San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Epiphil Hole #5 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Design, Too Crowded

1    8/23/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The park itself is very pretty, well landscaped, and cared for. There are lots of different types of shots, and the course is pretty interesting, start to finish.
Cons: Like everything else in California, it is incredibly crowded. You have to wait on almost every pad, and you are always worried about getting hit by a disc. The crowd ruined it for me.
Other Thoughts: As a course that has been around a long time, it is fun to play if you are in the area. Try to avoid evenings and weekends cause it is just packed with people.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Peanut-butter and Jelly of courses

2-4    3/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good park for all skill levels. The park is well maintained and has a great pro shop. It's impossible to beat the weather in San Diego, impossible. Multiple tee pads is a great option to keep things fresh.
Cons: Every time I have been there it's been crowded. The parking lot is really small. The holes are for the most part short and the last few are complete blind shots. Those blind shots suck even more where the holes overlap. You never know if or when you'll get hit and people can't see to yell a warning. The worst part is that you have to pay for this average course. I'm not above paying, but I expect better quality for my dime.
Other Thoughts: There isn't anything that I wrote that hasn't already been said I'm sure. Just because the surrounding area has crappy courses doesn't mean that it should get anything possibly over 3.25, that is just silly.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great but Crowded

5+    8/2/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout. 5+ pin locations on each hole, changed frequently. Lots of technical shots. Really rewards players who can throw a variety of shots (i.e. forehand, tomahawk, rollers, etc.) Course flows really well, when it isn't crowded.

-Monthly Tournament is set up really well. The multiple tiers makes it so even the newer players can be competitive.

- Ace Pool on 15! Hit my first ace there and got paid for it. Gotta love a course where that happens.

- Located in a very easy to get to location in North Park.

- Meticulously taken care of. They really put the pay-to-play fees to work. The course is always upkept and nice looking. Trash is never out of hand. A great place to spend some time on a weekend.

- Pro shop/concession stand is always fully stocked with pretty much everything any of the golfers will need. Great guys running it. You can tell they care a lot about the course and the sport.

-Pro shop pays you a buck for every found disc. This is great, because it encourages people to turn plastic in when they find it, instead of just keeping it. Of course, you gotta pay the pro-shop back to get the disc, but I say a favorite disc is worth a dollar any day of the week.
Cons: -The crowds can be out of control, especially on the weekend. If you don't want to wait for ten+ minutes on each hole, get there before 9 on a weekday. After that, it becomes too much of a hassle. Honestly, I would rate this course a 4 if it weren't for the crowds.

- Fairways can get a bit crowded, especially from hole 15 on. They managed to make a great course on the land they had available, but size restrictions mean that you get some cross over.

Parking lot is kind of small, considering how many people come out.
Other Thoughts: Morley is Morley. Its the center of the sport in San Diego, and its a really fun course to play. Most of the shots are technical, and none of the holes are very long. Challenging enough to keep a veteran entertained, but not so hard that it will put off a new player.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of the crowds. While about 90% of of the people you meet out there are courteous and friendly, the other 10% can really ruin the experience. Some of them are new players who haven't really learned the etiquette yet, but most are just jerks. There's nothing more frustrating to me than getting stuck behind a group of six - eight, stoned/drunk college kids who feel the need to take 2-3 shots each on every hole. I would say this is more of a problem on the weekends, so if this kind of thing bugs you then come on a weekday morning.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of holes. You'll be dealing with doglegs, straight shots, anhyzers, and the ocean wind will be playing tricks on you throughout
-Multiple pin locations will always keep you on your toes
-Course upkeep is good. Very little litter, well-maintained grass and trees, concrete and rubber tee pads are all in good shape.
-Disc golf-specific part of the park, and it's very pleasant and pretty.
-The locals are a nice, relaxed group.
-Well-stocked pro shop onsite.
-Very easy to navigate for first-timers.
Cons: -$3 to play during the week, $4 on the weekends. I've played far better courses without ever having to pull out my wallet. The best part of disc golf is the vast majority of courses are free. Not here though.
-Unbelievably crowded. I had to wait on every hole, and was never told to play through, even though I was alone with three groups of two ahead of me
-Not a very long course. I think I pulled out a Teebird once to drive with, every other time it was a Roc. The holes are good, but they're all pretty much hovering around 300 ft., give or take.
-The crowds. I know I mentioned it already, but really, it bears repeating. It's easily the most crowded course I've ever played, and that's not a good thing.
-LOTS of overlapping fairways and cramped holes. You'll hear "fore!" a lot, and you should watch out when you do. This mixed with the crowds makes for a less relaxing round than you might find in a course that's more isolated and spread out.
-Did I mention the crowds?
Other Thoughts: If you can manage to come at a non-peak time on a non-peak day, Morley Field is definitely worth coming to despite my grievances. It's one of the storied Southern Californian courses along with La Mirada and Huntington Beach, it's fun, and you'll see what SoCal disc golf is like.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great course right in the middle of SD

5+    12/3/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 5/27/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained (the $ goes to good use)
Chicks play here sometimes
Right in the middle of a big city
Playable year round
Cons: Very crowded on weekends! By far the most heavily played course I have ever seen. Expect some downtime. Low on obstacles and elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are open fields with a cluster of eucalyptus trees around the pins and tees

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course needs a facelift

1    8/2/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome amount of variety, 5+ pin positions per hole!
-concrete tees and baskets in decent condition
-great tee signs with map, distance to each pin, and current pin position stickers
-nice park with a great old school course vibe
-holes range from open to semi-open/semi-technical to tight and technical
-nice pro shop, lots of discs
-historical course, est. 1978, a cool piece of DG history
-maps and scorecards available
-locals friendly (but many lack etiquette)
Cons: -SAFETY ISSUES: design is terrible in terms of safety. fairways cross, tees throw on other fairways or other tees
-inadequate parking, hole 1 throws on the parking lot
-very short course, little variety in distance and only 6 holes over 300'
-ridiculously crowded, many large groups, some won't let you play through
Other Thoughts: This historical course dating from 1978 is a great piece of disc golf history. The course reflects the state of the game back then: shorter distances and finesse shots. The park itself is beautiful and of course the San Diego weather makes this a fantastic place to play a round.

There are many different kinds of shots here with lots of hidden and/or blind baskets. The number of different pin positions (between 5-10 per hole!) should make the replay value very high. On the other hand, many of these positions are quite similar perhaps just 20-30' further. This variety in basket position somewhat makes up for the lack of variety in distance. Only 6 holes are over 300' with just 2 of those over 400'.

One of the biggest issues here are the numerous safety hazards. The park barely fits 19 holes (it actually doesn't fit 19 holes) so the holes are practically on top of each other. There are a number of holes where a tee box will throw directly over another tee box or basket and there are countless places where fairways cross and groups will be throwing on one another. Particularly bad is the area around holes 15-19. Every hole there intersects at least one other fairway (except 17). Many baskets (depending on position) are very close to the next tee so stay aware of your surroundings. All of this is compounded by the fact that there are always hordes of people playing. It is a miracle that there have not been serious injuries here. Thank goodness there are no pedestrians.

It is great to have a pro shop and food on site. They have a good selection of discs for sale (including Course-stamped discs!), some discs for rent, and they also sell snacks and ice cream bars, etc. There seems to be a large community of golfers here and it must be a great place to play tourneys and be a part of the scene. It would be nice if the experienced locals would pass on more knowledge of etiquette to some of the chuckers that frequent the course.

I loved playing this course. It has fun and challenging holes and has a really cool atmosphere. I don't mind an older course and I enjoy that style of golf but sooner or later this place is going to have to consider some revisions, if at least just for safety. There are just too many holes crammed into too small and area with too many golfers around. Some might call it sacrilege but this place should have 15 well designed holes instead of 19 holes that don't fit. I wanted to give it a 3.5 but I have to mark down for the safety issues. It usually wouldn't bother me so much but I just didn't feel safe here with so many people around and many of them not thinking twice about throwing on you.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A fun afternoon and a worthwhile play

2-4    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -several pin placements per hole
-pin placements changed every Monday
-legit players who know how to throw (which is important considering one of my cons)
-elevation changes between the holes; sometimes throwing up a hill, sometimes down
-good pro shop with a great disc selection
Cons: -chaotic criss-crossing of holes, especially toward the beginning and end of the course; flight paths cross tee boxes, etc. This scrunched configuration demands decent throwers.
-some people think this course is technical, but the pin placement among the trees seems haphazard to me...not cunningly planned.
-Hole 19. Why? It really jams up holes 17/18.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field San Diego

2-4    12/24/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley Field has a good balance of well placed holes that can give players of all levels some kind of challenge. Since baskets are moved every Monday, and some holes have 10 different settings, the play is not redundant or boring. Trash cans at every hole, at least two holes with raised man made elevated baskets, nice teepads that can handle rain, well shaded, being a lefty who has been playing for eight years I was impressed by the balanced design. Ive played so many courses where all of the holes go to the left or straight, not here, Snapper did a good job of balancing the course for turnovers and hyzers, good time here with good people
Cons: Waiting....Waiting....Waiting....at almost every hole, In my experience there the sixsomes dont let twosomes play through, the course is a little easy for my taste, Many shared fairways and baskets near teepads, can be a little dangerous at times due to crowds
Other Thoughts: it was fun, -7 first round, followed by two rounds of -4, I could see top players easily shooting double digits no matter the settings of the baskets. Im about to play again now and see what baskets were moved, cheers

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I finally played it...

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well.... I finally got to play here. I have been waiting over 20 years and wondering what Morley Field would be like. I had pumped it up so much in my mind that there was no way it could live up to my expectations and I was right. It didn't. But it's still a good place to come if you're in to disc golf. It's one of those places you just have to go play.

About the course. This place has all the amenities. There's restrooms, a pro shop that sells discs, drinks and snacks. You can also rent discs here. You have to pay a small fee to play the course but it's not a problem. Judging by the amount of people out there playing it could make someone a millionaire. haha.

The course is short but it's not easy. There's a million different pin placements for each hole and they move the pins on monday. That's one of the really neat things about the course. There are concrete tee pads and very good tee signs. The land that the course is on is also very neat. It's got rolling hills and other good disc golf course topography.
Cons: There will be a million people playing this course no matter what time you are there. I went on a Tuesday morning and there were tons of people playing. It was unbelievable.

You will hear "FORE" a bunch and you should pay attention. Discs are flying around all over the place here. There's definitely a chance to get hurt. There are also crossing fairways in a couple places and holes that are very close together. Back when this course was put in it wouldn't have been a problem but with the new disc technology it's a dangerous place to play.

Because of the cons it's not one of my favorite places to play and I probably won't go back but I'm glad I finally got to play here. I had a smile on my face the whole round just because I was playing Morley.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Big Crowds

3/1/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its in San Diego! A wide variety of shots with multiple pin positions that change every Monday. Lots of "late trouble", with well protected baskets. Although it is short by today's standards, deuces require well executed shots. Even so, top players should aim for double digits under.
Cons: Probably the most played course in the country. Many blind tee shots that reward muscle memory.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course when it is not crowded.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.