San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #10 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wonderful DGC

2-4    1/16/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Course
Friendly and Helpful Locals
Great Variety
Multiple Pin Positions
Pro Shop with Snacks And Beverage
Good Use of the Elevation
Restrooms On-Site
Very Well-Maintained
Benches On Most Holes
Trash Cans Througout
Distances Vary
Concrete Tee Pads
Good Tee Signs W/Pin Position & Next Tee Marked
Cons:
Can Get Crowded
Limited Parking
Layout (Have to Cross Fairways For Some Tee Pads)
Other Thoughts:
While I haven't played this course in about six months I felt that it is memorable enough to go ahead with this review. I had wonderful notes and pictures of the course.

Let me start off by addressing the crowds. When we played, both rounds, we had to wait at almost every hole to tee off. While this isn't an ideal round, its really not that bad either. Everyone that we encountered was super cool and very friendly and helpful. We would just stand around and BS, talk some of the other nearby courses, and smoke, so it could definitely be worse. Another thing that I noticed is that even though it was crazy busy, we never once got thrown on, or witnessed anyone else having that issue. Everyone that we saw playing had nothing but respect for the course and the other players on it.

As for the course, it plays well. First tee is between the pro shop and the parking lot. There are a couple tricky spots, where you might not be sure where to go next. If you find yourself in this spot, just ask someone on the course and they will be more than willing to help out. The first time we encountered this was going from the basket of the 3 to the tee pad for 4. You have to back track a little, the tee pad for 4 is back up near the road. Another spot was hole 10, when we played it was in the long postion. When 10 is in the long position 11 can be a little tricky, the tee pad will be back behind you and up the hill and the fairways for 10 and 11 will cross each other.

Once you get finished with 14 and come back out by the pro shop, things start to get real interesting. Out of the last five holes, only on one of them will not cross a fairway for a different hole. So in other words, don't just toss and go, you need to really watch. You don't want to get hit with a disc, or ruin anyones round by walking out in front of them. I thought when I first started researching this course that I would not like this one bit. If a course here in Columbus, Ohio was designed like this, there would be problems everyday, but as I stated before, everyone here seemed to have the utmost respect for the game and courtesy for all the players on the course. Just watch where you are walking, and also watch when you are throwing, people do have to cut across, so just be patient and let them get to their hole as well so that everyone can enjoy their round.

This course has many challenges and obstacles that add to not only the play of your game, but to the overall beauty of the course. The large mature trees keep much of the course shady and provided great natural obstacles. The elevation changes are also a great touch. There are a few with nice rolling hills, where the land gradually works it way down to the basket, and others that have nice drop offs. The variety is good here. There are short to medium holes, along with s few real bombers. There are also plenty of the left to right and visa versa.I would say that there is just about something for everyone on this course.

If you are in the area this is a must play, and I would recommend this course to anyone. If you aren't in the area, get there and play it. It's a beautiful course with plenty of challenge for everyone, and the people who play here are great. Every course should have locals as helpful, friendly, and respectful as this. This course is also one of the cleanest that I have played so far, so please remember to keep it that way and use the trash cans or pack out what you pack in.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Never the sme course!!!

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome, the thing that sticks in my mind the most is that no matter how many times I may play here there will always be something new! Multiple hole locations switched every Monday (by multiple I mean 3-7 different placements on every hole). Awesome snack shack and pro shop with friendly service and advice, you can rent disc for $1 each and if you find a disc they give you a dollar or some sunflower seeds, if you loose your disc and it is turned in and your number is on it, they will call you and you can get it back for $1 Very Fair if you ask me. The pro shop is decently priced too. When you first get there and pay for your daily pass, they will give you a bracelet (like some night clubs use) and a raffle ticket which I'm told if you fill it out and they draw your ticket at the end of the month you could win a free months pass. Hole signs are very nice showing all the different pin placements and distance as well as the current location (but for your first time play with a local). Very clean park. Trash cans and benches on each tee box. Tees are all either cement, or rubber on top of cement and are all level. I heard there was two different bathrooms, and it's possible I just missed one, but there is on right behind the pro shop. Elevation changes on every hole. This course is very challenging, and still very playable for a beginner like me. There are two practice baskets right by the parking lot as well. Everyone that I met was incredible helpful and friendly.
Cons: Danger!!! I know everyone has commented on the crowds, and yes this is the most crowded course that I've played, but it wasn't too bad. But the major con is that this course is DANGEROUS!!! You really want to keep you head on a swivel looking for any discs from any direction at any time... if you don't almost get hit, or almost hit someone while you are here, then maybe you should also play the lottery because luck is in your favor. But this is not a reason that I would say don't visit... you really should come out. Last con... parking... but again, I'll still be back
Other Thoughts: No water so you don't have to worry about that, some of the trees are likely to keep you disc, and will surely challenge you shot selection and your accuracy. I played on a Thursday at 1pm until 4pm and so the crowds were probably not as bad as other people say other post.
Parking is almost a CON, but almost every well used DGC that I've been to has a parking problem, just one of the acceptable conditions that you may have to deal with to play this AWESOME course... any cons are out weighed by PROS by at least 3 to 1.
Don't let the danger or the crowds keep you from this course, just be careful and have fun!!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Morley Field Review

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Patrick Paramore
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course with a lot of variations from one hole to the next, short holes, medium holes, lots of trees to challenge your skills. Course setup changes every Monday from 3-6 different positions. Weekly doubles, Monthly tourneys, San Diego Aces bag tag challenges, good local crowd
Cons: Too busy, sometimes 10-15 minute waits on some holes. I remember playing 2 rounds a night, now I struggle to get one round in.
Other Thoughts: The monthlies get you shop credit, doubles pays out!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging, variety of types of holes and overall layout
Cons: crowd
Other Thoughts: i cant wait to go back. dont worry if you cant throw the disc to far because this course has shorter holes..but good obstacles. accuracy is key not distance

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park!

5+    12/27/2008   4/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2010
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Morley is beautiful and well-maintained course on land that is used only for disc golf, so there is no worrying about picnickers or joggers. The grounds are constantly being worked on, from mowing grass areas to laying mulch in high traffic areas to adding more pin placements.

Nice tee signs, with markers for which of several positions each pin is in (from three up to more than five possible settings). Holes offer very different challenges from a couple open longer holes, to short and technical tree filled holes, you will use just about every shot you have here. Many holes have some elevation, from rolling hills to a couple fairly steep hills. Concrete tee pads on every hole, with rubber mats over the concrete in spots that can get wet. The pins get changed every week, so the course is never the same, and always offers new challenges. The various placements offer very different looks, and are not simply minor changes in distance. There are longer pro pads on a few holes that add to the distance and challenge, especially the one on the very tight 17th hole.

For the most part, the players I've encountered on this course are courteous and fun to play with. There is a practice basket near the first tee with plenty of space around it to warm up or practice. Fully stocked pro shop with food, discs, and all sorts of dg related stuff is nice (though the discs are marked up a little in price). Weather is perfect just about all year!
Cons: This is one of the most crowded courses I have ever played, so if you're looking to get in a quick round stay away on weekends or evenings. Expect to wait on most holes if you play during peak hours, though there are benches and seats at all the tees. Parking can also be an issue on crowded days, though there are other places to park if you are willing to walk a little. Early morning is one of the best times to play, especially in the summer, but often that's when the sprinklers are on so be ready to dodge them or get wet.
Other Thoughts: Though this course is pay to play, it's a lot of fun, and offers many unique challenges. Definitely a must-play if you're in the San Diego area. It has a historical feel to it, there's lots of disc golf history here.

Beginning players won't find too much length or punishing rough where discs will disappear here. More advanced players will find lots of fun birdie opportunities. and lots of variety especially with the constantly changing pin positions, but there's not a lot of real challenge for top players here.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The most crowded

5+    4/23/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with 19 holes of good variety. Concrete tee pads and accurate signs on every hole. Well designed and easy to navigate. Map and scorecards available at well stocked pro shop. 2 practice baskets. Restrooms are centrally located and adjacent to
shop. Benches on every hole. A very nice setting with all kinds of plant life and wildlife (flowers, giant palm trees, huge hummingbirds, lizards, and the tamest squirrels ever). Lots of birdie opportunities. All holes have several pin positions that are moved every week. Fun course for both beginners and experienced players.
Cons: Crowds, crowds, and more crowds. I would suggest only playing on a weekday, otherwise a round could take more than 3 hours (10-20 minute waits on every hole are common).
Other Thoughts: More courses are needed in this area.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Cali.. do i need to say more? Steady Ed approves

2-4    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: *Rotated pin spots
*Cheap entry
*Nice pro shop
*Tricky and different course every week!
*Nice downhill stretches aswell as step up baskets that sit about 4 feet off the ground.
*Homeless dsic golfers = dedication
Cons: *Hot? nah its supposed to be..
*Your arms tired after playin after playin 112 holes in two days in the sun haha
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and its 70's origins are just as classy and curvy as the shots.. Not much else to say but to get out and play. and if you get tired then #11 is a nice place to relax, twist n then huck out opening thru the palms

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 An old favorite

5+    10/29/2003   4/12/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes requiring lots of different shots. #11 when it's in long (between the palms) is an epic shot. The different tees and pin positions really give the holes a different look each time you play them. Fully stocked pro shop. The 3 shots for an ace on #15 is a neat innovation I haven't seen elsewhere. #17 is classic short tight hole, take a close look, ther IS a fairway there. #15, #16, #18 & #19 play across a big bowl, #16 is the highlight of these in my opinion. It's a nice open bomb off the tee but you have to leave it a spot allows a look through one of the paths through the trees as the pin is tucked back in a grove. Downtown location next to Balboa Park. San Diego weather.
Cons: Crowd, erosion. Crossing fairways near the end. Watch the fence on #16, you clear it and your disc is gone (at least it was when I was there).
Other Thoughts: I had what I'd submit as the strangest round of golf ever played the last time I was there. I was on a plane heading to UCSD Thornton for some specialized pulmonary surgery they do there when the wildfires started. The flight was diverted to Phoenix as Lindbergh was closed. They re-opened long enough for us to get to SD. Get to Thornton and they say the surgery is off since the doctor was fight to save his ranch in Julien, so I have a free day. Naturally I head to Morley with my brother. We were two of less than 20 people on the whole course, the only time I've seen it that empty. It was a novel experience playing in surgical masks due to the falling ashes. Had the operation two days later and survived, now as good as new.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Best And Worst Of Times

1    3/20/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with good challenges from start to finish. Each hole has several possible pin locations and there is good signs that mark out where exactly the basket is. Baskets are changed on a weekly basis. There is a great community at this course. There are several hidden baskets forcing you to make some very interesting shots. There is a decent pro shop and an even better snack shack right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The crowds here are really bad and you will get disc golfers or all ability levels and all degrees of seriousness. Many holes are built right on top of each other, especially by the time you get to hole 15 or so. The signs are not perfectly clear as far as what vegitation you are looking at. If you have not played this course you could spend a long time just trying to figure out what kind of shot your are supposed to throw on a few particular holes. This course is more challenging than a beginner should handle. With beginners on the course it makes for a very slow round. Expect a round to take twice as long as you would expect. You do have to pay to play here.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course and would get a much higher rating if not for the crowds and the way holes are built on top of each other. By talking to some of the locals I found out that it is best to play really early in the morning. I was very glad that I had a couple of guys to play with or I would have been lost on several holes. I really cannot stress how frustrating the pace of play was for me, and I played on a weekday afternoon. Something that I did appreciate very much was the variety on the course as some holes felt like typical tight mountain holes and other holes felt wide open like more park type courses. I will probably not play this course again unless I have a friend that specifically invites me to play with them there as it is just not worth the cost to play so slowly, even on a great course. They have come up with a great way to have lsot discs returned to the pro shop where if you return a lost disc you get $1 and if it is your disc you have to pay $1 to get it back.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A True Gem

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible course!!!!

Lotsa elevation changes. Only hole 8 would be considered flat, although it slightly elevates. (Took me 2 rounds to realize why my drive kept coming up a lil short) There are so many different shots (most holes have at least 5 different placements), it was amazing the excellent use of the park. I absolutely used every shot in the bag!!! It is fun for the begginer and pro alike.

The ammenities there are well above par. 2 bathrooms at each end of the course. Excellent pro shop with friendly, knowledgable staff. Clear and accurate tee signage. The tee pads were some of the best I have ever played on (all concrete, and some were concrete with rubber padding). Well maintained, disc golf exclusive park. Trash cans and benches at each tee. Chains are in good condition

Last, and definetely not least, THE PEOPLE!!! Everyone I met were awesome. From young to old, new to the sport or grizzeled vets; everybody was super freindly. I played there all day by myself (after 1 round with my good friend, Ray,errrr....supergimp), but never alone. (thanks Vincent, Alan, Brooks, Chris, Serena, Greg, Justin, Kane, Brian, etc......You get the point) Everyone was lookin out for each others disc, even other groups. I can't say enough about the quality of people I met there
Cons: I really had to dig deep to find anything wrong with the course. The only draw back would be that it gets REALLY crowded on the weekends. It can really mess with your flow. The locals said that weekdays were much better

Holes 15, 16, and 19 can get really dangerous. 15 and 16 criss-cross each other and 19's tee pad is in the fairway of the other 2. Hole 19 needs to get axed for it to be safer.
Other Thoughts: San Diego needs more disc golf courses!!! With only Morley and La Mesa, there are only 28 holes in the area. More courses means that we get spread out and there are less crowded courses. One new course is opening 5/2010 in N. County!!!

Parking is very limited at the course. There is plenty of additional parking back by the baseball fields. You can park there and start at hole 10, pay for your round after hole 14. The parking isn't really a con if you know about the extra lot in the back portion of the course. Pay to play, but it was worth the couple beans they asked....

I would put this in the "Cons" section, but, new players are never a con to me:

THE NEWBIES NEED TO LEARN AND UNDERTSTAND ETIQUETTE/ RULES BEFORE THEY TEE UP!!!!

Some were loud and boisterous while people were shooting tee shots. They were walking out in front of people teeing off and risking there health and/or life. One person said, "This is a very dangerous sport!!", after her playing partner walked in front of a tee pad while his buddy tee'd off (just missing the BACK OF HIS HEAD by 2 ft.) This game is VERY SAFE if people follow etiquette and the rules. Some signage stating rules and etiquette may help, but, that is only if they read it. Or, when paying, have people sign something that they read/ understand rules/ etiquette. Maybe tenured players can explain this to them in a calm, assertive way. I am not sure because people can take it the wrong way if you ask them to quiet down for a shooter or explain to them the obvious health risk with takin a 180 gram TeeRex to the dome. Some part of me thinks let em learn by getting drilled, but that is how courses are closed and nobody needs to get hurt enjoying this great game. I just think something should be done before somebody get seriously injured or worse.....

Favorite Holes:
#6, Nice open up hill shot, hole covered in a stand of trees. Takes a good arm, then some accuracy

#7, Set at its longest placement. It was a long down hill drive with a lot of trees in the fairway, hard to reach without a perfectly placed (and a lil luck) roller. The hole is literally engulfed in a grove of trees. Only 2 windows to get to it. Very Challenging!!

#11, Tee off through a decent widow 60 ft above the meadow below. Righty hyzer can't get it back there to the hole and a lefty can get caught up in the palm tree (which need to be harvested of all the "Disc Fruit" hanging from the fronds). Tests your arm strength and accuracy at the same time

#17, The most technical shot on the course. Very short, but maximun accuracy. Only 2 windows, left and right, to get through. Many locals used a side arm, skip technique to avoid the low branches

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center