San Diego, CA
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #14 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Fun Course

1    3/18/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: gusisfishin@gmail.co
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Fun Course. Lots of things in the way, and a ton of basket placements. Baskets get moved EVERY Monday. Well cared for. There must have been 10 guys out there taking care of stuff on this course on a Tuesday Morning.
Cons: Little tricky to find your way on your first time, and, crowded because it's sooooooo fun.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is challenging but friendly for beginners. Lots of grade changes. You will need to use most of your disk in your bag.
Cons: Crowded. Crowded crowded. That's my only complaint about the course. you'll definitely have to wait almost at every pad to be able to throw

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Design, Too Crowded

1    8/23/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park itself is very pretty, well landscaped, and cared for. There are lots of different types of shots, and the course is pretty interesting, start to finish.
Cons: Like everything else in California, it is incredibly crowded. You have to wait on almost every pad, and you are always worried about getting hit by a disc. The crowd ruined it for me.
Other Thoughts: As a course that has been around a long time, it is fun to play if you are in the area. Try to avoid evenings and weekends cause it is just packed with people.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Got it all

5+    1/18/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Coolest basket locations in SD
Variety of shots
Beautiful atmosphere
Awesome pro shop
Cons: The CROWDS!
Other Thoughts: This is the course to test all of your disc golf abilities. Love playing Morley Morley Morley Offers everything you would want in a course except waiting at every hole :/

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    11/14/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: bangarangarang
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: My home course, I love it. Pins constantly moving to many different positions. Great events thrown here all the time. Best spot in So-Cal.
Cons: None to report, this course just offers so much I miss living there.
Other Thoughts: Keep it up Diego!

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Design/Layout/Maintenance, but longest waits in SD

5+    4/25/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Every hole has multiple positions, ranging from 3 to 7 basket positions rotated weekly.
-The course is very well maintained.
-Exceptional variety of holes with regard to drives required
-Tree density variation is exceptional
-Weekly doubles
-19 holes (weird but unique)
Cons: -VERY LONG wait times unless you go before 8am
-Little terrain change (mostly grass, some dirt/wood chips)
-Parking can be difficult
Other Thoughts: The course itself is a 5.0 without a doubt, but with rounds typically taking 3 to 3.5hrs for this pay-to-play course (although it's an all-day fee) and the difficulty in parking at times, unfortunately that makes the Morley Field experience somewhat less enjoyable.
Honestly have no problem with the pay-to-play aspect because it's well maintained. Really, it's the wait.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded!!

1    9/11/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Homemedics
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots and different basket placements to change it up. Pro shop had a good selection of discs and food and beverage. Overall a great course!
Cons: Crowded!! We showed up on a weekday at 8:30 and had to wait through 3 groups just to start! Also, lots of holes cross paths and you hear fore like every ten seconds!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/31/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical - a wide variety of shots, elevations, woods, bombs. Good people in general and a well stocked pro shop! The stoners and drunks can be amusing as well.
Cons: Crowds!! This place is POPULAR! Expect to do some waiting. The drunk stoners can be a pain in the butt. Parking can be an issue but if you don't mind a shirt walk in there us plenty nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I feel pretty darn lucky. This course will help you improve rapidly with a requirement of almost all the throws available, a great deal of control, and never a shortage of skilled players to jump in with and learn from or challenge your skills with. The crowd can be pretty intense but with a laid back attitude you can meet a great deal if interesting people and have a great time. It is a pay-to-play course but I feel it's a great value when you weigh the benefits and consider the staffs value. The pro-shop is well stocked, and the course is always full of smiling faces!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Peanut-butter and Jelly of courses

2-4    3/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 34  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good park for all skill levels. The park is well maintained and has a great pro shop. It's impossible to beat the weather in San Diego, impossible. Multiple tee pads is a great option to keep things fresh.
Cons: Every time I have been there it's been crowded. The parking lot is really small. The holes are for the most part short and the last few are complete blind shots. Those blind shots suck even more where the holes overlap. You never know if or when you'll get hit and people can't see to yell a warning. The worst part is that you have to pay for this average course. I'm not above paying, but I expect better quality for my dime.
Other Thoughts: There isn't anything that I wrote that hasn't already been said I'm sure. Just because the surrounding area has crappy courses doesn't mean that it should get anything possibly over 3.25, that is just silly.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Morley Field Disc Golf Course

5+    6/20/2009   3/6/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 40.3 Years
0 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: I have Won at Morley Field , many Times. I have won several Course Championships and a couple of Spring Fling Championships as a Pro Open player. For me , a Great course. I can play it very well. MorleyField has Multiple Pin placements on every hole , as well as legible Teesigns , trash cans and benches on every hole ( except hole # 19 ) for saftey reasons. I'm one of the original players since 1978 when it was first installed and Snapper was selling Wham-O's out of the back of his car. There was no bathrooms at that time , just a couple of porta potties.
Cons: Parking Lot can be pretty crowded at times. Call the Pro Shop to be sure.

3090 Pershing Drive
San Diego, CA 92104

Open 365 days a year Sunrise to Sunset $3 weekdays and $4 weekends $1.50 disc rentals (619) 692-3607
Other Thoughts: Great Training Course. Driving and Putting around and through Trees and Bushes.
http://morleyfield.com/2009/0...e-donny-olow/

0 of 29 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.