Ishpeming, MI 
Al Quaal Recreation Area DGC Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
wasn't this superman's dad's name?

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Cons:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. Intertwined with MANY other amenities. This course is dangerous to be sure.

Teesigns-- there are no teesigns in place anymore.

Routing and nav-- without teesigns this place is a nightmare to route. I guess you could look for where people are gathered and there is probably a basket somewhere nearby.

Baskets-- Really bad. Really old and home made. These things are even green to perfectly blend in with the grass and trees?
Other Thoughts:
yep, it's bad guys.
course bagged.

 OK for a quick round

1    8/13/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only positive comment I can come up with is that the course exists and has baskets to throw at.
Cons: Extremely poor layout with other sports areas mingled within the fairways. Too open to provide any difficulty other than throwing around horseshoe pits and people.
Other Thoughts: This course could be soooo much better. The area is beautiful and the park would support a much better layout. It was nice to take a break from the road and play 9 holes but not a course I would drive out of my way for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Lake Superior Beat Down

1    8/16/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A staggering amount of diversity in a 9 hole course. Blind drives & open field shots to heavily wooded "corridors", short to gargantuan lengths, and a nice amount of OB.

Lake Superior is a stone's throw away, and the wind here can be brutal. We had 45-50+ mph "gusts" that blew up sandstorms from the baseball diamond and made new Firebirds flippy. You aren't just playing the course, you are playing against Mother Nature, even on a sunny day.

Easy on/off from the main drag if you are travelling across the UP. Much better of the two courses in the Marquette area (not exactly a high hurdle).
Cons:
Idiotic design. The kind of design that Forrest Gump looks at and says "stupid is as stupid does." #7 Tee is smack dab in the middle of #4 fairway. #4 just so happens to be the longest hole of the course which demands a Big Arm drive. There is much more wrong, but that alone loses this course 2-discs worth of rating.

The course plays in the field only, and shares real estate with baseball, volleyball and horseshoe pits all within reach of your throws (and more likely to reach them due to the wind.) The individual holes are fun and each had a design that I liked, but the whole course only works if you have NO other people recreating . . . anywhere.

Signage ranged from sharpie on 4x4 to laminated pages. Each hole had a personalized name and description of the flight path, which was nice, but it was in pathetic disrepair.
Other Thoughts:
There is a significant amount of land that could be used to spread out the layout and make for a very nice 9 or maybe even 18 hole course. Something, anything, should be done to remedy the layout, as you are just asking for trouble with the current configuration.

After playing, we were discussing the course in the car, and I realized I couldn't give it a very high rating. This is a shame, as I had a ball playing this little 9-holer coming back from Highbridge, but there are far too many flaws to earn more than a "passable" rating, and I'm really pushing that rating in the first place.

The bad layout is not a deal breaker, as there are not many people in the UP in the first place, and this park was deserted when we played. As long as you understand up front that you need to be careful of errant discs, this course can be fun.

My advice is, if you are in the area, come to Al Quaal, keep your head up, your wits about you, and carry a very overstable disc that is 3-4 speeds too fast for you. It may be the only one you throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs a LOT of work and a true disc golfer touch

1    9/11/2007   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I honestly cannot think of any pros for the course itself. The only pro is the recreational area itself and the hope that disc golf could expand into some of the hills and woods surrounding the lake.
Cons: Mainly the absolutely poor design, considering multiple groups and players all in the same areas. 1) there are crossing fairways, what a joke! 2) many of the tees are just steps away from the previous basket. Thus the groups behind you can't even throw drives on the previous tee because your group is standing right next to the pin as you drive on the next hole. What I'm saying is the design SUCKS! No consideration for skill levels (why not have multiple tees, they're just dirt!). No consideration for other people out there who may interfere. If you're a chucker out flinging discs off your hip and dont care about anyone else around you on the course, then you may be able to enjoy your 40 out here.
Only 9 holes. Most play across a wide open section of the park. They border the entrance of the park, along the city streets, across from houses. Baskets are all old and rusty pieces of junk. Tees are dirt and lopsided, uneven and rutted. Flow between the holes is awful, and direction is tough to find your way around. The layout and use of the land is horrible, lacks true disc golf design. I was amazingly disappointed with this course.
Other Thoughts: The land available at Al Quaal is amazing and disc golf here could be a world class venue with a true designer's touch and utilizing the natural features and terrain. As it stands, the course is poorly designed, in a horrible location of the park, poor baskets, bad tees, and no good direction or signage. Just skip this one, and play Powder Mill or Silver Creek instead! The landowner also does not fully support disc golf as a recreational activity here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly solid course

1    8/31/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: setebos
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has some nice variations of style between holes; some short, challenging shots and some longer, more open holes.
Cons: Single-layer chain baskets, no tee pads; got confused a few times about where the next hole is. Also a few overlapping fairways where you'd have to wait for the people on the next tee to throw.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fairly fun, quick course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.