Logan Lake, BC 
Copper Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Giv'r Hole #5 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 144ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Short Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Copper Ridge DGC - Logan Lake

1    6/22/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Copper Ridge DGC was one of three courses used in the 2013 Canadian Disc Golf Championships and like the other two courses, was challenging and unique! Located in the copper mining Town of Logan Lake, this course lies in solitude, tucked away in the hillside and therefore out of the harsh elements for more of the year unlike the courses in Kamloops. Densely wooded, this course offers a remarkable combination of tightly wooded fairways as well as a few vicious par 4's in the semi open meadows.

The design/layout of Copper Ridge is well thought out, offering much variety off the tee which in turn allows for multiple approaches toward the pin. Elevation is present throughout, along with OB's and water at times, and when combined with wind can be quite challenging and even nerve racking. The course also has a set of tees (White = Novice/Int - Blue = Adv/Open) which changes the distance but also often the approach which adds to the course's playability.

Distance on the course varies depending on which set of tees you play from, ranging anywhere from 3,963 ft/Par 54 on whites to 5,195 ft/Par 56 on blue and use DISCatchers on every hole. The tee signs and poles are metal, offer pro/am par, distance, hole #, flight path, and major obstacles although I am not sure how accurate that is. The course is clean and well maintained which says a lot about the pride the local club takes in their course(s).

NOTE: The course offers other amenities as well, including restrooms, playground, wildlife viewing, walking paths, lake, and massive open grassy field for picnics, ball games, and practice throws.
Cons:
Copper Ridge DGC is easily one of the best courses I have played yet in British Columbia. However, there were a few things that stood out to me that can or can't be helped just due to its location geographically. The area is playable three seasons of the year, getting snowed in during the harsh winter months and then quite soggy/boggy during the spring. The mosquitoes can be an annoyance and the grass can grow high in areas leaving players in need of long socks/sleeves, bug spray, and "eagle eyes" if looking for a disc off the fairway.

Another issue perhaps for some would be the course's remote location about 45 minutes SW of Kamloops, BC. I assume most DGers traveling through would most likely be staying in Kamloops and/or making a day trip to Logan Lake because there just doesn't seem to be a whole lot going on in this quiet yet quaint little town so make the most of your time while there DGing.

Last, the mats. Being from the Pacific NW I am used to throwing on rubber mats and, like most DGers, love them but find them rather difficult to throw on when wet or icy. They are nice and durable but are just a bit dicey in my opinion when trying to do a large run up and crush it. Fortunately, most of the course requires accuracy over distance.
Other Thoughts:
Over the years I have had the privilege of visiting beautiful British Columbia on several occasions, totaling 20+ courses played in the great white north, adding to the 200+ courses played in 12 states, 3 countries, and counting... In doing so, I can honestly say that both Kamloops and Logan Lake are some of the most challenging and scenic courses I have played to date in Canada.

I came up from Seattle, WA for the 2013 Canadian Disc Golf Championships with two of my best friends who, although unfamiliar with the tournament scene, were up for an adventure! From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated as if we were a local, with friendly conversations, tough competition, and great food/accommodations.

The tournament itself, run by Carrie Neal and the KDGC, was both professional and well organized. Because the tournament has been so well run in the past the TD is able to get tons of community support through sponsorship. The tournament had great player packs, payouts, and included an impressive list of world class players who attended from all over the world. It is unbelievable to see how much work went into this tournament, and for a DG club that is so small like the KDGC, how well they work together to gets things done for this big event. I am truly grateful for the hospitality and professionalism by all and want to give a special shot out to my buddy Bailey Teteris for going out of his way to be the perfect guide, as well as Robbio, and Whatshisname from Calgary. It was much appreciated and will never be forgotten.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best test of golf I played in BC

1    8/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: HEATER
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very scenic holes with Disc catchers in perfect condition.

2 sets of rubber tee pads that are all flat and quite large.

Simple but accurate and easy to follow signs.
The course flows up and down a small mountain in Logan Lake BC the front nine is a little more open but plays around a pretty lake with stunning views of the rolling mountains all around you. The back nine is a little more technical with tighter fairways and a bit more difficult holes including a stretch of jaw dropping beauties (I think it was 12,13 and 14)

Flows really well and is pretty easy to navigate.

Water barely comes into play on a couple holes.

The ground is pretty scrubby and finding discs can be a bit of a chore. Bring bright plastic and leave the browns, yellows and dark colours at home.

Not a lot in the way of amenities. A bench and garbage can after 9 at a mountain bike course.

Did not see another soul out there. I had the whole course to myself.

Good variety of moderate to long holes and nothing too short which is unusual for disc golf in British Columbia where a lot of disc golf holes are sub 200 feet.

Good use of elevation but could have really used a big top of the world bomb after 4 or 5 holes of heavy climbing.
Cons: Middle of nowhere about an hours drive from Kamloops.

I don't think there is anything else to do in Logan Lake so you may as well play it twice.

Is a challenging walk which a lot of people will love but people with mobility issues may have a rough go.

You will spend some time looking for discs due to the nature of the land. Also think about long socks as I ripped up my legs a bit.

You can't see a handful of baskets from the tee so you may end up walking down the fairway to see where you are going for a handful of holes (but when you find the pin it is usually in a clever and challenging location)


I suspect it is unplayable in the winter.
Other Thoughts: I have been in BC for the past 6 weeks and this is by far the best course I have played. I enjoyed the Pender island more due to the vibe and scenery but this is a superior golf course.

Smokers be careful in the summer this area goes weeks/months without rain and forest fires are a real threat.

Worth playing twice if you are in the area. I wish I had of instead of spending the second day at the Rose Hill complex.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Misty Mountain Hop

2-4    6/22/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 203  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This review is a song to the tune of Led Zeppelin's "Misty Mountain Hop"

Throwing discs at Logan Lake
just the other day baby
Whaddya, Whaddya think I saw?

Crowds of aspen trees and flowers everywhere
And double-chained Discatchers at which to toss

I really don't know, what time it was
A-whoa-oh-oh, but I must have thrown for quite a while

Just then a fisherman, on the lake, next to hole 5, pulled a big rainbow trout up on his line, on his line

Holes up there, really don't care, really don't care, really don't, if you can or can't hit your lines

So why don't you play these tees?
And have some fun, a whoa-oh-oh
I betcha the rains will soon drop by...

Why don't you take a trip up to Logan Lake and describe what you see?
Cause baby baby baby you will like it!
Holes up there really go up in the misty air and back down again
And there's history of the local mines on the tee signs

You really won't care, if you bogey
Because it is such a pleasant time

Whoo-oo-oo-oo, whoo-oo-oo-oo-oo

You really should throw, oh-oh, oh-oh, oh-oh
You really should throw, whoa oh, oh oh, oh oh, oh oh

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One great course

2-4    6/12/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: baileyt1212
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great challenge but gentle enough for beginners. Different terrain, slopes, distances for each hole. Great summer climate. Logan lake community really stepped up to help put this in with great signage, tee pads, and disc catchers.
Cons: Tees a bit slippery when wet. Winter is snowed in.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area from May through October this is a must. Possibly the best course in BC.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

5+    9/4/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Giv'r
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I believe it is truly the best course in BC. Every tee pad gives you something different to shoot for. The elevation changes from hole to hole and has everything from straight uphill to straight downhill and everything in between. There's some fairly short holes and some fairly long holes. Some holes can be very technical as well since all holes have at least some degree of wooded area to shoot through/around/over. Placement is key here. The overall variety of Copper Ridge is what makes this course so great. This course has everything. Also, the views are very nice, it's a great hike in the woods, and it's very quiet and peaceful.
Cons: The mosquitoes here can get pretty bad. The hike up one or two of the hills can be a little too much for some people. The rubber tee pads can be a little slippery, especially if they are wet.
Other Thoughts: The remoteness of Logan Lake makes this course a sort of hidden gem. Even at the height of summer it is not a very busy course. There's a nice little campground at the other end of lake that's only a 5-10 minute walk away from the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

BC's best course

5+    3/4/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: akoenig
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 10/1/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenery, in quiet wooded area overlooking a lake for the first 7 or 8 holes.
- Great variety in length, and has a number of open holes as well as tight technical holes.
- Has a few incredible pin placements (#17 comes to mind)
- Variety of uphill, downhill, flat, left and right holes.
- The drive to the course is very scenic with a great lake to cool off in between Merritt and Logan Lake (not Logan Lake though).
- Has dual rubber teepads, all of which are well signed.
- Most baskets have barkmulch/sawdust around them.
- It stays cooler in the summer due to the higher elevation
Cons: - Not much else going on in the town of Logan Lake
- Has been mosquito-y during the wet spring, though since the course is getting played more, this problem has been reduced.
- One of the holes has a weird dogleg that still doesn't really make sense to me. UPDATE: They've since thinned this out and the hole is much more interesting.
Other Thoughts: It's my favorite course in BC right now. The sun always seems to hit it right and give the course a golden glow.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.