San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great but Crowded

5+    8/2/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout. 5+ pin locations on each hole, changed frequently. Lots of technical shots. Really rewards players who can throw a variety of shots (i.e. forehand, tomahawk, rollers, etc.) Course flows really well, when it isn't crowded.

-Monthly Tournament is set up really well. The multiple tiers makes it so even the newer players can be competitive.

- Ace Pool on 15! Hit my first ace there and got paid for it. Gotta love a course where that happens.

- Located in a very easy to get to location in North Park.

- Meticulously taken care of. They really put the pay-to-play fees to work. The course is always upkept and nice looking. Trash is never out of hand. A great place to spend some time on a weekend.

- Pro shop/concession stand is always fully stocked with pretty much everything any of the golfers will need. Great guys running it. You can tell they care a lot about the course and the sport.

-Pro shop pays you a buck for every found disc. This is great, because it encourages people to turn plastic in when they find it, instead of just keeping it. Of course, you gotta pay the pro-shop back to get the disc, but I say a favorite disc is worth a dollar any day of the week.
Cons: -The crowds can be out of control, especially on the weekend. If you don't want to wait for ten+ minutes on each hole, get there before 9 on a weekday. After that, it becomes too much of a hassle. Honestly, I would rate this course a 4 if it weren't for the crowds.

- Fairways can get a bit crowded, especially from hole 15 on. They managed to make a great course on the land they had available, but size restrictions mean that you get some cross over.

Parking lot is kind of small, considering how many people come out.
Other Thoughts: Morley is Morley. Its the center of the sport in San Diego, and its a really fun course to play. Most of the shots are technical, and none of the holes are very long. Challenging enough to keep a veteran entertained, but not so hard that it will put off a new player.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of the crowds. While about 90% of of the people you meet out there are courteous and friendly, the other 10% can really ruin the experience. Some of them are new players who haven't really learned the etiquette yet, but most are just jerks. There's nothing more frustrating to me than getting stuck behind a group of six - eight, stoned/drunk college kids who feel the need to take 2-3 shots each on every hole. I would say this is more of a problem on the weekends, so if this kind of thing bugs you then come on a weekday morning.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scorely Morely

1    3/9/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played it in the early evening. Lots of folk around. Some very fun holes.
Cons: Lots of folks around. Had to really watch what was going off and what was maybe incoming. Great temp tho for early March. last few holes were criss cross dangerous. Good play tho!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love at first sight

1    7/22/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, with diverse pin locations per hole. Pro shop with snack bar. Each hole offers its own challenge from wide open fields, to wooded "tree tunnels". Locals are very friendly.
Cons: The crowds. The problem with a great course is that everyone wants to play there. A lot of fairways cross, so you have to keep a lookout for other players discs.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 terrific diverse course. hella crowded.

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new pin placements every monday. up to 5-6 different pin placements mean you are constantly playing a different course. tons of very technical holes. a few wide open bombs. many many trees. excellent elevation change. fully stoked pro shop. pleasantly chill locals.
in the morning you can even hear the animals from SD zoo when the wind is blowing!
tee signs are clearly marked and informative.
excellent tee pads (broom available at pro shop if so desired).
if there is even a hint of rain in the air, virtually all locals will stay away for fear of melting, meaning you can actually play unfettered disc golf! though it may be raining.
Cons: this place is a wee bit too crowded for some souls.
suffice to say, this is in all likelihood the single busiest disc golf course on earth.
i highly recommend showing up prior to 9am. on a weekday.
playing any sort of "competitive" round on a weekend is prohibitively difficult. bring a hacky sack.
the crowded factor also enhances the danger level of being hit by discs.
in my experience, if the parking lot is full to the point you have no where to park your car, that is probably a hint that you dont want to be playing then anyway.
Other Thoughts: if there were any way to get past the crowds issue, i expect this course would hold up very well on the variety and challenges that it offers. the longer layouts can be EXTREMELY difficult (meaning par is a great score).
on the other hand, in the shorter positions, the course can become a birdie fest.
snapper does a fantastic job of keeping the course in excellent running order. the grass is always immaculately mowed, and the landscaping in general looks like it i tended to by a staff of half a dozen (which it essentially is!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Friendly Lines

5+    7/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Shots, lots of variety, as a 99% RHBH player there were a few holes I had to get creative with. One or two bombers mixed in with challenging technical shots. A few blind holes that I always find fun.

-Proshop/local club and players. Ive found most courses that have a great proshop and local club usually have more than a handful of helpful discers around. Morley is no exception, Ive gone solo every time and always ended up playing with a group of locals to point the way.

-Location/Weather, Played 2 early morning rounds on a sunday, slightly cloudy, perfect tempature, slight breeze...welcome to san deigo.

-participate in the ace pot if its going on, fun for only 25cents is usually hard to come by, two people in my group got cage on rethrows, adds more interest to a fun rd.
Cons: -Crossing Fairway Danger, this is definetly amplified by the amount of begginer/intermediate players that are here, and the sheer amount of people playing at one time. Hole 19 is particulary bad, you pretty much need your head on a swivel as two holes are throwing over your head, and hole 18 throws back toward you. But there are numerous spots throughout the course where you really need to pay attention.

-Crowds, this doesnt really bug me a whole lot, but later in the day a 3 hour round can really start to be a drag, and most of the people i played with thought that wasnt too bad.

-Pro-shop Danger zone, as you are standing at the proshop hole 14 throws at your back, most people with decent control, or anyone throwing on a hyzer really shouldnt come anywhere near hitting it...2 different people actually put discs into the pro shop while I was standing there, the first time was almost comical because it was really slow and the guy behind the counter probably could have caught it, the second time 13-14 y.o. kid lasered a driver into it, not so funny.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty positive experience, fun shots, great weather and friendly people, definetly a must play if you are in the area. With that said, I cant see myself driving past kit carson to go play morley again for a while, just a much more relaxing round with less hazards.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of holes. You'll be dealing with doglegs, straight shots, anhyzers, and the ocean wind will be playing tricks on you throughout
-Multiple pin locations will always keep you on your toes
-Course upkeep is good. Very little litter, well-maintained grass and trees, concrete and rubber tee pads are all in good shape.
-Disc golf-specific part of the park, and it's very pleasant and pretty.
-The locals are a nice, relaxed group.
-Well-stocked pro shop onsite.
-Very easy to navigate for first-timers.
Cons: -$3 to play during the week, $4 on the weekends. I've played far better courses without ever having to pull out my wallet. The best part of disc golf is the vast majority of courses are free. Not here though.
-Unbelievably crowded. I had to wait on every hole, and was never told to play through, even though I was alone with three groups of two ahead of me
-Not a very long course. I think I pulled out a Teebird once to drive with, every other time it was a Roc. The holes are good, but they're all pretty much hovering around 300 ft., give or take.
-The crowds. I know I mentioned it already, but really, it bears repeating. It's easily the most crowded course I've ever played, and that's not a good thing.
-LOTS of overlapping fairways and cramped holes. You'll hear "fore!" a lot, and you should watch out when you do. This mixed with the crowds makes for a less relaxing round than you might find in a course that's more isolated and spread out.
-Did I mention the crowds?
Other Thoughts: If you can manage to come at a non-peak time on a non-peak day, Morley Field is definitely worth coming to despite my grievances. It's one of the storied Southern Californian courses along with La Mirada and Huntington Beach, it's fun, and you'll see what SoCal disc golf is like.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick stop from out of town

1    4/26/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: ian1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- Variety of shots
- Some elevation
- Friendly locals
- Well maintained grass (you would have to really try to lose a disc out here)
- Pro shop is nice (discs and drinks)
- The weather is usually good
- Every hole has a ton of pin placements
Cons: - Crowds (I played on a Thursday and had to wait a couple times so it wasn't bad but was told a 10 group line can form on a nice weekend day)
- Not very technical or long which is expected in an older course.
- Overlapping holes. You hear "fore" all game long, keep your head on a swivel. Also the end holes overlap badly, so much so that if you aren't an uber confident thrower the people on the criss crossing holes can mentally effect your throw... almost like throwing over water.
Other Thoughts: I had a flight into San Diego and had some time to kill. Being from Oregon it is nice to play in a different area. It is also nice not to have to fight underbrush but as a result this course was a lot less technical than some of the local course in my area. It was great though. I joined up with some locals and they were very nice. I would have considered the course crowded based on what it is like on my home course but the people I played with said it was practically empty. The waits were never terrible and it was kind of nice to play a leisurely round. Definitely worth the drive out there if you are by the airport or in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great course right in the middle of SD

5+    12/3/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 5/27/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well maintained (the $ goes to good use)
Chicks play here sometimes
Right in the middle of a big city
Playable year round
Cons: Very crowded on weekends! By far the most heavily played course I have ever seen. Expect some downtime. Low on obstacles and elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are open fields with a cluster of eucalyptus trees around the pins and tees

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid and Fun

1    1/13/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, multiple pins for each hole that change weekly, beautiful park, fun wooded obstacles, 19 holes!
Cons: If you don't like hills, don't go here! I was sweating from the walk up and down the hill. Costs $3 to play. Paths between some hole took you near or through other holes.
Other Thoughts: I only played the first 11 (ran out of light), but the tee shot for 11 was awesome shooting between trees over a mini valley! $3 was worth playing this course. The other places in San Diego were $5 and "seemed" to not have as many positive comments (I didn't get to play those).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  the earlier the better...

5+    10/5/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: Realms1904
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well kept, pro shop,
Cons: PLAY AT OWN RISK...gotta watch for discs...too many crossing paths/holes, can be VERY crowded at times especially on the to play.
Other Thoughts: even with the cons it is still a great course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.