Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Best course in NWA

5+    8/10/2015   6/14/2016
Review By: LL_NiO
Played: 21  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park. Holes are fun, challenging, and each one is different. This course has done what so many new courses are failing to do, and that is incorporate all parts of a good game. It has distance, technical shots, lefty and righty, back hand and flicks, some water and OB, and all the while the course is still a blast. Secluded and laid back but also family friendly.
Cons: Definitely an issue with signs. Being a college town I imagine that the signs are constantly vandalized, but it still makes it tough to navigate if you aren't a local. It is by FAR the best course in North West Arkansas (no other course comes even close) so on a beautiful day there is very little parking and the course can get crowded. The bike/jogging trail runs right through some parts of the course and fairway so you have to be careful if you have a long throw because people can get hit.
Other Thoughts: The things this course lack almost don't matter because of everything it does correct. Like I stated earlier, so many courses are one sided... either long or technical. This course did both beautifully.

One of my favorite courses

5+    2/6/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course makes excellent use of the land by the lake.
Each hole is different.
Hole 7 is great.
Hole 10 is great.
Hole 15 has major ace potential.
Makes great use of what little elevation it has to offer.
Well maintained.
Great baskets.
Benches
Trash cans.
Bathrooms.
Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Could use some signs to make it a little more non local friendly.
Parking is limited.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very well laid out!

2-4    3/27/2015   3/27/2015
Review By: Drakeab
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- wooded, open, long, short, straight, right to left, left to right. No two holes felt the same.

Good use of lake- pin locations on holes with water make you think twice about going for it... but of course you end up going for it because you didn't come to play for pars.

Most holes are fair and offer a line. The only ones that I didn't have a fair line were 1 and 12, but I didn't play with a local, so maybe one exists.

Benches- cool hand made benches on most holes for when you are playing behind an eight some (actually happened to me here.)

Poles with hooks for your bag to keep them off the muddy ground.

Simple navigation for the most part. I will say that the map on listed here is outdated though.
Cons: Extremely muddy- If you are able to, wear boots and bring a towel. I can't overstate the importance of a towel on this course. Your discs will definitely get wet and muddy.

Signage- Some holes have a distance marked on them that seemed to be reasonably accurate, but no signs at all on 15-18. If the signs included a layout of the hole, that would help a lot for those new to the course. On 13, I thought I was safe in some brush and actually ended up in the lake. No idea that there was water near the basket. (I guess I could have looked at a map beforehand)
Other Thoughts: Lots of great holes here, but a few stand out.

5- Short RHFH hole with the basket about 20 feet away from water.

6- have to hit a gap about 150 feet ahead and keep it straight for a basket behind a tree.

7- long straight fairway lined neatly with trees and growth on both sides.

10- short downhill throw with water about 30 feet past the basket.

13- short with a double mando forcing a left to right throw with water all around the basket... Could be one of the easier holes on the course, but somehow I ended up bogeying both times played. Don't let the distance trick you!

The mud and signs are really the only big cons out here. If you are able to count those two out, you will really enjoy this course! Definitely should play if you are in the area and even go out of your way if anywhere near!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/16/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: maddy13
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varius types of holes,beutiful veiw. Most sundays they have a mini going on out their that is pretty fun the comunnity keeps it a clean and well mannered course
Cons: muddy,challenging
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in north west Arkansas

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best around

5+    9/4/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 65  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right by the lake and the views are incredible
- Nice open and defined fairways on most holes
- Very nice Innova Discatcher pro baskets
- Concrete teepads in great condition
- Friendly locals who allow me to play through
- Ok tee signs have distances on most signs
- A few ace oppurtunities
- Lots of different challenges throughout the course (some wide open, very technical wooded shots, tunnel shots, etc.) Lots of variety and different forms of difficulty.
- Pretty easy to get to.
- Navigation is easy in the couse becasue there are lots of signs showing the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - On a few holes, you may have to wait for pedestrians to move along before throwing such as hole 9 because there is a concrete walking trail that is always busy.
- Since this course is one of the best around, it is the busyest around. If you are under time constraints, this may not be the place to play. Most locals will let you play through but never in the 20+ times ive played this course have i ever been able to be finished in less than an hour.
- A few holes are easy to lose a disc in especially in the summertime where the vegitation is great.
- I wish there was a little bit of elevation
- Course doesnt drain well from rain at all. If youre going to play after rainfall, be prepared for a very muddy course.
Other Thoughts: This is really a nice course. It has a nice mix of different types of holes and it is pretty challenging. The reason im giving this course a 4 is because it really is an all around great course and it is always fun to play. If you are in the area, you should play this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging

5+    8/7/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging. A few shots have to weave through trees or squeeze through a narrow opening.
Very well maintained. Fairway is moved down. Tees are concrete. Baskets are very well preserved.
Course is over all pretty well spread out and has a lot of variety.
People are generally friendly.
Cons: Possibility of losing discs.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Gem of Fayetteville

5+    6/22/2010   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every type of hole you could ask for. There are tight wooded shots, lightly wooded, Wide open field, long narrow hallway of trees. Good tee boxes, Nice Pins, Mostly dedicated to Disc Golfers. Very Pretty
Cons: On a few holes you have to wait for joggers as its a shared park and the jogging trail literally cuts in front of tee boxes and down the side of a few fairways. There are no benches, doesn't bother me but to some it might.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great fun to play! Its technical. There are very tight tree tee offs as well as wide open shots.. Hole 7 is a tee off down a straight corridor of huge pine trees! After playing a good number of top quality courses I realize how awesome this course is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lavish Lakeside Resort Holes

1    6/14/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of holes. There is a nice balance of open holes and wooded holes. The holes that are wooded and right along the lake are beautiful. The lake really doesn't come into play, but a really errant shot could find its way there. The paths in the wooded holes are very well defined and make that part of the navigation not that difficult. #12 is a heavily wooded hole that has 2 pin locations and they actually had a basket for each. The long location was a really nice difficult navigating route. #7 is a nice long tunnel shot that was also quite fun to tee off on. One hole even has a high route over trees, along way around them, or a small window you can try to throw through. Some of the wide-open holes have a tree or some simple obstacle to continue it being a challenge. Like I said, this course has some great variety. It has a real bathroom, trashcans, and good parking.
Cons: Navigation is a bit rough. Grab a guide or hook up with someone. Any map posted on this site before 2010 is no good for this course as the course has been updated since then. I hate repeating things, but the tee pads are horrible. Some of the pads are at their worst when they are with tree roots; not that the dirt ruts are much better. The tee signs are out dated and inaccurate. This park is also very busy with non-players. This park seems to have the need to be mowed a little more often than it is.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was really good here. There were a few holes that had little to offer, but many of the other holes made up for them. I would certainly like to come back here and play this course again. It was a real treat and even though the layout was confusing the first time, it is still fun to play. The lake is gorgeous and vegetation is really cool. It is worth a little road trip.

BTW, I just got a note from the president of NWADGC. He said that they will be getting concrete tee pads VERY soon (maybe next week). That is so exciting!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/30/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I Love this course it is fun to play and close to everything in Fayetteville. Great shade about half of the course. Most of the time their is now wind. Get a lot of players so you can find someone to show you around if you are new. Concrete are a new addition also new tee sign are comeing.
Cons: Sometime it gets thick with brush and some holes stay kinda of muddy. Walkers and joggers get in the way sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Needs more group info post on the board for activities. If you need a guide I am always up for a game. If you need more information jump on NWADGC.com there is a MAP of the holes.
BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore!

1    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: zwturner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is pretty much wonderful. I like the variation of angles you have for the tee shots, because the disc catchers are very strategically placed. Beautiful scenery helps add to this courses rating.
Cons: Like the other reviews on this course, it would be nice to concrete the tee boxes. The mud was somewhat of a factor.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to every chance i get now to play at Northshore.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.