Bryan, TX 
Bonham Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
safety concerns, missing tees and baskets

1    10/26/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a few fun tee shots
-cool creek on hole 3
-decent park, not a bad place to practice drives and upshots
Cons: I have to quote EricJ here because he perfectly sums it up:

"It plays through, literally, the soccer field on #2, the baseball field on #6/7, the basketball court on #8, the playground on #1/9, and tennis courts on #4. That leaves only #3 and #5 that don't really interfere with other park amenities.

The tees are way too close to the previous basket. This is apparent when walking down the fairway of #1 and you walk through #2's tee box before getting to #1's basket. Overthrow #2's basket by 25' and you hit players on #3's tee. Hole #4 throws at #5's tee box."


In addition to the safety concerns, 3 tees are unmarked/nonexistent and hole 9 is gone.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it was installed and quickly forgotten. The shots are actually pretty fun but the safety concerns and missing signage/tees really dominate the experience of this course.

It's better than nothing but it would be nice to see some of the issues here addressed. Just a few new tee markers and maybe moving a few of the baskets a little to interfere less with the rest of the park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it.

1    12/8/2011   12/8/2011
Review By: Le4385
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're a beginner wanting to work on your driving and putting skills, this course works perfectly. Nice easy, open holes make it a leisurely play through.
Cons: We played on a cold day when there weren't many other people using the park, but I can tell that it would get annoying if the facilities are being used, seems how most of the holes play through other park amenities.

Couldn't find tee boxes for 5 and 6.
Hole #9 is missing now, I used Hole #1 again in its place.
Other Thoughts: A good way to spend 30 minutes if you live close, but by no means should you drive more than 5 minutes to play this course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to see here, please move on

2-4    4/22/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
It's a struggle to come up with a list of Pros for this course... If you play on a school day so there's no kids in the park it's a decent little course. Well, that is if you're in one of the only groups of golfers on the course, any more than that and it's dangerous. Baskets will all catch alright, but most are older generation, single-chain DISCathers. There's a creek in play that adds a bit of a challenge on hole #3.

The course runs through and around a multi-use park with playgrounds, and ball fields (baseball, soccer, tennis, and basketball). There are bathrooms convenient to the course.
Cons:
Sadly the list of Cons for Bohnam is lengthy. Fundamentally, the course is not safe. It plays through, literally, the soccer field on #2, the baseball field on #6/7, the basketball court on #8, the playground on #1/9, and tennis courts on #4. That leaves only #3 and #5 that don't really interfere with other park amenities.

The tees are way too close to the previous basket. This is apparent when walking down the fairway of #1 and you walk through #2's tee box before getting to #1's basket. Overthrow #2's basket by 25' and you hit players on #3's tee. Hole #4 throws at #5's tee box.

There are penciled in, artistically hand-drawn, mandos on almost all of the tee signs. These mandos look like they try to avoid most of the park amenities, but they have some significant problems of their own.

First, they require throws that aren't real disc golf shots (u-turns, riciculous snaking s-curves). Second, they turn a 228' hole into a Par 5 or 6. Lastly, they endanger other parts of the park in deference to what they're trying to protect.

We never found the tee marker for hole #6.
Other Thoughts:
When the course at Camelot got pulled, the baskets were installed at Bohnam Park.

This is by no means a destination course. If you're desperate to check it off your "Played" list go early on a school day to minimize the other park interference, otherwise you'll be skipping multiple holes on an otherwise mediocre course anyway.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but Potentially Dangerous

1    1/4/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little nine hole course the basics foundations of good course review. There is decent hole variation in length and mild style changes, the pins are DisCatcher's and in good shape, there are a few water holes that force you to think (a little), and decent signage.

There is parking near hole one, and the course is circular bringing you completely around the outskirts of the park, there are okay bathroom facilities (park style steel toilets), and other amenities that could keep the family occupied if they didn't want to get in a round with you.

BEST HOLE/S: #4
Cons: Okay, the bad. First and foremost is the general course layout. Thankfully I went early in the day and had the park to myself, but if the park is crowded - I believe the course becomes unplayable in many areas. Hole #8 and #9 are especially bad. It's not a good design if on hole #8 I'm trying to use the basketball court to skip my drive, and on #9 where the playground equipment is so dangerously close to the fairway - one errant shot will spell disaster. Plus, there are soccer fields and a walking path intertwining throughout, so this course has a lot of potential to be good or bad based on the overall park usage.

Less important, but still decent strikes against Bonham is the course design is fairly ho-hum. I like the length variation, but most shots are pretty straight forward. This is a course where you can play with two discs and not have an issue. Plus, while the water is a good addition, it's not a big issue for any player past the beginner stage.

Hole distances feel off as you play, and I'm betting a laser scope would find some big discrepancies. Also, we couldn't find #6 tee box (even when you drove around the park afterward), so we just played played from #5 pin - which is consistent for the course, but not the 567' indicated on this site.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed Bonham as a nice casual, not too hard but kept my attention, type of golf course - which seems the case for most courses in this area. Again, I highly recommend playing when you think not many people would be using the park, because your almost guaranteed to nail someone on the basketball court or playground. I think it plays similar to the Missouri City Community Park or Pecan Grove Park type of courses in the Houston area.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fairly open course with no elevation changes but makes good use of the trees and creek that are there to create a variety of shot requirements and distances making for a fun round but (see Con #1)...

There is a sign at every tee pad with Hole #, Par, and Distance but (See Con #2)...
Cons: 1. This course shares land with too many other areas of the park making a potentially dangerous situation. There is a playscape that you throw around on hole #1. There is a soccer field you throw around on hole #2. There is a tennis court you throw around on hole #5. There is a bathroom you throw around on hole #6. There is a basketball course you throw around on hole #8. Hole #9 has you throwing back around the playscape where you started. If anyone is using any one of these facilities you have to skip that hole which makes this nine hole course not worth driving to for a round because yo will probably have to skip multiple holes. We played early Sunday morning and there was noone at the park so it was playable.

2. There are some hand drawn maps on the signs that show mandatories around all the other "facilities" in the park. The distances appear to be accurate for those mandotories only. For instance on hole #2 the posted distance is 330' but if noone is there you can throw straight across the soccer field and it's only 250ish ' . Hole #6 is over 500' around a bathroom but if you throw straight at the basket it's probably 350'. Some of these hand drawn mandatories are silly like the one that requires you to stay in a four foot wide strip of land between the sidewalk and the road.
Other Thoughts: If you live close this course would be ok for practicing but if you're traveling from out of town just skip this one.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center