Hillsboro, OH
Rocky Fork State Park - South Beach Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
-- / --   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: jessmac
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Along the beach. The front nine is open and short, I think I only used a driver once on the entire course. Good course to practice acuracy on because the rough is pretty thick on the front nine. You do not want to get off the fairway on the front.
Cons: Markers did not include distances and most were nasty because of bird droppings.
Other Thoughts: I would play again. The beach was empty on a 90 degree day so if you want to stay away from the crowds then this is your place. There were two holes that you had to go over water and that was interesting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is almost completely open for the front 9, and a wooded back 9. The navigation was pretty easy. It is hard to describe the course as a whole because the front and back are so completely different.

Front 9 Pros:

- risk/reward with the lake and a pond in play
- concrete tees

Back 9 Pros:

- elevation is more prevalent here
- risk/reward (water still comes into play)
- very well kept fairways
- gravel tees in nice shape
Cons: I prefered the wooded area so much more. There wasn't any info on the tee markers.

Front 9 Cons:

- lots of brush
- very windy coming off the lake
- many holes are just too similar

Back 9 Cons:

- after #17 you cross #11's fairway to get to #18
Other Thoughts: The parking area is located right near the beach with the front 9 and back 9 to either side.

I personally would prefer to just play the back 9 twice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tale of Two Nines

5+    10/5/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shot maker course as the front works mainly without trees but with vegetation and water looming. This is counterpointed by a back nine that loops through the woods on a peninsula of the lake. The wind off the lake will always vary your play on the front nine. If the weeds and vegetation were OB it would wreck your score as it's usually mowed fairly narrowly. This disc course is never crowded. I can go, swear, and throw extra discs to work on my game, as it doesn't impede other players. Basket placement is challenging at the water and wood's edge. The park also keeps tweaking basket placement and clearing some drive paths through the woods to improve play.
Maintained. There is plenty of parking as there is a beach, playground and picnic awning that usually host light use.
Cons: The non-water holes on the front are average. The back is challenging to the point of being tight/choked by trees in some places. Par is a straight 3 across all holes and could use adjustment and I could only find par by looking at DGCR! The bulletin board is currently empty and course navigation help is fair as only the hole number is listed at each tee pad with an occasional "next tee" sign to point the way.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads are raised concrete on the front and boxed in gravel on the back. It could use flush to the ground tee pads, but they're better than some courses.
I've gone with 8, paired up for match play and had a ball there with kids and grownups. I live close to this course so it's easy for me to say that par should be reviewed with holes numbers; 2, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16 deserving Par 4 ratings as well as a numbers 14, 17 to be considered for a par update. The location is a bit remote but not too far off US 50 to try.The very nice Pike Lake State Park course is 30 minutes east of this one in Bainbridge. The new Paint Creek is in the process of being thinned out and getting tweaked into shape. These 3 all together make for a nice varied day of play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Fork DG

2-4    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees on front.
Nice start area with bulletin board.
Nice parking lot.
Lots of trees on the back 9.
On the front the grass was cut out really well, With the tall grass they had landing areas cut out.
Cons: No information at tees!
Baskets not marked with hole numbers.
No map layout at beginning.
Front wide open back all trees, need better mix.
Gravel tees in woods could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, worth the visit. How many DG courses have a beach! Could use a better mix of holes. I used the front as a warm up for the more technical back 9. Overall the course was in very good condition, hats off to those maintaining this course, good job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is very beautiful how it is up against the water. The front is nice with the concrete tees. It is fairly easy to navigate your way through this course. They have alot of holes that do different thigs. Some curve right while others curve to the left. There are plenty of water hazards. Hole 11 you are actually throwing over some water to get to the fairway. That was really neat, never really done this before. There is a very big parking lot with alot of facilities on the property. You can take a break and go swimming if you want to. Also there is a camp ground there. This is well kept. The lawns are mowed frequently. The baskets had yellow and orange stickers on the inside of them. This is good so that you know what to look for when you cant already see the basket. Some of the holes have next tee signs which can be helpful. The practice pin is very nice and easy to spot.
Cons: This is a fairly short course. Not many of the holes even reach 300 feet. When you reach the back 9 all of the tees are grounded up rocks. It is very slippery when you throw from rocks. The tee sign doesn't show anything. There is no par nor distance on the sign. To get from hole 17 to hole 18 you will have to go across 11 to get there. So watch out for people throwing from there. For the front holes the weeds on the sides are very thick. I went in there a couple of times and it took me a very long time to find my disc. There are no trash cans or benches anywhere. At the tee if you are tired or need to throw something away good luck. At some of the tees the sign was missing. So you dont even know if you are at the right hole.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 is almost completely open while the back 9 is almost completely enclosed in the woods. There is alot of wind coming off of the lake. Always be careful of this it is very easy to lose a disc in the water. When in the woods there is one or two nice elevation changes on the holes. I would say almost half of the holes have water that comes into play. It can be hard to locate. I do recommend using the latitude and the longitude given on the course info page. So come prepared and make sure you take a dip in the water after a round of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course.

1    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Easy to Navigate
Plenty of water hazards
Nice Variety of Shots Needed
Plays Along the Lake
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Nice/Fairly New Baskets
Restrooms Near First Tee
Ample Parking
Camping And Swimming Nearby
Cons:
From Hole 17 to 18 You Cross 11s Fairway
Short Tee Pads
No Maps on Tee Signs
No Distances on Tee Signs
No Benches
Front Nine is Pretty Wide Open
Other Thoughts:
Nice course with open and wooded holes. There are a couple nice shots over water, and once in the woods there are a couple nice elevation changes. Water comes into play on serveral holes, and discs could easily be lost. Wind off lake can be a major factor. Overall a very fun course to play. Course can be difficult to locate, just follow the signs to south beach.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.