San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #19 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Friendly Lines

5+    7/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Shots, lots of variety, as a 99% RHBH player there were a few holes I had to get creative with. One or two bombers mixed in with challenging technical shots. A few blind holes that I always find fun.

-Proshop/local club and players. Ive found most courses that have a great proshop and local club usually have more than a handful of helpful discers around. Morley is no exception, Ive gone solo every time and always ended up playing with a group of locals to point the way.

-Location/Weather, Played 2 early morning rounds on a sunday, slightly cloudy, perfect tempature, slight breeze...welcome to san deigo.

*UPDATE POSITIVE*
-participate in the ace pot if its going on, fun for only 25cents is usually hard to come by, two people in my group got cage on rethrows, adds more interest to a fun rd.
Cons: -Crossing Fairway Danger, this is definetly amplified by the amount of begginer/intermediate players that are here, and the sheer amount of people playing at one time. Hole 19 is particulary bad, you pretty much need your head on a swivel as two holes are throwing over your head, and hole 18 throws back toward you. But there are numerous spots throughout the course where you really need to pay attention.

-Crowds, this doesnt really bug me a whole lot, but later in the day a 3 hour round can really start to be a drag, and most of the people i played with thought that wasnt too bad.

-Pro-shop Danger zone, as you are standing at the proshop hole 14 throws at your back, most people with decent control, or anyone throwing on a hyzer really shouldnt come anywhere near hitting it...2 different people actually put discs into the pro shop while I was standing there, the first time was almost comical because it was really slow and the guy behind the counter probably could have caught it, the second time 13-14 y.o. kid lasered a driver into it, not so funny.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty positive experience, fun shots, great weather and friendly people, definetly a must play if you are in the area. With that said, I cant see myself driving past kit carson to go play morley again for a while, just a much more relaxing round with less hazards.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of holes. You'll be dealing with doglegs, straight shots, anhyzers, and the ocean wind will be playing tricks on you throughout
-Multiple pin locations will always keep you on your toes
-Course upkeep is good. Very little litter, well-maintained grass and trees, concrete and rubber tee pads are all in good shape.
-Disc golf-specific part of the park, and it's very pleasant and pretty.
-The locals are a nice, relaxed group.
-Well-stocked pro shop onsite.
-Very easy to navigate for first-timers.
Cons: -$3 to play during the week, $4 on the weekends. I've played far better courses without ever having to pull out my wallet. The best part of disc golf is the vast majority of courses are free. Not here though.
-Unbelievably crowded. I had to wait on every hole, and was never told to play through, even though I was alone with three groups of two ahead of me
-Not a very long course. I think I pulled out a Teebird once to drive with, every other time it was a Roc. The holes are good, but they're all pretty much hovering around 300 ft., give or take.
-The crowds. I know I mentioned it already, but really, it bears repeating. It's easily the most crowded course I've ever played, and that's not a good thing.
-LOTS of overlapping fairways and cramped holes. You'll hear "fore!" a lot, and you should watch out when you do. This mixed with the crowds makes for a less relaxing round than you might find in a course that's more isolated and spread out.
-Did I mention the crowds?
Other Thoughts: If you can manage to come at a non-peak time on a non-peak day, Morley Field is definitely worth coming to despite my grievances. It's one of the storied Southern Californian courses along with La Mirada and Huntington Beach, it's fun, and you'll see what SoCal disc golf is like.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick stop from out of town

1    4/26/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: ian1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- Variety of shots
- Some elevation
- Friendly locals
- Well maintained grass (you would have to really try to lose a disc out here)
- Pro shop is nice (discs and drinks)
- The weather is usually good
- Every hole has a ton of pin placements
Cons: - Crowds (I played on a Thursday and had to wait a couple times so it wasn't bad but was told a 10 group line can form on a nice weekend day)
- Not very technical or long which is expected in an older course.
- Overlapping holes. You hear "fore" all game long, keep your head on a swivel. Also the end holes overlap badly, so much so that if you aren't an uber confident thrower the people on the criss crossing holes can mentally effect your throw... almost like throwing over water.
Other Thoughts: I had a flight into San Diego and had some time to kill. Being from Oregon it is nice to play in a different area. It is also nice not to have to fight underbrush but as a result this course was a lot less technical than some of the local course in my area. It was great though. I joined up with some locals and they were very nice. I would have considered the course crowded based on what it is like on my home course but the people I played with said it was practically empty. The waits were never terrible and it was kind of nice to play a leisurely round. Definitely worth the drive out there if you are by the airport or in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great course right in the middle of SD

5+    12/3/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 5/27/2013
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well maintained (the $ goes to good use)
Chicks play here sometimes
Right in the middle of a big city
Playable year round
Cons: Very crowded on weekends! By far the most heavily played course I have ever seen. Expect some downtime. Low on obstacles and elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are open fields with a cluster of eucalyptus trees around the pins and tees

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid and Fun

1    1/13/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: martianmusic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout, multiple pins for each hole that change weekly, beautiful park, fun wooded obstacles, 19 holes!
Cons: If you don't like hills, don't go here! I was sweating from the walk up and down the hill. Costs $3 to play. Paths between some hole took you near or through other holes.
Other Thoughts: I only played the first 11 (ran out of light), but the tee shot for 11 was awesome shooting between trees over a mini valley! $3 was worth playing this course. The other places in San Diego were $5 and "seemed" to not have as many positive comments (I didn't get to play those).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  the earlier the better...

5+    10/5/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: Realms1904
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well kept, pro shop,
Cons: PLAY AT OWN RISK...gotta watch for discs...too many crossing paths/holes, can be VERY crowded at times especially on the weekends...pay to play.
Other Thoughts: even with the cons it is still a great course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course needs a facelift

1    8/2/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome amount of variety, 5+ pin positions per hole!
-concrete tees and baskets in decent condition
-great tee signs with map, distance to each pin, and current pin position stickers
-nice park with a great old school course vibe
-holes range from open to semi-open/semi-technical to tight and technical
-nice pro shop, lots of discs
-historical course, est. 1978, a cool piece of DG history
-maps and scorecards available
-locals friendly (but many lack etiquette)
Cons: -SAFETY ISSUES: design is terrible in terms of safety. fairways cross, tees throw on other fairways or other tees
-inadequate parking, hole 1 throws on the parking lot
-very short course, little variety in distance and only 6 holes over 300'
-ridiculously crowded, many large groups, some won't let you play through
Other Thoughts: This historical course dating from 1978 is a great piece of disc golf history. The course reflects the state of the game back then: shorter distances and finesse shots. The park itself is beautiful and of course the San Diego weather makes this a fantastic place to play a round.

There are many different kinds of shots here with lots of hidden and/or blind baskets. The number of different pin positions (between 5-10 per hole!) should make the replay value very high. On the other hand, many of these positions are quite similar perhaps just 20-30' further. This variety in basket position somewhat makes up for the lack of variety in distance. Only 6 holes are over 300' with just 2 of those over 400'.

One of the biggest issues here are the numerous safety hazards. The park barely fits 19 holes (it actually doesn't fit 19 holes) so the holes are practically on top of each other. There are a number of holes where a tee box will throw directly over another tee box or basket and there are countless places where fairways cross and groups will be throwing on one another. Particularly bad is the area around holes 15-19. Every hole there intersects at least one other fairway (except 17). Many baskets (depending on position) are very close to the next tee so stay aware of your surroundings. All of this is compounded by the fact that there are always hordes of people playing. It is a miracle that there have not been serious injuries here. Thank goodness there are no pedestrians.

It is great to have a pro shop and food on site. They have a good selection of discs for sale (including Course-stamped discs!), some discs for rent, and they also sell snacks and ice cream bars, etc. There seems to be a large community of golfers here and it must be a great place to play tourneys and be a part of the scene. It would be nice if the experienced locals would pass on more knowledge of etiquette to some of the chuckers that frequent the course.

I loved playing this course. It has fun and challenging holes and has a really cool atmosphere. I don't mind an older course and I enjoy that style of golf but sooner or later this place is going to have to consider some revisions, if at least just for safety. There are just too many holes crammed into too small and area with too many golfers around. Some might call it sacrilege but this place should have 15 well designed holes instead of 19 holes that don't fit. I wanted to give it a 3.5 but I have to mark down for the safety issues. It usually wouldn't bother me so much but I just didn't feel safe here with so many people around and many of them not thinking twice about throwing on you.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field

2-4    11/16/2010   9/5/2011
Review By: Fishdisease
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything.
Great course, many different hole locations
Locals were all very welcoming
Great pro shop
Cons: Super Busy all of the time
Other Thoughts: If I ever get close to this course again, I will play it several more times.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home, or at least it was a long time ago.

5+    9/1/1996   7/18/2011
Review By: AdirondackDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 36.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Cons: It's Balboa Park. It's San Diego. It's Disc Golf History
Other Thoughts: The goods and bads of Balboa Park;
Manicured setting w/crowds

The goods and bads of San Diego;
Beautiful scenery w/crowds

The goods and bads of It's Disc Golf History
Great historical (1970's era) disc golf course w/crowds

Did I say it gets crowded? But it should still be on any serious players wish list of courses to play. I left San Diego a long time ago and have only been back a handful of times. Each time I return I play here. My putting practice bag came from the pro shop here.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun afternoon and a worthwhile play

2-4    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -several pin placements per hole
-pin placements changed every Monday
-legit players who know how to throw (which is important considering one of my cons)
-elevation changes between the holes; sometimes throwing up a hill, sometimes down
-good pro shop with a great disc selection
Cons: -chaotic criss-crossing of holes, especially toward the beginning and end of the course; flight paths cross tee boxes, etc. This scrunched configuration demands decent throwers.
-some people think this course is technical, but the pin placement among the trees seems haphazard to me...not cunningly planned.
-Hole 19. Why? It really jams up holes 17/18.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.