South Dayton, NY 
Chainbiters at Brown's Farm Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 389ft.   4 / 324ft.   4 / 224ft.   4 / 152ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Dr_Johnson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Great variety, with open and wooded holes. Some very long holes as well. By far the best course in an area fairly devoid of good courses. The folks who run the course are great. I am greeted almost every time I play.
Cons: Difficult for beginner level players. Some of the terrain is difficult to maneuver through (up and down hills and across a creek). If you are unfamiliar, some of the tees can be tricky to find in the woods.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Basket Placements

2-4    7/28/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 80  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - wide variety of holes- requires hyzer and anhyzer throws, hole 2 requires low and straight shot between two rows of trees
- amazing scenery
- many unique "signature" holes #6, #9, #12, #17, #18 to make sure the course never gets boring
- three well marked tees for each hole to allow for all level players. Hole 9 even has an alternative shorter basket for those who don't want to throw 652 feet and over a pond
- some long holes for those who want to drive as well as many shorter holes that require more accuracy
- course flow is very good for the most part
- excellent use of ravine and brook running through course
- good mix of wooded and open holes although the course leans toward wooded
- a pro shop with some new discs for sale. Also you can borrow discs on honor system to play the course
- out in the middle of nowhere so it isn't crowded(also a con because I have to drive so far to get there)
- there are numerous directional signs to lead you to the next tee and the tees themselves are marked with the hole number


Cons: - no signs at the tees to show you where the basket is which can be a problem because the holes are long and you cant see the baskets
- no tee pads which would be helpful especially on muddy hills
Other Thoughts: This course has many unique holes and was very fun for me to play. The course is very challenging and might take some time to play a round. I thoroughly enjoy this course but can't give it a 5 without good signs at the holes

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/10/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: hotwheelsdad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Loved the tight fairways and the different terrain. It was also quiet and had some unbelievable scenery.
Cons: Needs to have some tee signs or better marking's to get to the next hole. A scorecard would have been great to see what par was and how long the holes were.
Other Thoughts: I must say that I am honored to have played this course and look forward to being able to go back and play this course again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: bigdogtoo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Spread out, laid out with all skill levels in mind.
Cons: Numbers and markers could use an upgrade.
Score card with distance and pars would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: It was an honor to play this private course I would hope to have the chance to play again. It was so cool to have 18 holes to ourselves. Thanks again

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    6/24/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 136  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chainbiters has excellent scenery on a great piece of property. The terrain is beautiful and the holes have some nice variety. There are some nice, bomber holes and a lot of tight, wooded holes. There's also some nice variation of hyzer/anhyzer holes. I would definitely recommend giving this private course a shot, under the right scenario (discussed below).
Cons: This is a course that definitely needs to be played with a member or someone who has played the course before. The navigation on this course is borderline impossible. The numbering on the holes appears to be completely messed up and the navigation between the holes is not clear. In addition, holes 17 and 18 were nowhere to be found (or who knows what hole numbers we actually couldn't find). Also, the natural tee pads weren't the best but I can forgive that on a private course.
Other Thoughts: Please heed my advice - do not play this course without someone who has played it before. It was a great course with some beautiful scenery but isn't really playable without a map (which we couldn't find) or without a guide.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Greatest I've Played

2-4    7/11/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Did you ever dream of designing and building the perfect disc golf course on that beautiful piece of property you will buy after you win the lotto? Well someone built your dream... in the middle of nowhere. This private course is the best I've played and the best I've dreamed of so it deserves 5 stars. I could write a book on the joys of this course: variety of length, type of shot, elevation change, scenery (in particular hole number 9), the peacefulness, and the owners.
Cons: This course isn't in my back yard.
Other Thoughts: Beachwood Classic held in July is the greatest disc golf event ever.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/29/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brown's Farm has some of the best disc golf terrain I have ever encountered. The various holes play through open fields, great elevation changes, hardwood forest with very little under brush, pine tree tunnels, creek beds, ravines and ponds.

Amazing Variety of shots. This course will require you to use every shot possible. Rollers (FH and BH), hard hyzers, gentle anny's, overhands and straight down the pipe.

Pin Placements. Browns Farm has fantastic pin placements. On slopes, edge of a cliff, protected by trees. Good examples are #4, downhill snugged behind the most beautiful massive tree, #8 guarded by a phalanx of trees, #9 on the edge of a pond, #10 on a slight ledge on a good slope, #11 Protected by trees and rocks with hill behind it, #17 25 ft drop off behind the basket. The pin placements really make this course standout.

Multiple tees. Three tees for each hole that for most part offer very different views and lines to the same hole.

Both 9's play back to the Barn and parking area and practice basket.

Course is immaculate. Since it does not see as much play as other courses it stays pristine with very minimal effort.

Private. You could easily have this entire course to yourself for as long as you choose to play.

On Site Camping. As long as you clear it with Grandaddy (Michael Brown).
Cons: Tees, tees, tees. The tees on this course are natural. No gravel, woodchips or anything else. For the most part they are not too bad to throw from but a couple of them are slick and others are very uneven. If it is raining out a few of them can be unplayable (#7 in a creek bed). This is pretty much the only reason that this is not a 5 Disc course. It has everything else you could possibly want from disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Brown's Farm is slightly off the beaten path but is very accessable from the I-90 Silver Creek exit. But this is one of the greatest reasons to go there. Like I previously mentioned you could easily have this beautiful course to yourself. I have only been to Brown's Farm so far for tournaments and the Can Am Cup and their events are amazing. They have more of a festival feel than anywhere else I have ever been. The locals are awesome and super helpful. Grandaddy and his wife are wonderful hosts. I have not played Flip City yet but I think that this is a pretty close comparison.
Construction has begun on a new 18 holes so you will see extra baskets and a few tees that are not quite in regular play yet (unless a local can show you). When the next 18 goes in if it is anything like the first 18 I think I will have to move this up to 5 Discs even without good tees. Even with only the first 18 this is my favorite course I have played so far.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The course that started it all for me

5+    8/23/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ridiculous course owned and run by a great family. This is the course i started on, and i couldnt have lucked out more because its got everything.
- Great hole variation, super technical to open bombs.
- Amazing pin positions. just some really beautiful picturesque holes with baskets perched on hills, by ponds, between many trees etc...
- mostly shaded in the woods with no overgrowth as a result
- multiple tees that really alter the course
- great family: the Browns are friendly and enthusiastic
- Private (this is a pro as far as it will keep the course as pristine as it is; if the family were not so great and welcoming this might be a con)
Cons: -so far away from where i live now.
-grass tees (but cement or rubber would be a bit ridiculous in the farm setting)


Other Thoughts: I hear this course gets knocked down to a 9 hole in the winter with a league that runs year round. I cannot vouch for this personally though.

This course is a shining jewel. very much worth making contact and getting out there to play.

perhaps my favorite course ever played.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem In South Dayton

5+    7/18/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixed woods and open holes play over a lot of elavation. Hole 9 is my favorite hole to date. Risk and reward are a big part of playing this course. The different tee's really change the course. This is the only course I've played in NY so far that I would say is a must play
Cons: Natural teepads and some poor baskets keep this from being my first 5 rating.
Other Thoughts: The Beachwood Classic is a great tourney held on this course every year, check out nrdg.net

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf heaven

1    6/8/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent 18 hidden in the middle of nowhere on a beautiful piece of land. Finally got to play early this summer when a member brought me. I cant praise this place enough, mix of wooded and open holes, lots of elevation change both uphill and down, pond, very diverse mix of holes pulling every shot and disc out of your bag.a wondeful challenge. all pins are portable giving unlimited options for hole changes and variation. would really like to join next year and cant wait for beechwood, missed it this year.
Cons: Nothing i can come up with except being private, but im sure thats a plus when u are a member!
Other Thoughts: if you ever have the opportunity to play here dont pass it up, as soon as you do you will be wanting to play more!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.