Fayetteville, AR 
Northshore DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mayo Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Very well laid out!

2-4    3/27/2015   3/27/2015
Review By: Drakeab
Played: 82  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- wooded, open, long, short, straight, right to left, left to right. No two holes felt the same.

Good use of lake- pin locations on holes with water make you think twice about going for it... but of course you end up going for it because you didn't come to play for pars.

Most holes are fair and offer a line. The only ones that I didn't have a fair line were 1 and 12, but I didn't play with a local, so maybe one exists.

Benches- cool hand made benches on most holes for when you are playing behind an eight some (actually happened to me here.)

Poles with hooks for your bag to keep them off the muddy ground.

Simple navigation for the most part. I will say that the map on listed here is outdated though.
Cons: Extremely muddy- If you are able to, wear boots and bring a towel. I can't overstate the importance of a towel on this course. Your discs will definitely get wet and muddy.

Signage- Some holes have a distance marked on them that seemed to be reasonably accurate, but no signs at all on 15-18. If the signs included a layout of the hole, that would help a lot for those new to the course. On 13, I thought I was safe in some brush and actually ended up in the lake. No idea that there was water near the basket. (I guess I could have looked at a map beforehand)
Other Thoughts: Lots of great holes here, but a few stand out.

5- Short RHFH hole with the basket about 20 feet away from water.

6- have to hit a gap about 150 feet ahead and keep it straight for a basket behind a tree.

7- long straight fairway lined neatly with trees and growth on both sides.

10- short downhill throw with water about 30 feet past the basket.

13- short with a double mando forcing a left to right throw with water all around the basket... Could be one of the easier holes on the course, but somehow I ended up bogeying both times played. Don't let the distance trick you!

The mud and signs are really the only big cons out here. If you are able to count those two out, you will really enjoy this course! Definitely should play if you are in the area and even go out of your way if anywhere near!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course year round

5+    6/20/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: hhardaway
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Great variety of shots
-Well marked tees and trail
-Awesome place to spend an afternoon
Cons: -Muddy on holes close to the shore immediately following rain
-Very spread out (not a con if you have plenty of time, but definitely expect to spend over and hour to play all 18)
-Easy to lose discs if the vegetation is overgrown
Other Thoughts: This course uses the landscape to its full potential, great shots near the lake and farther inland. Snakes stay away from the heavily traveled parts, but if you have to track a disc in the woods, I recommend making a little noise so you don't spook anything up. Overall a great course, worth playing again and again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Avehnor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Nice openness so you can space your groups. Great scenery and a good use of park land. Most people are really nice. It's always a bonus to find a tortoise and have a "mascot" for a hole or two until you can get it out of harm's way.
Cons: It can be muddy and busy. Snakes!!
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners and advanced players!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Northshore

5+    6/5/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: dsypult
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 10/13/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course in Arkansas! It is an easy course for even amateurs to do well on, but yet it can be challenging enough for even the more experienced disc golfers. Beautiful area, good equipment used. The rough isn't so unmanaged that you can't find your discs, and if you can keep your disc on the green, you'll be okay.
Cons: The area that the course is built doesn't have a great drainage system but it's gotten much better. Some areas the brush could stand being cut down a bit.
Other Thoughts: It is in the top two of the better courses in northwest Arkansas for a reason! Go play a round there and see what you think!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    5/8/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: CSuther
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, nice Discatcher baskets, and well maintained. The course begins with a few technical lightly wooded shots by the lake, and then opens up to some long shots in the open, goes back to the lake and ends with a few open long holes again. The views while playing are incredible, and the course is very well designed. Many people have written reviews complaining of the mud, but the staff has recently mulched the muddy areas of the course, effectively drying most muddy spots.
Cons: This is a fairly flat course, and there is always the possibility of losing a disc in the lake, but that is easily avoidable. Only real disadvantage to this course is that it can be pretty crowded on good days.
Other Thoughts: This course's combination of short and long, straight and curved, wooded and open shots has helped me improve my disc golf skills more than any other course in my first year of play. I have seen it regularly maintained as I went regularly as a student at the University this past year. Definitely a recommended course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/16/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: maddy13
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varius types of holes,beutiful veiw. Most sundays they have a mini going on out their that is pretty fun the comunnity keeps it a clean and well mannered course
Cons: muddy,challenging
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in north west Arkansas

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best around

5+    9/4/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right by the lake and the views are incredible
- Nice open and defined fairways on most holes
- Very nice Innova Discatcher pro baskets
- Concrete teepads in great condition
- Friendly locals who allow me to play through
- Ok tee signs have distances on most signs
- A few ace oppurtunities
- Lots of different challenges throughout the course (some wide open, very technical wooded shots, tunnel shots, etc.) Lots of variety and different forms of difficulty.
- Pretty easy to get to.
- Navigation is easy in the couse becasue there are lots of signs showing the direction of the next tee.
Cons: - On a few holes, you may have to wait for pedestrians to move along before throwing such as hole 9 because there is a concrete walking trail that is always busy.
- Since this course is one of the best around, it is the busyest around. If you are under time constraints, this may not be the place to play. Most locals will let you play through but never in the 20+ times ive played this course have i ever been able to be finished in less than an hour.
- A few holes are easy to lose a disc in especially in the summertime where the vegitation is great.
- I wish there was a little bit of elevation
- Course doesnt drain well from rain at all. If youre going to play after rainfall, be prepared for a very muddy course.
Other Thoughts: This is really a nice course. It has a nice mix of different types of holes and it is pretty challenging. The reason im giving this course a 4 is because it really is an all around great course and it is always fun to play. If you are in the area, you should play this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of the road course

2-4    3/16/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Semi-challenging. Some good signature holes.
Cons: Flat, flat flat.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't excite me much for being in AR. You would expect more elevation changes. It is however a course that I would stop and play again next time I'm coming through Fayettville.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Plenty of Range

5+    6/26/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of various types of shots
Short and long holes
Some open fairways for long drives
Holes through trees for technicality
Can be played in an hour
Gorgeous location
Well maintained
Cons: Not a ton of holes for smashing drives
Getting muddy
Other Thoughts: Awesome medium sized course, this is my go-to course in Fayetteville area. It's definitely the best in the Fayetteville/Springdale/Rogers area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Springdale, AR area

1    3/28/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Ricky1962
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tee boxes.
Full 18 holes.
Good signage.
Good mix of obstacle and open.
Only a couple of disc-eater holes.
Cons: Grounds could use a little better drainage in many areas to keep the mud down, but at least there were some boardwalks in place in some of the worst places.
Other Thoughts: I think this course offers the best experience for golfers of my skill level in the Springdale, AR area.
The cement tees really are a plus for an enjoyable game (even if the fairways are a little soggy).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.