San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #2 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 85
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >
 Duck and Cover...

1    9/14/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: mjheckman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course 3 times in 4 days. So, obviously I liked it. It's well groomed, clean, and has manicured lawns... it's good to see that the "green fees" are being well spent. There's very little chance of losing a disc on any hole. Many hole variations; changing every Monday, that give the course a very different feel. For the most part, the course requires accuracy over big distance.
Cons: Like many others have said... if you're looking for a serene round of disc golf this aint the place. The course was packed on Friday, Sunday and Monday... and when I say packed I mean PACKED! My head was constantly on a swivel! At times I felt like I was in a fire-fight... especially on holes 16, 17, 18 & 19! All of these holes play across each other and it can be simply dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I know many of the locals may hate the idea, but I would eliminate the 19th hole. It would speed up play on the back 9 and it would reduce the number of near misses and potential head wounds.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fore!! [repeat ad nauseum]

5+    3/1/2008   3/17/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 234  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 36.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2008
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An institution in disc golf history - been around forever. Morley's best attributes are the wide variety of pin positions and the variety of shots required across all pin positions (but possibly not in one round). Locals do not tire of the layout. The course is very well maintained and has an excellent pro shop. You'll rarely (if ever) be without a playing partner, and competition (bagtag challenges, skins, etc.) is always available.
Cons: You will hear "FORE!!!" shouted more times in one round at Morley than a month of playing anywhere else. Lots of casuals out to play and drink beer (not necessarily in that order). Rounds can be interminably looooong, with 8-10 minutes on the tee per hole on the weekends commonplace.
Other Thoughts: Morley has a unique, beatnik atmosphere which is loved by local players. This, however, may make it an inappropriate place to bring kids to play. Playing well here requires precision drives and stellar putting - lots of 2's available. Leave your 450-ft drive at home - you won't need it here.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/3/2008   3/3/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.7 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Many different pin positions for each hole.
Well kept grounds.
Decent elevation changes.
Lots of events going on to participate in.
Great weather year round.
Discs available for rent or purchase on site.
Cons:
CROWDED.
6 8 10 somes etc.
Ridiculously long round times.
General lack of etiquette from hacks.
Other Thoughts:
Morley Field is the course that I learned Disc Golf on, and for that reason I appreciate it greatly. When not crowded, Morley is a great course to play and a fantastic practice course. However, when it's crowded, I would rather spend my time throwing drives in a field for practice.

San Diego desperately needs more courses to accommodate the hordes of people that play Morley Field any given day.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Big Crowds

3/1/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.8 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its in San Diego! A wide variety of shots with multiple pin positions that change every Monday. Lots of "late trouble", with well protected baskets. Although it is short by today's standards, deuces require well executed shots. Even so, top players should aim for double digits under.
Cons: Probably the most played course in the country. Many blind tee shots that reward muscle memory.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course when it is not crowded.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Rules

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A pay to play course that is reasonably priced and very busy on weekends. Every hole has multiple pin positions that change every Monday making it a different course every week. Except for the last few holes that crossed each other, all holes were layed out well and no two holes seemed similar. Some of the long positions I saw, but did not get to play because the pins were not set there, were well protected and looked challenging. A good course to take beginners and a good course for advanced players as well.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.