Course Extinct
Los Gatos, CA 
Venture Christian Church Share
Uploaded By: benpalm Hole #8
3 / 496ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#8 tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 That was rough...

1    5/23/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first course I've played on a church premises, so I thought that was way cool. Just about the strangest obstacle you could imagine right in the middle of the #7 fairway. These baskets are indeed as cool and unique and everyone says. Inspiring to just know what can be done with galvanized rebar and chains! Now if I just had some metal bending skills...
Cons: Basket #4 is missing. The chest-high weeds on #8 & #9 make the holes virtually unplayable right now. The overgrowth around the #2 basket currently makes it unappealing to finish the hole. #7 is the only teebox still alive.
Other Thoughts: Very disappointing, considering how nice the overall campus grounds is for this Christian school. I found myself looking for broken pieces of bricks just to locate the original teebox positions. The open area for holes #2 through #5 were recently roto-tilled, making me wonder if they have plans to landscape the terrain? If this course were properly maintained, I would easily give it a 3-star rating.
==================
Uniqueness: B+ (coolest baskets ever; the course layout itself is a great idea)
Difficulty: B (elevation changes; not long)
Fun Factor: D (basket #2 is unapproachable; couldn't finish 8 & 9)
Aesthetics: D- (tremendous overgrowth in spots; obviously ignored)
--------------------
Overall: C-

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good to have another course not too far from La Raza and Hellyer. Fairly secluded and not crowded, some challenging and interesting shots, Home-made rebar baskets work great. Good use of the land available
Cons: No basket #8, No Signs, Map is tough to read, tees and baskets sometimes cross paths, could be dangerous when there are multiple players, ground is a little hard to walk on and watch out for stickers/foxtales in your socks and shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good idea and has excellent potential! Needs lots of work.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 78  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: even though the baskets are hand made they look like someone got them from DGA. very simple and fun, and on most holes you can find a nice challenge. there are some legit ace runs here if you play flick or left handed like me. so that always gets me going. the use of trees and roads help to ad difficulty to this course. the back three holes offer a challenge to any player of any skill level. water fountain and plenty of parking.

Cons: some rim outs on some puts because the chains are a bit too heavy and don't give like your standard basket, but not too bad. holes 3 and 5 share the same tee pad, and the pads are made of brick and become slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: for a home made course sitting on this property it flows well and is a bunch of fun.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.