Shelbyville, TN 
HV Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 321ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: fidei defensor3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: -good signs
-good blend of open and wooded areas
-good tee offs
-nice practice hole
Cons: -public park so people can get in your way
-loud with the play place and skate park located along the course
-children walk aimlessly through the course while you are trying to throw
Other Thoughts: watch out for the children seriously i have almost hit one before
it is also located by a walking trail that is used almost every day so if you overthrow a hole then you risk the chance of hitting a random person

Reminds me of the Originals from the late 70's

1    5/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Decent short course in a public park. Good signage at the tee boxes and baskets are in decent condition. There are enough obstacles to keep you honest.
Cons: A couple long walks from pin to tee.
At any given time a birthday party or sports team may be taking up the course given it is in a public park and the course criss-crosses almost the whole thing.
Other Thoughts: Being a newer course it is still a nostalgic throw back to the originals @ Brahan in Huntsville and @ Cedars of Lebanon in Nashville because the park is very old.

 After thought

1    5/25/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Plenty of space. Variety of wooded and open holes. Well kept. Challenging tree lines on most open holes. No crowd. Signs are awesome.
Cons: Right next to a small skate park (nothing against skaters, it's just loud). Long walk to 1st/ or from last hole. I think some of the open holes could have been extended towards the next tee to make it more worth the long walks.
Other Thoughts: Not in an easy location to get to, unless you live around Shelbyville. There was plenty of people around, but no one playing DG. Pretty easy to play, if you don't mind walking.

 

5+    3/12/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: I'm new and this course has made me a better technical thrower and I enjoy the organized layout they have it's perfect for beginners and still decent for ams to.
Cons: Don't go on busy weekends it gets to packed sometimes you got to shout our fore on hole 6 fairway cause children like walking in the woods. The walks from 16 to 17 is a little long

 HV Griffin

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was quick and fun to play as a newbie. I tossed 2 birdies today. Best game I have played to date. Final 1 over par. Good course for beginners. A decent mix of open baskets and semi-technical baskets. The signs were very helpful and accurate.
Cons: Very, very crowded. Basket 1- soccer practice, Basket 11- cheerleading practice, Basket 17 and 18- football practice. People everywhere. So much room yet they practice in the fairways and use the baskets as water cooler holders. Play at the wrong time and you will have to pass up a few baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a fun place to play. I will play there again. I would not want to have driven a long way to play this course and find 4 baskets unplayable. Timing is everything on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great trainer course

1    11/26/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: 2naphish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short accurate shots in the woods and a couple of real crunchers for the big arms. i love it! quick and easy to play a couple of rounds. nice baskets signs and tee pads. bathrooms, drink machines with gatorade and other various sodas.
Cons: could usea a few pro pads on a few of the back 9. there are a few "stupid" walks to the next tee on the back. hole #1 is poorly designed since i never know if there is going to be carnival,a soccer game or some other function going on directly in the "fairway"
Other Thoughts: since most people in this area didn't know this game exists, this is a fantastic starter course to expose the locals to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    5/10/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its a nice little course with a slight difficulty rating because of the trees. the concrete pads are nice. the entire course is new so all of the signs and baskets are in great shape.
Cons: at times there can be tons of people just around at the pavilions and a lot of them dont speak english..... and they have a megaphone...... kinda distracted me. this course is fairly short so dont expect to spend a lot of time here. a couple of holes cross heavily populated areas. you might have to skip a few holes. there is a lot of cedar trees... dont throw your disc high it will be lost forever.
Other Thoughts: a nice course... a little loud at times worth a short trip but if you are more than half an hour away you might not want to go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good for beginners or those improving there game

1    4/4/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: treethacker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of 4/4/09 this course now has signs up at each tee. Each sign tells you the distance from tee to basket and the direction of the next tee. Signs look very nice and some work has been put into them. Hope they stay in good shape
Cons: Not a good course for pros as most of the shots are short for the exception of the 1st tee and #17.
The first tee and the basket are also separated by a soccer field which means if it is in use you'll probably have to skip it and go to tee#2 to start also beware this is in a park and you'll have to watch for people walking in the woods who are totally unaware of you or see you but have no idea why your standing there on a concrete pad holding a "frisbee".
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course for beginners and maybe for those whose game is improving.
Wooded area is a challenge for all!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for a quicky

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course with a little challenge peppered all around. Don't let the short distances fool you. Although ace opportunities are abundant, there are also plenty of trees and they can make you work for birdies if you are not careful. The atmosphere is really nice and the trees and rocky areas are a great place for a somewhat scenic round. While there are not many drastic elevation changes there is a good mix of slight doglegs left and right. I found myself taking some time to plan a good route. Sometimes I chose a riskier path and paid big with a couple extra throws. Other times it paid off with a nice reward. There are some good placements of baskets with nice looks but some are tucked in some tormenting locations adding to the challenge. There are a few open holes mixed in as well for a break from the trees. There are a few longer holes mixed in, most notably number 17 and 18. Overall this is a fun little course that you can breeze through in an hour or so.

Concrete tee pads are always a nice feature and these have hole numbers painted on them. The course is easy to follow even without any signs and flowed quite well. The baskets seemed basically brand new and had no damage. The practice basket near hole number one also gives you a chance to warm up.

This is a great course to bring the family along, especially if you have younger children. I think the shorter holes help build the confidence of a younger or new player nicely. I like the fact that there are courses here and there designed with families in mind but still offer a degree of difficulty to pacify an experienced player as well. This course seemed to do both quite well.

Cons: There is a lack of amenities including but not limited to signs, onsite info kiosk, trash cans, and benches.

Most if not all pro players, namely those that prefer a long course, will probably be disappointed with the shorter holes. This is especially true because as noted by some previous reviewers, a few of the holes could have been designed with a little more distance. Nevertheless, the course serves its purpose well.

Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent DGC is 20 minutes down the road and right off of I-24. It's worth a stop to play both if you are in the area.

I played this course after a few days of steady rain. There was lots of running and standing water all around. A local that I played with told me that the creek beds are normally dry. There was heavily flowing water while I was there. I say all that to say that if you are in the area after heavy rain then this is a totally different course. With the water hazards in play it added positively to some of the holes. They were not without an annoyance on others though. The water was too deep and wide to cross at most points with no bridges close enough to make it convenient to cross. This is compounded by the fact that the fairways cross back and forth the water quite often.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: brattenj
Played: 286  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As mentioned by others this course is a good test of wooded accurracy and midrange creativity. With tee signs this would be an even better course.
Cons: Lack of signs.
Other Thoughts: Wow. I guess the other posters must throw every drive 500 ft. and are "bored" with the intracacy of midrange accuracy. This course is not the best I have ever played, but it at least rates a "good" rating. And I think we should tell Shelbyville to pull the course out of the ground because it is "too far out of the way" WHAT? This course has some maturing to do but allows for great creativity and a fun round in an age of "hey lets put a basket 1000 ft. away in an open field and throw at it"

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.