Batesville, AR 
Lyon College DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #17 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 RHBH heaven/RHFH hell

1    9/14/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice, well maintained college campus course.
Nice concrete or rubber mat tees (only one tee pad missing, number 10 I think).
Great signage, easy to navigate, make that super easy to navigate.
nice wooded holes with a good variety of open and tight.
Cons: The number one complaint against the design of this course is that there are far more dogleg to the left holes than dogleg to the right. From memory I count only two doglegs to the right and seven to the left with the rest of the holes being dead straight. No course should give such a huge advantage to left or right handers (or forehand vs. backhand). I am saying this as a RHBH player so this course favored my throw, but I missed being forced to turnover my shots or use forehand.

My next complaint is more a matter of opinion--I am disappointed that there were no shots over the water. I think water shots add a lot of fun to a course, but I understand that a campus course like this is probably designed to attract new players and add a recreational option for students. Throwing your new $15 disc in a lake is not a good introduction to the sport.
Other Thoughts: Despite one major design flaw this is still a great course. It is well manicured, has great elevation, nice amount of trees. It is on the shorter side--probably intended for newer players.
This is a course that Lyon College should be proud of and Batesville is lucky to have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Collage course

2-4    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course
Well marked.
Great tee signs.
good tee boxes.
good condition boxes.
good use of terrain.
Cons: a little short to get higher rating.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course. This is the 3rd year in a row I have made the drive over to play.

The course has had some small changes, but do not effect the play.

The student union that put this course in has done a GREAT job on the upkeep. Every year I see improvements made, including a new bridge and even a new flypad tee pads on a few holes.

Most of the holes are short (200-300) but are fun to play. The few long holes are GREAT but both play downhill which makes them both easy 3's unless your drive is horrible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: tasha
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscaping - Great layout - Map of course available in Security Office, which is right by hole #1. Signage throughout course if fantastic. Sign at each Tee Pad includes Hole number, Distance in feet, Par and Map to basket. Each Basket has arrow to next Tee Pad. Each Tee Pad either a Rubber mat or Concrete Slab.
Cons: The course map available on this site (dated 9/1/2008) is not correct. the course must have been changed - but like i said - a map can be obtained from the security office. (and there is a big sign by hole #1 of a map of the whole course.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Course. Nice Hazards - Hilly - Great combination of difficulty's. We saw someone Ace Hole #1! That was awesome! We will definitely return.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: 1ChainBanger
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great intro course for beginners or pro's looking for an ego boost.
-Nice scenery and I dont just mean the foliage.
-Plays around a lake on the back 9.
-Gentle hills that are not too much for anyone.
Birdies galore!!!!
-Nice teepads and signage.
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -Didn't utilize everything the land and space has to offer, could be easy to fix though.
-Birdies galore!!!
-Only 4 holes over 300' (1 that was 444' and elevate) and all are reachable in 1.
-Didn't find any easy access to water.
Other Thoughts: This course could be very, very nice w/what the land and space has to offer. Recommend alternate pin placements or tee pads to challenge up and coming AM's and Pros's.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.