San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #7 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 82
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Morley Field Review

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Patrick Paramore
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course with a lot of variations from one hole to the next, short holes, medium holes, lots of trees to challenge your skills. Course setup changes every Monday from 3-6 different positions. Weekly doubles, Monthly tourneys, San Diego Aces bag tag challenges, good local crowd
Cons: Too busy, sometimes 10-15 minute waits on some holes. I remember playing 2 rounds a night, now I struggle to get one round in.
Other Thoughts: The monthlies get you shop credit, doubles pays out!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, variety of types of holes and overall layout
Cons: crowd
Other Thoughts: i cant wait to go back. dont worry if you cant throw the disc to far because this course has shorter holes..but good obstacles. accuracy is key not distance

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park!

5+    12/27/2008   4/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2010
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Morley is beautiful and well-maintained course on land that is used only for disc golf, so there is no worrying about picnickers or joggers. The grounds are constantly being worked on, from mowing grass areas to laying mulch in high traffic areas to adding more pin placements.

Nice tee signs, with markers for which of several positions each pin is in (from three up to more than five possible settings). Holes offer very different challenges from a couple open longer holes, to short and technical tree filled holes, you will use just about every shot you have here. Many holes have some elevation, from rolling hills to a couple fairly steep hills. Concrete tee pads on every hole, with rubber mats over the concrete in spots that can get wet. The pins get changed every week, so the course is never the same, and always offers new challenges. The various placements offer very different looks, and are not simply minor changes in distance. There are longer pro pads on a few holes that add to the distance and challenge, especially the one on the very tight 17th hole.

For the most part, the players I've encountered on this course are courteous and fun to play with. There is a practice basket near the first tee with plenty of space around it to warm up or practice. Fully stocked pro shop with food, discs, and all sorts of dg related stuff is nice (though the discs are marked up a little in price). Weather is perfect just about all year!
Cons: This is one of the most crowded courses I have ever played, so if you're looking to get in a quick round stay away on weekends or evenings. Expect to wait on most holes if you play during peak hours, though there are benches and seats at all the tees. Parking can also be an issue on crowded days, though there are other places to park if you are willing to walk a little. Early morning is one of the best times to play, especially in the summer, but often that's when the sprinklers are on so be ready to dodge them or get wet.
Other Thoughts: Though this course is pay to play, it's a lot of fun, and offers many unique challenges. Definitely a must-play if you're in the San Diego area. It has a historical feel to it, there's lots of disc golf history here.

Beginning players won't find too much length or punishing rough where discs will disappear here. More advanced players will find lots of fun birdie opportunities. and lots of variety especially with the constantly changing pin positions, but there's not a lot of real challenge for top players here.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The most crowded

5+    4/23/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 91  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with 19 holes of good variety. Concrete tee pads and accurate signs on every hole. Well designed and easy to navigate. Map and scorecards available at well stocked pro shop. 2 practice baskets. Restrooms are centrally located and adjacent to
shop. Benches on every hole. A very nice setting with all kinds of plant life and wildlife (flowers, giant palm trees, huge hummingbirds, lizards, and the tamest squirrels ever). Lots of birdie opportunities. All holes have several pin positions that are moved every week. Fun course for both beginners and experienced players.
Cons: Crowds, crowds, and more crowds. I would suggest only playing on a weekday, otherwise a round could take more than 3 hours (10-20 minute waits on every hole are common).
Other Thoughts: More courses are needed in this area.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Cali.. do i need to say more? Steady Ed approves

2-4    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: *Rotated pin spots
*Cheap entry
*Nice pro shop
*Tricky and different course every week!
*Nice downhill stretches aswell as step up baskets that sit about 4 feet off the ground.
*Homeless dsic golfers = dedication
Cons: *Hot? nah its supposed to be..
*Your arms tired after playin after playin 112 holes in two days in the sun haha
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and its 70's origins are just as classy and curvy as the shots.. Not much else to say but to get out and play. and if you get tired then #11 is a nice place to relax, twist n then huck out opening thru the palms

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 An old favorite

5+    10/29/2003   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes requiring lots of different shots. #11 when it's in long (between the palms) is an epic shot. The different tees and pin positions really give the holes a different look each time you play them. Fully stocked pro shop. The 3 shots for an ace on #15 is a neat innovation I haven't seen elsewhere. #17 is classic short tight hole, take a close look, ther IS a fairway there. #15, #16, #18 & #19 play across a big bowl, #16 is the highlight of these in my opinion. It's a nice open bomb off the tee but you have to leave it a spot allows a look through one of the paths through the trees as the pin is tucked back in a grove. Downtown location next to Balboa Park. San Diego weather.
Cons: Crowd, erosion. Crossing fairways near the end. Watch the fence on #16, you clear it and your disc is gone (at least it was when I was there).
Other Thoughts: I had what I'd submit as the strangest round of golf ever played the last time I was there. I was on a plane heading to UCSD Thornton for some specialized pulmonary surgery they do there when the wildfires started. The flight was diverted to Phoenix as Lindbergh was closed. They re-opened long enough for us to get to SD. Get to Thornton and they say the surgery is off since the doctor was fight to save his ranch in Julien, so I have a free day. Naturally I head to Morley with my brother. We were two of less than 20 people on the whole course, the only time I've seen it that empty. It was a novel experience playing in surgical masks due to the falling ashes. Had the operation two days later and survived, now as good as new.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Best And Worst Of Times

1    3/20/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with good challenges from start to finish. Each hole has several possible pin locations and there is good signs that mark out where exactly the basket is. Baskets are changed on a weekly basis. There is a great community at this course. There are several hidden baskets forcing you to make some very interesting shots. There is a decent pro shop and an even better snack shack right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The crowds here are really bad and you will get disc golfers or all ability levels and all degrees of seriousness. Many holes are built right on top of each other, especially by the time you get to hole 15 or so. The signs are not perfectly clear as far as what vegitation you are looking at. If you have not played this course you could spend a long time just trying to figure out what kind of shot your are supposed to throw on a few particular holes. This course is more challenging than a beginner should handle. With beginners on the course it makes for a very slow round. Expect a round to take twice as long as you would expect. You do have to pay to play here.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course and would get a much higher rating if not for the crowds and the way holes are built on top of each other. By talking to some of the locals I found out that it is best to play really early in the morning. I was very glad that I had a couple of guys to play with or I would have been lost on several holes. I really cannot stress how frustrating the pace of play was for me, and I played on a weekday afternoon. Something that I did appreciate very much was the variety on the course as some holes felt like typical tight mountain holes and other holes felt wide open like more park type courses. I will probably not play this course again unless I have a friend that specifically invites me to play with them there as it is just not worth the cost to play so slowly, even on a great course. They have come up with a great way to have lsot discs returned to the pro shop where if you return a lost disc you get $1 and if it is your disc you have to pay $1 to get it back.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A True Gem

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible course!!!!

Lotsa elevation changes. Only hole 8 would be considered flat, although it slightly elevates. (Took me 2 rounds to realize why my drive kept coming up a lil short) There are so many different shots (most holes have at least 5 different placements), it was amazing the excellent use of the park. I absolutely used every shot in the bag!!! It is fun for the begginer and pro alike.

The ammenities there are well above par. 2 bathrooms at each end of the course. Excellent pro shop with friendly, knowledgable staff. Clear and accurate tee signage. The tee pads were some of the best I have ever played on (all concrete, and some were concrete with rubber padding). Well maintained, disc golf exclusive park. Trash cans and benches at each tee. Chains are in good condition

Last, and definetely not least, THE PEOPLE!!! Everyone I met were awesome. From young to old, new to the sport or grizzeled vets; everybody was super freindly. I played there all day by myself (after 1 round with my good friend, Ray,errrr....supergimp), but never alone. (thanks Vincent, Alan, Brooks, Chris, Serena, Greg, Justin, Kane, Brian, etc......You get the point) Everyone was lookin out for each others disc, even other groups. I can't say enough about the quality of people I met there
Cons: I really had to dig deep to find anything wrong with the course. The only draw back would be that it gets REALLY crowded on the weekends. It can really mess with your flow. The locals said that weekdays were much better

Holes 15, 16, and 19 can get really dangerous. 15 and 16 criss-cross each other and 19's tee pad is in the fairway of the other 2. Hole 19 needs to get axed for it to be safer.
Other Thoughts: San Diego needs more disc golf courses!!! With only Morley and La Mesa, there are only 28 holes in the area. More courses means that we get spread out and there are less crowded courses. One new course is opening 5/2010 in N. County!!!

Parking is very limited at the course. There is plenty of additional parking back by the baseball fields. You can park there and start at hole 10, pay for your round after hole 14. The parking isn't really a con if you know about the extra lot in the back portion of the course. Pay to play, but it was worth the couple beans they asked....

I would put this in the "Cons" section, but, new players are never a con to me:

THE NEWBIES NEED TO LEARN AND UNDERTSTAND ETIQUETTE/ RULES BEFORE THEY TEE UP!!!!

Some were loud and boisterous while people were shooting tee shots. They were walking out in front of people teeing off and risking there health and/or life. One person said, "This is a very dangerous sport!!", after her playing partner walked in front of a tee pad while his buddy tee'd off (just missing the BACK OF HIS HEAD by 2 ft.) This game is VERY SAFE if people follow etiquette and the rules. Some signage stating rules and etiquette may help, but, that is only if they read it. Or, when paying, have people sign something that they read/ understand rules/ etiquette. Maybe tenured players can explain this to them in a calm, assertive way. I am not sure because people can take it the wrong way if you ask them to quiet down for a shooter or explain to them the obvious health risk with takin a 180 gram TeeRex to the dome. Some part of me thinks let em learn by getting drilled, but that is how courses are closed and nobody needs to get hurt enjoying this great game. I just think something should be done before somebody get seriously injured or worse.....

Favorite Holes:
#6, Nice open up hill shot, hole covered in a stand of trees. Takes a good arm, then some accuracy

#7, Set at its longest placement. It was a long down hill drive with a lot of trees in the fairway, hard to reach without a perfectly placed (and a lil luck) roller. The hole is literally engulfed in a grove of trees. Only 2 windows to get to it. Very Challenging!!

#11, Tee off through a decent widow 60 ft above the meadow below. Righty hyzer can't get it back there to the hole and a lefty can get caught up in the palm tree (which need to be harvested of all the "Disc Fruit" hanging from the fronds). Tests your arm strength and accuracy at the same time

#17, The most technical shot on the course. Very short, but maximun accuracy. Only 2 windows, left and right, to get through. Many locals used a side arm, skip technique to avoid the low branches

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 San Diego Favorite

1    2/18/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good course... lots of fun, well maintained. Lots of trees requiring high level of accuracy. The holes all have at least four pin placements, and the staff changes the pin spots weekly, so the course is always a little different even if you play there a lot. Also, they have a nice little pro shop/snack shack where you can get discs, drinks, snacks, etc. Finally, the course is run by the legend himself... Snapper Pierson!
Cons: The number one con is that Morley gets really crowded, especially on weekends. Expect to spend a lot of time waiting... this course takes a little over an hour to play on a weekday morning, but around 3 hours on a weekend afternoon. If possible, I try to go on weekday mornings, which is the best time as far as crowds. Also, there are not really any long holes that require a long power drive... most are under 300 ft. Also, they try to call some of the longer holes (which still aren't long when compared to other courses) as par 4's, which is ridiculous when you consider most courses have much longer holes that they still consider par 3's. There is no need for par 4's on an easy course like morley.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a lot of fun... just be patient!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 78  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: only two blocks from my old house in San Diego Morley is a great time. love the pin placements surrounded by trees requiring a great approach or very accurate shot off the tee. most of the holes i saw had 7 pin placements and all had good tee pads. grassy and mulch fairways giving a very pleasing look to the course. there was a fair amount of distance on a few holes but almost all played longer than there distance read. on site pro shop, disc rental, dog friendly, and the people were pretty cool too.
Cons: the course itself is great, could use some alt tee pads for more length but really its the people. this place gets crowded fast and then it moves slow. it can take a very long time to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: if you don't mind the wait this course is wort it. it is very fun and always a good time. the famous shoe tree has fallen down and now there is a plaque where it once stood. there is a new shoe tree taking shape next to the old one. this course has a personality all its own, everybody should check this place out sometime.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.