San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #19 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Basket



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun but crowded!!

1    9/11/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Homemedics
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots and different basket placements to change it up. Pro shop had a good selection of discs and food and beverage. Overall a great course!
Cons: Crowded!! We showed up on a weekday at 8:30 and had to wait through 3 groups just to start! Also, lots of holes cross paths and you hear fore like every ten seconds!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/31/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical - a wide variety of shots, elevations, woods, bombs. Good people in general and a well stocked pro shop! The stoners and drunks can be amusing as well.
Cons: Crowds!! This place is POPULAR! Expect to do some waiting. The drunk stoners can be a pain in the butt. Parking can be an issue but if you don't mind a shirt walk in there us plenty nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I feel pretty darn lucky. This course will help you improve rapidly with a requirement of almost all the throws available, a great deal of control, and never a shortage of skilled players to jump in with and learn from or challenge your skills with. The crowd can be pretty intense but with a laid back attitude you can meet a great deal if interesting people and have a great time. It is a pay-to-play course but I feel it's a great value when you weigh the benefits and consider the staffs value. The pro-shop is well stocked, and the course is always full of smiling faces!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Peanut-butter and Jelly of courses

2-4    3/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 42  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good park for all skill levels. The park is well maintained and has a great pro shop. It's impossible to beat the weather in San Diego, impossible. Multiple tee pads is a great option to keep things fresh.
Cons: Every time I have been there it's been crowded. The parking lot is really small. The holes are for the most part short and the last few are complete blind shots. Those blind shots suck even more where the holes overlap. You never know if or when you'll get hit and people can't see to yell a warning. The worst part is that you have to pay for this average course. I'm not above paying, but I expect better quality for my dime.
Other Thoughts: There isn't anything that I wrote that hasn't already been said I'm sure. Just because the surrounding area has crappy courses doesn't mean that it should get anything possibly over 3.25, that is just silly.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Morley Field Disc Golf Course

5+    6/20/2009   3/6/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 41 Years
0 Helpful / 31 Not
Pros: I have Won at Morley Field , many Times. I have won several Course Championships and a couple of Spring Fling Championships as a Pro Open player. For me , a Great course. I can play it very well. MorleyField has Multiple Pin placements on every hole , as well as legible Teesigns , trash cans and benches on every hole ( except hole # 19 ) for saftey reasons. I'm one of the original players since 1978 when it was first installed and Snapper was selling Wham-O's out of the back of his car. There was no bathrooms at that time , just a couple of porta potties.
Cons: Parking Lot can be pretty crowded at times. Call the Pro Shop to be sure.

3090 Pershing Drive
San Diego, CA 92104

Open 365 days a year Sunrise to Sunset $3 weekdays and $4 weekends $1.50 disc rentals (619) 692-3607
Other Thoughts: Great Training Course. Driving and Putting around and through Trees and Bushes.
http://morleyfield.com/2009/0...e-donny-olow/

0 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc golf...shady people

5+    11/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course offers:
1) Multiple Pin positions changed weekly
2) Short and long pins
3) Variety of natural hazards
4) Challenges for both FHBH and LHBH players
It is also just a beautiful course
Cons: This course costs money ($3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends)
It can also get very busy. Sometimes the wait to play a basket is too long to bear. I have played on more than one occasion where someone I was playing with got fed up with the wait that they did not finish their round.
Some of the people who play at Morley are just down right shady. Drinking and smoking pot! I can stand the pot smoking that goes on at Morley. In additon, there have been a lot of complaints of people not returning lost and found plastic. This bugs me to no end, but it is getting even worse. People have been complaining of discs being stolen right out of their bag.
I recommend playing Morley because it is a fun disc golf course, but beware of stoners and thieves.

8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Busiest DG course ever!

5+    10/1/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Unique looking course with a variety of challenges (narrows, uphills, downhills, blind shots)...this can force you into many unique situations more often than normal, requiring a variety of different shots besides your basic FH or BH; tomahawks, rollers, thumbers, etc...I've used the tomahawk throw the most on this course vs any other course I've played so far.
- Very well upkept
- Cool 2 basket practice putting area, with one of the putting baskets upgraded with woodchips (other basket still has dirt and can get muddy sometimes)
- Multiple pin positions (5 per hole) keep this course interesting...sometimes makes holes a completely different challenge from week to week
- A mostly friendly crowd with lots of dogs (I happen to love dogs, so this is a pro to me)
Cons: - Too crowded!!! I've never waited so long on holes until I came to this course. Every hole is like a 3-5 minute wait, it can get worse, especially during peak times and on weekends..
- Too many holes intersect each other. This can get treacherous when it gets busy. I've recently been hit with a Nuke in the back of my neck, one of my friends hit someone on hole 13 from hole 1, and my friend has already hit 2 other people, so be extra careful and aware on this course!!!
- Pay to play ($3 on weekdays, $4 on weekends).
- For such a popular course, their parking lot is extremely small and its a dirt lot. They should put in an asphalt parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall my favorite course in San Diego. The best hole on this course imo is the "top of the world" throw on hole 11. On hole 5 you get to air out your disc downhill 400+ft. Another cool thing they do is have ace pots (where you put $0.25 for two throws and win the pot if you ace the hole) on holes 15 and 16. Overall a beautiful, well-kept course. Cool pro shop that has discs, drinks, ice cream, and food for sale. My biggest complaint is that this course is very crowded and having long waits on each hole. I've never had to wait on each hole of a course until I came to Morley. The upside to the crowds is that I've met some very cool people here. There's definitely a small disc golf community here and you start recognizing familiar and friendly faces if you play here enough. Due to the crowdedness, its almost essential to jump in with other groups (especially if you're just playing by yourself or a small group) or to let others join your group, which makes it a great way to meet new people. Locals say its the busiest DG course in Southern California, if not the entire United States. People are here at all times of the day, all days of the week. You will hear "fore" quite a bit on this course. Heed this warning every time you hear it because many holes intersect on this course and a disc may be headed for your dome; so stay alert! (holes 2-3, 5-6, 11-12, and ESPECIALLY holes 15-16-18-19). This is the heart of San Diego disc golf and definitely worth checking out if you're in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great but Crowded

5+    8/2/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout. 5+ pin locations on each hole, changed frequently. Lots of technical shots. Really rewards players who can throw a variety of shots (i.e. forehand, tomahawk, rollers, etc.) Course flows really well, when it isn't crowded.

-Monthly Tournament is set up really well. The multiple tiers makes it so even the newer players can be competitive.

- Ace Pool on 15! Hit my first ace there and got paid for it. Gotta love a course where that happens.

- Located in a very easy to get to location in North Park.

- Meticulously taken care of. They really put the pay-to-play fees to work. The course is always upkept and nice looking. Trash is never out of hand. A great place to spend some time on a weekend.

- Pro shop/concession stand is always fully stocked with pretty much everything any of the golfers will need. Great guys running it. You can tell they care a lot about the course and the sport.

-Pro shop pays you a buck for every found disc. This is great, because it encourages people to turn plastic in when they find it, instead of just keeping it. Of course, you gotta pay the pro-shop back to get the disc, but I say a favorite disc is worth a dollar any day of the week.
Cons: -The crowds can be out of control, especially on the weekend. If you don't want to wait for ten+ minutes on each hole, get there before 9 on a weekday. After that, it becomes too much of a hassle. Honestly, I would rate this course a 4 if it weren't for the crowds.

- Fairways can get a bit crowded, especially from hole 15 on. They managed to make a great course on the land they had available, but size restrictions mean that you get some cross over.

Parking lot is kind of small, considering how many people come out.
Other Thoughts: Morley is Morley. Its the center of the sport in San Diego, and its a really fun course to play. Most of the shots are technical, and none of the holes are very long. Challenging enough to keep a veteran entertained, but not so hard that it will put off a new player.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of the crowds. While about 90% of of the people you meet out there are courteous and friendly, the other 10% can really ruin the experience. Some of them are new players who haven't really learned the etiquette yet, but most are just jerks. There's nothing more frustrating to me than getting stuck behind a group of six - eight, stoned/drunk college kids who feel the need to take 2-3 shots each on every hole. I would say this is more of a problem on the weekends, so if this kind of thing bugs you then come on a weekday morning.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scorely Morely

1    3/9/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played it in the early evening. Lots of folk around. Some very fun holes.
Cons: Lots of folks around. Had to really watch what was going off and what was maybe incoming. Great temp tho for early March. last few holes were criss cross dangerous. Good play tho!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love at first sight

1    7/22/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, with diverse pin locations per hole. Pro shop with snack bar. Each hole offers its own challenge from wide open fields, to wooded "tree tunnels". Locals are very friendly.
Cons: The crowds. The problem with a great course is that everyone wants to play there. A lot of fairways cross, so you have to keep a lookout for other players discs.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 terrific diverse course. hella crowded.

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new pin placements every monday. up to 5-6 different pin placements mean you are constantly playing a different course. tons of very technical holes. a few wide open bombs. many many trees. excellent elevation change. fully stoked pro shop. pleasantly chill locals.
in the morning you can even hear the animals from SD zoo when the wind is blowing!
tee signs are clearly marked and informative.
excellent tee pads (broom available at pro shop if so desired).
if there is even a hint of rain in the air, virtually all locals will stay away for fear of melting, meaning you can actually play unfettered disc golf! though it may be raining.
Cons: this place is a wee bit too crowded for some souls.
suffice to say, this is in all likelihood the single busiest disc golf course on earth.
i highly recommend showing up prior to 9am. on a weekday.
playing any sort of "competitive" round on a weekend is prohibitively difficult. bring a hacky sack.
the crowded factor also enhances the danger level of being hit by discs.
in my experience, if the parking lot is full to the point you have no where to park your car, that is probably a hint that you dont want to be playing then anyway.
Other Thoughts: if there were any way to get past the crowds issue, i expect this course would hold up very well on the variety and challenges that it offers. the longer layouts can be EXTREMELY difficult (meaning par is a great score).
on the other hand, in the shorter positions, the course can become a birdie fest.
snapper does a fantastic job of keeping the course in excellent running order. the grass is always immaculately mowed, and the landscaping in general looks like it i tended to by a staff of half a dozen (which it essentially is!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.