Salem, OR 
Woodmansee Park Share
Uploaded By: RallySoob Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 271ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    9/19/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best 9 hole par 3 courses I've played
-Challenging to hit the proper line on the wooded holes
-Even the open holes (1,7,8) have creative hole locations near trees
-GREAT signage. You don't need the course map.
-Dual tees on every hole, which look significantly different from the regular ones. I didn't have time for 18 when I played but would definitely want to do that sometime
-It is in a multi-use park, but the disc golf area was only disc golfers.
Cons: -Blackberry thickets on some holes. When we played, my dad lost a disc on 6.
-I could see this course getting very busy on weekends
-I could also see the course getting nasty muddy in wintertime
Other Thoughts: -Overall a great course if you've got an hour or two. The second tee on most of the holes is a completely different line. Next time I'm in Salem, this course is on my list!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must see Woodmansee

5+    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: johnbeastjohnston
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded city park with a masterful layout using only 25 or so acres. This technical short courses features 18 tee-pads to 9 baskets. NOT AM. and PRO. tees but front 9 and back 9 due to the distinctively different lines to the basket from both tee-pads. If played in order designed, the front 9 is all the tee-pads on the LEFT, and back 9 tee-pads on the RIGHT. Some walkout signs are in place to guide your way around now and course is due to be finished by July 9th 2011. Tee-sighns, walkout signs, Tee-pads, kiosk map and all! At Woodmansee you must focus on aim and find the lines. Many optical illusions that make you see other routes from the pin looking back to the tee egging you on to try it another way. A city park with a challenge to get under par for most.
Cons: Trafic! Be cautious of other park patrons and remember to yell FORE! Mud in the winter months, not enough hours in the day to play.
Other Thoughts: Local club (Capital City Disc Golf) has worked hard to make this course the best in the area to introduce people to disc golf. CCDG also hosts mixed format events there using the 9 hole loop. CCDG's GLOW events there are great cause the park is open till midnight and it gets DARK there!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course

1    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice technical course with some distance towards and @ the end. Hole #3 is played off of the pad that is up the hill from #2 basket(north) and is changed periodically from a fairly strait shot to a dog leg to the left. Hole #6 is potentially a disc eater, I personally throw strait through to the clearing and usually end up with a good lie...............good enough for birdie :P
Cons: I had a very hard time reading the course a few years back so I would recommend taking a friend who knows the course or getting a map of the course before hand. Personally I would like to see some better use of the area and make some more holes but other than that I do not see anything to improve.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely nice for a quick 9

5+    9/28/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: jorje_villafan
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course with a fair amount of diversity. Lots of tight wooded shots with some open. It also has a bunch of reachable blind shots (which are always fun). The course should help players improve many aspects of their game
Cons: No tee pads, though I'm sure they'll be going in soon enough. Blackberries. Oh, and #6 is pretty rough :).
Other Thoughts: I gave this a 4 because of what it will be in a year and a half...... It's also a good compliment to Salems other course at Cascade Gateway Park.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.