San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #2 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign

Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    7/16/2015   10/6/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -To have a pro shop is great, but to have a pro shop this well-stocked is amazing.
-Each hole had plenty of pin locations, far enough away to completely change each hole. It would never get boring.
-2 practice baskets. They were a little close to the parking lot though.
-Each hole had a great informative tee sign that showed the current pin location, and a large concrete tee pad.
-Perfect mix of open and wooded holes, very well designed.
-Hilly enough to make things interesting, but not crazy hilly.
-Very well maintained.
Cons: -REALLY busy. I had to wait on almost every hole. I was getting antsy by the end of the round.
-They squeezed 19 holes on to this small piece of property. I think 15-18 would be better. The fairways were way too close. I heard FORE so many times.
-Parking was not sufficient. A popular course like this should have ample parking.
Other Thoughts: -Lots of beginners. I was right behind a group of 5 kids and their mom. They made it SO slow. I guess it is good to see new people introduced to disc golf, though, so I won't complain but would like to see a restriction placed on number of people in a group.
-It's a great course, one I would definitely come back to, just not on a sunny afternoon. Unfortunately I only had the opportunity to play once. I'd love to play again with different pin locations.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short with variety

5+    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The location in Balboa Park can't be beat for urban outdoors. The holes are short, but well-placed obstacles make every hole challenging. Even after playing dozens of times, I find new ways to play holes. Especially since they move the baskets every week (at least).
Cons: It is consistently crowded, but most groups will let fast players play through.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    3/18/2014   3/18/2014
Review By:
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. Fun Course. Lots of things in the way, and a ton of basket placements. Baskets get moved EVERY Monday. Well cared for. There must have been 10 guys out there taking care of stuff on this course on a Tuesday Morning.
Cons: Little tricky to find your way on your first time, and, crowded because it's sooooooo fun.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Got it all

5+    1/18/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Coolest basket locations in SD
Variety of shots
Beautiful atmosphere
Awesome pro shop
Cons: The CROWDS!
Other Thoughts: This is the course to test all of your disc golf abilities. Love playing Morley Morley Morley Offers everything you would want in a course except waiting at every hole :/

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Design/Layout/Maintenance, but longest waits in SD

5+    4/25/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Every hole has multiple positions, ranging from 3 to 7 basket positions rotated weekly.
-The course is very well maintained.
-Exceptional variety of holes with regard to drives required
-Tree density variation is exceptional
-Weekly doubles
-19 holes (weird but unique)
Cons: -VERY LONG wait times unless you go before 8am
-Little terrain change (mostly grass, some dirt/wood chips)
-Parking can be difficult
Other Thoughts: The course itself is a 5.0 without a doubt, but with rounds typically taking 3 to 3.5hrs for this pay-to-play course (although it's an all-day fee) and the difficulty in parking at times, unfortunately that makes the Morley Field experience somewhat less enjoyable.
Honestly have no problem with the pay-to-play aspect because it's well maintained. Really, it's the wait.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded!!

1    9/11/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Homemedics
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots and different basket placements to change it up. Pro shop had a good selection of discs and food and beverage. Overall a great course!
Cons: Crowded!! We showed up on a weekday at 8:30 and had to wait through 3 groups just to start! Also, lots of holes cross paths and you hear fore like every ten seconds!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc golf...shady people

5+    11/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course offers:
1) Multiple Pin positions changed weekly
2) Short and long pins
3) Variety of natural hazards
4) Challenges for both FHBH and LHBH players
It is also just a beautiful course
Cons: This course costs money ($3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends)
It can also get very busy. Sometimes the wait to play a basket is too long to bear. I have played on more than one occasion where someone I was playing with got fed up with the wait that they did not finish their round.
Some of the people who play at Morley are just down right shady. Drinking and smoking pot! I can stand the pot smoking that goes on at Morley. In additon, there have been a lot of complaints of people not returning lost and found plastic. This bugs me to no end, but it is getting even worse. People have been complaining of discs being stolen right out of their bag.
I recommend playing Morley because it is a fun disc golf course, but beware of stoners and thieves.

8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Scorely Morely

1    3/9/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played it in the early evening. Lots of folk around. Some very fun holes.
Cons: Lots of folks around. Had to really watch what was going off and what was maybe incoming. Great temp tho for early March. last few holes were criss cross dangerous. Good play tho!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 terrific diverse course. hella crowded.

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new pin placements every monday. up to 5-6 different pin placements mean you are constantly playing a different course. tons of very technical holes. a few wide open bombs. many many trees. excellent elevation change. fully stoked pro shop. pleasantly chill locals.
in the morning you can even hear the animals from SD zoo when the wind is blowing!
tee signs are clearly marked and informative.
excellent tee pads (broom available at pro shop if so desired).
if there is even a hint of rain in the air, virtually all locals will stay away for fear of melting, meaning you can actually play unfettered disc golf! though it may be raining.
Cons: this place is a wee bit too crowded for some souls.
suffice to say, this is in all likelihood the single busiest disc golf course on earth.
i highly recommend showing up prior to 9am. on a weekday.
playing any sort of "competitive" round on a weekend is prohibitively difficult. bring a hacky sack.
the crowded factor also enhances the danger level of being hit by discs.
in my experience, if the parking lot is full to the point you have no where to park your car, that is probably a hint that you dont want to be playing then anyway.
Other Thoughts: if there were any way to get past the crowds issue, i expect this course would hold up very well on the variety and challenges that it offers. the longer layouts can be EXTREMELY difficult (meaning par is a great score).
on the other hand, in the shorter positions, the course can become a birdie fest.
snapper does a fantastic job of keeping the course in excellent running order. the grass is always immaculately mowed, and the landscaping in general looks like it i tended to by a staff of half a dozen (which it essentially is!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid and Fun

1    1/13/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, multiple pins for each hole that change weekly, beautiful park, fun wooded obstacles, 19 holes!
Cons: If you don't like hills, don't go here! I was sweating from the walk up and down the hill. Costs $3 to play. Paths between some hole took you near or through other holes.
Other Thoughts: I only played the first 11 (ran out of light), but the tee shot for 11 was awesome shooting between trees over a mini valley! $3 was worth playing this course. The other places in San Diego were $5 and "seemed" to not have as many positive comments (I didn't get to play those).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.