Disc Golf Store
San Diego, CA
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Epiphil Hole #11 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    6/20/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: hightide n nerd
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of blind shots, with technicals. Friendly people, and a snack shack. Signs help ALOT!!! Lots of trees. Good layout for being on a small piece of property.
Cons: Very crowded. Lots of people stacked up at each hole.
Other Thoughts: Benches are nice to rest on while you wait for your turn. Each one is different. Some are dedicated to lost loved ones.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 (Only) Jewel of San Diego

5+    8/12/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
14 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: While my wife was on a business trip in San Diego, I had the opportunity to spend some time at one of the greatest places in the region: Morley Field. The vibe and feel of the place is great, the park is beautiful, the players welcoming and helpful and fun, and the course is enough of a challenge to make you think about your game and try to get the magic routes the locals use to work for you.

I played this course in two different configurations. The number of possible basket placements on each hole (according to the well-marked maps) was astonishing, usually offering at least half a dozen possibilities. Some of these basket placements were only slightly different from others, but there was enough variety that the course could be completely changed to a totally different experience after a every weekend's re-arrangement. I understand this to be a desire of the locals to change up the course because this is, literally, the only pure disc golf course within almost 100 miles (La Mirada in LA might be the next closest, the rest in the region are all baskets strewn around ball golf courses and not well-regarded by purists). As such, if they want to play a different course, they have to change what they have.

Nevertheless, while Morley Field is the only pure disc golf experience in the region, the property set aside for it is indeed dedicated for that usage. There is no conflict with other park users, even the joggers and dogwalkers from the local neighborhood tend to stick to the roads and external paths. So if somebody gets hit by a disc, you can at least be assured that it is another player who will be more understanding than an old lady whose poodle you just tomahawked.

OK, the course. There are 19 holes arranged on a surprisingly small piece of land. But there are enough combinations of open fairways (well kempt, mind you, by regular mowing) and cool craggy trees, bigger leafy guys, smaller well-trimmed varieties that can snag discs, and even some tall scruffy palm trees. There are plenty of small groves in which to place a basket to increase the challenge. The landscape is rolling, has some decent hillsides and long slopes, and even some small ravines and such where a stray disc will not easily be found in a spot that can recover par. You will need a variety of shots to score well, with right turning, left turning, sky shots, roller opps, and all sorts of fun possibilities at every tee. Some holes are short and technical, and some are longer and less technical.

There is a nice clubhouse/pro shop selling Innova and Discraft discs (there might have been others, but I didn't notice them immediately), bottled water, gatorade, and such, and is also where you need to go in order to pay the course fee. The people working there are helpful, polite, and welcoming. They rent discs out for relatively cheap, and have a good selection for newer players.

There is a great lost and found policy I heard about while playing. If somebody finds a disc and turns it in, they get $1. When the owner recovers it, they pay $1 to get it back (or something like that).

This course has a phenomenal web page, http://morleyfield.com / Definitely visit the site if only just to see how cool a disc golf club's home page can be made.
Cons: Everybody has already said the course is crowded, and indeed it is. But still worth it. Just be prepared to wait patiently.

After playing my first round I noticed that the wait at the next tees were always staying the same or increasing. My wait on #1 was 10 minutes. 10 minutes on #2. Then 10 minutes on #3. Then 10 minutes on #4, and up to an astonishing 20 minutes on #5. This is not natural. Every other course I played really has only a single long wait at #1 and then cruises after that since groups simply play in sequence like cars on a train. I later found out that the reason for this is that players jump in and start playing at holes other than #1. I.e., the train is gaining more cars as it moves along. This then causes continual back ups at holes as you proceed. This is considered very rude where I come from, but seems to be accepted at Morley Field, so try not to lose your temper when a group jumps in out of the blue and you have to wait extra for them. One of the causes for this seems to be that the overflow parking is near tee #7, which is probably where a lot of the jumping in occurs. After #9 the flow seems to pick up pace again.

The crowds are only a "con" until such a point in time that the interest in disc golf in San Diego grows to the overflowing point where all these new players join forces with the older players to force the government to cough up some more land some place for another disc golf course project. And there is plenty of land in San Diego city proper, in vast networks of canyons and hills threaded throughout the entire region, many of which would make for an excellent disc golf experience if converted.

Come on San Diego! Get up off your butts and make them put in more courses! You'll always love and cherish Morley Field, but think about the possibilities that lie ahead if everyone who played at Morley were to call their council member. Pass out phone numbers to council members and the mayor at the course, and tell people to call and ask that it be made a priority for the city.
Other Thoughts: Some locals said that High Times magazine rated tee #11 (the bowl hole) as the #3 in their top places to toke. It was indeed pretty cool, but I'm surprised to see the bowl hole so far into the course (most courses don't waste much time, with a bowl hole in the first 5).

I'm not certain, but I think that if you want to stock up on some suds for your round you should hit a market before driving over to Morley Field, I didn't see any opportunities nearby.

If you drive in and find a nice parking spot immediately ahead when everything else is full, be sure to check that it isn't vacant simply because a basket is placed right next to that parking spot. I did this and when I got to hole #2 I noticed my car sitting right behind the basket, looking like a bright white target itself (of course, I moved it after playing #2).

The course rates some basket placements as par 4, but I don't think I would call any of these true par 4. On several of these I shanked my drives and was still able to get there in 3 throws using decent upshots. I think a par 4 should not be reachable in 3 throws if the drive is shanked except with a brilliant and highly difficult upshot.

I rate this course a 4 because it is truly awesome, but there are some issues such as multiple crossing and shared fairways that mean (in my judgment) that the course can only ever be a 4 at its highest possible rating. And this place has definitely been distilled into a fine jewel and a wonderful use of a great piece of property in sunny San Diego.

14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Hope you're a people person

1    4/25/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course that is well maintained. Concrete pads on every hole with alternate pin placements allows for good variety. Every hole is a little different so you won't get bored. This is definitely not one of those courses where you will just throw the same shot with the same disc off the tee.
Aside from the course itself there is a little golf store on the course that has different items for sale as well as cold drinks. There are also bathrooms, which as many of you know are a rarity at disc golf courses.
Cons: If you don't like playing a course with a lot of other players and waiting on average 15 minutes on each tee pad this is not the course for you. I played on a Saturday and it was extremely busy. In conjunction with that many of the holes are VERY close to each other with on pin being as close as 30 feet from the next tee.
Other Thoughts: While the course is crowded and the design putting many holes very near each other its still a very fun course. There isn't a whole lot of distance so amateurs will have a great time playing the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Crowded but cool

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great short course layout with trees and bush's adding challenge to almost every hole. Fun, technical course that forces you to hit lines and gaps. But there is still only a small chance of losing a disc. Can be punishing if you can't hit your gaps. Some elevation to add to the challenge, but nothing dramatic.

Good pro shop with helpful freindly staff and locals. Shop has discs, snacks and drinks.

Cons: TOO MANY PEOPLE! Crowded and locals told me this was a quiet day. Maybe San Diego needs a few more course's. Everyone was friendly and helpful, but discs are flying everywhere and FORE is yelled all the time. If I went again I would try to play at first light.

No open, long holes for people that want to air put some drivers.
Other Thoughts: Good course in San Diego, so any cons are well worth the price of playing in paradise. Sunshine, 70's and no humidity is hard to beat. I would play again if I was in town.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Good times!

1    7/7/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Amenities- Pro shop is excellent, with tons of discs and lots of drinks and snacks! Restroom at start. Benches, trash cans throughout.
2. Pin locations- Multiple locations A, B & C make this course play different almost every time.
3. Shot variety- A multitude of shots and throwing styles are required to score low here.
4. Scenery- The grounds are VERY well kept and offer an area for picnicing/lounging if you so choose.
5. Signage- Pretty good, with everything you need to play the hole, but I've seen better.
Cons: 1. Parking- Rarely enough parking and even when you get a spot, you can get blocked in or even worse, crashed into.
2. Crowds- As with any really good course there will be a lot of players. Combine quality of course with the fact that SD is a large city with relatively little DG course choices of quality. This causes big back ups and long wait times. Play EARLY or come prepared to wait.
3. This is a pay to play course, which is new to me but, not too much and worth it. There are monthly/yearly specials.
4. Crossing fairways- This can be dangerous at times with people calling "FOUR" about every 5 minutes...might want to leave the kids at home.
5. Blind tee shots- Personal dislike. I don't need to see the cage every time, but sometimes I at least need an IDEA of where it is and this course has 3-4 holes that require a "good-guess" based off a mediocre sign.
6. Course play- Again, a personal like/dislike. I like when there is water that comes into play on a course. Morley offers plenty of other challenges, but if you're like me and like water, you won't find it here.
Other Thoughts: This is THE premiere course in SD and definitely a must play when in the area as its an ICON! Ensure you have plenty of time to play it as the above cons make for a "long" round usually. I play here by myself and I take the family (wife and daughters 8-10 out to Olive Glen in El Cajon.(Also reviewed) The locals here are VERY helpful/friendly and may offer you some things that are slightly unlawful unless you have glaucoma! Otherwise, have fun and let if fly!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    6/23/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first pro that has to be mentioned is the various pin placements for every hole, which is changed every Monday. One week a hole can be fairly simple and then the next week, it can turn into a nightmare. Hole 10 for example, some of the basket's placement is an easy high curve to the left then one placement is about 400+ through the woods. Some of the holes are very technical and require a skillful throw.

The course is also stocked with a pro shop filled with snacks, drinks, and DISCS. If you've been wanting to pick a new disc up but don't want to wait weeks for it to come in the mail, just head down to Morley Field and pick it right up. I always make a pit stop at the shop walking over to #15 Hole to refresh myself.

The environment is a truly laidback one, classic San Diego style. The people there are fairly friendly to everybody that is out to enjoy the sport. The course is really well-kept and the low fee to play (2.50 weekdays and 3.00 weekends) goes to course upkeep.
Cons: The crowds are easily the biggest con, but as long you're with a good group you'll still enjoy yourself. Although you might find yourself stuck behind a group of newbies but if you explain that your group is more experienced, they will let you pass on through.

Holes 15, 16, 18, and 19 flies right over each other so you'll have to keep your eyes/ears open for these flying discs and FORES. That also goes for Hole 3 & 4 and 5, 6, and 9. Basically, keep your eyes open for flying discs and you'll enjoy yourself.

Parking can be a hassle but don't fret, I usually park up on 28th Street when the lot is packed. It's just up the street on Pershing, stay on the right near the Balboa Golf Course and you'll find 28th Street, it's a short walk down to the course.
Other Thoughts: This is my preferred course in San Diego because of the technical holes and the close drive from my home. I can be found on the course 2 or 3 times a week and am always playing with a group of deaf people. If you see us, just wave and say hello! Most importantly, just let it fly and enjoy yourself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful DGC

2-4    1/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Course
Friendly and Helpful Locals
Great Variety
Multiple Pin Positions
Pro Shop with Snacks And Beverage
Good Use of the Elevation
Restrooms On-Site
Very Well-Maintained
Benches On Most Holes
Trash Cans Througout
Distances Vary
Concrete Tee Pads
Good Tee Signs W/Pin Position & Next Tee Marked
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Limited Parking
Layout (Have to Cross Fairways For Some Tee Pads)
Other Thoughts:
While I haven't played this course in about six months I felt that it is memorable enough to go ahead with this review. I had wonderful notes and pictures of the course.

Let me start off by addressing the crowds. When we played, both rounds, we had to wait at almost every hole to tee off. While this isn't an ideal round, its really not that bad either. Everyone that we encountered was super cool and very friendly and helpful. We would just stand around and BS, talk some of the other nearby courses, and smoke, so it could definitely be worse. Another thing that I noticed is that even though it was crazy busy, we never once got thrown on, or witnessed anyone else having that issue. Everyone that we saw playing had nothing but respect for the course and the other players on it.

As for the course, it plays well. First tee is between the pro shop and the parking lot. There are a couple tricky spots, where you might not be sure where to go next. If you find yourself in this spot, just ask someone on the course and they will be more than willing to help out. The first time we encountered this was going from the basket of the 3 to the tee pad for 4. You have to back track a little, the tee pad for 4 is back up near the road. Another spot was hole 10, when we played it was in the long postion. When 10 is in the long position 11 can be a little tricky, the tee pad will be back behind you and up the hill and the fairways for 10 and 11 will cross each other.

Once you get finished with 14 and come back out by the pro shop, things start to get real interesting. Out of the last five holes, only on one of them will not cross a fairway for a different hole. So in other words, don't just toss and go, you need to really watch. You don't want to get hit with a disc, or ruin anyones round by walking out in front of them. I thought when I first started researching this course that I would not like this one bit. If a course here in Columbus, Ohio was designed like this, there would be problems everyday, but as I stated before, everyone here seemed to have the utmost respect for the game and courtesy for all the players on the course. Just watch where you are walking, and also watch when you are throwing, people do have to cut across, so just be patient and let them get to their hole as well so that everyone can enjoy their round.

This course has many challenges and obstacles that add to not only the play of your game, but to the overall beauty of the course. The large mature trees keep much of the course shady and provided great natural obstacles. The elevation changes are also a great touch. There are a few with nice rolling hills, where the land gradually works it way down to the basket, and others that have nice drop offs. The variety is good here. There are short to medium holes, along with s few real bombers. There are also plenty of the left to right and visa versa.I would say that there is just about something for everyone on this course.

If you are in the area this is a must play, and I would recommend this course to anyone. If you aren't in the area, get there and play it. It's a beautiful course with plenty of challenge for everyone, and the people who play here are great. Every course should have locals as helpful, friendly, and respectful as this. This course is also one of the cleanest that I have played so far, so please remember to keep it that way and use the trash cans or pack out what you pack in.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Never the sme course!!!

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome, the thing that sticks in my mind the most is that no matter how many times I may play here there will always be something new! Multiple hole locations switched every Monday (by multiple I mean 3-7 different placements on every hole). Awesome snack shack and pro shop with friendly service and advice, you can rent disc for $1 each and if you find a disc they give you a dollar or some sunflower seeds, if you loose your disc and it is turned in and your number is on it, they will call you and you can get it back for $1 Very Fair if you ask me. The pro shop is decently priced too. When you first get there and pay for your daily pass, they will give you a bracelet (like some night clubs use) and a raffle ticket which I'm told if you fill it out and they draw your ticket at the end of the month you could win a free months pass. Hole signs are very nice showing all the different pin placements and distance as well as the current location (but for your first time play with a local). Very clean park. Trash cans and benches on each tee box. Tees are all either cement, or rubber on top of cement and are all level. I heard there was two different bathrooms, and it's possible I just missed one, but there is on right behind the pro shop. Elevation changes on every hole. This course is very challenging, and still very playable for a beginner like me. There are two practice baskets right by the parking lot as well. Everyone that I met was incredible helpful and friendly.
Cons: Danger!!! I know everyone has commented on the crowds, and yes this is the most crowded course that I've played, but it wasn't too bad. But the major con is that this course is DANGEROUS!!! You really want to keep you head on a swivel looking for any discs from any direction at any time... if you don't almost get hit, or almost hit someone while you are here, then maybe you should also play the lottery because luck is in your favor. But this is not a reason that I would say don't visit... you really should come out. Last con... parking... but again, I'll still be back
Other Thoughts: No water so you don't have to worry about that, some of the trees are likely to keep you disc, and will surely challenge you shot selection and your accuracy. I played on a Thursday at 1pm until 4pm and so the crowds were probably not as bad as other people say other post.
Parking is almost a CON, but almost every well used DGC that I've been to has a parking problem, just one of the acceptable conditions that you may have to deal with to play this AWESOME course... any cons are out weighed by PROS by at least 3 to 1.
Don't let the danger or the crowds keep you from this course, just be careful and have fun!!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Morley Field Review

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Patrick Paramore
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course with a lot of variations from one hole to the next, short holes, medium holes, lots of trees to challenge your skills. Course setup changes every Monday from 3-6 different positions. Weekly doubles, Monthly tourneys, San Diego Aces bag tag challenges, good local crowd
Cons: Too busy, sometimes 10-15 minute waits on some holes. I remember playing 2 rounds a night, now I struggle to get one round in.
Other Thoughts: The monthlies get you shop credit, doubles pays out!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, variety of types of holes and overall layout
Cons: crowd
Other Thoughts: i cant wait to go back. dont worry if you cant throw the disc to far because this course has shorter holes..but good obstacles. accuracy is key not distance

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.