San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #17 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 86
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home, or at least it was a long time ago.

5+    9/1/1996   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 37.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Cons: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Other Thoughts: The goods and bads of Balboa Park;
Manicured setting w/crowds

The goods and bads of San Diego;
Beautiful scenery w/crowds

The goods and bads of It's Disc Golf History
Great historical (1970's era) disc golf course w/crowds

Did I say it gets crowded? But it should still be on any serious players wish list of courses to play. I left San Diego a long time ago and have only been back a handful of times. Each time I return I play here. My putting practice bag came from the pro shop here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun afternoon and a worthwhile play

2-4    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -several pin placements per hole
-pin placements changed every Monday
-legit players who know how to throw (which is important considering one of my cons)
-elevation changes between the holes; sometimes throwing up a hill, sometimes down
-good pro shop with a great disc selection
Cons: -chaotic criss-crossing of holes, especially toward the beginning and end of the course; flight paths cross tee boxes, etc. This scrunched configuration demands decent throwers.
-some people think this course is technical, but the pin placement among the trees seems haphazard to me...not cunningly planned.
-Hole 19. Why? It really jams up holes 17/18.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 "A" for effort. Fun time, but...

1    3/31/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained groomed grass course
Cement or Rubber (over cement) Teepads
Great Hole Maps
Great people, very nice.
Pro Shop was nice, w. bathrooms.
Great fun time in heart of the city.
Fairly easy course, very playable and par-able for everyone.
Cons: Too short. Outside of 1-2 holes, i used a teebird or lower. (I have a ~400' flat drive).

Too much fairway overlap.

RE: Layout the day i played -
Overwhelmingly forehand oriented (RHFH) or "SL" or "Buzzz" oriented (Long straight, slightly tight line with NO fade).
Many hard hook shots (needed seriously overstable)

Other Thoughts: Anyone with a 300' (flat) drive would be able to park almost every hole.

Beginners with any sort of proficiency should be able to get par on every hole.

Due to the limited amount of space, creative pin placements with hard hooks and space saving concepts was prevalent.

I am an above average player and the course required "loose precision"; the windows and line concepts were fairly basic and easy to hit. I scored a -3 on the first try. (*i play and score "all holes are par 3".) I am sure if i had gone around again, or played multiple times, i could have dialed it in and gone -6 or better. Almost every drive (for me) was a park or "almost" park.

I happen to be a very proficient RHFH player, and more than 1/2 of the shots seemed to favor this method. It reached a point where i got tired of throwing FH and i started using alternate shots (turnover, hyzer, etc). <- i really just wanted to throw backhand and let it rip!

San Diego is beautiful. This course epitomizes it very well.

I think i saw a few dogs on the course, so i believe it's dog friendly.

Entirely too short and too easy to give a higher ranking. It was fun and i highly recommend to anyone in (or visiting) s.d.

(to visitors) -
This course could be very fun with 3-4 discs IF you take a "not so serious", "i'm on vacation" attitude.

If you choose to play it serious, make sure you have a full array of shots in the shorter ranges. It would be a big ego stroke to improve your score with each round and look "pro" doing it.


5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Friendliest Course!!!

2-4    3/11/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: Epiphil
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and very very friendly and helpful! I recently moved from Michigan no more than a month ago, and everytime I have played people are willing to form up for 4 players or so. All you have to to is say hello and they seem to ask you to play with them. Everyone is willing to help and thats always nice for a new course you may not have played before! The tees change I think a few times a week and there is like 5-6 basket positions!!!! Always changing and always challenging! Every once in a while there is a 25 cent Ace pool going.... you just cant beat that. The holes have intricacies, and shots I have never had to shoot before.. The Scenery is great, coming from a different type of surroundings, its nice to see a wide range of wildlife and plant life at ever hole. Its not just a disc course but so much more! When you go, you WILL want to play another round, so be prepared. Its a course that makes you want to come back
Cons: Well I would have to say the tremendous amound of "FORE'S" being called would have to be my only con. But what can you say about the most played course in the U.S. It is to be expected.

Also some may say that paying $3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends would be a con, but I say that I take the trolley and buses almost two hours everytime I go here. So Its worth if for me........I guess that would be a Pro??? paying $3 is nothing compared to the fantastic time you will have
Other Thoughts: Just try it.......nothing but Good should come out of it

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morley is Awesome

5+    2/7/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Jmart007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course with multiple pins changed every Monday. Lots of different terrain and great views all over the course
Cons: Busy on weekends and holidays and parking can be a b#€ch.
Other Thoughts: Great course with lots of people to play with any day

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/25/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: Iree
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Weekdays are great, you can get in a few rounds
Stocked PRO Shop with discs and snacks.
No Ball Golfers, and no picnickers
New Layout every Monday.
easily get a round done in bout 1 1/2 - 2 hours
Cons: Weekends have a wait, expect to wait longer than you play

parking is horrible on weekends as well.


1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just plain awesome.

5+    11/18/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Crackers
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.9 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Awesome layout
Killer staff
Best place to buy discs in San Diego. Huge selection.
Very clean
No non-golfers allowed
Pins changed weekly
Ace pot hole
Plenty of people to join up with if you go solo
Awesome regulars who will help you better your game
Cons: Parking can suck, especially on weekends.
Weekends bring out the families, which can slow your game down. Also brings out all the weekend warriors. Normally a 3-5 group wait after around noon.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play and a great place to meet people.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Great Local Scene

2-4    9/12/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
• Full pro shop & snack bar
• Active disc golfer community
• Friendly locals
• Fun, challenging holes
Cons:
• A few holes have some fairway overlap, so there's some waiting
• Very active player community of all skill levels, so you can get stuck behind laggers
• Course can be slightly confusing to first-timers
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing Morley Field, not only was the course fun with well thought out holes, but the level of activity and the pro shop were very fun to experience.

Played twice while in San Diego, even with the $3 day fee it was worth it.

The course gets busy, which I think is great as it shows there is an active disc golfer community in the area. Locals are friendly and slower groups always offered to let us play through.

Can get a bit hectic around holes 15 to 19, as there is a bit of fairway overlap but all the other groups were very diplomatic as far as taking turns.

Loved that there was a full pro shop there, never played a course like that before. The disc golf community experience added to the fun we had playing this course.

Definitely give this course a round if you are in or live in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/29/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: pjc77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Huge course, decently maintained, lots of challenging holes, friendly and helpful people
Cons: Parking, a little bit of a wait.
Other Thoughts: If you don't mind waiting in the first couple holes for a bit, well worth a trip

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field

2-4    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Lots of different pin positions. Requires all types of shots but without a lot of shot repetition. Pyramid pins. Full pro shop.
Cons: Parking is limited but manageable. Lots of waiting starting at 12:30.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course. Tons of fun to play. If you get the chance to play here you gotta take it.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.