a rolling disc.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for a middle school course. Definitely great for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Typical Middle School Course!

1    7/7/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Eagle's Claw course at Bull Run Middle School is very similar to many courses on schools around the country. They're done a nice job designing a course here to introduce middle school students to disc golf. The terrain they had to work with is fairly limited so players will have to cooperate and respect school hours as well as other school and recreational activities such as ball games. At times, a few holes will likely have to be skipped over.

The course features DGA baskets with the red numbers on top. The numbers are not always facing the right direction, that is back towards the tee. The tees are small white poles with house #'s on them. I had no problem following the course with the on-line map.

# 1 was a simple little ACE run just over 200 feet and wide open. # 7 was another shorter little ACE run of 140 feet.

I thought # 8 was interesting when there's no ballgame being played. It was obviously designed to hyser around the backstop going from the 3rd baseline all the way around to the basket over past the 1st base side. But for any average Rec player, it's a fun toss over the field.
Cons: The big con for me here, would be to show up and find baseball games being played and thus rendering half the holes unplayable. I'd make sure I played at non-baseball game hours. It's not designed or intended to challenge the average Rec/Advanced type player. It's for middle school students.
Other Thoughts: If you don't try to analyze this course too much, you'll see that it well designed for it's target audience (MS Students), it uses the existing terrain and obstacles pretty well and it has it's niche in Disc Golf. Don't try to compare it to some uber-challenging 18 hole monster course somewhere. The Claw is great for families, newbies, MS kids, or those who live close and just want a quick little 9 or who want to practice a new throw or break in that new disc.

And after reading gottafixit's review, I finally figured out why they didn't name this course after the school. There's already a nearby course at a park called Bull Run. Actually, I played it a few years back on a previous discing trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of Much

1    6/12/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Change (moderate) of elevation on most holes. Variable lengths. Ace/birdie opportunities.
Cons:
Like most courses that skirt the open spaces between sports fields and walking paths, there's always a chance to negatively interact with non-players. Natural tees, tee signs do not orient you in direction to throw, numbers on baskets not facing tee.
Other Thoughts:
Other than #8 - long, left-turning, down-then-up - it is pretty much a straight, wide-open look at each basket.

When you reach tee #3, the obvious basket, ahead of you with a walking path just to its right, and houses to your left, is actually basket #4. To find basket #3, look about 45 degrees to your right, and locate basket #3 in a wedge of grassy space defined by two walking paths.

Suitable to introduce people to the game, practice for intermediate+ players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better Then No Course At All...

2-4    10/3/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course made to introduce players to the sport. (Built & designed to be used for middle school PE classes)
-9 Mach II baskets
-Fairways are mostly unobstructed but does play around school facilities & ball fields.
-Some OB to provide more challenge (asphalt & some ball fields come into play)
-Good for practice - especially accuracy, approach, putting & novelty shots.
-Clean & Well maintained area.
-Great promoting of the sport to young people.
Cons: -Plays on school grounds (Many restrictions and potential interruptions to play)
-May not challenge more experienced players.
-No Tee pads (Posts mark tee position but are no help in navigating hole or identifying target)
-Basket numbers do not face tee pads (Really adds confusion to which target to play)
-Very difficult to navigate course (MUST play with someone who knows course)
-No restrooms
-Design is repetitive.
-Must deal with other facility users.
-Parking near course is limited.

Other Thoughts: If given a choice of no course or the Eagle's Claw, I would not hesitate and take the Claw. That said, it is still just a little 9 hole made for middle schoolers to play during PE class in the middle of a large planned community. It is not well marked so near impossible to play unless you know the course. It can't be played during school hours and after school activities may impede your play. Your best bet, if you need to play this course, is to do so during summer recess.
The design itself isn't so bad considering the terrain & property available. The holes are mostly wide open and a few will let you fire the cannon. I enjoyed the last four holes the most: #6 between the ball fields, #7 a dandy ace run with a back stop, #8 over the ball field is like trying to hit a foul ball & #9 a nice huck from elevation to behind the bleachers. With so many great courses in the DC Metro area, its hard to place the Claw anywhere near the top. But if all those other courses didn't exist, the Claw would be the Bomb! It serves a great purpose and I hope it will be enjoyed by kids & community for a long time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 beginner course

2-4    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course to teach people skills or introduce people to disc golf.
Course taunts you with multiple ace attempts. I threw my entire bag on hole 7 my first time because I kept coming so close to ace (I know I couldn't count it as an ace, but I'd still be happy)
Cons: It's a nine hole course with short flat holes and no obsticles. This makes the course less appealing to more advanced players.
The baskets face the wrong way so you can not see the numbers until you make your putt. No tee signs to make sure you are shooting at the right basket. My first time a local pointed out that I shot at basket 4 from tee 3 and missed a hole.
There are white pegs at a tee spot, but they do not indicate what direction you should be pointing.
You can not play much during the week because it plays so close to the track and football field. The course also plays between the 2 baseball/softball fields, hole 8 is a long huck over the field or tight around the outside.
Other Thoughts: This is on school grounds so no drinking or drugs. you may even need to check before using tobacco on school property.

Maybe the school can plant a few trees in honor of past coaches/teachers/ect. That way there are some obsticles to add some degree of difficulty and someone is being honored.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 For What's It's Designed To Be...

5+    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is playable in wet weather, which can't be said for a lot of courses in the area.

The baskets are nice - brand new Mach 2s, I believe. Double chains.

No stupid/goofy holes.

Pleasant setting which is neatly maintained.

Most importantly, this course is growing the sport by helping kids learn how to play.

EVERYONE I've met out here in the evenings has been really nice.
Cons: There are no tees, just posts in the ground. Pick a place to throw from near the post and rip it.

Very open. Not one hole has a tree in the path of your disc.

Close to many other athletic fields - soccer and baseball fields, basketball courts, running and walking track, etc. Dangerous for others.

Most of the holes are pretty short with only one long-ish hole which is still pretty three-able.
Other Thoughts: The course is behind a middle school, so it is likely designed to be used by middle school-aged kids who are learning the game. I even hear they have a "disc golf team" of some kind at the school.

I live in the area and I can leave my house, play the course, and go home in under 40 minutes. I wouldn't recommend the course to anyone who lives more than a 10 minute drive away.

I would never bag on the course, though. It wasn't designed to be one of the greatest courses of all time. It was designed to teach kids the game, and I appreciate that someone at the school is trying to make that happen.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

1    12/29/2008   4/25/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since it's at a Middle school there's an opportunity to introduce students to disc golf; hopefully they have some disc golf PE classes. There's pretty good hole length variety with some short holes and some longer ones. (3 of 140-190/ 3 of 205-235/ 2 of 315-320/ 1 of 450) There are ace runs on 6 of the holes.
Cons: Since it's at a Middle school I hope that this course doesn't quickly bore the kids because it's so bland. To paraphrase the ministry of Young Life, "It's a sin to bore a kid with disc golf." Almost all the holes are straight wide open shots with very few trees and only very small elevation changes. Tee signs are minimal, and there are no tees marked so you just pick a spot near the sign to throw from. There's just the bare minimum for a course-- baskets and short posts to mark the hole numbers. There are no Amenities at all: no map or scorecard so no hole lengths, no restrooms open to the public, no warm up basket or message board, no benches or trash cans.

-Hole 8 needs to be redesigned. There are major safety issues with it being adjacent to a baseball field and it's way to long for teenagers, most of whom are new players.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Red (most suited for Juniors, Beginners, and Intermediate players rated 825-875)

It's fairly easy to navigate since it's so open. The only difficulty was finding the right basket for hole 3 because you see several to choose from.

I hope that none of the students here will give up on disc golf just because they think it's lame. Hopefully they'll go down the road to try Bluemont in Arlington first. More seasoned players shouldn't drive out of their way to play here. It's the kind of course that you whip through, check it off as played, and move on.

NOTE: I rated this course Below Average, so I'm not posting my usual complete review notes in the Links/Files section. If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf (at) gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details. You can also read more of my reviews at the DG Course Reviews Yahoo Group, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews /

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 for beginners

2-4    11/26/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets and reasonable variety on the distance for practicing. Open holes almost impossible to loose a disc. A couple holes have some elevation change to add to the fun. Now has a second set of tees.
Cons: In the middle of a middle school sports conplex. All numbers on baskets face away from tee post so you can't tell first time out if your throwing at the right basket. 6,7, and 8 are bunched and would interfere with each other if this place were crowd with golfers. No real tee pad or box just one marker.
Other Thoughts: First off the course is at Bull run middle school but because there is already a bull run course i imagine they named it after their mascot the eagle. It is a nice little course with not a great deal of challenge, all holes are wide open with a few requiring you to throw around back stops or fences, add in that pavement equals OB and there is a bit more challenge. There has been a second set of tees added numbered 10-18, however I was sure while playing it they where to play to the same baskets as the orginal tees. This course fits it's location in that it is a practice/beginners course great for the younger players learning the game and for those in the surrounding community. This course however could not be played if any of a number of events was going on the sports fields that it throws around, to much risk of hitting people.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginners Course

5+    9/24/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: stasva
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For anyone taking up DiscGolf this is a good course to start on. It is pretty wide open, and they have nice New Mach2 no frill baskets. All blacktop areas are considered OB. Plenty of space and baskets to practice any types of shots and I can walk to it an practice my putting.
Cons: Since this course is on a school, it can not be played during school hours and/or after school activities like track/football/baseball.
Other Thoughts: This is from another person who broke down the course..it is wide open.
Hole 1: 215 feet.. basketball court 8 feet to the left(plays out of bounds) problems when you hit me in the back baller . This can and should 8-) be changed.
Hole 2: 206 feet..up hill wind shot .. foot path in front of basket plays OB ok hole
Hole 3 234 feet.. level. tight foot path along right plays OB ok hole
Hole 4 188 feet .. ...foot path five feet in front plays OB. Drop off of 30 feet behind the pin can make a birdie a par... will you ace?
Hole 5 318 feet ...left around the backstop of a baseball field 2 and 3's here
Hole 6 192 feet .. dead ahead basket.. hill slopes to the left.. go for it or get 3
Hole 7 140 feet.. . the shortest but 35 feet above tee.. 2's all day but :D aces
Hole 8 450 feet... The longest, but hole 8 and 6 tee off are crossing paths..anyways the tee off is a sharp left around a backstop.. the track comes in to play as OB.. a good tee off is a down hill lay up of maybe 200 feet..a birdie here is a 250 foot shot up hill I would like to see.
Hole 9 315 feet .. a nice downhill surrounded by OB path 20 feet behind and 45 feet to the left.

It's 2258 feet

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.