Salem, OR 
Woodmansee Park Share
Uploaded By: RallySoob Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome course

1    8/3/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: adiscted
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Killer set up for a 9 hole! I love how they have 2 different teepads at each hole to make an 18. I thought there was plenty of technical value, without being overwhelmed by too much tech. I'm a newbie, so it was a perfect combination from my perspective. Mellow, fun, and the different teepads actually give the holes significantly different views/approaches on a couple. I think 11/2 and 16/7 we're probably the most different
Cons: Playing this course as an 18 hole might conflict with smooth flow of players on a busy day due to the seperate teepads playing the same baskets.
Other Thoughts: We showed up to play this course around 9:30 am which appeared to be an awesome time since there was only one other small group on the course. I would assume that this course can get quite busy though. This is my first review, hope it helps someone :) if you're in salem though, it's more than worth the stop

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/20/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of right/left doglegs, straight shots, uphill/downhill, open fairways, and trees. You'll get to use a variety of skills. For the most part the next tee is close to the basket so the course plays fast.

Not much rough. Less time looking for discs = more time throwing.

Great tees. Great baskets. Good signage.

Good facilities - garbage cans and bathrooms.

There are two tees for each hole so you can play 18.

The course plays out and around the other park facilities so you don't have other activities blocking the fairways.

Bottom line: It's a fun 9 hole course that has more variety than a lot of 18s and it plays fast.
Cons: Occasional logjams. It's a 9 hole. On a nice day there's going to be some standby time.

Alcohol not allowed.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a destination course, but it's worth checking out. If you're close or have an opportunity to play it you shouldn't pass it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little 9

5+    8/27/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - The course has an immense amount of variety as no two holes feel the same. Different distances and elevation changes.

Scenery - I really enjoyed the shade from most of the holes, especially when the summer heat makes playing Cascade unbearable.

Technicality - Most of the holes force you to throw differently, unlike Cascade in which i can throw all backhand or forehand, i have to mix it up a bit here.

Crowds - Its never really been crowded here at all.

Cleanliness - The park is very clean and for the most park kept up super nice.

Alternate Tee boxes - i only use a few alt tee boxes, but its still nice to have them, i dont ever play all "18" holes, but its a nice touch for the space of the park.

Cons: Vandals - The practice basket was stolen not too long ago and some vandals messed up all the tee signs. :(

Pedestrians - Although there arent a ton of disc players there is a lot of foot traffic in the course sometimes.

Overgrowth - Sometimes its hard to find a disc because of all the undergrowth and on a few of the forest holes its very hard not to hit a tree that will send your disc flying out of your view. (Spotters reccomended) Ive lost two discs on hole 6 when it was messier (its been cleaned since then) sadly i feel like they were found but no one called me for them.
Other Thoughts: I have always enjoyed Woodmansee, plus its just a few miles from my house. During the summer its been great to go there and get away from the heat. I think beginners to advanced players would get a little of something from the course. I would like someone to run an Ace Run competition here. There are bunnies sometimes on the path and the park itself is actually pretty nice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Credit where credit is due

5+    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Sonny2Gunz
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All holes but two (both of 5's are dirt & 7's alt is a mess of ankle breaking nastyness) have 2 very nice cement Tee pads (plural).

Excellent 9 hole layout for the space
- available elevation change is used well.
- the "flow" of the course is natural feeling.

Forces technical shots
- trees are a major factor throughout the course with interesting lines to the pin from each pad.
- forehand, backhand and overhead throwers (even you lefties) will see the balance of the course's dog legs and natural obstacles.

Great course for those without big D
- if you're more accurate than powerful, your game will shine at this course. Power throwers will also enjoy the ability to reach the pin from the pad IF you can find the windows. (the open field holes will also let you flex accordingly)

Unique pin placement
- No two holes are the same, or feel the same.
- multiple pads for each hole add a level of difficulty and variety.
- greenskeeper changes pin placement often to keep the course interesting.
- pins are tucked away in well thought-out spots that use the natural obstacles quite well.

Bunnies!
-yup I said that.
-bring the significant other & kids to feed the rabbits that inhabit the briars by the playground while you play a round.
Cons: Slippery when wet
- The local DG club has to ask the city parks dept. before doing any maintenance. When the weather is wet, no vehicles are allowed in for maintenance and the course becomes very muddy. That said, I've noticed that only a couple days of sun and foot traffic pack the mud nicely into regular dirt walking paths and can be played without boots.

Multiple tee pads can be confusing to first time players.
- Wait, do I throw from this one or that one? With vandals having ruined the original signs, there is nothing telling the course-goer which tee is the front or back 9 for that hole. Asking a friendly local helps, and from what I've been told, there are new tee signs on the way.

The walkout from hole 1 to 2, without a sign would be a stab in the dark for the first timer. (walk west along foot path, cross small footbridge & you're there)

Other Thoughts: The group in charge of maintaining this course has done quite a bit of work since it's inception. With some preventative maintenance in the fall, the mud issue could be lessened. I look forward to playing here throughout the summer!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.