West Dundee, IL 
Randall Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
5 / 422ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
3.2

1    7/30/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Randall Oaks is a solid course and was very fun to play. The course features some nice elevation as well as a mix of wooded/open holes. Hole 3 was a great signature hole featuring a downhill finesse shot through the trees. I love shots like that. I also liked one of the later holes (maybe hole 5?) whose pin was perched right on top of a steep mound thing. The mound made the green play very fast and "parking" it next to the hole was tricky. The last hole was also a very fun one… another downhill wooded shot.

The park around Randall Oaks seemed to have a million things to do. There was a small zoo, picnic shelters, a pool (?), and maybe even tennis (?) I don't remember exactly, but this really seemed like the place to be, especially if travelling with family.

The course itself seemed pretty well kept, with very helpful signs directing the way (otherwise navigation would have been impossible).
Cons: The most obvious "con" to this course was that it was not at all isolated from the rest of the park. As mentioned, it was an awesome park with lots to do, so naturally it attracts a lot of people. Unfortunately, the course brought other park users into play pretty regularly, which is not fun/safe for anyone. Additionally, a lot of the course was quite cramped leading to several of the hole being right next to one another.

In addition to the safety/isolation issues, I also found some of the holes to be a bit bland. Hole two was a little putter shot that was very easy and one of the later holes was a weird dogleg that was completely blind with a busy road right behind the pin… not a fan.
Other Thoughts: While not very challenging, there was plenty of interesting disc golf here, so Randall Oaks is a great place to bring a newer or less serious player.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Awesome

5+    5/19/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: TheFlex
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brick tees make for great drives
-Elevation changes
-Wide open shots
-Nice for practicing shots/techniques
-Well balanced
-Next hole markers
-Great scenery
Cons: -Not too many technically challenging holes

Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners and intermediates looking to have a fun time on the course and learn without losing a disc or getting punished by thorns and prickers. Love this place!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Quick 10 Hole

2-4    8/29/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Weyums3
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful well kept course
- Signs for every hole, not hard to navigate
- Good amount of parking
- Trash cans and bathrooms on site
- Several holes that feature elevation changes, 3, 4, 9, 10, and 5
- Let it rip on #7, par 5 with no obstacles
- Can be done in a half hour, if there is minimal wait
- You shouldnt lose any discs
Cons: - It is a very busy course that can cause some wait time
- The 10 holes could easily be 18 or even a more challenging 9 given the large space
- Fairly easy course with most of the holes being open of trees and even the wooded area is a very lightly wooded area
Other Thoughts: - Getting to the first tee can be tricky if it is your first time at the course. Do not park in the parking lot at the entrance or you will be in for quite a walk, instead go down the long gravel road to your left, follow the road around the corner and the parking lot is straight ahead. First tee is behind the parking lot off to the right.
- This is a 10 hole course so after 9 don't forget to keep walking over the road to finish at #10
- No water
- Randall road is not that bad, I did not notice it as a distraction and it is far enough away that it should not factor into your play unless you really overthrow
- My favorite holes are 3 and 4 because of the elevation and also 5 with the water tower in the background and elevated green
- Overall its a fun course to play and close to my area so I will keep coming back

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 124  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Randall Oaks is a fun course if you are in the area. Half the holes feature some significant elevation change. There is also some length here with one hole over 420' and a 375' hole where the basket is ~20' above the tee. There are also some fun ace run holes, and two nice downhill drives (one fairway driver range and the other perfect for a mid or putter). The course is fairly well balanced as far as required shot shapes, with a couple righty hyzer holes, a dramatic anhyzer hole, and a few that offer multiple routes to the pin. There are a few sloped greens with dramatic rollaway potential. The park itself is very beautiful, with rolling hills and mature oaks providing shade throughout much of the course.
Cons: The paver tees are inconsistent, some offer nice level footing while others are too short and are raised to hinder a longer runup. The holes in the open field (5, 7, 8) are kind of boring, with the only pluses being able to throw drivers on 7 & 8 and the elevated basket on 5. There is room enough here to extend some of the holes, or add additional ones. The land could have been better utilized. The exception to the natural beauty of the course is the holes in the open field near Randall road. It is a busy street with a high speed limit and traffic noise in this part of the course is high. The area containing baskets 4 and 9, 8's tee and the path from 9 to 10 is very congested and could have been laid out better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course and would gladly do so again if I am in the area. I would not drive far to play this one though because for every fun hole there is a blah one. There is some type of petting zoo in the park, so this might be a good place to bring the family.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    3/13/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location. I have wanted a course in this area for a long time. It's next to a busy road which will help expose it to fellow disc golfers. New course so the signs are nice and helpful. Tees are brick which are nice to throw off of. There is a little elevation change, but nothing significant.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 are unplayable if it rains. Why only 10 holes. There is definitely potential to have more holes, and with the holes that are available the full potential of the holes isn't there. There is one 400 foot shot, but that's it even though there could be 2-3 more. Hole 9 poses a risk because you are throwing towards the 8 tee. Weird course layout. You walk past holes then go back to them.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, but there a lot of potential. If the basket placements were changed so different types of shots came into play and obstacles it would increase this course tenfold. Overall this course offers a good time in a beautiful park. If you are in the area this is a must.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth stopping by

2-4    4/12/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: blong
Played: 71  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is easy to find, on Randall Rd. Elevation changes keep it interesting. It's a scenic park, with lots of mature trees. Course was clean when I was there; ample garbage cans. I did pick up a couple empty bottles though... The holes require different types of shots. Tee pads are concrete, but seem just a little short. (maybe need an extra 6-12") Distance for most holes is ok. The arrangement could've been a little bit different to add challenge.
Cons: Some baskets are a little close to one another. A couple holes are in open fields with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: No one there when I was there, but I can see it being busy on the weekends. There is a petting zoo on the property, as well as a playground, so families could potentially be in the way. There's a golf course on the left side of hole 3, so watch your throw, keep it straight.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better than average 9-holer

1    3/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.