Course Extinct
Los Gatos, CA
Venture Christian Church Share
Uploaded By: benpalm Hole #1
3 / 267ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#1 tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 That was rough...

1    5/23/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first course I've played on a church premises, so I thought that was way cool. Just about the strangest obstacle you could imagine right in the middle of the #7 fairway. These baskets are indeed as cool and unique and everyone says. Inspiring to just know what can be done with galvanized rebar and chains! Now if I just had some metal bending skills...
Cons: Basket #4 is missing. The chest-high weeds on #8 & #9 make the holes virtually unplayable right now. The overgrowth around the #2 basket currently makes it unappealing to finish the hole. #7 is the only teebox still alive.
Other Thoughts: Very disappointing, considering how nice the overall campus grounds is for this Christian school. I found myself looking for broken pieces of bricks just to locate the original teebox positions. The open area for holes #2 through #5 were recently roto-tilled, making me wonder if they have plans to landscape the terrain? If this course were properly maintained, I would easily give it a 3-star rating.
==================
Uniqueness: B+ (coolest baskets ever; the course layout itself is a great idea)
Difficulty: B (elevation changes; not long)
Fun Factor: D (basket #2 is unapproachable; couldn't finish 8 & 9)
Aesthetics: D- (tremendous overgrowth in spots; obviously ignored)
--------------------
Overall: C-

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Needs Some Help From Above!

1    8/21/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cool homemade baskets made from rebar. Ah,....... the baskets are kinda cool. Ah.............someone shaped these baskets.................
Cons: Everything else. For church land, the place has been turned into some kind of a garbage dump. It's littered with plastic bottles, old sporting goods,cans, balls, garbage of all types. The grass is way overgrown. The tee pads were once bricks outlined with 2 x 4's now they've crumbled like ancient Mayan temple ruins. Baskets have nasty, dry, thorns grown up through them. # 8 has a dump truck and trailer parked in the middle of what was once a fairway. My playing partner and I took this as a sign from the disc golf gods that we had suffered enough and aborted our round here. From the looks of things, I suspect the last round was played around ...the time of the French Revolution.
Other Thoughts: My feeling is if you are a course bagger, you best bag this course quickly because I sense this course's day's are numbered. I think this course is about to pass to the gray underworld of those extinct courses on DGCR.

If someone in the East Bay area is looking to score on some non-sanctioned cool baskets for your next disc golf course project, I'd contact this Venture Church. We think the pastor drives this hot gray Porsche. Obviously, his members give generously. Tell them, The Valkyrie Kid sent you. And that you'll put those cool rebar baskets to some heavenly use.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tick's DGC

1    7/11/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice lay-out of course. Cool home made targets, I liked them a lot. Various terrain and plenty of obstacles (Trees). Oh my goodness, when I was on hill for hole #8 and #9, the view of Santa Cruz and Los Gatos mountains were beautiful! I had to pause and watched the mountains for a while! It is really beautiful!

This course has potential to be good.
Cons: The rating was hurt a lot because the course was not taken care of. Too much loose dirt and the weed was taller than my waist. Hard to find tees without map. I believe the course could be better if someone cut the weeds and keep tees clear and easy to find.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised no one had mentioned about TICKS! Beware of ticks! I had never see real ticks in my life! After disc golf, I found FOUR ticks on my skin everywhere inside my clothes. My fiancee had to pull over from freeway to get rid of it when she saw it on my leg!

PLEASE don't bring dogs unless they are tick-proof.

I would want to try that course again when the weeds are being cut down and taken care of.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ummm, uhhhh, no.

1    6/10/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: plenty of parking
Cons: this course needs major help. same tee pad for different baskets- which are homemade rebar... not cool. you must check in to play. no signs. lots of loose dirt. hard to navigate. tee pads are not very well made.
Other Thoughts: i highly recommend just driving to hellyer or la raza. i wouldnt even check it out. its a huge disappointment.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Future Changes

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: VCCDiscGolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Thanks to everyone for playing this course and reviewing, it helps! I will be working on some signage in the months ahead to try and make the course playable without the map, and easier to navigate.
I understand the concerns with fairways crossing each other, but we didn't have much choice in designing the course, we only had so much land to work with. There usually is not more than one group playing at a time, and if there is, I think players can be careful.

If anyone has some specific ideas, concerns, or Ideas for the course, let me know! We want to make this course as fun and playable as possible!

Thank You, keep coming back, and look forward to changes in the future!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Los Gatos, CA.

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Venture Christian Church DGC is very accessible making it easy to get to and play for quick round (only 10-15 minutes from downtown). The seclusion of the course makes it less frequented by others (which helps since this is a small and congested course) as most travel past this course to either San Jose or Santa Cruz for good reason. Directions getting here are very easy although if you are a first timer around here coming from downtown Los Gatos make sure you pass the first two entrances as they are locked. Make sure you go to the main entrance (third) and park towards the left where you will find signs directing you to the office. If you stay left after checking in and follow it about 300 feet you will see the first tee down closer by the road.

Although the baskets are homemade, these rebar baskets are some of the best baskets I have seen that are not done professionaly by a mainstream DG company.

A water fountain and bathrooms can be found near the childrens playground right by where you check in at the main office before heading off to tee 1.

The time alloted to play a round was great as well as it only took about 30-45 minutes depending on if there are others playing or not making it a very quick round (great for novice and families).

Last, the views of the surrounding Los Gatos and Santa Cruz mountains on holes 8 and 9. They are truely breathtaking and make the trip that much more enjoyable.
Cons:
The course although fairly new is in need of some serious improvements. There are no signs letting you know where the tees are located nor where to go to for the next tee which made things confusing when trying to navigate and at times even somewhat irritating. I had a map but even that was unclear because the tees were sunken into the ground. It would be great and very affordable if someone created wooden tees signs from some stumps making it easier to locate the next tee for now. All they would need to do is paint a number on it so that first timers wouldn't have to be like Lewis and Clark searching the whole countryside.

The quality of play was not very memorable either, as no one hole really stood out and the ground itself was terrible. The long grass was cut on the majority of holes but the dirt was not compact but rather very loose making it difficult to not only walk but throw on. The fox tails and spurs stick to your clothing and can be painful at times when stuck in your shoe with all that twisting and turning.

The fairways as swatso commented in his review were all over the place, especially holes 2-6 which could make things very congested and dangerous. Some of the tees are used for multiple holes as well so people would have to wait their turn to use a particular tee which would get old.
Other Thoughts:
When I first heard that the place I spent my entire childhood (20+ years) had installed a DG course I could hardly contain myself! Los Gatos is nestled at the base of the Santa Cruz mountains (about 30 minutes from DeLa), with rolling hills covered in old growth Oaks and Redwoods and is an ideal spot for discgolf. Perhaps someday... For now, you are better off heading over the hill to Santa Cruz/Monterey, or to San Jose to play two power nine's at Hellyer/La Raza. Trust me.

However, once I played the course I must admit I was quite disappointed. As time goes on I hope to see that the course gets a makeover. With some tee signs and some more thought into the overall layout (especially holes 2-6) I could see this course getting a much higher rating. There is much more land here then what is being used and if the course could be mowed regularly I could see the ground getting a little more condensed for people to actually walk and play on. I love this town and hope that overtime this course gets better so it could live up to the expectations of the other courses nearbye in the the Bay Area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

1    7/24/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good to have another course not too far from La Raza and Hellyer. Fairly secluded and not crowded, some challenging and interesting shots, Home-made rebar baskets work great. Good use of the land available
Cons: No basket #8, No Signs, Map is tough to read, tees and baskets sometimes cross paths, could be dangerous when there are multiple players, ground is a little hard to walk on and watch out for stickers/foxtales in your socks and shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good idea and has excellent potential! Needs lots of work.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hatfields v. McCoys

1    7/17/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The view of the hills in the background when teeing off from #9.
Cons:
Crossfire potential galore!
- Overthrow basket #1, hit the person teeing from #2
- Teeing from #2 takes you over tee 3/5, and across #6's flightpath
- Teeing from #3 has you crossing #4's fairway; miss a bit left, hit the person teeing from #6
- #4's fairway crosses #3's and #6's, and a mis-throw left threatens tee 3/5
- Be too far left on #5 and hit tee #4
- #6 has it all, buzzing baskets 1 and 4, tee 3/5, crossing fairway #2, maybe even threatening tee #2
- Overthrow basket #7, threaten tee #8.
- A typical flight for #8 takes you blindly over tee #9.
- And #9 returns the the favour to #8 on the return.

No signage - neither the baskets nor the teepads are numbered. No distance information posted at course, either. Baskets 3, 5, 8, 9 somewhat close to fenced-off out-of-bound areas. You need to be part billygoat to reach basket #2. Random obstacle - large dump truck parked on #7's natural flightpath.

The course was in rough condition the day I played . The grass of the hole 8-9 hillside was nearly waist high, and basket #8 sits in the midst of it - w/o a spotter, I'd likely have lost a disc here. The meadow shared by holes 2-6 appeared to have been recently ploughed, so it made walking back-n-forth across it quite difficult
Other Thoughts:
The map, a guide, or an extraordinary sixth sense is essential the first time you play this course.

Single tee (brick, 3x6)/single basket (homemade with rebar, not bad!). Most holes were of the drive-approach-putt format - only #8, the longest hole AND uphill, forced me to use a driver for my second shot. Mixture of left and right turning shots, and a tree or two would either affect the flightpath, or be guarding the basket.

Favourite hole: #9. Long, blind, downhill, left-turning bomb with fantastic views of the hills in the background.

Yes, you can have fun at this course, but it's a lot of work, and stronger courses Hellyer and Parque de la Raza are not too far afield. Also, hope there isn't anyone else playing, otherwise, you might find yourself in the middle of a shoot-out!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: even though the baskets are hand made they look like someone got them from DGA. very simple and fun, and on most holes you can find a nice challenge. there are some legit ace runs here if you play flick or left handed like me. so that always gets me going. the use of trees and roads help to ad difficulty to this course. the back three holes offer a challenge to any player of any skill level. water fountain and plenty of parking.

Cons: some rim outs on some puts because the chains are a bit too heavy and don't give like your standard basket, but not too bad. holes 3 and 5 share the same tee pad, and the pads are made of brick and become slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: for a home made course sitting on this property it flows well and is a bunch of fun.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for a lunchtime round!

2-4    10/13/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: benpalm
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this course is much closer to the south bay than any other course. it is great if you don't have time to drive south to hellyer/de la raza or over the hill to de la veaga or black mouse.

the course map makes it easy to find your way around, and it's nice that the map is in color. the pads are nice - made out of brick.

the course is never crowded - few people know it exists. though it is marked private, anyone is welcome to play, and it does not cost anything. there is a water fountain near the buses.
Cons: without a map, it's hard to get around. the rebar baskets are not as welcoming - my discs have hit chains but bounced out on a number of occasions.

if it gets popular enough that there are multiple groups on the course, it will be dangerous, as a lot of fairways cross each other.
Other Thoughts: bring your shoes and be ready to hike! there is a lot of up and down on this course. also, be careful how you throw some shots on the hills, because a bad lie could get you rolling hundreds of feet away from the basket.

all said and done, it's a GREAT course to play if you only have a couple hours.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.