San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Classic course needs a facelift

1    8/2/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome amount of variety, 5+ pin positions per hole!
-concrete tees and baskets in decent condition
-great tee signs with map, distance to each pin, and current pin position stickers
-nice park with a great old school course vibe
-holes range from open to semi-open/semi-technical to tight and technical
-nice pro shop, lots of discs
-historical course, est. 1978, a cool piece of DG history
-maps and scorecards available
-locals friendly (but many lack etiquette)
Cons: -SAFETY ISSUES: design is terrible in terms of safety. fairways cross, tees throw on other fairways or other tees
-inadequate parking, hole 1 throws on the parking lot
-very short course, little variety in distance and only 6 holes over 300'
-ridiculously crowded, many large groups, some won't let you play through
Other Thoughts: This historical course dating from 1978 is a great piece of disc golf history. The course reflects the state of the game back then: shorter distances and finesse shots. The park itself is beautiful and of course the San Diego weather makes this a fantastic place to play a round.

There are many different kinds of shots here with lots of hidden and/or blind baskets. The number of different pin positions (between 5-10 per hole!) should make the replay value very high. On the other hand, many of these positions are quite similar perhaps just 20-30' further. This variety in basket position somewhat makes up for the lack of variety in distance. Only 6 holes are over 300' with just 2 of those over 400'.

One of the biggest issues here are the numerous safety hazards. The park barely fits 19 holes (it actually doesn't fit 19 holes) so the holes are practically on top of each other. There are a number of holes where a tee box will throw directly over another tee box or basket and there are countless places where fairways cross and groups will be throwing on one another. Particularly bad is the area around holes 15-19. Every hole there intersects at least one other fairway (except 17). Many baskets (depending on position) are very close to the next tee so stay aware of your surroundings. All of this is compounded by the fact that there are always hordes of people playing. It is a miracle that there have not been serious injuries here. Thank goodness there are no pedestrians.

It is great to have a pro shop and food on site. They have a good selection of discs for sale (including Course-stamped discs!), some discs for rent, and they also sell snacks and ice cream bars, etc. There seems to be a large community of golfers here and it must be a great place to play tourneys and be a part of the scene. It would be nice if the experienced locals would pass on more knowledge of etiquette to some of the chuckers that frequent the course.

I loved playing this course. It has fun and challenging holes and has a really cool atmosphere. I don't mind an older course and I enjoy that style of golf but sooner or later this place is going to have to consider some revisions, if at least just for safety. There are just too many holes crammed into too small and area with too many golfers around. Some might call it sacrilege but this place should have 15 well designed holes instead of 19 holes that don't fit. I wanted to give it a 3.5 but I have to mark down for the safety issues. It usually wouldn't bother me so much but I just didn't feel safe here with so many people around and many of them not thinking twice about throwing on you.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field

2-4    11/16/2010   9/5/2011
Review By: Fishdisease
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything.
Great course, many different hole locations
Locals were all very welcoming
Great pro shop
Cons: Super Busy all of the time
Other Thoughts: If I ever get close to this course again, I will play it several more times.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home, or at least it was a long time ago.

5+    9/1/1996   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 37.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Cons: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Other Thoughts: The goods and bads of Balboa Park;
Manicured setting w/crowds

The goods and bads of San Diego;
Beautiful scenery w/crowds

The goods and bads of It's Disc Golf History
Great historical (1970's era) disc golf course w/crowds

Did I say it gets crowded? But it should still be on any serious players wish list of courses to play. I left San Diego a long time ago and have only been back a handful of times. Each time I return I play here. My putting practice bag came from the pro shop here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun afternoon and a worthwhile play

2-4    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -several pin placements per hole
-pin placements changed every Monday
-legit players who know how to throw (which is important considering one of my cons)
-elevation changes between the holes; sometimes throwing up a hill, sometimes down
-good pro shop with a great disc selection
Cons: -chaotic criss-crossing of holes, especially toward the beginning and end of the course; flight paths cross tee boxes, etc. This scrunched configuration demands decent throwers.
-some people think this course is technical, but the pin placement among the trees seems haphazard to me...not cunningly planned.
-Hole 19. Why? It really jams up holes 17/18.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 "A" for effort. Fun time, but...

1    3/31/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained groomed grass course
Cement or Rubber (over cement) Teepads
Great Hole Maps
Great people, very nice.
Pro Shop was nice, w. bathrooms.
Great fun time in heart of the city.
Fairly easy course, very playable and par-able for everyone.
Cons: Too short. Outside of 1-2 holes, i used a teebird or lower. (I have a ~400' flat drive).

Too much fairway overlap.

RE: Layout the day i played -
Overwhelmingly forehand oriented (RHFH) or "SL" or "Buzzz" oriented (Long straight, slightly tight line with NO fade).
Many hard hook shots (needed seriously overstable)

Other Thoughts: Anyone with a 300' (flat) drive would be able to park almost every hole.

Beginners with any sort of proficiency should be able to get par on every hole.

Due to the limited amount of space, creative pin placements with hard hooks and space saving concepts was prevalent.

I am an above average player and the course required "loose precision"; the windows and line concepts were fairly basic and easy to hit. I scored a -3 on the first try. (*i play and score "all holes are par 3".) I am sure if i had gone around again, or played multiple times, i could have dialed it in and gone -6 or better. Almost every drive (for me) was a park or "almost" park.

I happen to be a very proficient RHFH player, and more than 1/2 of the shots seemed to favor this method. It reached a point where i got tired of throwing FH and i started using alternate shots (turnover, hyzer, etc). <- i really just wanted to throw backhand and let it rip!

San Diego is beautiful. This course epitomizes it very well.

I think i saw a few dogs on the course, so i believe it's dog friendly.

Entirely too short and too easy to give a higher ranking. It was fun and i highly recommend to anyone in (or visiting) s.d.

(to visitors) -
This course could be very fun with 3-4 discs IF you take a "not so serious", "i'm on vacation" attitude.

If you choose to play it serious, make sure you have a full array of shots in the shorter ranges. It would be a big ego stroke to improve your score with each round and look "pro" doing it.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Friendliest Course!!!

2-4    3/11/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: Epiphil
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and very very friendly and helpful! I recently moved from Michigan no more than a month ago, and everytime I have played people are willing to form up for 4 players or so. All you have to to is say hello and they seem to ask you to play with them. Everyone is willing to help and thats always nice for a new course you may not have played before! The tees change I think a few times a week and there is like 5-6 basket positions!!!! Always changing and always challenging! Every once in a while there is a 25 cent Ace pool going.... you just cant beat that. The holes have intricacies, and shots I have never had to shoot before.. The Scenery is great, coming from a different type of surroundings, its nice to see a wide range of wildlife and plant life at ever hole. Its not just a disc course but so much more! When you go, you WILL want to play another round, so be prepared. Its a course that makes you want to come back
Cons: Well I would have to say the tremendous amound of "FORE'S" being called would have to be my only con. But what can you say about the most played course in the U.S. It is to be expected.

Also some may say that paying $3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends would be a con, but I say that I take the trolley and buses almost two hours everytime I go here. So Its worth if for me........I guess that would be a Pro??? paying $3 is nothing compared to the fantastic time you will have
Other Thoughts: Just try it.......nothing but Good should come out of it

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morley is Awesome

5+    2/7/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Jmart007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course with multiple pins changed every Monday. Lots of different terrain and great views all over the course
Cons: Busy on weekends and holidays and parking can be a b#€ch.
Other Thoughts: Great course with lots of people to play with any day

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/25/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: Iree
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Weekdays are great, you can get in a few rounds
Stocked PRO Shop with discs and snacks.
No Ball Golfers, and no picnickers
New Layout every Monday.
easily get a round done in bout 1 1/2 - 2 hours
Cons: Weekends have a wait, expect to wait longer than you play

parking is horrible on weekends as well.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Just plain awesome.

5+    11/18/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Crackers
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Awesome layout
Killer staff
Best place to buy discs in San Diego. Huge selection.
Very clean
No non-golfers allowed
Pins changed weekly
Ace pot hole
Plenty of people to join up with if you go solo
Awesome regulars who will help you better your game
Cons: Parking can suck, especially on weekends.
Weekends bring out the families, which can slow your game down. Also brings out all the weekend warriors. Normally a 3-5 group wait after around noon.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play and a great place to meet people.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Great Local Scene

2-4    9/12/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 52  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
• Full pro shop & snack bar
• Active disc golfer community
• Friendly locals
• Fun, challenging holes
• A few holes have some fairway overlap, so there's some waiting
• Very active player community of all skill levels, so you can get stuck behind laggers
• Course can be slightly confusing to first-timers
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing Morley Field, not only was the course fun with well thought out holes, but the level of activity and the pro shop were very fun to experience.

Played twice while in San Diego, even with the $3 day fee it was worth it.

The course gets busy, which I think is great as it shows there is an active disc golfer community in the area. Locals are friendly and slower groups always offered to let us play through.

Can get a bit hectic around holes 15 to 19, as there is a bit of fairway overlap but all the other groups were very diplomatic as far as taking turns.

Loved that there was a full pro shop there, never played a course like that before. The disc golf community experience added to the fun we had playing this course.

Definitely give this course a round if you are in or live in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.