San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #3 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 86
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The Best And Worst Of Times

1    3/20/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with good challenges from start to finish. Each hole has several possible pin locations and there is good signs that mark out where exactly the basket is. Baskets are changed on a weekly basis. There is a great community at this course. There are several hidden baskets forcing you to make some very interesting shots. There is a decent pro shop and an even better snack shack right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The crowds here are really bad and you will get disc golfers or all ability levels and all degrees of seriousness. Many holes are built right on top of each other, especially by the time you get to hole 15 or so. The signs are not perfectly clear as far as what vegitation you are looking at. If you have not played this course you could spend a long time just trying to figure out what kind of shot your are supposed to throw on a few particular holes. This course is more challenging than a beginner should handle. With beginners on the course it makes for a very slow round. Expect a round to take twice as long as you would expect. You do have to pay to play here.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course and would get a much higher rating if not for the crowds and the way holes are built on top of each other. By talking to some of the locals I found out that it is best to play really early in the morning. I was very glad that I had a couple of guys to play with or I would have been lost on several holes. I really cannot stress how frustrating the pace of play was for me, and I played on a weekday afternoon. Something that I did appreciate very much was the variety on the course as some holes felt like typical tight mountain holes and other holes felt wide open like more park type courses. I will probably not play this course again unless I have a friend that specifically invites me to play with them there as it is just not worth the cost to play so slowly, even on a great course. They have come up with a great way to have lsot discs returned to the pro shop where if you return a lost disc you get $1 and if it is your disc you have to pay $1 to get it back.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A True Gem

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible course!!!!

Lotsa elevation changes. Only hole 8 would be considered flat, although it slightly elevates. (Took me 2 rounds to realize why my drive kept coming up a lil short) There are so many different shots (most holes have at least 5 different placements), it was amazing the excellent use of the park. I absolutely used every shot in the bag!!! It is fun for the begginer and pro alike.

The ammenities there are well above par. 2 bathrooms at each end of the course. Excellent pro shop with friendly, knowledgable staff. Clear and accurate tee signage. The tee pads were some of the best I have ever played on (all concrete, and some were concrete with rubber padding). Well maintained, disc golf exclusive park. Trash cans and benches at each tee. Chains are in good condition

Last, and definetely not least, THE PEOPLE!!! Everyone I met were awesome. From young to old, new to the sport or grizzeled vets; everybody was super freindly. I played there all day by myself (after 1 round with my good friend, Ray,errrr....supergimp), but never alone. (thanks Vincent, Alan, Brooks, Chris, Serena, Greg, Justin, Kane, Brian, etc......You get the point) Everyone was lookin out for each others disc, even other groups. I can't say enough about the quality of people I met there
Cons: I really had to dig deep to find anything wrong with the course. The only draw back would be that it gets REALLY crowded on the weekends. It can really mess with your flow. The locals said that weekdays were much better

Holes 15, 16, and 19 can get really dangerous. 15 and 16 criss-cross each other and 19's tee pad is in the fairway of the other 2. Hole 19 needs to get axed for it to be safer.
Other Thoughts: San Diego needs more disc golf courses!!! With only Morley and La Mesa, there are only 28 holes in the area. More courses means that we get spread out and there are less crowded courses. One new course is opening 5/2010 in N. County!!!

Parking is very limited at the course. There is plenty of additional parking back by the baseball fields. You can park there and start at hole 10, pay for your round after hole 14. The parking isn't really a con if you know about the extra lot in the back portion of the course. Pay to play, but it was worth the couple beans they asked....

I would put this in the "Cons" section, but, new players are never a con to me:

THE NEWBIES NEED TO LEARN AND UNDERTSTAND ETIQUETTE/ RULES BEFORE THEY TEE UP!!!!

Some were loud and boisterous while people were shooting tee shots. They were walking out in front of people teeing off and risking there health and/or life. One person said, "This is a very dangerous sport!!", after her playing partner walked in front of a tee pad while his buddy tee'd off (just missing the BACK OF HIS HEAD by 2 ft.) This game is VERY SAFE if people follow etiquette and the rules. Some signage stating rules and etiquette may help, but, that is only if they read it. Or, when paying, have people sign something that they read/ understand rules/ etiquette. Maybe tenured players can explain this to them in a calm, assertive way. I am not sure because people can take it the wrong way if you ask them to quiet down for a shooter or explain to them the obvious health risk with takin a 180 gram TeeRex to the dome. Some part of me thinks let em learn by getting drilled, but that is how courses are closed and nobody needs to get hurt enjoying this great game. I just think something should be done before somebody get seriously injured or worse.....

Favorite Holes:
#6, Nice open up hill shot, hole covered in a stand of trees. Takes a good arm, then some accuracy

#7, Set at its longest placement. It was a long down hill drive with a lot of trees in the fairway, hard to reach without a perfectly placed (and a lil luck) roller. The hole is literally engulfed in a grove of trees. Only 2 windows to get to it. Very Challenging!!

#11, Tee off through a decent widow 60 ft above the meadow below. Righty hyzer can't get it back there to the hole and a lefty can get caught up in the palm tree (which need to be harvested of all the "Disc Fruit" hanging from the fronds). Tests your arm strength and accuracy at the same time

#17, The most technical shot on the course. Very short, but maximun accuracy. Only 2 windows, left and right, to get through. Many locals used a side arm, skip technique to avoid the low branches

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 San Diego Favorite

1    2/18/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: tdluxon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good course... lots of fun, well maintained. Lots of trees requiring high level of accuracy. The holes all have at least four pin placements, and the staff changes the pin spots weekly, so the course is always a little different even if you play there a lot. Also, they have a nice little pro shop/snack shack where you can get discs, drinks, snacks, etc. Finally, the course is run by the legend himself... Snapper Pierson!
Cons: The number one con is that Morley gets really crowded, especially on weekends. Expect to spend a lot of time waiting... this course takes a little over an hour to play on a weekday morning, but around 3 hours on a weekend afternoon. If possible, I try to go on weekday mornings, which is the best time as far as crowds. Also, there are not really any long holes that require a long power drive... most are under 300 ft. Also, they try to call some of the longer holes (which still aren't long when compared to other courses) as par 4's, which is ridiculous when you consider most courses have much longer holes that they still consider par 3's. There is no need for par 4's on an easy course like morley.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a lot of fun... just be patient!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 87  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: only two blocks from my old house in San Diego Morley is a great time. love the pin placements surrounded by trees requiring a great approach or very accurate shot off the tee. most of the holes i saw had 7 pin placements and all had good tee pads. grassy and mulch fairways giving a very pleasing look to the course. there was a fair amount of distance on a few holes but almost all played longer than there distance read. on site pro shop, disc rental, dog friendly, and the people were pretty cool too.
Cons: the course itself is great, could use some alt tee pads for more length but really its the people. this place gets crowded fast and then it moves slow. it can take a very long time to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: if you don't mind the wait this course is wort it. it is very fun and always a good time. the famous shoe tree has fallen down and now there is a plaque where it once stood. there is a new shoe tree taking shape next to the old one. this course has a personality all its own, everybody should check this place out sometime.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ole Morley

5+    12/29/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play Morley about once a week. I find a new challenge every tme I play.
1. Pins are moved every Tuesday I think now? This make for lot's of shots to learn.
2. This course is full of strategically placed trees, great challenging layout.
3. Tees Pads are concrete (some holes have rubber pads)
4. Signage is very clear and course attendants mark the pin locations on the Sign maps daily.
5. Full of Friendly Veteran locals that can give direction, strategic tips, and love general dg talk.
6. Course is well maintained grass or mulch everywhere (not much dirt).
7. Pro Tees are available on hole 8, 9, and 17. They are quite tough.
8. Great pro shop with food, drinks, and lots of Discs. Scorecards are available.
Cons: 1. Probably the busiest course in the US. 2 Saturdays ago it took me 2.5 hours and I only got in 12 Holes. Avoid weekends when noobs and one time players are in full force (groups of 8-10 are not rare).
2. Not a great course to work on distance, but the short game will be challenged.
3. It is a pay to play, but the course shows the investment.
4. Parking obviously can be an issue.
5. Watchout for discs. lots of crossing holes and lots of noobs make for a bad combo.
6. Trash cans on every hole, but I still find trash everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I always have fun here no matter how long the round takes, how many noobs hit me with a drive, or how poorly I score. Morley Field is definately a destination course. If you could play one course in SD this would be it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Morley Field San Diego

2-4    12/24/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: rj29274
Played: 143  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley Field has a good balance of well placed holes that can give players of all levels some kind of challenge. Since baskets are moved every Monday, and some holes have 10 different settings, the play is not redundant or boring. Trash cans at every hole, at least two holes with raised man made elevated baskets, nice teepads that can handle rain, well shaded, being a lefty who has been playing for eight years I was impressed by the balanced design. Ive played so many courses where all of the holes go to the left or straight, not here, Snapper did a good job of balancing the course for turnovers and hyzers, good time here with good people
Cons: Waiting....Waiting....Waiting....at almost every hole, In my experience there the sixsomes dont let twosomes play through, the course is a little easy for my taste, Many shared fairways and baskets near teepads, can be a little dangerous at times due to crowds
Other Thoughts: it was fun, -7 first round, followed by two rounds of -4, I could see top players easily shooting double digits no matter the settings of the baskets. Im about to play again now and see what baskets were moved, cheers

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded

5+    12/26/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: RYFLE
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. Pay to play but very cheap. Basket locations change every week which makes for a variety of different shots. Morley has a good mix of long and short throws that will challenge you everytime. Well maintained with trash cans at almost every hole and a pro shop with discs, snacks, ect.
Cons: CROWDS!!! Very crowded on the weekends with some large groups. Discs flying all over the place so keep your ears and eyes open

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is great. Lots of terrain and trees. Good pro shop on site. Clean with not much trash around. Friendly folks. Easy to navigate w sturdy Tee boxes and nice maps.
Cons: Lots and LOTS of friendly folks. The course would get a much higher rating if it weren't so crowded. I play solo a lot and seem to get around fairly easily, however if you go in a group it will take a long time to get around. This place is crowded on weekday mornings! Weekends are too frustrating for me to bother unless i get there at 6:30 AM. Even then the parking lot is 1/2 full already.
Other Thoughts: Play it. Have fun, just be patient and expect to hear a LOT of "FORE". Might just yell it yourself a few dozen times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun while visiting the area

2-4    7/21/2006   10/22/2008
Review By: okjazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: multiple pin placements, rugged terrain, variation of holes, good challenges
Cons: prefer no green fees but the cost is minimal

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course (Since 1979)

5+    10/12/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "OG" disc golf course. Lot's of personality. Friendly people. Never at a loss for someone to play with. Good pro shop. In beautiful Balboa Park (across from SD Zoo!). No two holes the same. Well maintained. You will use ALL of your shots and will need to learn some new ones. Some very scenic holes.
Cons: 1. "Banders" - a term I made up! Since Morley is a "pay-to-play" course you are given a bright paper wristband to wear as proof that you paid. Most locals collect them on their bag straps. "BANDERS" are usually a) completely unaware of their surroundings or anyone around them. b) and they don't care. c) they are usually dragging a large cooler and drunk or on their way. d) are responsible for 90% of the "FORES....!" you will hear in a round (one per hole!?) e) add at least 1 hour to rounds on weekends! f) never return lost discs to the pro shop. g) play in flip flops or barefoot... I could go on! I love people but they will get on your nerves quickly as you sit for 10-15 minutes between each hole because they genuinely think its funny to annoy people.

2. Parking
3. Crowded!!! Most played course in USA!
Other Thoughts: It really is a fun, beautiful course! I am thankful I live in San Diego and play Morley 3-4 times per week! If you know all these things going in, you will have a better time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.