San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Epiphil Hole #5 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Away from home paradise.

1    8/29/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Richie T
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The very first thing we came across was friendly folks. Customers excited that some old Texans were there to play the course. Staff was very friendly as well. Very helpful with course suggestions and disc selections. Started the first tee to find manicured fairways wow! Have never played a course that was this nice.
Cons: Have only played it once.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play this course again. Maybe next year!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 yup yup!

5+    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Cleticus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, good tee pads, lots of different basket positions, good signs at tee pads.
Cons: Crowded. A bit soggy in the morning sometimes.
Other Thoughts: The best course I've played in southern california, well worth the drive from escondido.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short with variety

5+    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The location in Balboa Park can't be beat for urban outdoors. The holes are short, but well-placed obstacles make every hole challenging. Even after playing dozens of times, I find new ways to play holes. Especially since they move the baskets every week (at least).
Cons: It is consistently crowded, but most groups will let fast players play through.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

This Course Has Been Reviewed More Than Sea World!

1    6/28/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unfortunately, I was only in San Diego for a weekend meaning I would have to face the crowds at Morley. I arranged to meet a friend there at 06:45 on a Saturday. I was amazed to find about 20 cars already there and the place a beehive of activity with groups already playing, waiting at # 1, etc. I had shown up on the Saturday of the their monthly tournament.
We were able to get our round started before the tourney and didn't experience any slow downs until about hole # 16.

There is a $4 fee ($3 weekdays) for weekends. They give you a little bracelet to wear showing that you've paid, like a hospital bracelet. The course is very well maintained and baskets are changed weekly by the staff here. Some holes have as many as 7 different basket positions. Baskets, tee pads, signs, benches are all well done.
Great terrain for a course. Rolling hills, just enough trees, some underbrush, nice variety of holes. Very pretty course.
The weather in San Diego is perfect for disc golf!
Cons: I hate to rate a course down because it's too popular but that's the story here. Taking 3 plus hours to play a round of disc golf is a major Con in my book.
I can't see better players being challenged here. I'm a terrible, old Rec player and I should have shot even (ended up at +1). I have no idea which placement the baskets were in on the day I played.

There is no water. No epic holes in my opinion. No awesome downhills.
Other Thoughts: My playing partner wasn't happy with Snapper's recent attempts to add to the difficulty of some holes by adding/planting trees. Having never played here before, I have no opinion.

I've heard so much about Morley field for so many years. After finally getting to play it, I was somewhat surprised at it's lack of challenge. Luckily, I played early enough that I didn't have the experience of waiting at every hole. Being the only course in San Diego, IMO, It's a very crowded, enjoyable intermediate course in the city with the most perfect disc golf weather anywhere.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    3/18/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: gusisfishin@gmail.co
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course. Fun Course. Lots of things in the way, and a ton of basket placements. Baskets get moved EVERY Monday. Well cared for. There must have been 10 guys out there taking care of stuff on this course on a Tuesday Morning.
Cons: Little tricky to find your way on your first time, and, crowded because it's sooooooo fun.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is challenging but friendly for beginners. Lots of grade changes. You will need to use most of your disk in your bag.
Cons: Crowded. Crowded crowded. That's my only complaint about the course. you'll definitely have to wait almost at every pad to be able to throw

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun Design, Too Crowded

1    8/23/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The park itself is very pretty, well landscaped, and cared for. There are lots of different types of shots, and the course is pretty interesting, start to finish.
Cons: Like everything else in California, it is incredibly crowded. You have to wait on almost every pad, and you are always worried about getting hit by a disc. The crowd ruined it for me.
Other Thoughts: As a course that has been around a long time, it is fun to play if you are in the area. Try to avoid evenings and weekends cause it is just packed with people.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Got it all

5+    1/18/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Coolest basket locations in SD
Variety of shots
Beautiful atmosphere
Awesome pro shop
Cons: The CROWDS!
Other Thoughts: This is the course to test all of your disc golf abilities. Love playing Morley Morley Morley Offers everything you would want in a course except waiting at every hole :/

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    11/14/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: bangarangarang
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: My home course, I love it. Pins constantly moving to many different positions. Great events thrown here all the time. Best spot in So-Cal.
Cons: None to report, this course just offers so much I miss living there.
Other Thoughts: Keep it up Diego!

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Design/Layout/Maintenance, but longest waits in SD

5+    4/25/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Every hole has multiple positions, ranging from 3 to 7 basket positions rotated weekly.
-The course is very well maintained.
-Exceptional variety of holes with regard to drives required
-Tree density variation is exceptional
-Weekly doubles
-19 holes (weird but unique)
Cons: -VERY LONG wait times unless you go before 8am
-Little terrain change (mostly grass, some dirt/wood chips)
-Parking can be difficult
Other Thoughts: The course itself is a 5.0 without a doubt, but with rounds typically taking 3 to 3.5hrs for this pay-to-play course (although it's an all-day fee) and the difficulty in parking at times, unfortunately that makes the Morley Field experience somewhat less enjoyable.
Honestly have no problem with the pay-to-play aspect because it's well maintained. Really, it's the wait.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.