Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Gold/Silver Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 5/2012)
Directional Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Meh

2-4    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great pin placement and use of the land. Challenging and fun to play. I like the mowed paths in the long grass on hole 8. Concrete pads.
Cons: POISON IVY EVERYWHERE so watch out. Signage was a little iffy. Rough was really rough. Not as hard as everyone said it would be :( Lots of stumps to break a foot on.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Just needs some good foot traffic and it will wear in nicely. Get rid of the poison ivy in the fairway at least. Concrete pads are awesome. Definitely not your average disc golf course. Didn't play GOLD but I imagine that is a real treat hehehehe

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 there with Texconsonite

1    6/20/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I agree with all that Texconsonite has to say regarding this course. I was there with him. Since he wrote a book, I'll stay very minimal. This course is what the pros are looking for....
Cons: still in progress; call ahead for a guide; club members we met were very helpful and will assist you in any way possible

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Silver/Gold: Welcome to the Ravines

1    6/20/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, to avoid confusion this course has two sets of tees, Silver, and an insane longer set called Gold. Thus, if someone refers to the Gold course, they mean this one. However, the gold tees are so much longer, it almost plays like a different course, which is scary considering that from the Silver tees this is already one of the 5 toughest courses I've played. Consider it two courses in one: Silver/Gold.

Mixed concrete and rubber pads (on silver) are mostly pretty good, and all holes have signs on silver pads, and on most of the Gold pads (will have all by Worlds) We were fortunate enough to play with Bart, a local legend and one of the course designers, and he gave us the inside scoop on both Silver and Gold.

This course is intimidating. The locals will warn you about it, and they're not just blowing smoke. This course was designed to be tough, and they succeeded. Not only is it long, but it forces an array of technical shots and very very tough risk reward choices to do well. We walked the Gold tees, and they are doubly so.

This course is full of legit par 4's and 5's, which I love, and according to our local guide, some holes will actually be listed as 4s and 5s, they just hadn't settled on which ones yet. I love this, and see this as the future of the sport, because making a super hard par 4 or 5 adds a whole new layer of richness and strategy to the game, instead of the "deuce or die" golf that IMO becomes all too prevalent on many courses I play.

This course does a great job giving you choices. It likes to dangle a tantalizing morsel in front of you, like a narrow route above the trees to cut the corner on a sharp wooded dogleg. However, they make these routes very tough and dangerous, with ugly outs if you don't hit them right, as I learned the hard way on several occasions. I still have the scratches all over my legs and arms to prove it.

This course is mostly in extremely thick woods, with an extensive canopy, and this course is chock full of tight canopy curves.
Many, many blind baskets, even on the open holes. It really helped to have a local guide, but without one, it would be even more punishing to play this course. You don't want to walk these holes to scout them out.

Another interesting feature about this course is the prevalence of ravines. Much of this course winds through thick woods, and those woods are perforated with steep hills and valleys cut by these trickles of water. Its like the White course, but on a much larger scale. Also, the clever course design makes great use of this terrain, in a take-no-prisoners (aka Highland Park) type of manner. Many baskets are downhill, blocked by a few trees, and the slope only gets steeper after the basket, making for some nasty upshots if you dont get the disc to stop on the slope. Also, many crosshill shots come into play, where the danger is to one side. The great part about these ravines is that the trickle of water that runs in them isn't enough to eat your disc, so though you may take a stroke for water OB, or at least have a very ugly out up the hill, you at least get your disc back.


This course throws wicked elevation at you for late trouble around the pins, on top of the tightly wooded fairways and protected baskets with a few trees, for very unforgiving holes, where playing it safe and laying up is a serious consideration in many cases.

Another good thing about this course are the open holes. The part of this course that opens up into a more prairie-like field (UW Parkside Prairieside-esque) is still interesting. Many courses get lazy on the long holes, and just make them open and boring. This course actually leaves trees and long grass strategically placed to force a considered shot, not just grip & rip. The long holes actually sometimes punish you for trying to take the most direct route to the basket at times, vs a safer route taking the corner more wide. Its nice to see risk reward on long, more open holes, because it keeps big arms more honest by throwing some control into the mix. Many of the "open" holes here are an open drive, and the basket is tucked into the woods at the end, or nestled between several trees. Again, late trouble is the word of the day.

If forced to pick one, I think hole 14 is the signature hole of the course. Right away, you are forced to choose between a left and right curving routes through the trees. They both meet up, into one wooded tunnel fairway, which goes about 200 ft further to a crosshill basket with a dropoff after it as well. THe tough part is, the left one is more direct, but narrower and easier to get in trouble on, and cost yourself at least another stroke. The right path plays about 250 to where it joins with the left side, and is a more sweeping curve, with a little wider tunnel cut through the trees. Pick your poison off the tee, either way if you dont make it to the landing zone where the curves meet up, you're taking at least another stroke. Sign says 225, but its more than 300 as the crow flies, and plays more like 400-430 depending on which route you take.

Its great that they have two tees for almost every hole, and several holes with alt pin placements. When its all done they plan on having alt pins on at least half the holes, including all the ones that only have one tee, which is a great thing, since the alt pins here really change the hole and are all tough, as they should be.

This course really challenges you and beats you up, but if you go in expecting it and prepared for it, there's a lot to like here.
Cons: Like the White course, this course was put in the ground rapidly, and thus many of the holes need some clearing still before they are where they should be. Also, since this course plays through such dense woods and hillsides, there's much to be done and heavy equipment wont make it back into here to grind up the little stumps that cover the fairways like ankle-twisting minefields.

This course takes 2-3 hrs to play, and it physically beats you up and wears you out. I'm glad we played it second in our day of the total Lemon Lake 4-course experience, because otherwise we would've crawled the last few holes.

The rubber tee pads are alright, but I look forward to the day when its all concrete, as its nice to have good traction when you have to rip it for distance and accuracy like you will here. Again, this course is still rough, so I know this, like the sometimes inaccurate tee signs, is something that will progressively get better.

One problem that won't get better is this. This course was designed to be hard. This is the toughest course at Lemon Lake, by far. Is it the most fun? I'm really not sure. As my travelling companions remarked, it seemed like it really wasnt necessary for the course to beat us up so badly. Some of the holes seem long just to be long, and the gold tees are at times ridiculously so. Its hard to fault either tee because they are both well thought-out and placed, but after awhile, on a hot day, it can seem excessive.

The long grass in the field is very good at swallowing discs, and full of thorns, so be careful walking in there, and watch where your disc goes. Generally, if the hole map says long grass on a section of rough, that means you should steer clear of that area, as its where the thorns are the nastiest.

This course will wear you down, so come ready for a long tough round, and you will be fine. Beginners or people with pretty small arms, will probably not like or appreciate this course as much, and may even find it frustrating. This wont be everyone's favorite, just watch where your disc goes, and know what you're getting yourself into, and you'll have a great round.
Other Thoughts: This is the Monster, the Highbridge Gold, the Justin Trails Big Brother, the championship course that will humble even the Pros when Worlds is held here in a few years. Not only long, the design here is just mean.

There are no drinking fountains, or civilization of any kind, on this course, so bring lots of water (a 1/2 gallon per person wouldn't be out of line on a hot day) and some food, as well as bug spray and sun tan lotion. It gets hot in the field area. Playing this course is an odyssey, don't underestimate it and you'll be fine.
Its a tough call, but Blue edges it out for now, so this is my second-favorite course of the four at Lemon Lake, though I expect Silver/Gold to pass up Blue once its been cleared out and finished for Worlds. Once Silver and Gold are both completed, with concrete pads signs, and brush cleared from fairways, this is a 4.5 course, no doubt the best of Lemon Lake.

One thing that disturbs me slightly is the course designers comments that the fifth course at Lemon Lake is planned as an EVEN longer and tougher one, more open, which makes me wonder Why? This course almost seems too long at times, i think longer than the Golds here would just be ridiculous, and only a handful of people would even enjoy playing that. If anything, make a course with more water holes than Blue, with technical holes like Red, and call it Purple, a mix of the two. I hope the uber-course is merely a pipe dream, and doesnt become reality, but thats just my opinion.

Regardless, Lemon Lake is what happens when Disc Golfers run amok designing and building courses, and its almost all a good thing here. I hope reason prevails and it stays that way, because this is a very special place, with a great parks department and wonderfully involved club members. Thank someone when you see them working on the course, there's always someone there, and they deserve as much praise as they can get.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Silver

1    8/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: Spurlocm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Again 3 rounds of 18 at one location is a huge plus for all of the Lemon Lake courses. I have only played the entire 18 once but played partially through another time. Huge holes with challenging shots. Would like to say more but dont know the silver course well enough.
Cons: Very diificult to find. Last time i went the new course was not on the scorecards yet and there was no signs so we had to explore the woods a bit but ask the front gate or anyone you see playing and they will help you out.
Other Thoughts: Longgggg! I tend to play from the harder tee boxes on any course and there is a 1000ft plus pin that will eat your discs with a narrow fairway and tall thorny rough on each side. Fun but play it safe or you're likely to spend some time pulling thorns out of your legs.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/24/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 394  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very challenging, mixed holes (wooded and open), mixed elevation, throw over ravines and tall grass, silver are short tees and gold are long, great use of the park space
Cons: holes are somewhat hard to find, map is needed, still looks like they are putting in the finishing touches.
Other Thoughts: They have doen a great job with all three of their courses. There is no map for this course posted that I could find. To play the Gold/Silver course, park in main disc golf lot on Left through main gate. Cross street though park and head slightly to the left through the woods and gazebo. You will see a sign for the new gold course. It is near blue course basket 13. Follow sign into the woods to the first tee pad.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.