Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Worth playing for almost anyone

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: 12StonesScott
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 37.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Even the open holes typically have pin positions that make good use of obstacles (trees, mostly) so that there's rarely an open shot from the tee all the way to the hole.

Thoughtful positioning of pins means that even though this is a relatively short course in overall distance, it still offers some challenge even for experienced players with big arms.

Open holes typically have closely mown fairways through taller grass "rough" on either side -- visually appealing, helps with navigation, and offers an incentive to play the hole the way it was designed.

Very appealing setting with nearby hills, the lake, plenty of trees, etc.

Convenient location right off US Hwy 71 between Fayetteville and Springdale, and easy to reach from I-540.
Cons: Tee areas are all of the things other reviewers have said -- there's was a fair amount of recent wood mulch on most of them when I played, which helped visually define them a bit, but didn't offer a much better surface than the mud/dirt/roots.

Likewise, some of the areas near the lake, and some of the lower-lying grassy areas, could be swampy or even unplayable after wet weather. Not as bad as Lake Bella Vista, but pretty wet.

Navigation can be a little dicey, especially since the online map is wrong. Missed Hole 5 completely on my initial pass and had to go back and pick it up after 16. (Tip: even though you can see the tee pad for 6 when you finish 4, and it doesn't look like there could be another hole in the opposite direction from it, on the lake side of #4, there is -- go the "wrong" way and you'll find it. Of course, then you'll have to walk right back past the 4th basket again on your way to #6).

Walkers/cyclists could introduce some delays or put themselves in danger during busy times. Wasn't too much of a problem during my round -- had to wait for a family walking along the paved path near the basket for 15 to clear before my tee shot, and there was a couple that had spread a blanket and themselves out in the middle of the 16th fairway, but otherwise no problems. The lovebirds got the message when they saw me digging my disc out of my bag on the tee pad and moved soon enough.

Lots of stinging insects out and about on a warm late spring afternoon, as well as snakes -- saw a 4-5 ft black water snake of some kind slither into the brush around the base of a tree near the basket for 11, and almost slither out again -- he stopped with just his head and 8-10" of body sticking out, facing the hole, waiting for me to hole out before he moved on back to the lake.

Oh, and I'm not sure what's up with the extremely low height of the 15th basket. I guess the designer figured it was so short and had only a small thicket with two bigger trees coming out of it to protect the basket that something else was needed to throw you off.
Other Thoughts: The map posted in the Files/Links section here is wrong. Apparently there's been some reconfiguration of the holes. This is exacerbated by the fact that the main reconfigured hole is the first one; if there hadn't been locals headed out to play I'd probably have had to look longer to figure out where to start.

Essentially, Hole 1 has been flopped around backwards and turned into Hole 18. Hole 2 is now Hole 1, and the rest of the course plays pretty much as indicated on the map, with each hole number one lower than shown on the map. Hole 18 plays from what apparently used to be the pin area for Hole 1 to what used to be the tee area. The new layout actually makes more sense, as you now begin and end the course close to the parking area, instead of the old 18 finishing up several hundred feet away.

Overall, I really enjoyed my first round here, and I definitely plan to play here again when I'm in the area for work or visiting family.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore!

1    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: zwturner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is pretty much wonderful. I like the variation of angles you have for the tee shots, because the disc catchers are very strategically placed. Beautiful scenery helps add to this courses rating.
Cons: Like the other reviews on this course, it would be nice to concrete the tee boxes. The mud was somewhat of a factor.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to every chance i get now to play at Northshore.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Playing Course

1    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 106  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a well kept park on the north bank of Lake Fayetteville. Good variation of shots, open, tunnel, heavily wooded, short, long, water could be a problem on windy days but shouldnt be too big of a deal. Lots of pedestrians walking and biking around, keep an eye out and you will have no problems. Easy to get around with next tee signs located after every basket pointing the way. Noticed a few trash bins along the way looks like it helps with keeping the park tidy. The lake looks clean enough to get in if you throw one in it.
Cons: Can get very muddy when it is wet because of the dirt tee pads. Course map isnt exactly what the course is like but I used it and got around fine good for refrence I guess.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads would do this place wonders for sure. Ill go back in the summer time and maybe change my review when everything is green.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2007   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open and Wooded shots.Challenges all you have.Tricky with a touch of power is needed.Some great signature holes.
Cons: Dirt T Boxs,Needs better T Pads and signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course.I'd suggest playing it if you get the chance.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rough around the edges, but a fun course

1    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: Kihmosabe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of variety, open fairways to extremely tight woods. The overall distance is relatively low, but many there aren't a lot of birdie candidates here due to clever use of obstacles. Shooting pro par is actually a challenge despite the short length. The designer did a nice job of utilizing what little elevation exists on the land; holes 7, 10, and 16 (i think) all let you rip off nice, open downhill shots. Hole 2 is a championship hole, over 300 ft tunnel shot bordering the lake (literally 10 ft from the fairway).
Cons: Poor to very poor tee boxes & inconsistent signs. Lack of alternate baskets (guess I am used to KC courses).
Other Thoughts: Cement tee boxes and accurate signs would go a long way. The park is heavily used, so you have to watch for walkers/bikers and other players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots, wooded, open, tunnel. Fairly flat. Nice park with beautiful lake.
Cons: Lots of pedestrian, course holds water.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, even if you have to go out of your way to get here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout. It has a little something for everyone. It varies from short, tight, finesse holes to wide open, air-it-out, bomb-away holes. It's situated right next to Lake Fayetteville which is centrally located between Fayetteville and Springdale.

This course actually has fairways. The parks department mows the golf course far more frequently than the rest of the park, so there's actually an advantage to being in the fairway.
Cons: It may have heavy pedestrian traffic on a couple of holes, so you may have to wait a little while before teeing off on those.

There's tons of poison ivy out there. If you're allergic, stay away.

There are no maps or signs on most of the holes. Navigation can be a nightmare if you've never played here before.

The tee boxes are come in three styles: dirt, mud, and tree roots. None of which is that great to play on.
Other Thoughts: New tee boxes and signs would help this one a ton, but it's still the best in NW Arkansas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not that great of a course - prefered the other one!

1    9/9/2005   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good open, flat course. Great for beginner action. A few tricky holes
Cons: Poorly maintained - many tee boxes are dirt holes, some as much as a foot depressed due to overuse and under attention from the city. Poor to non-existent signs on the way in (if you don't know where you are going you'll have to look around to find it (right by the lake in the woods)
Other Thoughts: I remember having a fairly good time at this, having a flat in the parking lot, and going to play at the Jones Center disc golf course while I waited for Wal Mart to fix my tire. Right near Lewis & Clark, which stock Innova kit and all other kinds of outdoors gear.

We played the course Gulley Park and it was much more fun and entertaining, but I can understand why it had to be closed (too many hits on bystanders - went right through a heavily trafficked urban park). My buddy almost acing (hit the pin) 18 at Gulley, then four putting is still brought up on occasion when we all get together.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore

6/14/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 136  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played the course it was a beautiful summer day and the park was in very nice shape. About 2/3 of the holes are in the woods, several requiring you to hit very tight lines, and 1/3 are out in the open. The overall distance of the course is relatively short, but the challenging lines and holes can make up for this in regards to scoring. Some things that I liked a lot about this course were the shot variety (righties and lefties should be pretty equally challenged), the pretty setting with the lake surrounded by wooded hills along the side of the course, and the baskets were high quality preventing most spit outs. I went up for a tournament and had a great time.
Cons: The biggest negatives that I noticed were the tee boxes and tee signs. The boxes are dirt (therefore, the boxes were mud) and some were dug out a bit so that they held water. The signs were inconsistent on telling the distance. Maybe half the time they told you how many feet away you were and half the time they just said what hole number it was. Another potential negative about the course is that it could be tricky to find your way around the first time out there. Several times the course criss crosses itself and the next tee that you are supposed to play isn't the closest tee to you. The setup also led to some waiting as people on other holes could be teeing off in your throw zone. As others previous to me mentioned, I can also see how this could potentially be a sloppy course (mud and water wise), although when I played it was in very good shape some tee boxes excluded.
Other Thoughts: The course has some very fun holes. The long straight drive going towards the lake on 7 really is a pretty hole. Hole 12 is a beast with some wicked lines to try to hit especially in the long position. Hole 16 is a slightly downhill open 400 footer that makes for a fun drive since it is so reachable even for arms that usually wouldn't be able to put it that far. I greatly enjoyed myself playing Northshore, and I can't wait for another good excuse to get up there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer-rific!

3/31/2006   5/15/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, with the signature hole 7, a 400 foot long and 30 foot wide tunnel shot. 5-6 tight wooded shots with the rest being open hyzers.

It's an enjoyable round when it's dry.
Cons: Most of the course is at or below lake level and after it rains the course is sloppy for weeks. Dirt tee pads are eroded to the point of tree roots being exposed, and combine with wet conditions make for unpleasant tees.
Other Thoughts: If you like to throw hyzers 250-350, you'll be able to handle this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.