San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Away from home paradise.

1    8/29/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Richie T
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The very first thing we came across was friendly folks. Customers excited that some old Texans were there to play the course. Staff was very friendly as well. Very helpful with course suggestions and disc selections. Started the first tee to find manicured fairways wow! Have never played a course that was this nice.
Cons: Have only played it once.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play this course again. Maybe next year!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 yup yup!

5+    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Cleticus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, good tee pads, lots of different basket positions, good signs at tee pads.
Cons: Crowded. A bit soggy in the morning sometimes.
Other Thoughts: The best course I've played in southern california, well worth the drive from escondido.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Busiest DG course ever!

5+    10/1/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Unique looking course with a variety of challenges (narrows, uphills, downhills, blind shots)...this can force you into many unique situations more often than normal, requiring a variety of different shots besides your basic FH or BH; tomahawks, rollers, thumbers, etc...I've used the tomahawk throw the most on this course vs any other course I've played so far.
- Very well upkept
- Cool 2 basket practice putting area, with one of the putting baskets upgraded with woodchips (other basket still has dirt and can get muddy sometimes)
- Multiple pin positions (5 per hole) keep this course interesting...sometimes makes holes a completely different challenge from week to week
- A mostly friendly crowd with lots of dogs (I happen to love dogs, so this is a pro to me)
Cons: - Too crowded!!! I've never waited so long on holes until I came to this course. Every hole is like a 3-5 minute wait, it can get worse, especially during peak times and on weekends..
- Too many holes intersect each other. This can get treacherous when it gets busy. I've recently been hit with a Nuke in the back of my neck, one of my friends hit someone on hole 13 from hole 1, and my friend has already hit 2 other people, so be extra careful and aware on this course!!!
- Pay to play ($3 on weekdays, $4 on weekends).
- For such a popular course, their parking lot is extremely small and its a dirt lot. They should put in an asphalt parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall my favorite course in San Diego. The best hole on this course imo is the "top of the world" throw on hole 11. On hole 5 you get to air out your disc downhill 400+ft. Another cool thing they do is have ace pots (where you put $0.25 for two throws and win the pot if you ace the hole) on holes 15 and 16. Overall a beautiful, well-kept course. Cool pro shop that has discs, drinks, ice cream, and food for sale. My biggest complaint is that this course is very crowded and having long waits on each hole. I've never had to wait on each hole of a course until I came to Morley. The upside to the crowds is that I've met some very cool people here. There's definitely a small disc golf community here and you start recognizing familiar and friendly faces if you play here enough. Due to the crowdedness, its almost essential to jump in with other groups (especially if you're just playing by yourself or a small group) or to let others join your group, which makes it a great way to meet new people. Locals say its the busiest DG course in Southern California, if not the entire United States. People are here at all times of the day, all days of the week. You will hear "fore" quite a bit on this course. Heed this warning every time you hear it because many holes intersect on this course and a disc may be headed for your dome; so stay alert! (holes 2-3, 5-6, 11-12, and ESPECIALLY holes 15-16-18-19). This is the heart of San Diego disc golf and definitely worth checking out if you're in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field

2-4    11/16/2010   9/5/2011
Review By: Fishdisease
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything.
Great course, many different hole locations
Locals were all very welcoming
Great pro shop
Cons: Super Busy all of the time
Other Thoughts: If I ever get close to this course again, I will play it several more times.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Friendliest Course!!!

2-4    3/11/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: Epiphil
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and very very friendly and helpful! I recently moved from Michigan no more than a month ago, and everytime I have played people are willing to form up for 4 players or so. All you have to to is say hello and they seem to ask you to play with them. Everyone is willing to help and thats always nice for a new course you may not have played before! The tees change I think a few times a week and there is like 5-6 basket positions!!!! Always changing and always challenging! Every once in a while there is a 25 cent Ace pool going.... you just cant beat that. The holes have intricacies, and shots I have never had to shoot before.. The Scenery is great, coming from a different type of surroundings, its nice to see a wide range of wildlife and plant life at ever hole. Its not just a disc course but so much more! When you go, you WILL want to play another round, so be prepared. Its a course that makes you want to come back
Cons: Well I would have to say the tremendous amound of "FORE'S" being called would have to be my only con. But what can you say about the most played course in the U.S. It is to be expected.

Also some may say that paying $3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends would be a con, but I say that I take the trolley and buses almost two hours everytime I go here. So Its worth if for me........I guess that would be a Pro??? paying $3 is nothing compared to the fantastic time you will have
Other Thoughts: Just try it.......nothing but Good should come out of it

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced course

5+    4/17/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Most holes have multiple routes to choose from. Great location.
Cons: Gets crazy crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: Morley really has it all. It has some tough holes and some scoring opportunities. The multiple basket locations are fantastic so the course constantly gets a new look.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, variety of types of holes and overall layout
Cons: crowd
Other Thoughts: i cant wait to go back. dont worry if you cant throw the disc to far because this course has shorter holes..but good obstacles. accuracy is key not distance

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course (Since 1979)

5+    10/12/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "OG" disc golf course. Lot's of personality. Friendly people. Never at a loss for someone to play with. Good pro shop. In beautiful Balboa Park (across from SD Zoo!). No two holes the same. Well maintained. You will use ALL of your shots and will need to learn some new ones. Some very scenic holes.
Cons: 1. "Banders" - a term I made up! Since Morley is a "pay-to-play" course you are given a bright paper wristband to wear as proof that you paid. Most locals collect them on their bag straps. "BANDERS" are usually a) completely unaware of their surroundings or anyone around them. b) and they don't care. c) they are usually dragging a large cooler and drunk or on their way. d) are responsible for 90% of the "FORES....!" you will hear in a round (one per hole!?) e) add at least 1 hour to rounds on weekends! f) never return lost discs to the pro shop. g) play in flip flops or barefoot... I could go on! I love people but they will get on your nerves quickly as you sit for 10-15 minutes between each hole because they genuinely think its funny to annoy people.

2. Parking
3. Crowded!!! Most played course in USA!
Other Thoughts: It really is a fun, beautiful course! I am thankful I live in San Diego and play Morley 3-4 times per week! If you know all these things going in, you will have a better time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.