Disc Golf Store
Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #10 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Middle of the road course

2-4    3/16/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Semi-challenging. Some good signature holes.
Cons: Flat, flat flat.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't excite me much for being in AR. You would expect more elevation changes. It is however a course that I would stop and play again next time I'm coming through Fayettville.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good distration from Hospital

1    4/23/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park on the lake.
Well kept grass and little trash on the grounds.
Friendly locals who helped me navigate course or allow me to play through.
Good mix of long/short holes and it seemed most baskets were set in woods with open fairways.
Cons: Several of the wooded holes along the lake seemed to be "throw and hope" as no real possible paths to the baskets. That being said it did make you think about your shots.
Navigation: I was lucky to play with two locals so had no problems finding next tee pads but could see how a few could be hard to find on your own.
Other Thoughts: I was in town visiting my sick father in law at the VA hospital for the weekend so was a good distraction to get away and play a couple rounds at this park. I would return to play again if in the area.

One other note: when entering park stay to the road to the left as the road to the right is a parking lot for the marina and I had to ask directions. Was no signs directing me to disc golf park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course in beautiful area

1    7/26/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, mowed fairways, beautiful location surrounding the lake.
Cons: Heavily wooded in some areas, most holes located behind groves of trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent 18 hole course, located in a beautiful area in the Ozarks. Some holes are better suited for beginners, and some for more advanced players. I'd return here in the future.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/26/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: durangozac
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course. Nice mix of shots. Worth playing again.
Cons: It was muddy on most of the holes that were right next to the lake. The tees sucked.
Other Thoughts: I think that if this place doesn't get tees soon then there will be some crazy erosion problems around the existing "tee" areas.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first course...

5+    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: adraines
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Much improved since they did a lot of work following an ice storm there winter 2008-2009. Nice mix of wooded open holes, rewards precision and punishes erratic throws. Enough reachable holes, never extremely busy, but there are always people playing. Overall a good fun course.
Cons: Very thick underbrush, easy to lose discs in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good fun course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing for almost anyone

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Even the open holes typically have pin positions that make good use of obstacles (trees, mostly) so that there's rarely an open shot from the tee all the way to the hole.

Thoughtful positioning of pins means that even though this is a relatively short course in overall distance, it still offers some challenge even for experienced players with big arms.

Open holes typically have closely mown fairways through taller grass "rough" on either side -- visually appealing, helps with navigation, and offers an incentive to play the hole the way it was designed.

Very appealing setting with nearby hills, the lake, plenty of trees, etc.

Convenient location right off US Hwy 71 between Fayetteville and Springdale, and easy to reach from I-540.
Cons: Tee areas are all of the things other reviewers have said -- there's was a fair amount of recent wood mulch on most of them when I played, which helped visually define them a bit, but didn't offer a much better surface than the mud/dirt/roots.

Likewise, some of the areas near the lake, and some of the lower-lying grassy areas, could be swampy or even unplayable after wet weather. Not as bad as Lake Bella Vista, but pretty wet.

Navigation can be a little dicey, especially since the online map is wrong. Missed Hole 5 completely on my initial pass and had to go back and pick it up after 16. (Tip: even though you can see the tee pad for 6 when you finish 4, and it doesn't look like there could be another hole in the opposite direction from it, on the lake side of #4, there is -- go the "wrong" way and you'll find it. Of course, then you'll have to walk right back past the 4th basket again on your way to #6).

Walkers/cyclists could introduce some delays or put themselves in danger during busy times. Wasn't too much of a problem during my round -- had to wait for a family walking along the paved path near the basket for 15 to clear before my tee shot, and there was a couple that had spread a blanket and themselves out in the middle of the 16th fairway, but otherwise no problems. The lovebirds got the message when they saw me digging my disc out of my bag on the tee pad and moved soon enough.

Lots of stinging insects out and about on a warm late spring afternoon, as well as snakes -- saw a 4-5 ft black water snake of some kind slither into the brush around the base of a tree near the basket for 11, and almost slither out again -- he stopped with just his head and 8-10" of body sticking out, facing the hole, waiting for me to hole out before he moved on back to the lake.

Oh, and I'm not sure what's up with the extremely low height of the 15th basket. I guess the designer figured it was so short and had only a small thicket with two bigger trees coming out of it to protect the basket that something else was needed to throw you off.
Other Thoughts: The map posted in the Files/Links section here is wrong. Apparently there's been some reconfiguration of the holes. This is exacerbated by the fact that the main reconfigured hole is the first one; if there hadn't been locals headed out to play I'd probably have had to look longer to figure out where to start.

Essentially, Hole 1 has been flopped around backwards and turned into Hole 18. Hole 2 is now Hole 1, and the rest of the course plays pretty much as indicated on the map, with each hole number one lower than shown on the map. Hole 18 plays from what apparently used to be the pin area for Hole 1 to what used to be the tee area. The new layout actually makes more sense, as you now begin and end the course close to the parking area, instead of the old 18 finishing up several hundred feet away.

Overall, I really enjoyed my first round here, and I definitely plan to play here again when I'm in the area for work or visiting family.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2007   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and Wooded shots.Challenges all you have.Tricky with a touch of power is needed.Some great signature holes.
Cons: Dirt T Boxs,Needs better T Pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course.I'd suggest playing it if you get the chance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough around the edges, but a fun course

1    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Kihmosabe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of variety, open fairways to extremely tight woods. The overall distance is relatively low, but many there aren't a lot of birdie candidates here due to clever use of obstacles. Shooting pro par is actually a challenge despite the short length. The designer did a nice job of utilizing what little elevation exists on the land; holes 7, 10, and 16 (i think) all let you rip off nice, open downhill shots. Hole 2 is a championship hole, over 300 ft tunnel shot bordering the lake (literally 10 ft from the fairway).
Cons: Poor to very poor tee boxes & inconsistent signs. Lack of alternate baskets (guess I am used to KC courses).
Other Thoughts: Cement tee boxes and accurate signs would go a long way. The park is heavily used, so you have to watch for walkers/bikers and other players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout. It has a little something for everyone. It varies from short, tight, finesse holes to wide open, air-it-out, bomb-away holes. It's situated right next to Lake Fayetteville which is centrally located between Fayetteville and Springdale.

This course actually has fairways. The parks department mows the golf course far more frequently than the rest of the park, so there's actually an advantage to being in the fairway.
Cons: It may have heavy pedestrian traffic on a couple of holes, so you may have to wait a little while before teeing off on those.

There's tons of poison ivy out there. If you're allergic, stay away.

There are no maps or signs on most of the holes. Navigation can be a nightmare if you've never played here before.

The tee boxes are come in three styles: dirt, mud, and tree roots. None of which is that great to play on.
Other Thoughts: New tee boxes and signs would help this one a ton, but it's still the best in NW Arkansas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer-rific!

3/31/2006   5/15/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, with the signature hole 7, a 400 foot long and 30 foot wide tunnel shot. 5-6 tight wooded shots with the rest being open hyzers.

It's an enjoyable round when it's dry.
Cons: Most of the course is at or below lake level and after it rains the course is sloppy for weeks. Dirt tee pads are eroded to the point of tree roots being exposed, and combine with wet conditions make for unpleasant tees.
Other Thoughts: If you like to throw hyzers 250-350, you'll be able to handle this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.