Salem, OR 
Woodmansee Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left   (Taken 6/2010)
Disc Golf Kiosk



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Sooo much fun, yet unfinished

1    5/25/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some great hole designs.
Good use of elevation.
Nice tucked in pin positions make some holes quite challenging.
Good mix of long and short holes.
Good baskets.
Multiple tee positions.
Multiple basket positions.
Course forces you to throw a variety of different shots.
Nice mix of woods holes and field holes.
Field holes still retain interesting pin locations.
Cons: Course needs tee pads badly! Or at least flattening out the natural tee areas.
No tee signs (yet) and no directional markers from hole to hole.
Long walkouts that might have been avoided in course layout.
A few holes seem to lack a good enticing route to the pin.
Course could use some sort of sign or kiosk before the first hole explaining the course. Maps would also have been good.
Only 9 holes (explained more below).
Other Thoughts: It absolutely kills me to have to give Woodmansee a 2 as of now. I had a blast playing a few rounds here on a short road trip. I (luckily) found a local player to show me around the course and I was struck by the fun and interesting lines around this deceptively challenging course. The course forces you to throw through some tight wooded gaps but also has a few full field shots as well. Part of what made me so happy with this course was that there wasn't a single hole that wasn't interesting in some manner, from the first to the last; even some of the best NW courses suffer from one or two oddballs. The reason the course gets the rating it does is that as of now it's an unfinished course. The course is utterly unnavigable without a map or guide, some of the walkouts are long and would not be simple to figure out even with some trial and error. Also the course needs some sort of tee pad, the natural pads, as they stand, are just waiting to sprain an ankle, even just flattening out the pad basins would be an improvement. The final critique I would have on Woodmansee is that this course has so much space for a few extra holes, a few walkouts felt like they could be stand-alone holes as is, it saddens me that people always hesitate to make a course 13 or 14 holes just because they can't pack in 18. I really hope that when I come back to Woodmansee at some point some of these improvements can be made, just adding rubber tee pads and putting up tee signs and directional markers would make the course a 3 with no other alterations.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Course

1    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice technical course with some distance towards and @ the end. Hole #3 is played off of the pad that is up the hill from #2 basket(north) and is changed periodically from a fairly strait shot to a dog leg to the left. Hole #6 is potentially a disc eater, I personally throw strait through to the clearing and usually end up with a good lie...............good enough for birdie :P
Cons: I had a very hard time reading the course a few years back so I would recommend taking a friend who knows the course or getting a map of the course before hand. Personally I would like to see some better use of the area and make some more holes but other than that I do not see anything to improve.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid wooded 9 hole course

5+    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: reanthon
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mostly wooded, makes the course difficult
- Nice Discatcher baskets
- Feels like your outside city limits, not in a park after the first hole
- Nice use of topography on 3 of the holes
Cons: - Very hard to follow if it's your first time (although the baskets to have an arrow on them that points you in the general direction of the next tee pad)
- Natural tees fit in with the atmosphere of the park, put are a problem in the rainy half of the year.
Other Thoughts: - No tee pad on #3, the locals usually tee off from the cement pad, behind and to the right of the second basket. Hole #6 is rough. If you go off left off the tee, you will be in thick blackberry bushes and you could easily lose a disk. There really doesn't seem to be a good route on the hole unless you're really precise with a forehand otherwise luck is key. If you can toss 320 ft, all the holes are easily reachable from the tee provided you know your plastic well enough to bypass the maze of trees. If you stray to far of the "fairway", you're going to be looking at some creative upshots. A really fun course that will improve the accuracy aspect of the game of intermediate players.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Thick...

2-4    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: RallySoob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Scenery
Great Practice Hole
Challenging Holes
Easy to Find Disc
Shaded and cool on hot days
Cons: Hard to Navigate, Need Course Map
Hard to find Tee on 2 holes
Small, Only 9 holes
Very Thick Woods blocking basket
Other Thoughts: It was fun, very challenging but a little to thick for my liking. In the pics you can see how many tree's blocking the basket. Surprisingly easy to find your disc as the ground cover is light. I love the seclusion of the course, the shade was especially nice as it was hot. Definately make sure to bring the course map your first time out or else you will have no idea where to go.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and in the Trees

2-4    10/5/2008   10/6/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Many obstacles makes it a challenge.
-I really liked the tree on the 1st basket. That limb is a disc blocker.
-After the first basket you forget your in a city park. The trees are very dense.
-There is a practice basket set up near the first tee.
-The park has restrooms nearby, unlike some others I have been too.
Cons: -Blackberry vines and poison ivy. I got to deal with both of those. The local cub has been working hard on this problem.
-Hard to navigate to the next tee. Without someone who played there before you will have a hard time finding the next tee. I hear someone has signs in work. Vandals have been a problem with some earlier temp signs.
-Tee pads are just dirt. When its wet they turn into mud and the slip sliding starts.
Other Thoughts: This place is coming along nicely. The only thing it really needs are signs directing you around. I hope they make some adjustments before they to much work on the tee's. 1, 4, 5 could be made longer. Good job to those who made it happen.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely nice for a quick 9

5+    9/28/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: jorje_villafan
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course with a fair amount of diversity. Lots of tight wooded shots with some open. It also has a bunch of reachable blind shots (which are always fun). The course should help players improve many aspects of their game
Cons: No tee pads, though I'm sure they'll be going in soon enough. Blackberries. Oh, and #6 is pretty rough :).
Other Thoughts: I gave this a 4 because of what it will be in a year and a half...... It's also a good compliment to Salems other course at Cascade Gateway Park.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.