Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / --   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/20/2007   12/12/2009
Review By: Janbobbo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course layout uses the potential of the park in a good way to create some challenging holes.
- The baskets are in a rather good condition.
- Hole #7 is one of the best holes I've played. Slightly downhill, and reasonably narrow, with a long, accurate and straight drive you will have the birdie chance.
-Good variety of open and wooded holes.
Cons: - Dirt tee pads.
- Could use some better signage, I had to ask some locals to find the first tee.
- Many walkers and bikers on the road through the park might hinder your play especially on hole #9
- Hole #12 (I think), by the lake was in my opinion far too narrow and far too close to the lake to even try it. I would think that alot of discs bounce off the trees and into the lake on that hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic, but average.

1    12/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great scenery. Plays on the north side of Lake Fayetteville. Half of the course is moderately wooded, while the other half is totally open. Course is very clean. Offers a good variety of shots, and a couple you need a pretty good pull to get to the basket for a bird. Discatcher baskets in pretty good shape.
Cons: Dirt tees. course crosses over itself, and some of the holes are difficult to navigate, especially trying to figure out which basket to throw at in a few places.
Other Thoughts: Nothing really special here as far as playability. A few holes make it a bit of a challenge, but no real epic holes or anything. It would get a better review with some concrete tees and some decent signs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first course...

5+    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: adraines
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Much improved since they did a lot of work following an ice storm there winter 2008-2009. Nice mix of wooded open holes, rewards precision and punishes erratic throws. Enough reachable holes, never extremely busy, but there are always people playing. Overall a good fun course.
Cons: Very thick underbrush, easy to lose discs in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good fun course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore

5+    8/17/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Barnesticle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A decent layout with mostly all reacable holes. A nice mix of wooded holes and wide open hyzers. And now has concrete tee pads!!!! They are a sight of beauty.
Cons: Keep it in the fairway or ya may lose your disc the schule eats up some plastic. Water doesn't really come into play.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice challenging course but still needs some more TLC.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My home course...

5+    7/2/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Mayo
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays around a man made lake in a well used park. There is a decent mix of shots as well as varied hole lengths. Brand new concrete tees trimmed with mulch are beautiful. Challenging without being too much work. Water fountains (for you and your dog) and restrooms are located right next to the course. Multiple pins on a few holes provide a little change from play to play.
Cons: There are teesigns, but they have little more than the hole number on them. Most are damaged or missing. The terrain is a bit overgrown and jungle-like in areas. This can make it tough to find your disc even if the shot was decent. The baskets are starting to show their age. They are still in decent shape, but are beginning to lean or are bent in areas. They used to be single chain, and somone added the inner chains to them. They do catch well though. Could use a few more trash cans, although there isn't a lot of trash on the course. A few trees could stand to be removed to make some of the holes less about luck and more about skill. The hole 12 long pin is really ridiculous. A lot of the little bushy trees near the short pin should be removed to make the long pin more playable. A few of the holes (8, 9 15, 16,) are wide open with just one tree between the tee and pin.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course overall, but with a little work it could stand out more. A lot of the cedar trees on the course have been trimmed up, and the city has been mowing more of the course more often. Still needs a lot of trimming, but the way things are improving here it seems it will get done. This course does see a lot of traffic. It seems there is always someone out there. It is a shame that this is the ONLY course in Fayetteville.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing for almost anyone

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 35.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Even the open holes typically have pin positions that make good use of obstacles (trees, mostly) so that there's rarely an open shot from the tee all the way to the hole.

Thoughtful positioning of pins means that even though this is a relatively short course in overall distance, it still offers some challenge even for experienced players with big arms.

Open holes typically have closely mown fairways through taller grass "rough" on either side -- visually appealing, helps with navigation, and offers an incentive to play the hole the way it was designed.

Very appealing setting with nearby hills, the lake, plenty of trees, etc.

Convenient location right off US Hwy 71 between Fayetteville and Springdale, and easy to reach from I-540.
Cons: Tee areas are all of the things other reviewers have said -- there's was a fair amount of recent wood mulch on most of them when I played, which helped visually define them a bit, but didn't offer a much better surface than the mud/dirt/roots.

Likewise, some of the areas near the lake, and some of the lower-lying grassy areas, could be swampy or even unplayable after wet weather. Not as bad as Lake Bella Vista, but pretty wet.

Navigation can be a little dicey, especially since the online map is wrong. Missed Hole 5 completely on my initial pass and had to go back and pick it up after 16. (Tip: even though you can see the tee pad for 6 when you finish 4, and it doesn't look like there could be another hole in the opposite direction from it, on the lake side of #4, there is -- go the "wrong" way and you'll find it. Of course, then you'll have to walk right back past the 4th basket again on your way to #6).

Walkers/cyclists could introduce some delays or put themselves in danger during busy times. Wasn't too much of a problem during my round -- had to wait for a family walking along the paved path near the basket for 15 to clear before my tee shot, and there was a couple that had spread a blanket and themselves out in the middle of the 16th fairway, but otherwise no problems. The lovebirds got the message when they saw me digging my disc out of my bag on the tee pad and moved soon enough.

Lots of stinging insects out and about on a warm late spring afternoon, as well as snakes -- saw a 4-5 ft black water snake of some kind slither into the brush around the base of a tree near the basket for 11, and almost slither out again -- he stopped with just his head and 8-10" of body sticking out, facing the hole, waiting for me to hole out before he moved on back to the lake.

Oh, and I'm not sure what's up with the extremely low height of the 15th basket. I guess the designer figured it was so short and had only a small thicket with two bigger trees coming out of it to protect the basket that something else was needed to throw you off.
Other Thoughts: The map posted in the Files/Links section here is wrong. Apparently there's been some reconfiguration of the holes. This is exacerbated by the fact that the main reconfigured hole is the first one; if there hadn't been locals headed out to play I'd probably have had to look longer to figure out where to start.

Essentially, Hole 1 has been flopped around backwards and turned into Hole 18. Hole 2 is now Hole 1, and the rest of the course plays pretty much as indicated on the map, with each hole number one lower than shown on the map. Hole 18 plays from what apparently used to be the pin area for Hole 1 to what used to be the tee area. The new layout actually makes more sense, as you now begin and end the course close to the parking area, instead of the old 18 finishing up several hundred feet away.

Overall, I really enjoyed my first round here, and I definitely plan to play here again when I'm in the area for work or visiting family.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore!

1    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: zwturner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is pretty much wonderful. I like the variation of angles you have for the tee shots, because the disc catchers are very strategically placed. Beautiful scenery helps add to this courses rating.
Cons: Like the other reviews on this course, it would be nice to concrete the tee boxes. The mud was somewhat of a factor.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to every chance i get now to play at Northshore.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Playing Course

1    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 91  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a well kept park on the north bank of Lake Fayetteville. Good variation of shots, open, tunnel, heavily wooded, short, long, water could be a problem on windy days but shouldnt be too big of a deal. Lots of pedestrians walking and biking around, keep an eye out and you will have no problems. Easy to get around with next tee signs located after every basket pointing the way. Noticed a few trash bins along the way looks like it helps with keeping the park tidy. The lake looks clean enough to get in if you throw one in it.
Cons: Can get very muddy when it is wet because of the dirt tee pads. Course map isnt exactly what the course is like but I used it and got around fine good for refrence I guess.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads would do this place wonders for sure. Ill go back in the summer time and maybe change my review when everything is green.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2007   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and Wooded shots.Challenges all you have.Tricky with a touch of power is needed.Some great signature holes.
Cons: Dirt T Boxs,Needs better T Pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course.I'd suggest playing it if you get the chance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough around the edges, but a fun course

1    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Kihmosabe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of variety, open fairways to extremely tight woods. The overall distance is relatively low, but many there aren't a lot of birdie candidates here due to clever use of obstacles. Shooting pro par is actually a challenge despite the short length. The designer did a nice job of utilizing what little elevation exists on the land; holes 7, 10, and 16 (i think) all let you rip off nice, open downhill shots. Hole 2 is a championship hole, over 300 ft tunnel shot bordering the lake (literally 10 ft from the fairway).
Cons: Poor to very poor tee boxes & inconsistent signs. Lack of alternate baskets (guess I am used to KC courses).
Other Thoughts: Cement tee boxes and accurate signs would go a long way. The park is heavily used, so you have to watch for walkers/bikers and other players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.