Fayetteville, AR
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / --   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good enough

1    11/26/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: kcplease
Played: 90  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is fairly easy to navigate and they mix of holes is great. It seems every open holes is balanced by a more technical hole. The use of the land was impressive. Some of the holes along the lake provided an extra challenge since they were wooded and were conducive to losing discs in the water.
Cons: The park, when even slightly wet, becomes completely swampy and flooded. some of the tees, like hole 5 and 2, were difficult to access without getting soaked shoes. some of the open shots are a bit redundant, since half of the course revolves around one large-ish field.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed by quick round here. I was suprised by this course. When I drove up it didn't look very promising but as I found my way through it was more and more enjoyable. hole 7 was beautiful (i birdied it too), among others. Overall, It's not the best course I've seen, but if you are in the area, it doesn't hurt to stop by and play a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/20/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: Dale W
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great balance of techincal and open holes.
Clear sinage to next hole except hole 1
MOST holes have distances at tbox
Cons: A few holes were a little confusing (until you got close) with multiple baskets in general area.
Basket on 16 broken - doesn't sit straight/even.
Other Thoughts: Excellent mix of technical/wooded shots and open "bomb" holes. Even the open holes utilized trees to add some challenge (basket behind at varying distances/ slightly in the woods). Very visually appealing course with the lake directly behind several baskets (far enough not to be a "disc vaccum"). Surprisingly, the wind was basically calm even though it is a lake course. Pretty busy with other activities (biking, dogs, jogging) on a Sunday morning but the other people were very courteous for the most part and didnt disrupt the round. Loved hole 7 - the longer "tunnel" shot! Would definately recommend this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging

5+    8/7/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging. A few shots have to weave through trees or squeeze through a narrow opening.
Very well maintained. Fairway is moved down. Tees are concrete. Baskets are very well preserved.
Course is over all pretty well spread out and has a lot of variety.
People are generally friendly.
Cons: Possibility of losing discs.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Gem of Fayetteville

5+    6/22/2010   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every type of hole you could ask for. There are tight wooded shots, lightly wooded, Wide open field, long narrow hallway of trees. Good tee boxes, Nice Pins, Mostly dedicated to Disc Golfers. Very Pretty
Cons: On a few holes you have to wait for joggers as its a shared park and the jogging trail literally cuts in front of tee boxes and down the side of a few fairways. There are no benches, doesn't bother me but to some it might.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great fun to play! Its technical. There are very tight tree tee offs as well as wide open shots.. Hole 7 is a tee off down a straight corridor of huge pine trees! After playing a good number of top quality courses I realize how awesome this course is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good distration from Hospital

1    4/23/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park on the lake.
Well kept grass and little trash on the grounds.
Friendly locals who helped me navigate course or allow me to play through.
Good mix of long/short holes and it seemed most baskets were set in woods with open fairways.
Cons: Several of the wooded holes along the lake seemed to be "throw and hope" as no real possible paths to the baskets. That being said it did make you think about your shots.
Navigation: I was lucky to play with two locals so had no problems finding next tee pads but could see how a few could be hard to find on your own.
Other Thoughts: I was in town visiting my sick father in law at the VA hospital for the weekend so was a good distraction to get away and play a couple rounds at this park. I would return to play again if in the area.

One other note: when entering park stay to the road to the left as the road to the right is a parking lot for the marina and I had to ask directions. Was no signs directing me to disc golf park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course in beautiful area

1    7/26/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, mowed fairways, beautiful location surrounding the lake.
Cons: Heavily wooded in some areas, most holes located behind groves of trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent 18 hole course, located in a beautiful area in the Ozarks. Some holes are better suited for beginners, and some for more advanced players. I'd return here in the future.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore...

1    7/11/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good scenery, right next to the lake. Good balance of wooded/open holes. A few more open than wooded. Hole 7 is awesome with trees on both sides throughout the 450 ft. hole. Concrete tee pads are in good condition. Signs are at most tees, but a few of them are knocked down or missing. Innova DisCatchers in fairly good condition. Navigation is easy. I found all 18 baskets and tees, but a few (13 and 7) are a little difficult to find.
Cons: No trash cans or benches (except a log or two). Hole 1 doesn't have a tee sign so it isn't as easy to find as it should be. Message board at the front of the course doesn't have very much information. A few holes (such as 1 and 12) seem overly wooded. I was asking myself if it was an actual hole. Some holes can get muddy. Some of the baskets have been signed (some of them because someone got a birdie(who signs for a birdie?)) and bikers/walkers can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun to play. I would definitely play this one again.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lavish Lakeside Resort Holes

1    6/14/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 204  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of holes. There is a nice balance of open holes and wooded holes. The holes that are wooded and right along the lake are beautiful. The lake really doesn't come into play, but a really errant shot could find its way there. The paths in the wooded holes are very well defined and make that part of the navigation not that difficult. #12 is a heavily wooded hole that has 2 pin locations and they actually had a basket for each. The long location was a really nice difficult navigating route. #7 is a nice long tunnel shot that was also quite fun to tee off on. One hole even has a high route over trees, along way around them, or a small window you can try to throw through. Some of the wide-open holes have a tree or some simple obstacle to continue it being a challenge. Like I said, this course has some great variety. It has a real bathroom, trashcans, and good parking.
Cons: Navigation is a bit rough. Grab a guide or hook up with someone. Any map posted on this site before 2010 is no good for this course as the course has been updated since then. I hate repeating things, but the tee pads are horrible. Some of the pads are at their worst when they are with tree roots; not that the dirt ruts are much better. The tee signs are out dated and inaccurate. This park is also very busy with non-players. This park seems to have the need to be mowed a little more often than it is.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was really good here. There were a few holes that had little to offer, but many of the other holes made up for them. I would certainly like to come back here and play this course again. It was a real treat and even though the layout was confusing the first time, it is still fun to play. The lake is gorgeous and vegetation is really cool. It is worth a little road trip.

BTW, I just got a note from the president of NWADGC. He said that they will be getting concrete tee pads VERY soon (maybe next week). That is so exciting!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/30/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I Love this course it is fun to play and close to everything in Fayetteville. Great shade about half of the course. Most of the time their is now wind. Get a lot of players so you can find someone to show you around if you are new. Concrete are a new addition also new tee sign are comeing.
Cons: Sometime it gets thick with brush and some holes stay kinda of muddy. Walkers and joggers get in the way sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Needs more group info post on the board for activities. If you need a guide I am always up for a game. If you need more information jump on NWADGC.com there is a MAP of the holes.
BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/26/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: durangozac
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course. Nice mix of shots. Worth playing again.
Cons: It was muddy on most of the holes that were right next to the lake. The tees sucked.
Other Thoughts: I think that if this place doesn't get tees soon then there will be some crazy erosion problems around the existing "tee" areas.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.