San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 San Diego Favorite

1    2/18/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good course... lots of fun, well maintained. Lots of trees requiring high level of accuracy. The holes all have at least four pin placements, and the staff changes the pin spots weekly, so the course is always a little different even if you play there a lot. Also, they have a nice little pro shop/snack shack where you can get discs, drinks, snacks, etc. Finally, the course is run by the legend himself... Snapper Pierson!
Cons: The number one con is that Morley gets really crowded, especially on weekends. Expect to spend a lot of time waiting... this course takes a little over an hour to play on a weekday morning, but around 3 hours on a weekend afternoon. If possible, I try to go on weekday mornings, which is the best time as far as crowds. Also, there are not really any long holes that require a long power drive... most are under 300 ft. Also, they try to call some of the longer holes (which still aren't long when compared to other courses) as par 4's, which is ridiculous when you consider most courses have much longer holes that they still consider par 3's. There is no need for par 4's on an easy course like morley.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a lot of fun... just be patient!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: only two blocks from my old house in San Diego Morley is a great time. love the pin placements surrounded by trees requiring a great approach or very accurate shot off the tee. most of the holes i saw had 7 pin placements and all had good tee pads. grassy and mulch fairways giving a very pleasing look to the course. there was a fair amount of distance on a few holes but almost all played longer than there distance read. on site pro shop, disc rental, dog friendly, and the people were pretty cool too.
Cons: the course itself is great, could use some alt tee pads for more length but really its the people. this place gets crowded fast and then it moves slow. it can take a very long time to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: if you don't mind the wait this course is wort it. it is very fun and always a good time. the famous shoe tree has fallen down and now there is a plaque where it once stood. there is a new shoe tree taking shape next to the old one. this course has a personality all its own, everybody should check this place out sometime.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ole Morley

5+    12/29/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play Morley about once a week. I find a new challenge every tme I play.
1. Pins are moved every Tuesday I think now? This make for lot's of shots to learn.
2. This course is full of strategically placed trees, great challenging layout.
3. Tees Pads are concrete (some holes have rubber pads)
4. Signage is very clear and course attendants mark the pin locations on the Sign maps daily.
5. Full of Friendly Veteran locals that can give direction, strategic tips, and love general dg talk.
6. Course is well maintained grass or mulch everywhere (not much dirt).
7. Pro Tees are available on hole 8, 9, and 17. They are quite tough.
8. Great pro shop with food, drinks, and lots of Discs. Scorecards are available.
Cons: 1. Probably the busiest course in the US. 2 Saturdays ago it took me 2.5 hours and I only got in 12 Holes. Avoid weekends when noobs and one time players are in full force (groups of 8-10 are not rare).
2. Not a great course to work on distance, but the short game will be challenged.
3. It is a pay to play, but the course shows the investment.
4. Parking obviously can be an issue.
5. Watchout for discs. lots of crossing holes and lots of noobs make for a bad combo.
6. Trash cans on every hole, but I still find trash everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I always have fun here no matter how long the round takes, how many noobs hit me with a drive, or how poorly I score. Morley Field is definately a destination course. If you could play one course in SD this would be it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field San Diego

2-4    12/24/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley Field has a good balance of well placed holes that can give players of all levels some kind of challenge. Since baskets are moved every Monday, and some holes have 10 different settings, the play is not redundant or boring. Trash cans at every hole, at least two holes with raised man made elevated baskets, nice teepads that can handle rain, well shaded, being a lefty who has been playing for eight years I was impressed by the balanced design. Ive played so many courses where all of the holes go to the left or straight, not here, Snapper did a good job of balancing the course for turnovers and hyzers, good time here with good people
Cons: Waiting....Waiting....Waiting....at almost every hole, In my experience there the sixsomes dont let twosomes play through, the course is a little easy for my taste, Many shared fairways and baskets near teepads, can be a little dangerous at times due to crowds
Other Thoughts: it was fun, -7 first round, followed by two rounds of -4, I could see top players easily shooting double digits no matter the settings of the baskets. Im about to play again now and see what baskets were moved, cheers

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded

5+    12/26/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: RYFLE
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. Pay to play but very cheap. Basket locations change every week which makes for a variety of different shots. Morley has a good mix of long and short throws that will challenge you everytime. Well maintained with trash cans at almost every hole and a pro shop with discs, snacks, ect.
Cons: CROWDS!!! Very crowded on the weekends with some large groups. Discs flying all over the place so keep your ears and eyes open

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is great. Lots of terrain and trees. Good pro shop on site. Clean with not much trash around. Friendly folks. Easy to navigate w sturdy Tee boxes and nice maps.
Cons: Lots and LOTS of friendly folks. The course would get a much higher rating if it weren't so crowded. I play solo a lot and seem to get around fairly easily, however if you go in a group it will take a long time to get around. This place is crowded on weekday mornings! Weekends are too frustrating for me to bother unless i get there at 6:30 AM. Even then the parking lot is 1/2 full already.
Other Thoughts: Play it. Have fun, just be patient and expect to hear a LOT of "FORE". Might just yell it yourself a few dozen times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun while visiting the area

2-4    7/21/2006   10/22/2008
Review By: okjazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: multiple pin placements, rugged terrain, variation of holes, good challenges
Cons: prefer no green fees but the cost is minimal

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course (Since 1979)

5+    10/12/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "OG" disc golf course. Lot's of personality. Friendly people. Never at a loss for someone to play with. Good pro shop. In beautiful Balboa Park (across from SD Zoo!). No two holes the same. Well maintained. You will use ALL of your shots and will need to learn some new ones. Some very scenic holes.
Cons: 1. "Banders" - a term I made up! Since Morley is a "pay-to-play" course you are given a bright paper wristband to wear as proof that you paid. Most locals collect them on their bag straps. "BANDERS" are usually a) completely unaware of their surroundings or anyone around them. b) and they don't care. c) they are usually dragging a large cooler and drunk or on their way. d) are responsible for 90% of the "FORES....!" you will hear in a round (one per hole!?) e) add at least 1 hour to rounds on weekends! f) never return lost discs to the pro shop. g) play in flip flops or barefoot... I could go on! I love people but they will get on your nerves quickly as you sit for 10-15 minutes between each hole because they genuinely think its funny to annoy people.

2. Parking
3. Crowded!!! Most played course in USA!
Other Thoughts: It really is a fun, beautiful course! I am thankful I live in San Diego and play Morley 3-4 times per week! If you know all these things going in, you will have a better time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I finally played it...

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well.... I finally got to play here. I have been waiting over 20 years and wondering what Morley Field would be like. I had pumped it up so much in my mind that there was no way it could live up to my expectations and I was right. It didn't. But it's still a good place to come if you're in to disc golf. It's one of those places you just have to go play.

About the course. This place has all the amenities. There's restrooms, a pro shop that sells discs, drinks and snacks. You can also rent discs here. You have to pay a small fee to play the course but it's not a problem. Judging by the amount of people out there playing it could make someone a millionaire. haha.

The course is short but it's not easy. There's a million different pin placements for each hole and they move the pins on monday. That's one of the really neat things about the course. There are concrete tee pads and very good tee signs. The land that the course is on is also very neat. It's got rolling hills and other good disc golf course topography.
Cons: There will be a million people playing this course no matter what time you are there. I went on a Tuesday morning and there were tons of people playing. It was unbelievable.

You will hear "FORE" a bunch and you should pay attention. Discs are flying around all over the place here. There's definitely a chance to get hurt. There are also crossing fairways in a couple places and holes that are very close together. Back when this course was put in it wouldn't have been a problem but with the new disc technology it's a dangerous place to play.

Because of the cons it's not one of my favorite places to play and I probably won't go back but I'm glad I finally got to play here. I had a smile on my face the whole round just because I was playing Morley.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Duck and Cover...

1    9/14/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: mjheckman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course 3 times in 4 days. So, obviously I liked it. It's well groomed, clean, and has manicured lawns... it's good to see that the "green fees" are being well spent. There's very little chance of losing a disc on any hole. Many hole variations; changing every Monday, that give the course a very different feel. For the most part, the course requires accuracy over big distance.
Cons: Like many others have said... if you're looking for a serene round of disc golf this aint the place. The course was packed on Friday, Sunday and Monday... and when I say packed I mean PACKED! My head was constantly on a swivel! At times I felt like I was in a fire-fight... especially on holes 16, 17, 18 & 19! All of these holes play across each other and it can be simply dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I know many of the locals may hate the idea, but I would eliminate the 19th hole. It would speed up play on the back 9 and it would reduce the number of near misses and potential head wounds.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.