Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / --   3 / 414ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

2-4    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots, wooded, open, tunnel. Fairly flat. Nice park with beautiful lake.
Cons: Lots of pedestrian, course holds water.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, even if you have to go out of your way to get here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout. It has a little something for everyone. It varies from short, tight, finesse holes to wide open, air-it-out, bomb-away holes. It's situated right next to Lake Fayetteville which is centrally located between Fayetteville and Springdale.

This course actually has fairways. The parks department mows the golf course far more frequently than the rest of the park, so there's actually an advantage to being in the fairway.
Cons: It may have heavy pedestrian traffic on a couple of holes, so you may have to wait a little while before teeing off on those.

There's tons of poison ivy out there. If you're allergic, stay away.

There are no maps or signs on most of the holes. Navigation can be a nightmare if you've never played here before.

The tee boxes are come in three styles: dirt, mud, and tree roots. None of which is that great to play on.
Other Thoughts: New tee boxes and signs would help this one a ton, but it's still the best in NW Arkansas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not that great of a course - prefered the other one!

1    9/9/2005   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good open, flat course. Great for beginner action. A few tricky holes
Cons: Poorly maintained - many tee boxes are dirt holes, some as much as a foot depressed due to overuse and under attention from the city. Poor to non-existent signs on the way in (if you don't know where you are going you'll have to look around to find it (right by the lake in the woods)
Other Thoughts: I remember having a fairly good time at this, having a flat in the parking lot, and going to play at the Jones Center disc golf course while I waited for Wal Mart to fix my tire. Right near Lewis & Clark, which stock Innova kit and all other kinds of outdoors gear.

We played the course Gulley Park and it was much more fun and entertaining, but I can understand why it had to be closed (too many hits on bystanders - went right through a heavily trafficked urban park). My buddy almost acing (hit the pin) 18 at Gulley, then four putting is still brought up on occasion when we all get together.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Northshore

6/14/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played the course it was a beautiful summer day and the park was in very nice shape. About 2/3 of the holes are in the woods, several requiring you to hit very tight lines, and 1/3 are out in the open. The overall distance of the course is relatively short, but the challenging lines and holes can make up for this in regards to scoring. Some things that I liked a lot about this course were the shot variety (righties and lefties should be pretty equally challenged), the pretty setting with the lake surrounded by wooded hills along the side of the course, and the baskets were high quality preventing most spit outs. I went up for a tournament and had a great time.
Cons: The biggest negatives that I noticed were the tee boxes and tee signs. The boxes are dirt (therefore, the boxes were mud) and some were dug out a bit so that they held water. The signs were inconsistent on telling the distance. Maybe half the time they told you how many feet away you were and half the time they just said what hole number it was. Another potential negative about the course is that it could be tricky to find your way around the first time out there. Several times the course criss crosses itself and the next tee that you are supposed to play isn't the closest tee to you. The setup also led to some waiting as people on other holes could be teeing off in your throw zone. As others previous to me mentioned, I can also see how this could potentially be a sloppy course (mud and water wise), although when I played it was in very good shape some tee boxes excluded.
Other Thoughts: The course has some very fun holes. The long straight drive going towards the lake on 7 really is a pretty hole. Hole 12 is a beast with some wicked lines to try to hit especially in the long position. Hole 16 is a slightly downhill open 400 footer that makes for a fun drive since it is so reachable even for arms that usually wouldn't be able to put it that far. I greatly enjoyed myself playing Northshore, and I can't wait for another good excuse to get up there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer-rific!

3/31/2006   5/15/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, with the signature hole 7, a 400 foot long and 30 foot wide tunnel shot. 5-6 tight wooded shots with the rest being open hyzers.

It's an enjoyable round when it's dry.
Cons: Most of the course is at or below lake level and after it rains the course is sloppy for weeks. Dirt tee pads are eroded to the point of tree roots being exposed, and combine with wet conditions make for unpleasant tees.
Other Thoughts: If you like to throw hyzers 250-350, you'll be able to handle this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 and they mean "North Shore"

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good shot variety. 1/3 Open, 1/3 limited path, and 1/3 is some of the shortest, but tightest holes you will ever play.
Cons: One single elevation. Can get very busy.
Other Thoughts: A few of the tight holes are right on the edge of the lake. Kicking off of a tree into the lake is a very real possibility.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center